Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Top Ten Tuesday








Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week's topic is the best Beginnings and Endings in books! I love this topic! Here is my list in no order, well except number one that is my favorite from the list:

1) Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry.
"Benny Imura couldn't hold a job so he took to killing." 
How cool is that line?! I mean talk about a hook!

2) Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.
"Once upon a time an angel fell in love with a demon it did not end well."
Okay, I know it's on the page before the first chapter, but it's still a really good opening line!

3) Wildefire by Karsten Knight.
" Ashline Wilde was a human mood ring."
I really like that once, it makes the reader go what is a human mood ring?

4)City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare. (Last Line)
"Yes," Madeleine said. "I mean I can show you how to wake your mother up."
It's such a fantastic cliff hanger!

5) Until I die by Amy Plum (Last Line)
"Two words spoken clearly inside my head : mon ange."
I loved the whole series, and this line gives the reader hope!

6) Uglies by Scott Westerfeld.
"The early summer sky was the color of cat vomit."
As gross as it is, it paints a picture!

7) Personal Effects by E.M. Kokie.
"Of all the lame shit on Pinscher's backpack, his War Is Not The Answer sticker pisses me off  the most-- even more than his Practice Nonviolence button, which makes me want to practice some violence on his face."
 I just love that, it's so poignant. 

8) Possibilities of Saint Hood by Donna Freitas.
"To Whom it may concern. (Ideally the Pope if he's available)
I'm writing to inform you of a series oversight in the area of patron saint specializations."
This one just promises a fun time!

9) American Assassin by Vince Flynn.
"Mitch Rapp stared at his reflection in the dusty, cracked mirror and questioned his sanity."
I identify with that, who hasn't started in a mirror and questioned their sanity?

10) The Selection by Kiera Cass.
"One can never help being born into perfection," I whispered." 
This was another really good one that made the reader go "hmm?"


Well, that is my list what's on yours?

So say we all!

Monday, July 29, 2013

Unveiling Mary Magdalene










  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: WaterBrook Press (May 18, 2004)
  • ISBN-10: 140007021X
  • Author: Liz Curtis Higgs
  • Cover art: I love this edition!
  • Overall Rating: ***** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.








Unveiling Mary Magdalene by Liz Curtis Higgs
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

The veil has been lifted.
Discover the Gospel truth about the most myth-understood woman of the New Testament. Was Mary Magdalene a prostitute? An adulteress? The wife of Jesus? An ancient goddess? Liz Curtis Higgs, best-selling author of Bad Girls of the Bible and Really Bad Girls of the Bible, combines heartfelt contemporary fiction with extensive biblical research to bring to life the real Mary Magdalene of the Bible.

With her own eyes, she saw him.
With her own ears, she heard him.
With her own hands, she touched him.

Unveiling Mary Magdalene
opens with the fictional journey of Mary Margaret Delaney, a madwoman adrift in modern Chicago. Her moving story, closely paralleling the biblical account, is followed by a verse-by-verse study of the first-century Mary Magdalene and her life-changing encounters with the Christ. (Synopsis provided by Goodreads)


This book was originally published with the title Mad Mary.

After reading several other books by Higgs, I was curious to learn about the notorious bad girl in the New Testament, I eagerly busted into this one and was shocked by what I found. Everything I thought I knew about Mary was wrong. 

Yep, all those thoughts we have about her, nope. We are wrong. Higgs dug deep in her research for this one, she went back to the 1600's and found out where some of the thoughts we have about Mary today are from. My eyes were opened.

I admit I found it a little disappointing that Mary wasn't a reformed bad girl but rather a good girl who had 7 demons cast out of her. (Don't get me wrong I am glad Christ cast out the demons!) 

However, after reading this book, I have found that Mary the REAL Mary Magdalene not the Mary Magdalene I thought she was is truly my favorite woman in the Bible.  I love what I learned about her and if you want to know who she really was pick up this book and find out!

Like the Bad Girls of the Bible series, this too begins with a modern day fictional tale on Mary and then in the last half of the book we get the study. Higgs shares with us all that she learned about Mary and she keeps her humor alive in this one as well.

Again, Men and women can learn form this one and like all of Higgs books, you don't have to be a Christian to enjoy them.


So say we all!

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Guest Post with Author W.A. Fulkerson






 Today I am pleased to host author W.A. Fulkerson to the blog!


I’ve been asked to share with you today the reason that I became a writer.  It’s quite simple: I had to. 

It is difficult to describe the compulsion that goes along with writing, but suffice it to say, it is irresistible.  If I don’t write, the world seems overwhelming.  If I don’t write I can’t sleep at night.  If I don’t write I feel as though I’m rotting on the inside, and the only cure is releasing the stories that are biting, kicking, and shoving to get out of me.  Once they’re on paper I can breathe again. 

I don’t mean to give you the wrong impression.  I love writing- in fact I adore it.  There isn’t any other profession in the world I’d rather have, but make no mistake, a writer writes because he cannot live with himself if he doesn’t.

Along the path of becoming a novelist I have had many guides, including Shakespeare, Orson Scott Card, Isaac Asimov, J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and many others.  Anyone who claims to be a writer but doesn’t read… well, I would look at that individual with suspicion.  A writer who doesn’t read is like a pianist who doesn’t practice, a dancer who doesn’t listen to music, a painter who has no taste for color.  I learned how to write by reading, as did every author before me.  In reading the harrowing tales of Troy in Homer’s Illiad, feeling my chest grow tight while gripping a copy of Crichton, uttering a gasp when I understood the meaning of That Hideous Strength, and in cradling a tome of Petrarch thinking, “I am the same as you”, I decided that I wanted to affect people the way that I had been affected by great works of literature.  The pressure inside of me now made sense.  I needed to share moments like these with whoever was willing to listen.

And now, of course, comes the plug.  I’ve written a fantasy novel called Starfall, and people tell me it’s quite good.  Ducasus and Malleus, the main characters in the story, could have been any of us, and it’s easy to put yourself in their shoes as you read.  Danger, ambition, and brushes with death bring out the heart of a person, and through time it becomes clearly seen.  It is often said that people don’t change, but this is wrong.  Of course people change.  They become more like themselves every day.  In reading Starfall you will experience an entirely new world.  You will see how time and trial change a person.  My hope and prayer is that it will make your chest grow tight, that it makes you laugh, that it sends chills rising up through your mortal frame, longing for the adventure that you will see inside.  I hope that this book makes you cry, as it did me when I wrote parts of it.  I hope that this book affects you.

Thank you for reading, friends.  A writer without readers is like an actor without an audience.  Let the tree fall in the forest, and may many be around to hear its thunderous crash as it plummets to the floor.  Or perhaps I should say, may many be around to see the majestic stars as they silently fall from the sky.


-W.A. Fulkerson


Thank you for stopping by W.A! You can learn more about Mr. Fulkerson on his website here. And you can purchase his book here.


 So say we all!

Monday, July 22, 2013

The Girls still got it











  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: WaterBrook Press (July 10, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 1578564484
  • Author: Liz Curtis Higgs
  • Cover Art: Love it!
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf. 








The Girls still got it by Liz Curtis Higgs
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

 You know Ruth's story. Now meet her in person. And prepare to be changed.

Walk with Ruth as she travels from Moab to Bethlehem, certain of her calling, yet uncertain of her future. Hold Naomi's hand and watch love put the pieces of her broken life back together. And hang out with Boaz, their kinsman-redeemer, who blesses both women and honors God, big time.

With best-selling author Liz Curtis Higgs by your side, you’ll tarry in the corners of their ancient houses, listen to their conversations, and consider every word of every verse until you can say, "I totally get the book of Ruth. And I see what God is trying to teach me through this rags-to-riches redemption story—he has a plan for my life."

Girl, does he ever!

Think of it as time travel without gimmicks, gizmos, or a DeLorean: a novel approach to Bible study that leaps from past to present, gleaning timeless truths that speak to the heart. (Synopsis provided by Goodreads)


This one is a study of the book of Ruth. Higgs changed things up a little with her style in this one, while it's still funny, there is no fictional story before she dives in. The whole book is a study of Ruth.

The way she handled this one was sort of like a tour guide in a time machine. I really liked it and I learned a lot about Ruth and Naomi. Higgs can hold your attention which is really important in a Bible study book. 

I really love Higgs' style and her books, she's a lot of fun and her books will make you laugh. We get a verse by verse break down in this one as well as her other books. If the verse needs it she breaks the verse up into words and talks about each word. 

When reading this one I felt like I was standing off in the distance with Higgs watching everything unfold. She used multiple points of reference in this one and she uses them all and tells us what each individual reference says.  She also will use her own reference and she calls it the "Lizzy revised Edition." Which she uses modern day speak to drive the point home. 

Men can get something out of this, but I'd recommend it more for women then men. 

So say we all!

Tuesday, July 16, 2013

Top Ten Tuesday










Okay this is my first ever top ten Tuesday, I've seen other blogs that participate and I never did, but I did today and I am so glad there is a list of future ones, so when my schedule allows I can write them up and schedule them in advance! 
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted and created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week the topic is Top Ten Authors Who Deserve More Recognition.


 I cheated and have 11 authors shh...!!!

In no order at all here they are:

1. Amy Plum. Her Die For Me series is simply amazing! 

2. Jonathan Maberry. I LOVE his Rot & Ruin series. 

3. Jackie Morse Kessler. She wrote the Riders of the Apocalypse series and I love how original they are and how she donates part of the profits of each book to a charity that goes with the book. 

4. Sarah Reese Brennan. Okay, she use to write Fan Fiction and when I was in high school I loved her writing, I followed her to her published original works the Demons lexicon series and simply love her.

5. Michelle Ray. Okay she only has one book so far but I loved Falling for Hamlet. It was the best re-telling I've ever read.

6. E.M. Kokie also has one book published, Personal Effects I loved this book, it was so deep and moving and I'm sad that so few people seem to have found this one.

7. Nova Ren Suma okay, have you read Imaginary Girls? It was really good and even better the second time!

8. Rachel Hawkins. Y'all she is so funny and the Hex Hall series was simply amazing and her new series School Spirits was just as fun and funny.

9. Kiera Cass. Author of The Selection series and super fun, her live chats are so much fun!

10. Katie Crouch The Magnolia League series love it! The sad part is it may not finish! I'm trying to get a twitter campaign but it's not taking off. If you want to help tweet to her publisher little brown using the hashtage #Savethemagnolialeague and #TheMagnoliaLeague. 

11. Trish Dollar. Have you read Something Like Normal. That was such a wonderful book, sad but beautiful I look forward to anything else she writes. 

What are your top ten?


So say we all!

Monday, July 15, 2013

Really Bad Girls of the Bible











  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Water Brook Press; First edition (September 19, 2000)
  • ISBN-10: 1578561264
  • Cover Art: This is the cover I have, but out of all of them it is my least favorite. 
  • Author: Liz Curtis Higgs
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal book shelf.







Really Bad Girls of the Bible by Liz Curtis Higgs
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Women everywhere marvel at those “good girls” in Scripture–Sarah, Mary, Esther–but on most days, that’s not who they see when they look in the mirror. Most women (if they’re honest) see the selfishness of Sapphira or the deception of Delilah. They catch of glimpse of Jezebel’s take-charge pride or Eve’s disastrous disobedience. Like Bathsheba, Herodias, and the rest, today’s modern woman is surrounded by temptations, exhausted by the demands of daily living, and burdened by her own desires.

So what’s a good girl to do? Learn from their lives, says beloved humor writer Liz Curtis Higgs, and by God’s grace, choose a better path. In Bad Girls of the Bible, Higgs offers a unique and clear-sighted approach to understanding those “other women” in Scripture, combining a contemporary retelling of their stories with a solid, verse-by-verse study of their mistakes and what lessons women today can learn from them.

Whether they were “Bad to the Bone,” “Bad for a Season, but Not Forever” or only “Bad for a Moment,” these infamous sisters show women how not to handle the challenges of life. With her trademark humor and encouragement, Liz Curtis Higgs teaches us how to avoid their tragic mistakes and joyfully embrace grace. (Synopsis provided by Goodreads)


This was a fabulous follow up to Higgs' first book Bad Girls of the Bible. In this one we get to learn about women who were "worse" then the women in the first book. Like the first book, Higgs is super funny and fun! That's a great way to describe these books fun!
She didn't get preachy in this one either and like the other book she started off with a fictional story that was similar to the Biblical one. 


As a Christian woman, I have learned so much more from these books then I ever would have on my own. The amount of research that Higgs does before she writes is amazing. I believe that even non-Christians can get enjoyment out of these books. 

If you're still thinking about picking up her books, think no longer and run out and get a copy. You are in for a good time and lots of laughs! 

So say we all!

Monday, July 8, 2013

Bad Girls of the Bible












  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: WaterBrook Press; Reprint edition (July 16, 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 0307731979
  • Author: Liz Curtis Higgs
  • Cover art: This is the cover I have, it's an older edition, I like the repackaged version coming out this month a lot better.
  • Over all rating: ***** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf. 








Bad Girls of the Bible by Liz Curtis Higgs
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

 Women everywhere marvel at those “good girls” in Scripture–Sarah, Mary, Esther–but on most days, that’s not who they see when they look in the mirror. Most women (if they’re honest) see the selfishness of Sapphira or the deception of Delilah. They catch of glimpse of Jezebel’s take-charge pride or Eve’s disastrous disobedience. Like Bathsheba, Herodias, and the rest, today’s modern woman is surrounded by temptations, exhausted by the demands of daily living, and burdened by her own desires.

So what’s a good girl to do? Learn from their lives, says beloved humor writer Liz Curtis Higgs, and by God’s grace, choose a better path. In Bad Girls of the Bible, Higgs offers a unique and clear-sighted approach to understanding those “other women” in Scripture, combining a contemporary retelling of their stories with a solid, verse-by-verse study of their mistakes and what lessons women today can learn from them.

Whether they were “Bad to the Bone,” “Bad for a Season, but Not Forever” or only “Bad for a Moment,” these infamous sisters show women how not to handle the challenges of life. With her trademark humor and encouragement, Liz Curtis Higgs teaches us how to avoid their tragic mistakes and joyfully embrace grace. (Synopsis provided by Goodreads)


For me, one thing I like the best about this book is the fact that Higgs is humorous! She throws in her own commentary while she is breaking down each woman's story. She also does her research before she starts writing, she takes into account the historical place of a woman during the time that each of the women she writes about lived.

While being a Bible study type book, she doesn't get preachy. Before the study portion of each woman, she writes a fictional story that mirrors the Biblical account. Which I have never seen before and I think it made it more enjoyable.

I would recommend this book to anyone, it is geared more for Christian women, but women from any walk of life could enjoy it, you don't have to be Christian to like it. Men could also get something from it I believe. If you have ever thought about this series, I would say go read it today!



So say we all!

Bloglovin

Hey y'all I just now set up an account for Bloglovin'. I know what took so long. Thank you to all of you who already apparently follow on it, when I went to claim my blog it said it had followers. <a href="http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/5549981/?claim=qnqappfarzd">Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

So say we all!

UPDATE

Hey y'all!! I have news, as I am on vacation I finally have time to catch up on reading and reviewing! I am writing up several reviews and am going to have them auto post once a week until I run out of reviews. So for y'all who are thinking where are the reviews they are coming starting today then every Monday till I run out. I hope to be able to have enough of a cushion to go back to once a week reviews, but working 7 days a week can really throw a wrench in my plans, but I can do it! Hope y'all like the reviews that are coming up! We have a few Bible study type books but you don't have to be religious to enjoy them and we have more YA books coming up too!

 So say we all!