Friday, February 28, 2014

Falling Behind on Friday 3

Falling behind on Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Moirae the Fates book reviews. In this one we all pick one book that has been in our to be read pile for a long time (One month or longer) that we just haven't gotten to yet. Or a book that is on our to buy list that we haven't gotten a chance to pick up yet.  I know most all of us have massive TBR piles and we can all find one book to post about and share with others. I think it will be a great way to learn about already published books that a lot of us may not know about or may have forgotten about.
To be clear these books MUST already be published!
So, to participate simply grab the Falling Behind on Friday picture above and post the cover art of the book, and leave a link to the books goodreads page and let us all know what book you've "fallen behind on." And in your post don't forget to let others know how to participate! Sounds like fun right?
So to kick things off here is the book I have fallen behind on:




Sixteen-year-old Catherine Vernon has been stranded in London for the summer-no friends, no ex-boyfriend Adam the Scum (good riddance!), and absolutely nothing to do but blog about her misery to her friends back home. Desperate for something-anything-to do in London while her (s)mother's off researching boring historical things, Cat starts reading the 1815 diary of Katherine Percival her mom gives her-and finds the similarities between their lives to be oddly close. But where Katherine has the whirls of the society, the parties and the gossip over who is engaged to who, Cat's only got some really excellent English chocolate. Then she meets William Percival-the uber-hot descendant of Katherine-and things start looking up . . .






Leave me a link to your post and I'll be sure to stop by!
(Please know that for some reason I my computer doesn't allow me to comment on some blogs and I have no idea why I just get a strange Q like symbol. But I do visit ALL of you! If I don't comment, it's because I was unable to.)


If you missed it Here is an importnat post about an American POW.


 So say we all!

Thursday, February 27, 2014

Emblazed by Connie Smith tour!

Hey Y'all I am helping author Connie Smith to promote her new book. My stop is a link and blurb stop.  So without further ado I turn the blog over to Connie!


Here’s the blurb and link for Emblazed:

After all the preparations, Nicholai’s warriors stand on the threshold of warfare, the demons entering the realm in battalions and the world unknowingly depending on the army’s success to continue intact. But the battle is only the beginning of deadly struggles, and the soldiers will soon realize how little they know, how many things are at stake, and how much they have to lose.

Love, hate, hope, despair, anguish, joy… The journey is a gauntlet of emotion and combat, threatening their resolve as much as their lives.

Will their training and ties be enough, or will the complications and the forthcoming evil forever cripple the world’s last hope of survival?

If you want to book one for FREE you can download it on Amazon.


You can find Connie on these sites



Thanks for stopping by Connie!


Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the spine.

This week I am waiting on Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira.



It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May did. Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to people like Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Heath Ledger, and more; though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating new friendships, falling in love for the first time, learning to live with her splintering family. And, finally, about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to be looking out for her. Only then, once Laurel has written down the truth about what happened to herself, can she truly begin to accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was; lovely and amazing and deeply flawed; can she begin to discover her own path.

Love Letter to the Dead is die out April 1 2014.


Leave me a link to your post and I'll be sure to stop by!
(Please know that for some reason I my computer doesn't allow me to comment on some blogs and I have no idea why I just get a strange Q like symbol. But I do visit ALL of you! If I don't comment, it's because I was unable to.)

Come back on Friday for the 3rd week in my new meme "Falling Behind on Friday!"

If you missed it Here is an importnat post about an American POW.


So say we all!

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Teaser Tuesday




Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. This week my teaser comes from The Distance between us by Kasie West.

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!




"This guy isn't just rich; he's RICH."
-Page 71                                               


"She blocks off tonight after five for me."
-Page 154                                           













Leave me a link to your post and I'll be sure to stop by!
(Please know that for some reason I my computer doesn't allow me to comment on some blogs and I have no idea why I just get a strange Q like symbol. But I do visit ALL of you! If I don't comment, it's because I was unable to.)

Come back on Friday for the 3rd week in my new meme "Falling Behind on Friday!"

If you missed it Here is an importnat post about an American POW.


 
So say we all!

Monday, February 24, 2014

Only the good spy young






  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Disney-Hyperion (January 3, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 9781423129738
  • Author: Ally Carter
  • Cover art: My favorite of the series.
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars









Only the good spy young by Ally Carter
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.


When Cammie Morgan enrolled at the Gallagher Academy, she knew she was preparing for the dangerous life of a spy. What she didn’t know was that the serious, real-life danger would start during her junior year of high school. But that’s exactly what happened two months ago when Cammie faced off against an ancient terrorist organization dead set on kidnapping her.

Now the danger follows her everywhere, and even Cammie “The Chameleon” can’t hide. When a terrifying encounter in London reveals that one of her most-trusted allies is actually a rogue double-agent, Cammie no longer knows if she can trust her classmates, her teachers—or even her own heart.

In this fourth installment of the New York Times best-selling series, the Gallagher Girls must hack, spy, steal, and lie their way to the truth.as they go searching for answers, recognizing that the key to Cammie’s future may lie deep in the past. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



This is the fourth book in the series. The fun hasn't stopped. Carter's characters get better with each new installment of the series. I love Cammie in this one! 

Without spoiling anything I'll just put it this way. In this one, I didn't believe some of the things that were being said about a beloved character. 


We did get to learn more about Cammie's father that has been missing and presumed dead since the series first started. Though I don't believe Carter ever stated if a body was recovered. 
We got to learn more about Zach whom I still am not sure if I like very much. I do to a point, but on the other hand I don't fully trust him either. I think there is still a lot he is refusing to tell Cammie. Some of his secrets did come out in this one, but I still think he has a lot more.

I also think Rachel knows more then she is telling Cammie. I don't know why, I just get that vibe. 

Macy and Liz were great in this one, Bex bugged me a little. but not too much. I loved Cammie's usual snark in this one as well. She is so much fun! I wish she was real so we could be friends. 

Like the others this was fun and funny. It moved fast and was action-packed. With a cliff hanger ending I am eager to find out what adventures are around the corner for Cammie and company.

 If you haven't yet, pick up the Gallagher Girls and become a sister of Gillian!

 



So say we all!

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Ma Semaine dans les livres My week in books




Ma Semaine dans les livres (My week in books) is a weekly meme inspired by Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga of Tynga's reviews.

This week I got one book. I bought this book for myself and much to my delight it shipped early! This week I got My Life with the Walter Boys by Ali Novak.


Sixteen-year old Jackie Howard knows nothing about her new guardian Katherine Walter when she moves from New York to Colorado. After discovering that Katherine has twelve boys, Jackie fears that living in the Walter house isn't going to be easy. It's just icing on the cake that the boys look like Abercrombie models...













That's what I got this week, leave me a note and let me know what you got! I'll be sure to stop by!   
(Please know that for some reason I my computer doesn't allow me to comment on some blogs and I have no idea why I just get a strange Q like symbol. But I do visit ALL of you! If I don't comment, it's because I was unable to.)

Come back on Friday for the 3rd week in my new meme "Falling Behind on Friday!"

If you missed it Here is an importnat post about an American POW.




So say we all!

Friday, February 21, 2014

Falling behind on Friday 2







Falling behind on Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Moirae the Fates book reviews. In this one we all pick one book that has been in our to be read pile for a long time (One month or longer) that we just haven't gotten to yet. Or a book that is on our to buy list that we haven't gotten a chance to pick up yet.  I know most all of us have massive TBR piles and we can all find one book to post about and share with others. I think it will be a great way to learn about already published books that a lot of us may not know about or may have forgotten about.
To be clear these books MUST already be published!
So, to participate simply grab the Falling Behind on Friday picture above and post the cover art of the book, and leave a link to the books goodreads page and let us all know what book you've "fallen behind on." And in your post don't forget to let others know how to participate! Sounds like fun right?
So to kick things off here is the book I have fallen behind on:






Beauty Queens by Libba Bray


The fifty contestants in the Miss Teen Dream pageant thought this was going to be a fun trip to the beach, where they could parade in their state-appropriate costumes and compete in front of the cameras. But sadly, their airplane had another idea, crashing on a desert island and leaving the survivors stranded with little food, little water, and practically no eyeliner.

What's a beauty queen to do? Continue to practice for the talent portion of the program - or wrestle snakes to the ground? Get a perfect tan - or learn to run wild? And what should happen when the sexy pirates show up?

Welcome to the heart of non-exfoliated darkness. Your tour guide? None other than Libba Bray, the hilarious, sensational, Printz Award-winning author of A Great and Terrible Beauty and Going Bovine. The result is a novel that will make you laugh, make you think, and make you never see beauty the same way again.


I started to read it then set it down for a different book, I need to pick it up again from the start and read it.  







What have you fallen behind on? Leave me a note and let me know. I will be sure to stop by! 


Comments are moderated due to spam. I'll okay them as soon as possible. Also, I DO go to each of your sites. Some blogs have a strange Q shape at the bottom where you comment and my computer doesn't let me comment on those for some reason. So please don't think I'm ignoring you!

So say we all!

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday









Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. In which we all post a book that is not yet released that we are waiting to read.

This week I am waiting for: On the Fence by Kasie West.



She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door…

Charlie Reynolds can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn't know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at a chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world. To cope with the stress of her new reality, Charlie takes to spending nights chatting with her neighbor Braden through the fence between their yards. As she grows to depend on their nightly Fence Chats, she realizes she's got a bigger problem than speeding tickets-she's falling for Braden. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

Fun, original, and endearing, On the Fence is a romantic comedy about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect.


I have already pre-ordered this one! Sounds great right?! On the Fence is due out July 1 2014.

What are you waiting for leave me a note and I'll be sure to stop by. 


Don't forget to stop by on Friday for a brand new meme hosted by me! Falling Behind on Friday!

 
So say we all!

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Teaser Tuesday




Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should be Reading.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following: • Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


"The kitchen was her sanctuary."
-Page 59

"Charlotte had found the plain bone button on the street in 
London."
-Page 142













What are your teasers? Leave me a note and I'll be sure to stop by!


Don't forget to stop by on Friday for a brand new meme host by me! Falling Behind on Friday!



So say we all!

Monday, February 17, 2014

The Almost Truth






  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse (December 4, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 1442440198
  • Author: Eileen Cook
  • Cover art: Super cute!
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf










The Almost Truth by Eileen Cook
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews


Teen con artist Sadie might be over her head. To escape her backwards small town, delusional mom, jailbird dad, and the tiny trailer where she was raised, she also must leave Brendan. Sadie wants a better life, and she has been working steadily toward it, one con at a time, until her mother wipes out her savings.

Brendan helps devise ultimate con. But the more lies Sadie spins, the more she starts falling for her own hoax, and perhaps for the wrong boy. Sadie wanted to change her life, but she wasn't prepared to have it flipped upside down by her own deception. With her future at stake and her heart on the line, she suddenly has more than just money to lose. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



This synopsis is different then one I remember originally reading before the book was published. I am glad they changed it though. It makes it a tad less predictable. (Until you start to read it that is.)

I found this title to be predictable, however, Cook made some slight plot twists that I didn't see coming to get to the final conclusion. I had the conclusion right, I just was wrong on a few details.

Even though it was predictable it didn't make it any less enjoyable. It was a fun read, rather quick. One that could easily be read on a lazy afternoon. Or even on the beach, I think this would be a great beach read or summer read!


I really liked Sadie's character, she wasn't the weak heroin that we see so much of in a lot of YA, she didn't need a man to save her and she wasn't falling for the bad boy. Her mother really bothered me though. Very thoughtless in a lot of ways. She was also very good at lying to herself, Sadie brings this point up multiple times in the book and she's right.

We don't see much of her Dad and to be honest, he comes across as a sympathetic "bad guy" but he's not really a bad guy even though we are meant to feel that way. He reminds me of Draco Malfoy in that way. You are meant to see him as the bad guy, but he really isn't. It's the circumstances he often finds himself him that make him appear as if he is the bad guy.

The dialog was good and it got right to the point. Cook didn't use a lot of filler which was great, she knew her story and she got right to it and told us the story quickly and clearly.
I really enjoyed this one.




So say we all!

Friday, February 14, 2014

Ma Semaine dans les livres My week in books



Ma semaine dans les livres is a weekly meme inspired by Stacking the Shelves hosted each week by Tynga of Tynga's reviews.


This week I got 2 books. One I bought and one I won. The book I won was a copy of Whisper by Chris Struyk-Bonn. Thank you Librarything!

Sixteen-year-old Whisper, who has a cleft palate, lives in an encampment with three other young rejects and their caregiver, Nathanael. They are outcasts from a society (in the not-too-distant future) that kills or abandons anyone with a physical or mental disability. Whisper’s mother visits once a year. When she dies, she leaves Whisper a violin, which Nathanael teaches her to play. Whisper’s father comes to claim her, and she becomes his house slave, her disfigurement hidden by a black veil. But when she proves rebellious, she is taken to the city to live with other rejects at a house called Purgatory Palace, where she has to make difficult decisions for herself and for her vulnerable friends.









The book I bought was a copy of Out of Sight Out of Time by Ally Carter. 



The last thing Cammie Morgan remembers is leaving the Gallagher Academy to protect her friends and family from the Circle of Cavan-an ancient terrorist organization that has been hunting her for over a year. But when Cammie wakes up in an alpine convent and discovers that months have passed, she must face the fact that her memory is now a black hole. The only traces left of Cammie's summer vacation are the bruises on her body and the dirt under her nails, and all she wants is to go home.

Once she returns to school, however, Cammie realizes that even the Gallagher Academy now holds more questions than answers. Cammie, her friends, and mysterious spy-guy Zach must face their most difficult challenge yet as they travel to the other side of the world, hoping to piece together the clues that Cammie left behind. It's a race against time. The Circle is hot on their trail and willing stop at nothing to prevent Cammie from remembering what she did last summer.




That is what I got this week, leave me a note and let me know what you got I will be sure to stop by. Don't forget to stop by on Friday for my brand new meme launched this past Friday. Hope to see you this Friday for Falling Behind on Friday! 


So say we all!


 

Falling Behind on Friday 1



Here it is! The first meme I'm hosting! Falling Behind on Friday! The "rules" are very simple:

Falling behind on Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Moirae the Fates book reviews. In this one we all pick one book that has been in our to be read pile for a long time (One month or longer) that we just haven't gotten to yet. Or a book that is on our to buy list that we haven't gotten a chance to pick up yet.  I know most all of us have massive TBR piles and we can all find one book to post about and share with others. I think it will be a great way to learn about already published books that a lot of us may not know about or may have forgotten about.
To be clear these books MUST already be published!
So, to participate simply grab the Falling Behind on Friday picture above and post the cover art of the book, and leave a link to the books goodreads page and let us all know what book you've "fallen behind on." And in your post don't forget to let others know how to participate! Sounds like fun right?
So to kick things off here is the book I have fallen behind on:


The Fine Art Of Truth Or Dare by Melissa Jensen

Pretty in Pink meets Anna and the French Kiss in this charming romantic comedy

Ella is nearly invisible at the Willing School, and that's just fine by her. She's got her friends - the fabulous Frankie and their sweet cohort Sadie. She's got her art - and her idol, the unappreciated 19th-century painter Edward Willing. Still, it's hard being a nobody and having a crush on the biggest somebody in the school: Alex Bainbridge. Especially when he is your French tutor, and lessons have started becoming, well, certainly more interesting than French ever has been before. But can the invisible girl actually end up with a happily ever after with the golden boy, when no one even knows they're dating? And is Ella going to dare to be that girl?



I have had this for what seems like forever, I just haven't had a chance to read it though! 
So, what book are you falling behind on? Let me know by leaving a link to your Falling Behind on Friday post! I will be sure to stop and and have a look. (Please know that for some reason I my computer doesn't allow me to comment on some blogs and I have no idea why I just get a strange Q like symbol. But I do visit ALL of you! If I don't comment, it's because I was unable to.)


(Comments are moderated due to too many spam comments, I do okay the comments very quickly though!)


So say we all!
 

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Keep your eyes peeled for a surprise at midnight!

Hey y'all! I am SUPER excited for midnight the witching hour!! Why you ask? Because tonight at midnight, I have a very special surprise in store for all of you! I've been wanting to do this for a while and I am ready to take the plunge!  After the other nights sadness of the Olympics MENS HALF PIPE SPOILER ALERT: Seeing Shaun White not get the gold made me sad. (But he was so gracious and that is so amazing! Still love ya Shaun White you can get em' next time!)
Anyway! After that, it's time for something happy! So tonight at midnight PST I am launching my very first meme. It's something I haven't seen before anywhere so I thought it would be a great thing to do.
So stay tuned for my new meme and find out what it is at midnight PST! I hope you stop by and have a look and even participate if you feel so moved.

So say we all!

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday









Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.

It's a meme were we all post about a book we are waiting to read. Here is mine for the week:



Dragged on a family trip to Europe’s ancient cities, Becca wants nothing more than to go home. Trapped with her emotionally distant father, over-eager stepmother, and a brother who only wants to hook up with European hotties, Becca is miserable. That is until she meets Nikolai, a guy as mysterious as he is handsome. And she unknowingly finds herself with a runaway prince.

Nikolai has everything a guy could ask for-he's crown prince, heir to the throne, and girls adore him. But the one thing he doesn't have...is freedom. Staging a coup, he flees his kingdom and goes undercover on his own European tour.

When Nikolai and Becca meet, it’s their differences that draw them together. Sparks fly as they share a whirlwind of adventures, all the while dodging his royal guard. But Becca's family vacation ends in a matter of days. Will Nikolai and Becca be forced to say goodbye forever, will his destiny catch up to him, or will they change history forever?



How cool does that sound? I can't wait for Royally Lost by Angie Stanton due out May 6 2014. 
What are you waiting for, leave me a note and I'll be sure to stop by.

 So say we all!

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Teaser Tuesday








Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB.


This week my teaser comes from The Almost Truth by Eileen Cook.




"Fifteen years ago they came to Bowton Island for vacation."
-Page 54

"Some good came out of the tragedy."
-Page 55















That's my teaser, leave me a note and I'll be sure to stop by yours.


So say we all!

Monday, February 10, 2014

The Lightning Thief









  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Disney-Hyperion; 1 edition (March 21, 2006)
  • ISBN-10: 0786838655
  • Author: Rick Riordan
  • Cover art: Love it!
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.






The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

QUICK REVIEW

Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. And that's the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he's angered a few of them. Zeus' master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus' stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


This was a re-read. I really liked this, I forgot how good of a story it was. In someways the movie is close to the book, but for the most part it's very different.  You can enjoy each as their own separate thing. 

I really like how Riordan weaves his stories. Yes, the book has elements of Greek Mythology, but it's not Greek Mythology. I love the idea of camp half-blood! I also loved the interaction between Percy, Grover and Annabeth. The dialog was great and the character development was fantastic.

If you have a hard time reading books and find yourself feeling bored this is the series for you, it moves very fast and there is always more action around the corner. 
It's such a fun and fast read, people of all ages can really enjoy it.

I really liked the descriptions of the camp and each of the cabins. In short, if you love Greek Myths and want a fun fast paced read, then pick up Percy Jackson today! 



So say we all!

Saturday, February 8, 2014

Ma Semaine dans les Livres My week in books





Hey y'all Ma Semaine dans les livres is inspired by Stacking the Shelves a weekly meme hosted by the always awesome Tynga of Tynga's reviews.
This week I got 2 books I bought one and I won one.

The one I bought was a pre-order, but it was delayed on shipping, I'm assuming due to snow. I know it's bad back east. Heck we have 5 inches here and we NEVER get snow last time we got snow was back in 08. Anyway! The book I bought was a copy of Manor of Secrets by Katherine Longshore.



The book I won was a copy of Uninvited by Sophie Jordan. I won this from the Januaray new release hop host by Book Twirps I won on their stop thank you Book Twirps!




Well, that's what I got this week, leave me a note and let me know what you got, I'll be sure to stop by and have a look!

So say we all!

Tuesday, February 4, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday









Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.
It's a simple one where we highlight a book that is not yet published but we are waiting for. This week my pick is They all fall down by Roxane St. Claire.



Pretty Little Liars meets Final Destination in this YA psychological thriller that will have readers' hearts racing right till the very end!

Every year, the lives of ten girls at Vienna High are transformed.

All because of the list.

Kenzie Summerall can't imagine how she's been voted onto a list of the hottest girls in school, but when she lands at number five, her average life becomes dazzling. Doors open to the best parties, new friends surround her, the cutest jock in school is after her.

This is the power of the list. If you're on it, your life changes.

If you're on it this year? Your life ends.


They all fall down is due out October 14th 2014. I am super excited for this one! What are you waiting for leave me a note and let me know, I'll be sure to stop by! 

 So say we all!