Monday, August 26, 2013

Stronger











  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: HarperOne (November 30, 2010)
  • ISBN-10: 0061555827
  • Author: Brian "Head" Welch
  • Cover Art: It's a picture of the author, but it would have been neat to see the artwork in the book as the cover.
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars.
  • Obtained: My Personal bookshelf. 







Stronger Forty days of metal and Spirituality. 
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

"New York Times" bestselling author Brian "Head" Welch returns with a raw and unforgettable journey through his life with Christ and the scripture that has helped lead him into deeper intimacy with God

In 2007, Brian "Head" Welch, the former lead guitarist for the hard-rock band Korn, shared the dramatic story of his music, drug addiction, and miraculous redemption through Jesus Christ in his "New York Times" bestselling book, "Save Me from Myself." Inspiring and compelling, this book began a new chapter in his life, as he acknowledged the mistakes of his past and looked forward to a brighter future with God at his side.

Now in "Stronger," Head continues to share his personal life with an unflinching forty-day devotional of scriptures that have helped him to mold his Christian faith and find light during life's darkest moments. Written with passion and openness, this forty-day journey offers stories from Head's past and present, as he speaks candidly about his bouts of depression since finding God, his struggles against the darkness as he's tried to understand his faith, and how, through these times of weakness, God's written word has been one of the keys to making him stronger than he's ever been. Applying both the Old and New Testaments to every aspect of his life--from his time with Korn to his new solo career to his life-altering decisions to his relationship with his daughter--Head details how, no matter what the issue, God has always provided the guidance he's needed to become a stronger person.

One part journal chronicling his evolving relationship with God, one part spiritual testament to the undeniable strength of the Bible, "Stronger" is a devotional unlike any other--both a moving tribute to the transformative power of the word and a no-holds-barred look at what it means to give yourself completely to Jesus Christ. (Synopsis provided by Goodreads)


The design of this book is to read one "day" at a time. The author has the book sectioned off in days to go from one to forty. The start of each day is one of his favorite verses and he tells you a story of one of his personal experiences that goes with the verse for the day.

Some of the stories were better then others, but I feel like the reader can get something out of all them even if we can't directly relate to his experiences. 

I really enjoyed the art work that went along with some of the stories as well. 

I would like to read more by the same author to see what else he has to say about Christ and his own journey into Christianity. It's obvious that the book is a Bible study and that he is a Christian, but he never gets pushy and he doesn't scream and preach. 


If you want something in the Bible study category and want something different give this one a chance. 





 So say we all!
  

Monday, August 19, 2013

City of Bones








  • Series: The Mortal Instruments (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 485 pages
  • Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books; Reprint edition (February 19, 2008)
  • ISBN-10: 9781416955078
  • Author: Cassandra Clare
  • Obtained: My personal book shelf
  • Coverart: Love it, it looks so mystical!
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars








 City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.


When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . .(synopsis provided by goodreads)


If you are like me and want to read or re-read this before the movie, time is running out. Every time I pick up one of Clare's books, I am reminding of why I love her story telling. It doesn't matter if it's my first time reading a specific book by her or the hundredth, it's always an adventure. 

For me, the Mortal Instruments series is like Harry Potter whenever I read them, I find something I missed the last time I read it. It's like reading it for the first time each time. Clare's use of words is nothing short of amazing. One thing I love is her descriptions, she is one of those authors who's world comes alive and leaps off the page for me. The Shadowhunters world is a world that I would love to be able to be a part of. (With guys like Jace who wouldn't?)

Clare also is an author that gets to the point., she doesn't spend a lot of time bogging the reader down with unnecessary filler.

I love Jace, I really love him. His humor and sarcastic nature are a great way to laugh at the end of a hard day.  

There was a lot in this book that I saw coming, but there was also a few things that really threw me. If you haven't read this book yet, you should. If you are a fan of Harry Potter or supernatural hidden worlds, this is the book for you.



So say we all!

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

ROGUE blogtour stop and giveaway








I am so excited to be apart of the blog tour for ROGUE by Gina Damico! ROGUE is the third and final book in her CROAK trilogy. I haven't read it yet, but I plan to read it as soon as I can which is soon September 10th 2013 it will be set free into the world where all of us can buy a copy and read it!
But, you didn't come by to listen me you came by to listen to author Gina Damico, so without further ado, I will turn the blog over to her. Take it away Gina!


Hey hey Croak fans! Welcome to my blog tour / photo hunt / Roguestravaganza! 

From now until ROGUE's release on September 10th, each stop on the tour will reveal an image that represents a chapter in the book - could refer to setting, plot, an important object, mood, or whatever other diabolical visualizations with which I feel like tormenting my dear readers. Each image also contains a hidden letter...though really, they're not that well hidden. (If you have eyes, you should be able to spot them.) Collect the letters every day, and at the end of the tour I'll hold a contest, the winner of which will receive signed and annotated copies of the complete trilogy. (For a complete description of the contest, tour schedule, and links to the stops you might have missed, check out the blog tour page on my website.)

So! This photo is for Chapter 2. I will let the image do the talking.




Thanks for having me! Good luck everyone!
-----------------------------

Plot Summary: 
Teenage Grim Reaper Lex’s power to Damn souls is getting out of control. She's a fugitive, on the run from the maniacal new mayor of Croak and the townspeople who want to see her pay the price for her misdeeds. Uncle Mort rounds up the Junior Grims to flee Croak once again, but this time they're joined by Grotton, the most powerful Grim of all time. Their new mission is clear: fix his mistakes, or the Afterlife will cease to exist, along with all the souls in it.

The gang heads for Necropolis, the labyrinth-like capital city of the Grimsphere. There, they discover that the Grimsphere needs a reboot. To do that, the portals to the Afterlife must be destroyed...but even that may not be enough to fix the damage. Things go from bad to worse, and when at last the fate of the Afterlife and all the souls of the Damned hang in the balance, it falls to Lex and her friends to make one final, impossible choice.
Okay, how awesome does that sound?! Like holy cow!  If you want to purchase the book online you may do so here are a few options for easy access. (No, I don't get paid for you clicking the links or for buying the book.)
Links: 
Okay, y'all, you're probably wondering about the giveaway. Gina has generously donated to one of my readers (and other tour stops) a Croak Prize pack! This will include 3 signed book marks, 3 signed book plates, 3 magnets and 1 scythe pendant.
Gina has said that this contest is open to EVERYONE in ANY country! Ends at midnight PST on Sunday August 18 2013.
Entering is easy just leave a comment with your email address and your country.
Winner will have 24 hours to respond to email or a new winner will be selected. That's all it takes. Feel free to tweet and spread the word to help Gina to promote her new book!




So say we all!

Monday, August 12, 2013

Die For Her






  • File Size: 413 KB
  • Print Length: 60 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (April 2, 2013)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • ASIN: B009NFH6OG
  • Author: Amy Plum
  • Cover art: I'm glad they made it go with the rest of the books.
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.








Die For Her by Amy Plum
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Set in the romantic and death-defying world of the international bestselling Die for Me trilogy, this digital original novella follows Jules, a brooding, immortal French artist who has fallen in love with his best friend’s girlfriend.

Jules Marchenoir is a revenant-an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save human lives. He’s spent the better part of the last century flirting his way through Paris, but when he met Kate Mercier, the heroine from Amy Plum’s Die for Me trilogy, he knew his afterlife had changed forever and he had found the love of his life. Until Kate fell for his best friend, Vincent. Now Jules is faced with an impossible decision: choosing between his loyal friend and a love truly worth dying for. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


This book is only available in e-book.   I don't normally read e-books as my eyes strain reading off a screen, but I do have the app on my phone, I just don't use it. I really wanted to read this as I am a huge fan of Amy Plum so I bought it.

Jules has never been a favorite of mine, but I don't dislike him either. This e-book is good, but it's mostly the main plot points of the first two books told from Jules perspective. What I liked was the fact that I felt we got to see and learn more about his thoughts and feelings then we did in the series. That was neat. I do wish though that we got more, not just a re-telling. But I totally get that that was the point of the book.

I do hope that we can have more short stories about the rest of the kindred. I would love to know more about the rest of them like Ambrose, what was his life in America like? I'd also like to know more about Jules.

If you like the series and have read the first two books, then read this one as well. It's well written and very good. If you haven't read the first two, then hold off as this contains massive spoilers from the first two books.


 So say we all!

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Top Ten Tuesday








Top ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the topic is standalone books we wish had sequels.

As always this is in no order:

1) If I Lie by Corrine Jackson

2)Something like normal by Trish Doller

3)Destined by Jessie Herrell

4) Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame

5) In Honor by Jessi Kirby

6) Miss Peregine's home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

7) Holes by Louis Sachar

8)Saving Juliet by Suzanne Selfors

9) The Statistical Probability of love at first sight by Jennifer E. Smith

10) Personal Effects by E.M. Kokie


I know number 9 has a companion novel but to me, that's way too different.

So that is my list, leave me a comment and let me know what's on your list!


So say we all!

Monday, August 5, 2013

The Prince











  • File Size: 477 KB
  • Print Length: 55 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (March 5, 2013)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • ASIN: B008O8I8KY
  • Cover Art: I like it.
  • Author: Kiera Cass
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf 






The Prince by Kiera Cass
Reviewed by Moirae the Fates book reviews

Before thirty-five girls were chosen to compete in the Selection...

Before Aspen broke America's heart...

There was another girl in Prince Maxon's life...(Synopsis provided by Goodreads)


Okay, I downloaded the kindle app on my phone so I could read this. I'm glad I did. While I normally dislike reading on a screen as it hurts my eyes, this one was worth it! It follows Maxon a few days before the Selection and we get to see just how much it weighs on him.

We get to see his reactions when he meets the girls and what he think before the Selection actually starts. My main issue with this one was Daphne. She really bugged me. She seemed too clingy to me for some reason. But that doesn't mean the book was bad, I really liked the book even if I didn't care for one of the characters.

I may have enjoyed this one more if I had read it first before I read The Selection and The Elite. If you like the other two books and are able to read an e-book give this one a go!


So say we all!