Friday, January 31, 2014

Ma Semaine dans les livres (My week in books)








Hey y'all! Ma semaine dans les lives (My week in books) is inspired by a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's reviews. (Stacking the shelves.)

This week I bought 1 box set, I bought 2 DVD's (movie version of the books) and I won a prize a pack.



The box set I bought was Percy Jackson and the Olympians. It was on sale at Barnes and Noble for just over $20. I couldn't pass it up! (I have an obession with Percy Jackson, I even own a Camp Half-blood shirt!)

The DVD's I bought were Percy Jackson 1&2. I had to!














The Prize Pack I won was awesome! I won the audio version of the Immortal Circus books plus some great trading cards of the characters! I won it from Mr. Kahler himself on his blog tour! I also got a signed bookplate that I promptly put in my paperback copy.  Now I can listen to this awesome series over and over on my way to work! A HUGE thank you to A.R. Kahler.




 Seriously y'all if you haven't read Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan seen the movies, read The Immortal Circus series by A.R. Kahler you should!

That is what I got this week, leave me a note and let me know what you got. I'll be sure to stop by!


So say we all!

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday






Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.
This week I am waiting for The One by Kiera Cass.






The Selection changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. And now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon's heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she'll have to fight for the future she wants.

From the very first page of The Selection, this #1 New York Times bestselling series has captured readers' hearts and swept them away on a captivating journey... Now, in The One, Kiera Cass delivers a satisfying and unforgettable conclusion that will keep readers sighing over this electrifying fairy-tale long after the final page is turned.


How awesome does that sound?! I loved the other books in the series and I can't wait for this one! 

The One is due out May 6 2014. 

What are you waiting for? Leave me a note and let me know. I'll be sure to stop by and look at your post. 

So say we all!

Monday, January 27, 2014

Teaser Tuesday









Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should be reading.




This week I am sharing from my current read Only the good spy young by Ally Carter.

"The ground was hard and cold against mt feet, but there was no time to grab my boots--not a second to do anything but run and listen to the cries that floated through the dark."

Sounds cool right?!  Leave me a comment and let me know what you think. I'll be sure to stop by yours and say hello!



So say we all!

I'd tell you I love you , but then I'd have to kill you













  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Disney-Hyperion (March 20, 2007)
  • ISBN-10: 1423100042
  • Author: Ally Carter
  • Cover Art: I love the cover it's a lot of fun.
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.
  • Over all rating: **** out of 5 stars








I'd tell you I love you, but then I'd have to kill you by Ally Carter
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Cammie Morgan is a student at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, a fairly typical all-girls school-that is, if every school taught advanced martial arts in PE and the latest in chemical warfare in science, and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes in computer class. The Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses but it's really a school for spies. Even though Cammie is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways, she has no idea what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she's an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, or track him through town with the skill of a real "pavement artist"-but can she maneuver a relationship with someone who can never know the truth about her?

Cammie Morgan may be an elite spy-in-training, but in her sophomore year, she's on her most dangerous mission-falling in love. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


Okay, I read book 3 a few years ago. I just now went back to read book one. All I can say is why did I wait so long? Seriously, book one was just as much fun and just as funny as book 3. I love Cammie! This is one of those books where I wish the characters were real, I'd love to hang out with the girls and learn some spy moves.

Macey is a hoot! I love her character so much! I think that the GA would be an awesome place to walk around in, right up there with Hogwarts! I am glad that all the books are out now so I don't have to wait for them to be published. 

The dialog is the best part. I love how Cammie is always on her toes and her quips are pure genius. If you haven't yet read this series, I would strongly recommend this series. It's a lot of fun and super funny.  You will love the girls and the school. Pick up a copy today! 


So say we all!

Saturday, January 25, 2014

Ma semaine dans les livres My week in books



My week in books is inspired by Stacking the shelves a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews.
This is the first one I've done in a while. While I've gotten loads of books since my last post, I'm just going to list the ones I got this week.

This week I got  tthree books I got one for review, I won one and  and I bought one.

The book I got for review was a copy of Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. It was sent by the publisher in exchange for a honest review. Thank you Quirk books!
















The book I bought was a copy of Only the good spy young by Ally Carter.




The book I won through Librarything was a copy of Innocence by Dean Koontz. I was super excited to get this one in the mail, I've heard great hings about it and I love Koontz he is an amazing author.



What did your week in books look like? Leave  me a comment and let me know!



So say we all!

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday










Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. This week I am waiting for After the End by Amy Plum.





She’s searching for answers to her past. They’re hunting her to save their future.

World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They've survived for the last thirty years by living off the land, being one with nature, and hiding from whoever else might still be out there.

At least, this is what Juneau has been told her entire life.

When Juneau returns from a hunting trip to discover that everyone in her clan has vanished, she sets off to find them. Leaving the boundaries of their land for the very first time, she learns something horrifying: There never was a war. Cities were never destroyed. The world is intact. Everything was a lie.

Now Juneau is adrift in a modern-day world she never knew existed. But while she's trying to find a way to rescue her friends and family, someone else is looking for her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about the secrets of her past.


How Awesome does this book sound?! I can't wait. It comes out May 6th.
What are you waiting for, leave me a note and let me know.

 So say we all!


Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Immortal Circus Act 2














  • Paperback: 222 pages
  • Publisher: 47North (August 20, 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 1477807373
  • Author: A.R. Kahler
  • Cover art: Beautiful just like the first one, I'd love to have them as posters.
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars.







The Immortal Circus Act 2 by A.R. Kahler
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Vivienne is almost content with her new life in the Cirque des Immortels. She has moved up from selling cotton candy to telling fortunes, she has a gorgeous, magical boyfriend, Kingston…and no one has been murdered since the clash between the otherworldly Courts. Her life under the faerie big top would be perfect, in fact, if not for the nightmares and visions that compel her to seek and confront her half-remembered past. But for Viv, not knowing her past may well be a blessing. There's a reason she ran away. But can she truly escape herself?.

The second act of the fantastically evocative Cirque des Immortels series, The Immortal Circus: Act Two draws readers further into a world that’s at once wonderful, seductive…and deadly.

Step right up…(Synopsis provided by goodreads)


Wow, I thought the first book was good, this one was even better! This book had a few major plot twists that I never saw coming. One I did when half way through the book a character made a comment, after the comment I connected the dots. If the comment had not been made I wouldn't have figured it out. The comment itself made me gasp out loud and freak for a second. All I can say is well done Mr. Kahler well done!

Mab was even more badass in this one then in the last one. I do look forward to seeing how her character will further develop in the last book. Her character was amazing in this one, I never saw the end coming not from a mile away.

I did enjoy seeing Viv and Kingston in this one, the way the two of them mesh together was very believable and that can be hard to find, I've read other books where the love interest seems forced, but in the case of Viv and Kingston I never got that.

I loved being able to find out more about Viv's past, that was one thing I was hoping to get going into this one. I also like how there weren't a ton of questions left unanswered, there were a few of course one huge one at the end, but it's one that I'm sure the last book will deal greatly with.

I wish I would have been able to read this series when it first came out, but I am lad I picked it up when I did. Now I don't have to wait very long for the third book as it is being released in serial form now!

I do hope Mr. Kahler will have more books to publish this year as I have quickly become a massive fan and will be recommending his books to everyone I know.


So say we all!

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

The Immortal Circus Final Act Book Blast



Today is the release day for THE IMMORTAL CIRCUS: FINAL ACT and I'm thrilled to be able to help out and spread the word about its release with an awesome guest post from Mab, an excerpt and a giveaway.

As with the first two books in the series, this third and final book will be released first in serial format. But this time a new episode will be releasing each week for six weeks until the novel is complete.

For those who haven't yet stepped foot into the Cirque des Immortels, now is the perfect time to get started. In just six weeks the series will be complete and all three books will be available in their entirety to devour.

So be sure to check out all the details below for more information about this awesome series. If you’d like to know just a little bit more, there is a one week only tour going on right now, which includes its very own giveaway. So just head over to Rockstar Book Tours for the schedule so you can follow along.

And if you'd like the chance to win another prize pack, don't forget to enter the giveaway in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.

Now, let me turn things over to Mab, Ringmaster extraordinare.

***

The Guest Post


Hello, Lovelies,

The Final Act is here at last, ready to draw you in to that last bow over six deliciously tempting installments. Each week will take you deeper into the dark, debaucherous world of the Cirque des Immortels, right up until the thrilling conclusion. You thought you knew the Immortal Circus, but I can assure you, there's still much more to discover. Great lies and greater love, old flames and new foes...but I don't want to spoil it, not just yet.

So I'll leave you with this. Just a taste. Just in case you weren't ready to take the plunge.

The Big Top awaits...step right up.

-Mab

----

I hate how desensitized I've become to dead bodies.

It's not exactly a part of the gig, not really what I thought being the ringmaster for a circus would entail. But hell, Mab never left me a rule book when she handed me the job. I'm lucky she let me keep my head.

Melody stands beside me. It's 6:00 a.m., and she's in a loose cardigan and penguin-print pajama pants.

Despite the sleep in her eyes, there's an alertness to her I'm trying my best to imitate. She stares at the body lying prone in the parking lot like it's a science experiment gone awry, one that might blow up or sprout wings. I stifle a yawn with the back of my hand.

“Another evacuee?” I ask.

Not that there's any need to ask: the answer's an obvious yes. The bald guy sprawled on the ground can't be older than thirty: no bruises or blood, no obvious reason to croak. He looks like he just dropped dead. Which, seeing as he went against his contract by trying to leave, is precisely what happened.

***

About The Immortal Circus: Final Act


THE IMMORTAL CIRCUS: FINAL ACT


Series: Cirque des Immortels #3
Release date: January 14, 2014 in serial format
Pages: 44 (episode 1)
Publisher: 47North
Formats: eBook

Description:

This book is a Kindle Serial. Kindle Serials are stories published in episodes, with future episodes delivered at no additional cost. This serial currently contains one episode out of an estimated six total episodes, and new episodes will be delivered every week.

Episode List
An additional episode will be delivered every week until the book is complete. New episodes will be added to the same book on your Kindle, keeping your place and retaining your notes and highlights. You'll be notified via email when a new episode has been delivered.

Episode 1: January 14, 2014. All is not well within the Cirque des Immortels: war is brewing, the troupe is angry, and without Kingston there, Vivienne's in over her head. But when an unexpected guest arrives, she realizes her problems have only just begun.

Episode 2: January 21, 2014. Now Vivienne must not only deal with a mutinous troupe, but her long-lost lover. To make matters worse, there's a new player in the game. And this opponent is hell-bent on revenge.


***

About A.R. Kahler


Alex is many things, but first and foremost, he’s a Sagittarius.

Born in Iowa and educated across the States, he’s taught circus in Amsterdam and Madrid, gotten madly lost in the Scottish wilderness, received his Masters in Creative Writing from Glasgow University, and drummed with Norse shamans. Sometimes he also walks about on stilts. Or sews. Or hammers tiny pieces of metal into pretty shapes.

When he’s not writing or climbing in the rafters, he’s probably drinking coffee. And seeing as he currently resides in Seattle, there’s coffee aplenty.

He is represented by Laurie McLean of Foreword Literary.


***

Other Books in the Series

Title: THE IMMORTAL CIRCUS
Series: Cirque des Immortels #1
Release date: December 4, 2012 (serial); January 29, 2013 (print)
Pages: 224
Publisher: 47North
Formats: Paperback, audio, eBook

Description:

Murdered contortionists aren't exactly what Vivienne signed up for when she ran away to join the circus. But like most things under the big top, nothing is what it seems. With a past she can't quite remember, Vivienne finds that running away forever might not be as appealing as it once sounded—especially not when she realizes the devilishly attractive ringleader, Mab, is the Faerie Queen of legend—and that she and the rest of the troupe are locked in an age-old rivalry between the otherworldly Courts.

Aided by her friends Kingston—a feisty stage magician whose magic is quickly stealing her heart—and his smart-ass assistant, Melody, Vivienne finds herself racing against the clock to discover the culprit behind a series of deaths that should be impossible. However, the answer she seeks might reveal more about her own bloody past—and future—than she bargained for.

The show's just beginning. Step right up...


***

Title: THE IMMORTAL CIRCUS: ACT TWO
Series: Cirque des Immortels #2
Release date: June 11, 2013 (serial); August 20, 2013 (print)
Pages: 222
Publisher: 47North
Formats: Paperback, audio, eBook

Description:

Vivienne is almost content with her new life in the Cirque des Immortels. She has moved up from selling cotton candy to telling fortunes, she has a gorgeous, magical boyfriend, Kingston…and no one has been murdered since the clash between the otherworldly Courts. Her life under the faerie big top would be perfect, in fact, if not for the nightmares and visions that compel her to seek and confront her half-remembered past. But for Viv, not knowing her past may well be a blessing. There's a reason she ran away. But can she truly escape herself?.

The second act of the fantastically evocative Cirque des Immortels series, The Immortal Circus: Act Two draws readers further into a world that’s at once wonderful, seductive…and deadly.

Step right up…


***

The Trailer




The Giveaway


The blast includes a giveaway for an awesome prize pack which includes a personalized copy of Act Two, a full set of trading cards and a signed bookplate.


  • Giveaway is US Only.
  • Prize will be shipped by the author.
  • Giveaway Ends January 20th at 11:59 p.m. Pacific.


Enter in the Rafflecopter below...


a Rafflecopter giveaway



  So say we all!

Monday, January 6, 2014

The Immortal Circus










  • Paperback: 224 pages
  • Publisher: 47North (January 29, 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 1611099447
  •  Author: A.R. Kahler
  • Cover art: I love it! I love the color splash.
  • Obtained: Birthday present.
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars









The Immortal Circus by A.R. Kahler
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Murdered contortionists aren't exactly what Vivienne signed up for when she ran away to join the circus. But like most things under the big top, nothing is what it seems. With a past she can't quite remember, Vivienne finds that running away forever might not be as appealing as it once sounded—especially not when she realizes the devilishly attractive ringleader, Mab, is the Faerie Queen of legend—and that she and the rest of the troupe are locked in an age-old rivalry between the otherworldly Courts.

Aided by her friends Kingston—a feisty stage magician whose magic is quickly stealing her heart—and his smart-ass assistant, Melody, Vivienne finds herself racing against the clock to discover the culprit behind a series of deaths that should be impossible. However, the answer she seeks might reveal more about her own bloody past—and future—than she bargained for.

The show's just beginning. Step right up... (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I followed A.R. Kahler when he was a YA Rebel. Hearing about his book made me want to read it. I was given a gift card for my birthday and I used it to get this book and the second one. It took me a while to finish a few other books so I could read this one and I loved it!

I loved the storytelling and how we saw Viv morph from a cotton candy sales girl who wasn't sure of herself to a totally different and kick ass girl! Kahler has a way with words, the way he wove this story together was something I rarely see. For me, his writing is on the same level as Amy Plum and Kiera Cass. (For those of you who read my reviews know how much I love Plum and Cass.)

One of the things I loved most about this book is how I was unable to figure out what was going to happen next. When I thought I had an idea, Kahler threw a twist into the story that I never would have guessed he would have. It was amazing!

The story was unique and I enjoyed the exotic setting. It's rare to find a book with faires that isn't a traditional romance, this book was just what I was looking for, something new, fresh and different. I will say though that if you are easily offended by cursing in books, you may want to be careful with this one, there is cursing in it.

The dialog was fantastic, and I felt like I was standing right there with the characters. The descriptions were vivid and wonderful, the reader feels as if they are there, I could smell the air and feel the grass it was that descriptive.  I have already pre-ordered the last book in this series.

Kahler has just jumped up to my favorite authors list and he is also on the must go to a signing list for me! If you haven't read this one, what are you waiting for you should pick this one now! 


So say we all!

Friday, January 3, 2014

2014 Witches and Witchcraft challenge

2014 Witches & Witchcraft Reading Challenge
So on my travels in the blog world today I came across this 2014 Witches and Witchcraft challenge. Hosted by Melissa's Electric bookshelf.
I am signing up under the Maiden Challenge in which I read 6-10 books. I am excited for this one! Go and join it too!



New Year more reviews

Hey y'all, I know I was busy last year and didn't review as many books as I wanted, but I should have more time this year. I have about 60 pages left of the book I am currently reading and I hope to have a review posted of it on Monday. I am looking forward to so many books this year!

This will be a year to remember in books I can feel it! We get to find out who America chooses in Kiera Cass' THE ONE! We get to start a new adventure with Amy Plum in AFTER THE END! We get to find out all in A.R. Kahler's book THE IMMORTAL CIRUS THE FINAL ACT!  And so much more I am just over the moon with anticipation!

What books are you looking forward to? Any I missed from last year I should read? Drop me a note and let me know!

I know I didn't do a yearly wrap-up like I normally do, but I was just slammed with stuff at the end of the year.


So say we all!