Sunday, July 29, 2012

The Possession of Cassie Quinn










  • Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: North Star Press of St. Cloud, Inc. (June 1, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0878395989
  • Author: Kathryn Knutson
  • Cover art: Creepy!
  • Over all rating:**** out of 5 stats
  • Obtained: From the publisher via the author in exchange for review. 






The Possession of Cassie Quinn by Kathryn Knutson
 Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

A long, dark driveway towards an old farmhouse. A new stepsister with a nasty streak. A little sister who runs off. Something sinister lurking in the woods. Cassie Quinn's new home comes with . . . complications. Cassie never believed in ghosts before. But now she is receiving strange messages, telling her to stay out of the woods. Are the messages just a ploy by her stepsister? Or are they warning her of an evil that stalks the shadows of the woods beyond her home? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

After reading the synopsis how can you not want to pick this book up and read more? I mean an old house, creepy woods, a mean stepsister, a little sister who runs off GHOSTS? What's not to love?


Honestly, what grabbed me about this book first was the stepsister. I am a sucker for creepy evil stepsisters. They just make good characters. This book was short, I wished it was longer as I kept looking at the clock knowing I needed to go to bed so I could get up for work, but it was too good!


The book was creepy which I love! Not quite Stephen King creepy, but getting there. I'm hard on creepy books as I am a huge fan of King so it's hard to really freak me out. This book had a few moments that came close though. It wasn't quite there for me to need to sleep with the lights on and the dog on my bed, but it was close.


I really liked Cassie, I felt that her character was very believable. I liked all the character for different reasons really. I did guess what was going to happen in the book fairly soon, but that didn't draw away from it at all. 

The ending was fantastic! After reading it, I'll be eagerly waiting till I can purchase a copy  of book 2 next summer! 




So say we all!

Rapture






  • Hardcover: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers (June 12, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0385739184
  • Author: Lauren Kate
  • Cover art: Love it!
  • Overall rating: *** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: Local Library









Rapture by Lauren Kate
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

The sky is dark with wings . . . .

Like sand in an hourglass, time is running out for Luce and Daniel. To stop Lucifer from erasing the past they must find the place where the angels fell to earth. Dark forces are after them, and Daniel doesn’t know if he can do this—live only to lose Luce again and again.

Yet together they will face an epic battle that will end with lifeless bodies . . . and angel dust. Great sacrifices are made. Hearts are destroyed. And suddenly Luce knows what must happen.

For she was meant to be with someone other than Daniel. The curse they’ve borne has always and only been about her—and the love she cast aside. The choice she makes now will be the only one that truly matters.

In the fight for Luce, who will win?

The astonishing conclusion to the FALLEN series. Heaven can’t wait any longer. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I was very disappointed with this one to say the least.  After Fallen in love I found that I didn't care as much about the characters as I did in the previous books. I finally understand why so many people dislike Luce and Daniel. I didn't see any real character development with either of them. Yes, we get more answers about their past and we find out more about their curse, but the characters never GREW.


It really bothered me. I also found myself groaning out loud on a few pages on the book. I'm on the fence about "Bill",  on the one hand we know who he truly is and he's evil, on the other hand the way Kate wrote this book makes me wonder if we are meant to feel sorry for him? 


I do think my biggest issue with this book is how Kate made God a woman. I felt that was bordering on blasphemy. (But a lot of that is my personal religious beliefs coming through and no that's not the reason I gave this book 3 stars.)


I was right in how I guessed the book would end, but I was wrong in the way that I thought it would get to the end point.  Some of the deaths in this book seemed needless and there were some things that didn't make sense and a lot was still unanswered.


I still like Shelby and Miles and wished we saw more of them and Roland in this book then we did, but I did like the bits of the book that showed the other angles. I will still be purchasing a copy of this book just to finish off my collection on the series, but I really with the book was done differently.


The writing was okay, at times it felt like maybe Kate was feeling pressured to make the prose flowery as there were a few nauseating lines. But I still like the series as a whole and would still recommend the series as a whole with the warning that the last book isn't the best.  Kate is still one of my favorite authors and no matter who your favorite author is all of them are bound to have a book you don't like much, for Kate, this is the one I don't like much.






R
So say we all!

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Update

Hey y'all!!! So, I have been really busy with my new job, I work 7 days a week! It's only 3-5 hours a day, so I don't feel like I need a day off, anyway, I am still trying to gather my thoughts from RAPTURE so be on the look out for my review soon.

Also, I've been away as there were some issues that needed my attention that were very important I needed to focus on my own mental and emotional health. I'll be slowly getting back into blogging since things are slowing down, I just need to feel motivated again after all that has happened. But I love all of you and I'll be back soon!!



So say we all!

Saturday, July 14, 2012

Don't judge a girl by her cover.






  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Hyperion Books; 1st edition (June 9, 2009)
  • ISBN-10: 1423116380
  • Author: Ally Carter
  • Cover art: I like it.
  • Over all rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My local library


Don't Judge a girl by her cover by Ally Carter
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

When Cammie "The Chameleon" Morgan visits her roommate Macey in Boston, she thinks she's in for an exciting end to her summer break. After all, she's there to watch Macey's father accept the nomination for vice president of the United States. But when you go to the world's best school (for spies), "exciting" and "deadly" are never far apart. Cammie and Macey soon find themselves trapped in a kidnappers' plot, with only their espionage skills to save them.

As her junior year begins, Cammie can't shake the memory of what happened in Boston, and even the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women doesn't feel like the safe haven it once did. Shocking secrets and old flames seem to lurk around every one of the mansion's corners as Cammie and her friends struggle to answer the questions, Who is after Macey? And how can the Gallagher Girls keep her safe?

Soon Cammie is joining Bex and Liz as Macey's private security team on the campaign trail. The girls must use their spy training at every turn as the stakes are raised, and Cammie gets closer and closer to the shocking truth. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


Okay, I want to start this review by saying THANK YOU to all the bloggers and friends who told me I had to read these books and follow that up with WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG TO READ THIS?
 I am reading these out of order (Oops) however, I wasn't confused by anything, Carter did a good job of giving new readers a quick overview of what the series is about.
I really liked this book, Cammie is hysterical! I loved the descriptions of her school and her friends. I thought the premise of the book was very original.  A school for spies? Like a female James Bond? Yes please! I love kick-ass female characters in YA, it's getting really hard to find them. It's also hard to find ones that aren't Mary-Sue I am so glad that Cammie is far from Mary-Sue.
After reading this one, I ran to the library and picked up all of the other books in the series, if you haven't read these books before, go pick them up! This one was awesome!


So say we all!

Friday, July 6, 2012

Something like normal










Hardcover: 224 pages
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens; 1 edition (June 19, 2012
ISBN-10: 1599908441
Cover Art: I like it, I really like how you can see the dog tags.
Author: Trish Doller
Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars 
Obtained: ARC copy from the publisher via Netgalley. Thank you.








Something like normal byTrish Doller
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

When Travis returns home from a stint in Afghanistan, his parents are splitting up, his brother’s stolen his girlfriend and his car, and he’s haunted by nightmares of his best friend’s death. It’s not until Travis runs into Harper, a girl he’s had a rocky relationship with since middle school, that life actually starts looking up. And as he and Harper see more of each other, he begins to pick his way through the minefield of family problems and post-traumatic stress to the possibility of a life that might resemble normal again. Travis’s dry sense of humor, and incredible sense of honor, make him an irresistible and eminently lovable hero. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I think the thing I liked most about this book was how raw it was. We get to see Travis going through the different stages of grief while he is trying to deal with the death of Charlie, his best friend who was killed in Afghanistan. 


The book is told from Travis' perspective. Which was awesome, I really books told from a male P.O.V. especially in YA as I haven't found many and even fewer that I enjoyed. The war in Afghanistan is a really interesting topic for a YA book. I read one earlier this year and loved it. I'm really enjoying this topic in YA and am so glad that we are getting more of it. 


There was a lot in this book that I didn't see coming, but there was also a lot that I did see coming, I figured it would end the way it did although, it got there in a different way. For me, the only thing that kept this book from a 5 star rating was the middle, there were a few chapters there that moved slow for me and I had a hard time moving through  them.


The story it's self felt very real and I felt that Travis was a character that the reader could relate to. I really felt for him and his struggles and wanted the best for him, he was the type of character that you'll route for from page one. The dialog of this book is incredible it's poignant and strong.


This book is a must read for anyone who enjoys male P.O.V or wants to read a book based on the war.




 
So say we all!

Thursday, July 5, 2012

December 6 1970

December 6 1970

PARIS this morning, one of our reporters was heroically saved by the
mysterious Vincent again, if you remember summer of 1964, he saved a
child from drowning. Our reporter was at the Eiffel tower to talk to
tourists when she stepped out into the street and was nearly hit by a
passing car.
She is okay, but the hero has disappeared again! Who is this mystery man?

July 6 1964

July 6 1964

PARIS last night on the banks of the Seine, a young man heroically
threw himself in the cold waters to save a small child who had fallen
in. No one knows who this mysterious man is. All we have gathered at
this hour is a name Vincent.
Police and RNN want to know more about this young hero if you have any
information on him please drop by our offices and fill us in.

Exclusive interview of Kate!

Interview between Georgia and Kate Mercier (interview took place midway through UNTIL I DIE)

Georgia: So, someone out there in reader-land has convinced me to interview you, my little sister, about that oh-so-hot dead guy you’re currently sucking face with.

Kate:  *rolls eyes* That would be “oh-so-hot undead guy,” oh wisecracking sibling. Emphasis on the no-longer-deceased part of the label.

Georgia:  Whatever. So...you’ve told me this a kazillion times, but for the record...what’s so special about your zombie boyfriend? Besides the fact that he could find work as an Armani underwear model if he ever decided to get out of the lifesaving business.

Kate: *grinning* I agree, he’s cute.

Georgia: False modesty between sisters is an ugly ugly thing.

Kate: Okay, he’s gorgeous. And I could literally drown in his eyes.

Georgia: Literally?

Kate: No, figuratively. God, Georgia, you’re the most annoying interviewer ever.

Georgia: I aim to please.

Kate: To cut to the chase, what’s amazing about Vincent is his goodness. Yeah, he has this dangerous edge to him, especially if you’re a numa. But who wouldn’t want their boyfriend to scare the crap out of the evil undead?

Georgia: *pensive* True, true.

Kate: *lays hand on Georgia’s arm* That wasn’t meant as an underhanded jab re: ex-boyfriends.

Georgia: No offense taken.

Kate: But his innate goodness—although that’s not what attracted me in the beginning—it’s what’s made me dive in head-first. I mean...you have to be innately good to become a bardia. Whether you’ve born with the “saving life” gene, or you’re given a second chance at existence because you chose to sacrifice yourself for someone else, that’s obviously a big part of who Vincent is. But beyond that, it’s incredible how sensitive he is to me: second-guessing what really makes me happy. It’s like he can read my mind...

Georgia: Which he can, basically, when he’s  volant.

Kate: *frowning and shaking head* That’s not true. When he’s volant, he can speak to my mind, but he can only hear me when I speak. No...it’s more than that.

Georgia: Oh pray do tell all...I hope it’s something cheese-filled.

Kate: *laughs* Yeah, I could say, “It’s so weird...like we were made for each other.” Or, “Fate meant us to be as one.” Except that would be totally vomit-worthy.

Georgia: Yeah, I almost blew chunks just listening to that.

*Both sisters break into a fit of incredulous giggles-of-irony.*

Kate: *wipes eyes, takes a deep breath, and veers suddenly into seriousness* But, really. I can’t think of a better person than Vincent. He actually puts himself through mental and physical anguish just to keep me from suffering? He’s following the Dark Way just because of his promise to me.

Georgia: *all serious now* I know. He pretty much decimated the best-boyfriend-ever record there.

Kate: How can you even measure the value of a guy who willingly gives his life for anonymous strangers, but who loves you more than life itself?


((A special thanks to Amy Plum for the interview!))

Paris' Crushworthy Mystery Man
RNN Travel and Leisure Desk

Paris, France (RNN)-  Paris has always been referred to as the "city of love" for couples, but more and more single women (and some men!) have been finding a new reason to flock to the City of Lights. A young man, dubbed by some tourists and locals as (insert name here-- "Paris' Superman", "The mysterious hero") has been saving locals and dodging journalists and the Préfecture de Police for decades.
Yes, decades. Local legend and news reports have conflicting opinions as to whether this is the same young man, but ask a grandmother on the street and she'll tell you the legend of the Revenants, a mysterious group of people who never die and dedicate their "lives" to saving others. Sightings of "Vincent" stretch back to the 1940's and a young member of the French Resistance.

They call him Vincent
Reports have pinpointed his age as late teens, though eyewitness reports from the last decade described a man in his early twenties. With black hair, green eyes, and an athletic physique, some bystanders have described him as "god-like", "swoonworthy", "super mignon", and like "someone straight out of an Abercrombie catalogue."
One young woman interviewed on the street told us that she's praying for more opportunities to see more shirtless street swordfighting again. (Who wouldn't want more of that?!)
Shirtless Swordfighting and a Penchant for languages

"I heard him speak English and Italian to a group of tourists before," claimed one cafe owner who claimed to have observed a rescue during last year's near fatal bus accident near the Sorbonne. "And I've had people in here talking about seeing  a dark haired boy who could speak in their language. That's about... ten languages that I've counted so far, if it's the same person."
And languages apparently aren't his only strong suit. Records indicate that a certain Vincent-- whose university photos suspiciously match those of our current mystery hero-- also has a law degree. Of course, when balancing letter of the law against enforcing the law, people on the street who have reported seeing him seem to be most impressed by his fighting prowess
We caught up with Kate, the young American who has been sighted kissing Vincent all over Paris (sorry, he apparently is taken) and she reluctantly sat down with us for a cup of coffee and a quick chat. "His best attributes? Well, he's selfless. He is so incredibly good... and would die in a heartbeat to save another person's life." When pressed about their relationship, Kate smiled and seemed to be holding back about spilling all to us. "There was this girl he loved and, after she died, he didn't see or love anyone else for years," (aside from this reporter-- if we ignore science right now, this could be in reference to a certain Helene, who died during World War II, and who was reportedly in love with a resistance fighter named Vincent...), "And then he met me and for some crazy reason..." she blushed and we didn't push her any farther. Still, she volunteered one last comment, "He makes me feel strong, like I can do anything. That's the kind of boyfriend he is."
Where is the best place to go if you're hoping for a sighting?

So, you're in Paris for a weekend and want to see this legend in the flesh?
You could, of course, risk getting hit by a bus or jump off of a bridge in hopes of being saved, but for the risk-adverse tourist hoping to get a glimpse of this "Vincent", we have gathered a list of the top ten spots in Paris to see him
We have compiled some sightings from the past on Vincent as well as an exclusive interview of Kate to view them please go here. 


Maybe, you too, will be lucky enough to have a legend die for you.