Monday, December 16, 2013

City of Ashes











  • Hardcover: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books; First Edition edition (March 25, 2008)
  • ISBN-10: 1416914293
  • Author: Cassandra Clare
  • Cover art: My least favorite of the series
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars








City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what's normal when you're a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who's becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn't ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary's only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


After the way book one ended, I was eager to read this one. It's been a while and I'm just now reviewing it. 
I really like this series and I love the way Clare has formed her characters, she makes us care about them in a genuine way. Not all authors can accomplish this, when reading this book, I think of Jace and Clary as actual people, people I would love to sit down with and have a cup of coffee.

I love how Simon has developed as a character in this one and the way Jace changed from the first page of this book to the last. We got to learn a lot more about him then we have in the first book. 

We get to see more of Magnus which is always a treat, his character is fabulous! This is such a great series and I'll be sad when it ends but I look forward to being able to re read it over and over.

If you  have yet to read this series, you should, it's fastpace, fun and funny!


 So say we all!

Monday, December 9, 2013

Cinders and Sapphires








  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Disney Press (January 22, 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 1423171179
  • Author: Leila Rasheed
  • Cover art: I love it!
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf
  • Overall rating:**** out of 5 stars

Cinders and Sapphires by Leila Rasheed
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

One house, two worlds...

Rose Cliffe has never met a young lady like her new mistress. Clever, rich, and beautiful, Ada Averley treats Rose as an equal. And Rose could use a friend. Especially now that she, at barely sixteen, has risen to the position of ladies’ maid. Rose knows she should be grateful to have a place at a house like Somerton. Still, she can’t help but wonder what her life might have been had she been born a lady, like Ada.

For the first time in a decade, the Averleys have returned to Somerton, their majestic ancestral estate. But terrible scandal has followed Ada’s beloved father all the way from India. Now Ada finds herself torn between her own happiness and her family’s honor. Only she has the power to restore the Averley name—but it would mean giving up her one true love . . . someone she could never persuade her father to accept.

Sumptuous and enticing, the first novel in the At Somerton series introduces two worlds, utterly different yet entangled, where ruthless ambition, forbidden attraction, and unspoken dreams are hidden behind dutiful smiles and glittering jewels. All those secrets are waiting . . . at Somerton. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


This has been on my shelf since it was released, I finally picked it up and read it. I enjoyed it a lot, for me the one thing that knocked it down from 5 stars to 4 is the fact that within the first 50 pages or so I had already guessed the big twist at the end.  It was pretty easy to guess, but it was still a good twist. 

The writing style was good, the characters were great and the dialog was well done. The interactions between characters didn't seem to be forced at anytime.

I am looking forward to book two in January, I'm interested to see where all the characters are going to go from where they are now. I do hope that we get to follow the character to India, I'd like to see the characters in a different setting to see how or if they would change in anyway.

I liked Ada, she was really cool a very headstrong woman in a time that frowned upon women being headstrong.

If you are a fan of Downton Abby or Wentworth Hall, I would recommend this book.






So say we all!


Monday, November 25, 2013

Thinspo



  


  • Paperback: 136 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (October 22, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 148013161X
  • Author : Amy Ellis
  • Cover art: It makes a statement
  • Overall rating *** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal book shelf









 Thinspo by Amy Ellis
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Jenni is an average teenage girl about to graduate from high school who keeps a blog about her struggles to get a boyfriend and arguments with her best friend, Carly. But Jenni's blog is a bit different. She's a pro-ana/pro-mia blogger documenting her struggles with her eating disorder, keeping track of her weight, calorie intake and what her parents made her eat. When her best friend Carly discovers her blog, things start to blow up, only getting worse as Jenni meets Dani, who also suffers from an eating disorder. Jenni's story is tragic and sarcastic rolled into blog format and told through her posts and text messages.(Synopsis provided by goodreads)

Okay, this is one of the shorter eating disorder books I have read. I do wish it was bigger then it was but it's not. It's just an okay book, it didn't knock my socks off, but I didn't hate it either. I think what bothered me most was the ending, it felt very rushed, it all got solved and fixed up way too easily for my tastes. 
Jenni felt real though, which I liked. Her anger,hurt,frustration was all things that a friend of mine (may she rest in peace) felt reading the book, I felt like I was reading about my friend.

It's a fairly fast read, I read it in a few hours on a trip. I would say to borrow it from a library or a kindle exchange before you buy. I don't think I'll be reading it again. 

Overall there are better books about eating disorders you can read. The one I'd recommend the most would be Wintergirls.


 So say we all!

Monday, November 11, 2013

Nick and Tesla's High Voltage Danger Lab



  • Series: Nick and Tesla's High Voltage Danger Lab (Book 1)
  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Quirk Books (November 5, 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 1594746486
  • Author: Bob Pflugfelder & Steve Hockensmith
  • Cover art: It's not my favorite
  • Overall rating:*** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: From Quirk books in exchange for review
Nick and Tesla are bright 11-year-old siblings with a knack for science, electronics, and getting into trouble. When their parents mysteriously vanish, they’re sent to live with their Uncle Newt, a brilliant inventor who engineers top-secret gadgets for a classified government agency. It’s not long before Nick and Tesla are embarking on adventures of their own—engineering all kinds of outrageous MacGyverish contraptions to save their skin: 9-volt burglar alarms, electromagnets, mobile tracking devices, and more. Readers are invited to join in the fun as each story contains instructions and blueprints for five different projects.


In Nick and Tesla’s High-Voltage Danger Lab, we meet the characters and learn how to make everything from rocket launchers to soda-powered vehicles. Learning about science has never been so dangerous—or so much fun! (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


This is a super quick read. I generally don't read a lot of middle grade, but this one sounded like fun. 
It was fun, but I felt like it was missing something, though I'm not sure what was missing, but it did feel like there was ingredient left out. 

It was a humorous book and I really enjoyed the characters. Tesla reminds me of a young girl I know very curious. 

One thing that really stands out for me is how the reader can do the experiments right along with the characters in the book, of course an adult needs to be present to help the reader with the experiments. 
I think a lot of young kids and some older ones would love to be able to be apart of the story in that way. 

It's fun and educational though some kids may have too much fun reading it to realize they are also learning which gives the book an extra point.

If you have a child that loves science, you should pick them up a copy of this book.


So say we all!

Thursday, November 7, 2013

The Unbound

 Hey y'all! Today the first 100 pages of The Unbound by Victoria Schwab is up on Netgalley!

But that's not all! Victoria is holding 3 contests each is separate, but the prize is the same. The prize is access to the FULL ARC (This is in e-book form.)

You can enter on TWITTER by tweeting about the NetGalley first 100 pages sample. You must use the hashtag #TheUnbound.

You can enter on FACEBOOK by liking her page. Then just post a link to the NetGalley page and be sure to tag her so she can see the post. To help spread the word more, include her giveaways.

You can enter a third time on TUMBLR  by going to  her page and all you need to do is just re-post her post on there and that's the entry!
The giveaways will go until Nov. 10!
So its time to spread the word!!!


So say we all!

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Hush











  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher:Walker Childrens; Reprint edition (February 28, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0802723322
  • Author: Eishes Chayil
  • Cover art: I really like it, I love the words across the face.
  • Obtained: My personal library
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars









Hush by Eishes Chayil
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

 nside the closed community of Borough Park, where most Chassidim live, the rules of life are very clear, determined by an ancient script written thousands of years before down to the last detail—and abuse has never been a part of it. But when thirteen-year-old Gittel learns of the abuse her best friend has suffered at the hands of her own family member, the adults in her community try to persuade Gittel, and themselves, that nothing happened. Forced to remain silent, Gittel begins to question everything she was raised to believe.

A richly detailed and nuanced book, one of both humor and depth, understanding and horror, this story explains a complex world that remains an echo of its past, and illuminates the conflict between yesterday's traditions and today's reality. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I went into this book not knowing what to expect. There are a lot of Yiddish words in the book, if you are unfamiliar with Yiddish, there is a glossary in the back.  I live in an Orthodox community, but like a character in the book, I am not Jewish. I have helped some of the people in the community on Shabbos when they are not able to do certain things, such as reset clocks, turn off the oven, turn lights on and off. So I am familiar with a lot of the customs in the book but not all. I have heard a lot of the Yiddish terms in this book just living around those in the community that use them.
I do believe that the author is an Orthodox Jewish woman. 

A lot of people are shocked with how the community views outsiders, being around it, I thought that the book seemed to dramatize it, I have felt unwelcome at times when I help the community when some of the members find out I am not Jewish they distance themselves, but I understand that, as I do not hold the same views and customs as they do. It could be that each community is a bit different I don't know. 

The story it's self was a hard one. The topic of abuse and the type of abuse in this book is very difficult to handle. 

The style of the story can throw some people off I believe. It goes back and forth with Gittel being 8 years old and Gittle being 18 and her going through the process of finding a husband. In her community it seems to be a type of arranged marriage.

My one big issue with the book is how it ends. I felt that it was too neat. Without giving anything away it felt like the issue the book dealt with was fix too easily.

If you want to "look into another world" this book may be for you. 

So say we all!

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Update

Lots going on, but I have several books I'm nearly done with more reviews are coming soon. Thanks for staying tuned!



So say we all!

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

FrightFall read a thon








It's October! It's October! It's October! I LOVE October! The air changes, the world feels different spooky like!
I have joined the read a thon over at Seasons of reading.
Now, I know I will not be able to read all the books on my list, so I'll be picking through my pile as I go here is my behemoth of a list:

Wicked Girls a novel of the Salem Witch trials
Hold Still (Not horror)
City of Ashes
The Dark Between
BaleFire
Texas Gothic
Joyland (Finish it)
Loss
Devilish
SpellCaster
Witchworld
Madness underneath
Fire and Ash
Winds of Salem

 So say we all!

Friday, September 27, 2013

The One cover reveal









You guys! It's here the cover for The One is finally here! I was right! I thought that America would be in white on the cover! Which has gotten me to further freak and get all excited and try to figure out what might happen! Well Kiera showed off her new cover yesterday which means it's really real and here it is! So, what do you all think? Isn't it beautiful? I think it's the best of them all!




This one is set for a May 6 2014 release day according to the goodreads page!


So say we all!

Monday, September 9, 2013

Asylum















  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (August 20, 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 0062220969
  • Author: Madeleine Roux
  • Cover art: Delightfully creepy!
  • Obtained: My personal Libray
  • Overall rating: *** 1/2 out of 5 stars.








Asylum by Madeleine Roux
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, New Hampshire College Prep is more than a summer program—it's a lifeline. An outcast at his high school, Dan is excited to finally make some friends in his last summer before college. But when he arrives at the program, Dan learns that his dorm for the summer used to be a sanatorium, more commonly known as an asylum. And not just any asylum—a last resort for the criminally insane.

As Dan and his new friends, Abby and Jordan, explore the hidden recesses of their creepy summer home, they soon discover it's no coincidence that the three of them ended up here. Because the asylum holds the key to a terrifying past. And there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

Featuring found photos of unsettling history and real abandoned asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Madeleine Roux's teen debut, Asylum, is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I struggled when deciding if this was a 3 or 4 star book. 3 seemed too low and 4 seemed to high, so I did 3 1/2. 
It was creepy and wonderful, but there were a few things I felt were left unanswered, which is what dropped it down from a solid four stars. 

I want to say that I find asylums completely creepy! The fact that this book had pictures of asylums gave the book a higher creepy factor. I liked the characters a lot Abby was great, Jordan was fun and kinda an ass. Felix was always kind of a question mark, which I liked. 

There were a few things that were very predictable, but there were a few things that surprised me.   I would have liked to have seen a few things fleshed out a bit more and I really wanted a few answers that I never got. (I believe this is a stand alone novel.)

The writing never seemed fake, by that I mean the characters always felt genuine and it always felt like they were being true to themselves. I also never felt like the relationships in the book between the characters were ever forced.

I really wanted to know more about Dan's past, but we never really got that information. Would have nice to know more about Lucy as well, but again we never really get that information.

Aside from that, I did really enjoy the book. Fall is almost here and that means Halloween, the perfect time to read this book. If you like creepy books then I would suggest picking up this one and giving it a read.

So say we all!

Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Sweet Legacy Blog Blitz and Giveaway

Alright Y'all today is Blitz day! We are blitzing the internet with all things SWEET LEGACY! It's the final book in the Medusa Girl's series by Tera Lynn Childs! YAY!!!!!

Here is the blurb for the final book!



Greer has always known she was privileged, though she had no idea how special her second sight made her, even among her triplet monster-fighting sisters. But when a god starts playing with her mind, can Greer step up in her pretty high heels to prevent anything from stopping her sisters’ mission?
Grace loves her adopted brother, Thane, but now that he’s back and has joined her sisters’ team, it’s clear his past is full of dark mysteries. She wants to trust him, but will Thane’s secret put the girls in even more danger?
Gretchen knows she can rely on her sisters to help her stop the monsters. But after getting to know some of the beasties in the abyss, she finds her role as a huntress comes with more responsibility than she ever imagined. How can she know what her birthright demands of her now?
The girls cannot hesitate as they seek the location of the lost door between the realms, even as monsters and gods descend on San Francisco in battle-ready droves. In this exciting conclusion to the Sweet Venom trilogy, these teenage heirs of Medusa must seek the truth, answer the ancient riddles, and claim their immortal legacy.


You can buy the book at any of these places online:
You can find Tera online here:

  • website http://teralynnchilds.com/
  • twitter http://twitter.com/teralynnchilds
  • facebook http://facebook.com/authortlc
  • Sweet Legacy http://teralynnchilds.com/books/sweet-legacy/
I have 5 facts about her to share with you all now:

1) Her first three years of school were all in French!
2)Her first memory is the smell of picking sugar snap peas with her dad when she was two.
3)She was born three weeks late (and has been making up for it ever since)
4) She almost trained as an Olympic swimmer.
5)She once spent New Year's in a hot tub in Vail.

And now for the giveaway! Tera is hosting this one via rafflecopter, all of the blitzers have this one on their post.


<a id="rc-6704a720" class="rafl" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/6704a720/" rel="nofollow">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src="//d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js"></script>




 So say we all!

Monday, September 2, 2013

Teardrop early review








  • Hardcover: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press (October 22, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385742657
  • Author: Lauren Kate
  • Cover art: I like it, I know a lot of people don't, but I find it beautiful.
  • Obtained: Won from Emily.
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars.









Teardrop by Lauren Kate
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Never, ever cry. . . . Eureka Boudreaux's mother drilled that rule into her daughter years ago. But now her mother is gone, and everywhere Eureka goes he is there: Ander, the tall, pale blond boy who seems to know things he shouldn't, who tells Eureka she is in grave danger, who comes closer to making her cry than anyone has before.

But Ander doesn't know Eureka's darkest secret: ever since her mother drowned in a freak accident, Eureka wishes she were dead, too. She has little left that she cares about, just her oldest friend, Brooks, and a strange inheritance—a locket, a letter, a mysterious stone, and an ancient book no one understands. The book contains a haunting tale about a girl who got her heart broken and cried an entire continent into the sea. Eureka is about to discover that the ancient tale is more than a story, that Ander might be telling the truth . . . and that her life has far darker undercurrents than she ever imagined. From Lauren Kate comes an epic saga of heart-stopping romance, devastating secrets, and dark magic . . . a world where everything you love can be washed away. (Synopsis provided by goodreads) 

As a fan of Kate's previous books, I was eager to read this one and see what spin she put to the myth of Atlantis. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but I wasn't dissapointed. I really enjoyed this one.  There were a few things that I didn't see coming, but there were others that I figured out early on.

I liked Eureka's character, the name took a while to get use to, but the character and how well she was written is more important then the name.  I really liked Ander, he was really cool and his dynamic was different then any other character Kate has written. He had a mysterious vibe going and there were a few things that at first I thought he sounded like a stalker, but once we learned the why, it made sense and he came across as a lot less stalkerish.

The dialog was great! I didn't feel that it was cheesy or forced which is good. It seems that a lot of books have scenes that feel forced or cheesy and I didn't find that.
 
Rhoda really bugged me! I know that she's meant to be an annoyance in the book, and Kate did a wonderful job in showing us that. That is one thing I love about Kate, she shows the reader, she doesn't just tell the reader. 
 
There was a scene towards the end of the book that was just amazing! I felt like I was there with the characters in that scene feeling the same things they felt, seeing the same things they saw.  I am so excited for the next installment of this series. 

Teardrop is a phenomenal start to what promises to be an amazing series with twists and turns all over the place! A great writer, dynamic characters and Atlantis, what more can a reader ask for? 
If you are looking for something different, a twist on the Atlantis tale, if you are a fan of Kate's or have never read anything by her pick up Teardrop when it released on October 22 2013. 





 So say we all!



 



Monday, August 26, 2013

Stronger











  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: HarperOne (November 30, 2010)
  • ISBN-10: 0061555827
  • Author: Brian "Head" Welch
  • Cover Art: It's a picture of the author, but it would have been neat to see the artwork in the book as the cover.
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars.
  • Obtained: My Personal bookshelf. 







Stronger Forty days of metal and Spirituality. 
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

"New York Times" bestselling author Brian "Head" Welch returns with a raw and unforgettable journey through his life with Christ and the scripture that has helped lead him into deeper intimacy with God

In 2007, Brian "Head" Welch, the former lead guitarist for the hard-rock band Korn, shared the dramatic story of his music, drug addiction, and miraculous redemption through Jesus Christ in his "New York Times" bestselling book, "Save Me from Myself." Inspiring and compelling, this book began a new chapter in his life, as he acknowledged the mistakes of his past and looked forward to a brighter future with God at his side.

Now in "Stronger," Head continues to share his personal life with an unflinching forty-day devotional of scriptures that have helped him to mold his Christian faith and find light during life's darkest moments. Written with passion and openness, this forty-day journey offers stories from Head's past and present, as he speaks candidly about his bouts of depression since finding God, his struggles against the darkness as he's tried to understand his faith, and how, through these times of weakness, God's written word has been one of the keys to making him stronger than he's ever been. Applying both the Old and New Testaments to every aspect of his life--from his time with Korn to his new solo career to his life-altering decisions to his relationship with his daughter--Head details how, no matter what the issue, God has always provided the guidance he's needed to become a stronger person.

One part journal chronicling his evolving relationship with God, one part spiritual testament to the undeniable strength of the Bible, "Stronger" is a devotional unlike any other--both a moving tribute to the transformative power of the word and a no-holds-barred look at what it means to give yourself completely to Jesus Christ. (Synopsis provided by Goodreads)


The design of this book is to read one "day" at a time. The author has the book sectioned off in days to go from one to forty. The start of each day is one of his favorite verses and he tells you a story of one of his personal experiences that goes with the verse for the day.

Some of the stories were better then others, but I feel like the reader can get something out of all them even if we can't directly relate to his experiences. 

I really enjoyed the art work that went along with some of the stories as well. 

I would like to read more by the same author to see what else he has to say about Christ and his own journey into Christianity. It's obvious that the book is a Bible study and that he is a Christian, but he never gets pushy and he doesn't scream and preach. 


If you want something in the Bible study category and want something different give this one a chance. 





 So say we all!
  

Monday, August 19, 2013

City of Bones








  • Series: The Mortal Instruments (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 485 pages
  • Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books; Reprint edition (February 19, 2008)
  • ISBN-10: 9781416955078
  • Author: Cassandra Clare
  • Obtained: My personal book shelf
  • Coverart: Love it, it looks so mystical!
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars








 City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.


When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . .(synopsis provided by goodreads)


If you are like me and want to read or re-read this before the movie, time is running out. Every time I pick up one of Clare's books, I am reminding of why I love her story telling. It doesn't matter if it's my first time reading a specific book by her or the hundredth, it's always an adventure. 

For me, the Mortal Instruments series is like Harry Potter whenever I read them, I find something I missed the last time I read it. It's like reading it for the first time each time. Clare's use of words is nothing short of amazing. One thing I love is her descriptions, she is one of those authors who's world comes alive and leaps off the page for me. The Shadowhunters world is a world that I would love to be able to be a part of. (With guys like Jace who wouldn't?)

Clare also is an author that gets to the point., she doesn't spend a lot of time bogging the reader down with unnecessary filler.

I love Jace, I really love him. His humor and sarcastic nature are a great way to laugh at the end of a hard day.  

There was a lot in this book that I saw coming, but there was also a few things that really threw me. If you haven't read this book yet, you should. If you are a fan of Harry Potter or supernatural hidden worlds, this is the book for you.



So say we all!

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

ROGUE blogtour stop and giveaway








I am so excited to be apart of the blog tour for ROGUE by Gina Damico! ROGUE is the third and final book in her CROAK trilogy. I haven't read it yet, but I plan to read it as soon as I can which is soon September 10th 2013 it will be set free into the world where all of us can buy a copy and read it!
But, you didn't come by to listen me you came by to listen to author Gina Damico, so without further ado, I will turn the blog over to her. Take it away Gina!


Hey hey Croak fans! Welcome to my blog tour / photo hunt / Roguestravaganza! 

From now until ROGUE's release on September 10th, each stop on the tour will reveal an image that represents a chapter in the book - could refer to setting, plot, an important object, mood, or whatever other diabolical visualizations with which I feel like tormenting my dear readers. Each image also contains a hidden letter...though really, they're not that well hidden. (If you have eyes, you should be able to spot them.) Collect the letters every day, and at the end of the tour I'll hold a contest, the winner of which will receive signed and annotated copies of the complete trilogy. (For a complete description of the contest, tour schedule, and links to the stops you might have missed, check out the blog tour page on my website.)

So! This photo is for Chapter 2. I will let the image do the talking.




Thanks for having me! Good luck everyone!
-----------------------------

Plot Summary: 
Teenage Grim Reaper Lex’s power to Damn souls is getting out of control. She's a fugitive, on the run from the maniacal new mayor of Croak and the townspeople who want to see her pay the price for her misdeeds. Uncle Mort rounds up the Junior Grims to flee Croak once again, but this time they're joined by Grotton, the most powerful Grim of all time. Their new mission is clear: fix his mistakes, or the Afterlife will cease to exist, along with all the souls in it.

The gang heads for Necropolis, the labyrinth-like capital city of the Grimsphere. There, they discover that the Grimsphere needs a reboot. To do that, the portals to the Afterlife must be destroyed...but even that may not be enough to fix the damage. Things go from bad to worse, and when at last the fate of the Afterlife and all the souls of the Damned hang in the balance, it falls to Lex and her friends to make one final, impossible choice.
Okay, how awesome does that sound?! Like holy cow!  If you want to purchase the book online you may do so here are a few options for easy access. (No, I don't get paid for you clicking the links or for buying the book.)
Links: 
Okay, y'all, you're probably wondering about the giveaway. Gina has generously donated to one of my readers (and other tour stops) a Croak Prize pack! This will include 3 signed book marks, 3 signed book plates, 3 magnets and 1 scythe pendant.
Gina has said that this contest is open to EVERYONE in ANY country! Ends at midnight PST on Sunday August 18 2013.
Entering is easy just leave a comment with your email address and your country.
Winner will have 24 hours to respond to email or a new winner will be selected. That's all it takes. Feel free to tweet and spread the word to help Gina to promote her new book!




So say we all!

Monday, August 12, 2013

Die For Her






  • File Size: 413 KB
  • Print Length: 60 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (April 2, 2013)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • ASIN: B009NFH6OG
  • Author: Amy Plum
  • Cover art: I'm glad they made it go with the rest of the books.
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.








Die For Her by Amy Plum
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Set in the romantic and death-defying world of the international bestselling Die for Me trilogy, this digital original novella follows Jules, a brooding, immortal French artist who has fallen in love with his best friend’s girlfriend.

Jules Marchenoir is a revenant-an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save human lives. He’s spent the better part of the last century flirting his way through Paris, but when he met Kate Mercier, the heroine from Amy Plum’s Die for Me trilogy, he knew his afterlife had changed forever and he had found the love of his life. Until Kate fell for his best friend, Vincent. Now Jules is faced with an impossible decision: choosing between his loyal friend and a love truly worth dying for. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


This book is only available in e-book.   I don't normally read e-books as my eyes strain reading off a screen, but I do have the app on my phone, I just don't use it. I really wanted to read this as I am a huge fan of Amy Plum so I bought it.

Jules has never been a favorite of mine, but I don't dislike him either. This e-book is good, but it's mostly the main plot points of the first two books told from Jules perspective. What I liked was the fact that I felt we got to see and learn more about his thoughts and feelings then we did in the series. That was neat. I do wish though that we got more, not just a re-telling. But I totally get that that was the point of the book.

I do hope that we can have more short stories about the rest of the kindred. I would love to know more about the rest of them like Ambrose, what was his life in America like? I'd also like to know more about Jules.

If you like the series and have read the first two books, then read this one as well. It's well written and very good. If you haven't read the first two, then hold off as this contains massive spoilers from the first two books.


 So say we all!

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Top Ten Tuesday








Top ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the topic is standalone books we wish had sequels.

As always this is in no order:

1) If I Lie by Corrine Jackson

2)Something like normal by Trish Doller

3)Destined by Jessie Herrell

4) Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame

5) In Honor by Jessi Kirby

6) Miss Peregine's home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

7) Holes by Louis Sachar

8)Saving Juliet by Suzanne Selfors

9) The Statistical Probability of love at first sight by Jennifer E. Smith

10) Personal Effects by E.M. Kokie


I know number 9 has a companion novel but to me, that's way too different.

So that is my list, leave me a comment and let me know what's on your list!


So say we all!

Monday, August 5, 2013

The Prince











  • File Size: 477 KB
  • Print Length: 55 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (March 5, 2013)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • ASIN: B008O8I8KY
  • Cover Art: I like it.
  • Author: Kiera Cass
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf 






The Prince by Kiera Cass
Reviewed by Moirae the Fates book reviews

Before thirty-five girls were chosen to compete in the Selection...

Before Aspen broke America's heart...

There was another girl in Prince Maxon's life...(Synopsis provided by Goodreads)


Okay, I downloaded the kindle app on my phone so I could read this. I'm glad I did. While I normally dislike reading on a screen as it hurts my eyes, this one was worth it! It follows Maxon a few days before the Selection and we get to see just how much it weighs on him.

We get to see his reactions when he meets the girls and what he think before the Selection actually starts. My main issue with this one was Daphne. She really bugged me. She seemed too clingy to me for some reason. But that doesn't mean the book was bad, I really liked the book even if I didn't care for one of the characters.

I may have enjoyed this one more if I had read it first before I read The Selection and The Elite. If you like the other two books and are able to read an e-book give this one a go!


So say we all!

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Top Ten Tuesday








Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week's topic is the best Beginnings and Endings in books! I love this topic! Here is my list in no order, well except number one that is my favorite from the list:

1) Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry.
"Benny Imura couldn't hold a job so he took to killing." 
How cool is that line?! I mean talk about a hook!

2) Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.
"Once upon a time an angel fell in love with a demon it did not end well."
Okay, I know it's on the page before the first chapter, but it's still a really good opening line!

3) Wildefire by Karsten Knight.
" Ashline Wilde was a human mood ring."
I really like that once, it makes the reader go what is a human mood ring?

4)City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare. (Last Line)
"Yes," Madeleine said. "I mean I can show you how to wake your mother up."
It's such a fantastic cliff hanger!

5) Until I die by Amy Plum (Last Line)
"Two words spoken clearly inside my head : mon ange."
I loved the whole series, and this line gives the reader hope!

6) Uglies by Scott Westerfeld.
"The early summer sky was the color of cat vomit."
As gross as it is, it paints a picture!

7) Personal Effects by E.M. Kokie.
"Of all the lame shit on Pinscher's backpack, his War Is Not The Answer sticker pisses me off  the most-- even more than his Practice Nonviolence button, which makes me want to practice some violence on his face."
 I just love that, it's so poignant. 

8) Possibilities of Saint Hood by Donna Freitas.
"To Whom it may concern. (Ideally the Pope if he's available)
I'm writing to inform you of a series oversight in the area of patron saint specializations."
This one just promises a fun time!

9) American Assassin by Vince Flynn.
"Mitch Rapp stared at his reflection in the dusty, cracked mirror and questioned his sanity."
I identify with that, who hasn't started in a mirror and questioned their sanity?

10) The Selection by Kiera Cass.
"One can never help being born into perfection," I whispered." 
This was another really good one that made the reader go "hmm?"


Well, that is my list what's on yours?

So say we all!