Friday, September 27, 2013

The One cover reveal









You guys! It's here the cover for The One is finally here! I was right! I thought that America would be in white on the cover! Which has gotten me to further freak and get all excited and try to figure out what might happen! Well Kiera showed off her new cover yesterday which means it's really real and here it is! So, what do you all think? Isn't it beautiful? I think it's the best of them all!




This one is set for a May 6 2014 release day according to the goodreads page!


So say we all!

Monday, September 9, 2013

Asylum















  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (August 20, 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 0062220969
  • Author: Madeleine Roux
  • Cover art: Delightfully creepy!
  • Obtained: My personal Libray
  • Overall rating: *** 1/2 out of 5 stars.








Asylum by Madeleine Roux
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, New Hampshire College Prep is more than a summer program—it's a lifeline. An outcast at his high school, Dan is excited to finally make some friends in his last summer before college. But when he arrives at the program, Dan learns that his dorm for the summer used to be a sanatorium, more commonly known as an asylum. And not just any asylum—a last resort for the criminally insane.

As Dan and his new friends, Abby and Jordan, explore the hidden recesses of their creepy summer home, they soon discover it's no coincidence that the three of them ended up here. Because the asylum holds the key to a terrifying past. And there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

Featuring found photos of unsettling history and real abandoned asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Madeleine Roux's teen debut, Asylum, is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I struggled when deciding if this was a 3 or 4 star book. 3 seemed too low and 4 seemed to high, so I did 3 1/2. 
It was creepy and wonderful, but there were a few things I felt were left unanswered, which is what dropped it down from a solid four stars. 

I want to say that I find asylums completely creepy! The fact that this book had pictures of asylums gave the book a higher creepy factor. I liked the characters a lot Abby was great, Jordan was fun and kinda an ass. Felix was always kind of a question mark, which I liked. 

There were a few things that were very predictable, but there were a few things that surprised me.   I would have liked to have seen a few things fleshed out a bit more and I really wanted a few answers that I never got. (I believe this is a stand alone novel.)

The writing never seemed fake, by that I mean the characters always felt genuine and it always felt like they were being true to themselves. I also never felt like the relationships in the book between the characters were ever forced.

I really wanted to know more about Dan's past, but we never really got that information. Would have nice to know more about Lucy as well, but again we never really get that information.

Aside from that, I did really enjoy the book. Fall is almost here and that means Halloween, the perfect time to read this book. If you like creepy books then I would suggest picking up this one and giving it a read.

So say we all!

Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Sweet Legacy Blog Blitz and Giveaway

Alright Y'all today is Blitz day! We are blitzing the internet with all things SWEET LEGACY! It's the final book in the Medusa Girl's series by Tera Lynn Childs! YAY!!!!!

Here is the blurb for the final book!



Greer has always known she was privileged, though she had no idea how special her second sight made her, even among her triplet monster-fighting sisters. But when a god starts playing with her mind, can Greer step up in her pretty high heels to prevent anything from stopping her sisters’ mission?
Grace loves her adopted brother, Thane, but now that he’s back and has joined her sisters’ team, it’s clear his past is full of dark mysteries. She wants to trust him, but will Thane’s secret put the girls in even more danger?
Gretchen knows she can rely on her sisters to help her stop the monsters. But after getting to know some of the beasties in the abyss, she finds her role as a huntress comes with more responsibility than she ever imagined. How can she know what her birthright demands of her now?
The girls cannot hesitate as they seek the location of the lost door between the realms, even as monsters and gods descend on San Francisco in battle-ready droves. In this exciting conclusion to the Sweet Venom trilogy, these teenage heirs of Medusa must seek the truth, answer the ancient riddles, and claim their immortal legacy.


You can buy the book at any of these places online:
You can find Tera online here:

  • website http://teralynnchilds.com/
  • twitter http://twitter.com/teralynnchilds
  • facebook http://facebook.com/authortlc
  • Sweet Legacy http://teralynnchilds.com/books/sweet-legacy/
I have 5 facts about her to share with you all now:

1) Her first three years of school were all in French!
2)Her first memory is the smell of picking sugar snap peas with her dad when she was two.
3)She was born three weeks late (and has been making up for it ever since)
4) She almost trained as an Olympic swimmer.
5)She once spent New Year's in a hot tub in Vail.

And now for the giveaway! Tera is hosting this one via rafflecopter, all of the blitzers have this one on their post.


<a id="rc-6704a720" class="rafl" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/6704a720/" rel="nofollow">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src="//d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js"></script>




 So say we all!

Monday, September 2, 2013

Teardrop early review








  • Hardcover: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press (October 22, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385742657
  • Author: Lauren Kate
  • Cover art: I like it, I know a lot of people don't, but I find it beautiful.
  • Obtained: Won from Emily.
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars.









Teardrop by Lauren Kate
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Never, ever cry. . . . Eureka Boudreaux's mother drilled that rule into her daughter years ago. But now her mother is gone, and everywhere Eureka goes he is there: Ander, the tall, pale blond boy who seems to know things he shouldn't, who tells Eureka she is in grave danger, who comes closer to making her cry than anyone has before.

But Ander doesn't know Eureka's darkest secret: ever since her mother drowned in a freak accident, Eureka wishes she were dead, too. She has little left that she cares about, just her oldest friend, Brooks, and a strange inheritance—a locket, a letter, a mysterious stone, and an ancient book no one understands. The book contains a haunting tale about a girl who got her heart broken and cried an entire continent into the sea. Eureka is about to discover that the ancient tale is more than a story, that Ander might be telling the truth . . . and that her life has far darker undercurrents than she ever imagined. From Lauren Kate comes an epic saga of heart-stopping romance, devastating secrets, and dark magic . . . a world where everything you love can be washed away. (Synopsis provided by goodreads) 

As a fan of Kate's previous books, I was eager to read this one and see what spin she put to the myth of Atlantis. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but I wasn't dissapointed. I really enjoyed this one.  There were a few things that I didn't see coming, but there were others that I figured out early on.

I liked Eureka's character, the name took a while to get use to, but the character and how well she was written is more important then the name.  I really liked Ander, he was really cool and his dynamic was different then any other character Kate has written. He had a mysterious vibe going and there were a few things that at first I thought he sounded like a stalker, but once we learned the why, it made sense and he came across as a lot less stalkerish.

The dialog was great! I didn't feel that it was cheesy or forced which is good. It seems that a lot of books have scenes that feel forced or cheesy and I didn't find that.
 
Rhoda really bugged me! I know that she's meant to be an annoyance in the book, and Kate did a wonderful job in showing us that. That is one thing I love about Kate, she shows the reader, she doesn't just tell the reader. 
 
There was a scene towards the end of the book that was just amazing! I felt like I was there with the characters in that scene feeling the same things they felt, seeing the same things they saw.  I am so excited for the next installment of this series. 

Teardrop is a phenomenal start to what promises to be an amazing series with twists and turns all over the place! A great writer, dynamic characters and Atlantis, what more can a reader ask for? 
If you are looking for something different, a twist on the Atlantis tale, if you are a fan of Kate's or have never read anything by her pick up Teardrop when it released on October 22 2013. 





 So say we all!