Saturday, May 26, 2012

Personal Effects






  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Candlewick (September 11, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0763655279
  • Author: E. M. Kokie
  • Cover Art: Love it, it conveys so much I want a poster!
  • Overall rating:*****+ out of 5 stars!
  • Obtained: I received an ARC for review. Thank you!








Personal Effects by E. M. Kokie
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

After his older brother dies in Iraq, Matt makes a discovery that rocks his beliefs about strength, bravery, and honor in this page-turning debut.

Ever since his brother, T.J., was killed in Iraq, Matt feels like he’s been sleepwalking through life — failing classes, getting into fights, and avoiding his dad’s lectures about following in his brother’s footsteps. T.J.’s gone, but Matt can’t shake the feeling that if only he could get his hands on his brother’s stuff from Iraq, he’d be able to make sense of his death. But as Matt searches for answers about T.J.’s death, he faces a shocking revelation about T.J.’s life that suggests he may not have known T.J. as well as he thought. What he learns challenges him to stand up to his father, honor his brother’s memory, and take charge of his own life. With compassion, humor, and a compelling narrative voice, E. M. Kokie explores grief, social mores, and self-discovery in a provocative first novel. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



You know that rare feeling you get with a book? The one where you read the first chapter and already feel like you've known the main character your whole life? Or the feeling you get from a book where you have to stop yourself from reading more just to make it last longer and to sleep?


Personal Effects gives the reader both. Just from the synopsis I guessed what  the "shocking revelation" about T.J. was. Even having guessed it, it didn't take anything away from the experience of reading this book. I loved Matt. He was such a strong character and had such an awesome voice I was sucked in after the first page. 


When we learn of T.J.'s death, my heart broke for Matt. He went through so much after he finds out about the death. All of this makes the reader's heart break even more. Matt has a very close friend Shauna who I really liked. I wish she had had more face time in the book, but at the same time I think that what time she had was just right.

This is such a powerful book, I don't think there are enough book on this subject in the Iraq War. Kokie did such an amazing job on showing us what Matt was going through. 


Having a male narrator was a refreshing change in YA. I loved this book. This is a book I will buying a finished copy of when it releases. If you want a new book, with a strong male voice I would highly recommend this book.





So say we all!

Friday, May 25, 2012

Ma Semaine dans les Livres (My week in books) 5






This week I got 2 books I bought them both they were:

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin



And Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock



That's what I got this week leave me a note and let me know what you got. I'll be sure to stop by and check it out!


So say we all!

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Wentworth Hall






  • Hardcover: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers (May 1, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 1442451963
  • Author: Abby Grahame
  • Cover art: One of the best of the year.
  • Overall rating: ****1/2 stars out of 5
  • Obtained: My personal book shelf.








Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

The prettiest people often have the ugliest secrets…


Eighteen-year-old Maggie Darlington has turned into an entirely different person. The once spirited teen is now passive and reserved. A change Lord and Lady Darlington can’t help but be grateful for.

It’s 1912, and the Darlingtons of Wentworth Hall have more than just the extensive grounds to maintain. As one of Britain’s most elite families, they need to keep up appearances that things are as they have always been… even as their carefully constructed façade rapidly comes undone.

Maggie has a secret. And she’s not the only one… the handsome groom Michael, the beautiful new French nanny Therese, the Darlingtons’ teenage houseguests Teddy and Jessica, and even Maggie’s younger sister Lila are all hiding something. Passion, betrayal, heartache, and whispered declarations of love take place under the Darlingtons’ massive roof. And one of these secrets has the power to ruin the Darlingtons forever.

When scandalous satires start appearing in the newspaper with details that closely mirror the lives of the Darlingtons, everyone is looking over their shoulder, worrying their scandal will be next. Because at Wentworth Hall, nothing stays secret for long.(Synopsis provided by goodreads)



I really enjoyed myself while I was reading this book. I've always been fascinated by Edwardian England. The only thing bumping this down from 5 stars to 4 and a half was the fact that the "secrets" that were held in Wentworth Hall I found way too predictable. However, it didn't diminish my like of the story too much. Just a pinch. I figured out what Therese was hiding very early on and I figured out what Maggie was hiding fairly quickly as well.
I really liked Nora's character she was such a gossip and such fun too! Teddy and Jessica didn't have as much page time as I would have expected but they were good fun as well.
I really liked Wesley and his friend Ian when they arrive in the story. Lord and Lady Darlington were less likable, but I don't think we are meant to like them.
I'm not sure if this is a series or a stand alone. I hope it's a series, I really enjoyed it and the way ended left me wanting to know what happened to Wesley, Nora, Therese, Lila and the others. The epilogue only tells us what happened to Maggie in any detail. We get a clip of Lila, Ian and Wesley but nothing of the others.
If you like books about the upper-crust then this is a must read for you. I would highly recommend this book to fans of Edwardian era books as well. 




So say we all!

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

This week in books 3






Here is a list of the YA books coming out this week! If I have forgotten any please leave a comment and let me know!

Girl in the clockwork collar by Kady Cross. 
Published by Harlequin May 22 2012


In New York City, 1897, life has never been more thrilling - or dangerous.

Sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne and her "straynge band of mysfits" have journeyed from London to America to rescue their friend Jasper, hauled off by bounty hunters. But Jasper is in the clutches of a devious former friend demanding a trade-the dangerous device Jasper stole from him...for the life of the girl Jasper loves.

One false move from Jasper and the strange clockwork collar around Mei's neck tightens. And tightens.



Of Poseidon by Anna Banks  
Published by Feiwel & Friends May 22 2012

 Galen, a Syrena prince, searches land for a girl he's heard can communicate with fish. It’s while Emma is on vacation at the beach that she meets Galen. Although their connection is immediate and powerful, Galen's not fully convinced that Emma's the one he's been looking for. That is, until a deadly encounter with a shark proves  that Emma and her Gift may be the only thing that can save his kingdom. He needs her help--no matter what the risk.






Fated by Alyson Noel 
Published by St. Martins Press May 22 2012

The first book in a magnificent new series about a girl who can navigate between the worlds of the living and the dead by #1 New York Times bestselling author Alyson Noël.

Lately strange things have been happening to Daire Santos. Animals follow her, crows mock her, and glowing people appear out of nowhere. Worried that Daire is having a nervous breakdown, her mother packs her off to stay in the dusty plains of Enchantment, New Mexico with a grandmother she’s never met.

There she crosses paths with Dace, a gorgeous guy with unearthly blue eyes who she’s encountered before...but only in her dreams. And she’ll get to know her grandmother—a woman who recognizes Daire’s bizarre episodes for what they are. A call to her true destiny as a Soul Seeker, one who can navigate between the worlds of the living and the dead. Her grandmother immediately begins teaching her to harness her powers—but it’s an art that must be mastered quickly. Because Dace’s brother is an evil shape-shifter who’s out to steal her powers. Now Daire must embrace her fate as a Soul Seeker and find out if Dace is one guy she’s meant to be with...or if he’s allied with the enemy she’s destined to destroy.



Alice on board by Phyllis Reymolds Naylor 
Published by Atheneum books for young readers May 22 2012
 

In her last adventure before starting college, Alice takes to the open sea for the summer—and nothing can stop the tides of change.Everything Alice has ever known is about to change—from where she sleeps at night to how close her closest friends will be. So Alice is meeting that seasick feeling head-on by setting sail as staff on a Chesapeake Bay cruise ship. And like any last great adventure before starting college, Alice knows she’ll need sunblock, an open mind, and…oh yeah, all her best girlfriends. It’s the perfect summer job.
     Perfect, that is, when things are going perfectly. But when they’re not, Alice has to figure out how to weather unexpected storms of all sorts. Which could be perfect after all—perfect training for her next big adventure—college.






                                         So say we all!

Monday, May 21, 2012

Mockingjay



  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Press; 1st edition (August 24, 2010)
  • ISBN-10: 0439023513
  • Author: Suzanne Collins
  • Cover art: I like it
  • Over all rating: ***1/2 out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: Gifted from my friend Lori.









MockingJay by Suzanne Collins
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

My name is Katniss Everdeen. Why am I not dead? I should be dead.

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss's family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plains--except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss's willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels' Mockingjay--no matter what the personal cost. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



I want to start this by saying I found this one really disappointing. I was expecting so much more after reading Catching Fire which is my favorite of the series. 
There were a lot of things in this book, I thought were unnecessary. There were a few deaths that really didn't do anything for the story. 


I really wanted to know more about Annie. But we didn't get to learn a whole lot about her. I found Finnick to be very endearing again in this one.


Katniss was likable until the end. I didn't like what was done to her character at the end of the series in a lot of ways I felt like the last part of MockingJay ruined the entire series. I found Peeta as annoying as ever in this one. I was very pleased to see we got to learn more about Gale. I really enjoyed his character.


Over all I'd say give this a read just to see how the series ends, but be weary of it.

So say we all!

real wishreal wish

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Ma Semaine dans les Livres (My week in books) 4



**First off, I'm sorry I've been quiet this week, it's been horribly busy! This up coming week is going to busy as well, but I have time set aside to write up some posts for the week.**


This week I got 3 books, I bought one and 2 were for review.

The book I bought was a copy of Croak by Gina Damico.

The first book I got for review was a copy of The Infects by Sean Beaudoin. 
Thank you Candlewick!


The last book I got was a copy of Personal Effects by E.M. Kokie
Thank you Candlewick!






That's what I got this week leave me a note and I'll be sure to stop by and see what you got!



So say we all!

Friday, May 11, 2012

Ma semaine dans les livres (My week in books) 3






This week I got 3 books 2 of them I won and one of them I bought. The book I bought was a copy of
Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame.


The first book I won was a finished copy of Until I die by Amy Plum. 
Thanks Carli!


The other book I won was a finished copy of The Selection by Kiera Cass
Thank you Becky!



Well that's what I got this week, leave me a note and let me know what new books you got!


So say we all!

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

GIVEAWAY UPDATED!! Win 3 ARCS!

Okay, my friend is still behind, voting ends on FRIDAY at 10 am PST. If she wins I will give away 3 ARCS!
1) Fox inheritance
2)The girl would could silence the wind.
3) The probability of miracles
plus random swag.

  Okay, my friend is still behind so I have added an ARC of The Girl who could silence the wind. AND if you share via Twitter it's an extra entry if you share via Facebook it's an extra 2 and if you blog it's an extra 5.  Just leave me a comment with your links, instead of Random.org for the winner I'll write names on a strip of paper and draw one.  Let's get 40 votes today and show my friend what the book blogging community can do!
***If you have told me you were sharing in the past before the update you have extra entries already***

Okay, I posted the following last night:


This is not book related at all. A family friend is in a contest to win a day at the spa and YOU can help her win. It's a contest for cute babies, her baby is in second place right now and she really deserves day at the spa. She works full time and is a full time Mommy on top of that, I know a lot of you are mommies and can relate to the need of a spa day and a date out with your husband, boyfriend of who ever.
PLEASE vote for her!! Her baby's picture is SWEET DREAMS. http://www.facebook.com/WomensHealthcareAssociatesLLC/app_244041225639079
Just click the link, you have to like the page to vote but can quickly unlike it after casting your vote for Sweet Dreams.
If you would do this I would be grateful. No, the mom didn't ask me to do this and has no idea I'm doing this, I just really want her to win. I'm not a mom, but I see how hard this mommy works and how hard my sister whos a mommy works. So I know mommies work hard.
Lets get enough votes for Sweet Dreams so my friend can win a day at the spa. Please spread the word too!!!!! Thanks!

However, since she is now SO far behind I am going to do a giveaway. If Sweet Dreams wins, YOU can win an ARC of Fox inheritance. BUT, you have to vote for her and leave me a comment here telling me you voted for SWEET DREAMS with an e-mail so I can contact you if you win. This closes Friday when the baby contest ends.

Body and Soul








  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Hyperion Book CH (May 1, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 1423134664
  • Author: Stacey Kade
  • Cover Art: I like it. Works well with the rest of the series.
  • Overall rating:**** 1/2 out of 5 stars
  • Obtained:My personal book shelf






Body and Soul by Stacey Kade
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

The Ghost
I’ve been trapped in the body of Lily “Ally” Turner for a month now. Talk about a fashion crisis on an epic scale. What worries me more, though, is sometimes I catch Will looking at me like he thinks I’m Lily...or that he wishes I were. Without the good looks of my former self, I don’t know who I am, or if who that is is good enough. I need out of this mess. Now.

Will and I have been looking for a solution, one that would separate me from Lily without killing her. But it’s not going well. Then, when it seems like things couldn’t get any worse, we run into Misty, my former best friend and boyfriend-stealer extraordinaire, who claims she’s being haunted...by me. Seriously?

I’m determined to get to the bottom of who’s pretending to be the spirit of Alona Dare (while I’m pretending to be someone else) and then get the heck out of this body. Or die trying...

The Goth
I’ll admit it. It’s really weird to look at Alona but see Lily. I do know the difference, though, contrary to what Alona might be saying. And Alona is more than a pretty face to me, not that she would believe that.

Our one lead for some help in this messed up situation might be a page torn from the yellow pages-—the “Psychics” section-—I found in my dad’s stuff. One of the “fakes” seems a bit more real-—and odd-—than the others. Before I can investigate further, though, Alona is off and chasing a ghost that’s probably nothing more than a figment of Misty’s guilty imagination. Now Lily’s family is freaking out because she didn’t come home, my mom is ordering me to stay out of it, and something is definitely wrong with the person formerly known as Lily “Ally” Turner... (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



This was such an awesome end to the series. I loved every page. Alona and Will are back and Alona is just as snarky as ever. Will is just as Will has he was in the previous books. We get to meet some new characters that were a delight. 


I had a few theories based on the cover alone, those turned out to be wrong.  I must say I'm glad they were because the actual ending was way better then my theories. I am a bit sad having to say goodbye by Alona and Will.


I think what I like the best about the series is how light hearted it is. Yes, it does touch on some heavy topics, but Kade did such a fantastic job of making the series light and fun. I must say the description of Alona's headstone is amazing.  Very detailed, it was almost as if the reader could reach out and touch it.


Kade has become an author like Amy Plum, Michelle Ray and Rachel Hawkins, I will pick up anything they write without knowing what it's about because I know it will AWESOME!


If you have not read The Ghost and the Goth or Queen of the Dead yet, you have to! I love this series. I only hope one day I can meet Kade and get my books signed! 




So say we all!

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Win an ARC of Fox inheritance.

 Okay, I posted the following last night:


This is not book related at all. A family friend is in a contest to win a day at the spa and YOU can help her win. It's a contest for cute babies, her baby is in second place right now and she really deserves day at the spa. She works full time and is a full time Mommy on top of that, I know a lot of you are mommies and can relate to the need of a spa day and a date out with your husband, boyfriend of who ever.
PLEASE vote for her!! Her baby's picture is SWEET DREAMS. http://www.facebook.com/WomensHealthcareAssociatesLLC/app_244041225639079
Just click the link, you have to like the page to vote but can quickly unlike it after casting your vote for Sweet Dreams.
If you would do this I would be grateful. No, the mom didn't ask me to do this and has no idea I'm doing this, I just really want her to win. I'm not a mom, but I see how hard this mommy works and how hard my sister whos a mommy works. So I know mommies work hard.
Lets get enough votes for Sweet Dreams so my friend can win a day at the spa. Please spread the word too!!!!! Thanks!

However, since she is now SO far behind I am going to do a giveaway. If Sweet Dreams wins, YOU can win an ARC of Fox inheritance. BUT, you have to vote for her and leave me a comment here telling me you voted for SWEET DREAMS with an e-mail so I can contact you if you win. This closes Friday when the baby contest ends.

This week in books 2

 Okay, it's Tuesday and that means a look at new releases in YA this week! These are the new books out that I found, if I have missed anything please leave me a note and let me know what title(s) I missed so I can add them. (I consider YA books for ages 13 and up which is what is included here)

 Enchanted by Alethea Kontis
Published by Harcourt May 8, 2012  

  It isn't easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past - and hers?

 
 The Princesses Of Iowa by M. Molly Backes.
Published by Candlewickpress May 8 2012

What does it mean to do wrong, when no one punishes you? A smart and unflinching look at friendship, the nature of entitlement, and growing up in the heartland.

Paige Sheridan has the perfect life. She's pretty, rich, and popular, and her spot on the homecoming court is practically guaranteed. But when a night of partying ends in an it-could-have-been-so-much worse crash , everything changes. Her best friends start ignoring her, her boyfriend grows cold and distant, and her once-adoring younger sister now views her with contempt. The only bright spot is
her creative writing class, led by a charismatic new teacher who encourages students to be true to themselves. But who is Paige, if not the homecoming princess everyone expects her to be? In this arresting and witty debut, a girl who was once high-school royalty must face a truth that money and status can't fix, and choose between living the privileged life of a princess, or owning up to her mistakes and giving up everything she once held dear.


 Underworld by Meg Cabot
Published by Point May 8 2012

Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.

Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera isn’t dead.

Not this time.

But she is being held against her will in the dim, twilit world between heaven and hell, where the spirits of the deceased wait before embarking upon their final journey.

Her captor, John Hayden, claims it’s for her own safety. Because not all the departed are dear. Some are so unhappy with where they ended up after leaving the Underworld, they’ve come back as Furies, intent on vengeance…on the one who sent them there and on the one whom he loves.

But while Pierce might be safe from the Furies in the Underworld, far worse dangers could be lurking for her there…and they might have more to do with its ruler than with his enemies.

And unless Pierce is careful, this time there’ll be no escape.


 Until I die by Amy Plum
Published by HarperTeen May 8 2012

Kate and Vincent have overcome the odds and at last they are together in Paris, the city of lights and love.

As their romance deepens there’s one question they can’t ignore: How are they supposed to be together if Vincent can’t resist sacrificing himself to save others? Although Vincent promises that he’ll do whatever it takes to lead a normal life with Kate, will that mean letting innocent people die? When a new and surprising enemy reveals itself, Kate realizes that even more may be at stake—and that Vincent’s immortality is in jeopardy.

In Die for Me, Amy Plum created a captivating paranormal mythology with immortal revenants and a lush Paris setting. Until I Die is poised to thrill readers with more heart-pounding suspense, spellbinding romance, and a cliff-hanger ending that will leave them desperate for the third and final novel in the series.



 City of lost souls by Cassandra
Published by Margaret K. McElderryMay 8 2012

The demon Lilith has been destroyed and Jace has been freed from her captivity. But when the Shadowhunters arrive to rescue him, they find only blood and broken glass. Not only is the boy Clary loves missing–but so is the boy she hates, Sebastian, the son of her father Valentine: a son determined to succeed where their father failed, and bring the Shadowhunters to their knees.

No magic the Clave can summon can locate either boy, but Jace cannot stay away—not from Clary. When they meet again Clary discovers the horror Lilith’s dying magic has wrought—Jace is no longer the boy she loved. He and Sebastian are now bound to each other, and Jace has become what he most feared: a true servant of Valentine’s evil. The Clave is determined to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. Will the Shadowhunters hesitate to kill one of their own?

Only a small band of Clary and Jace’s friends and family believe that Jace can still be saved — and that the fate of the Shadowhunters’ future may hinge on that salvation. They must defy the Clave and strike out on their own. Alec, Magnus, Simon and Isabelle must work together to save Jace: bargaining with the sinister Faerie Queen, contemplating deals with demons, and turning at last to the Iron Sisters, the reclusive and merciless weapons makers for the Shadowhunters, who tell them that no weapon on this earth can sever the bond between Sebastian and Jace. Their only chance of cutting Jace free is to challenge Heaven and Hell — a risk that could claim any, or all, of their lives.

And they must do it without Clary. For Clary has gone into the heart of darkness, to play a dangerous game utterly alone. The price of losing the game is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she even still trust him? Or is he truly lost? What price is too high to pay, even for love?

Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.



Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock 
Published by HarperTeen May 8 2012
 
Mackenzie and Amy were best friends. Until Amy was brutally murdered.

Since then, Mac’s life has been turned upside down. She is being haunted by Amy in her dreams, and an extremist group called the Trackers has come to Mac’s hometown of Hemlock to hunt down Amy’s killer: A white werewolf.

Lupine syndrome—also known as the werewolf virus—is on the rise across the country. Many of the infected try to hide their symptoms, but bloodlust is not easy to control.

Wanting desperately to put an end to her nightmares, Mac decides to investigate Amy’s murder herself. She discovers secrets lurking in the shadows of Hemlock, secrets about Amy’s boyfriend, Jason, her good pal Kyle, and especially her late best friend. Mac is thrown into a maelstrom of violence and betrayal that puts her life at risk.

Kathleen Peacock’s thrilling novel is the first in the Hemlock trilogy, a spellbinding urban fantasy series filled with provocative questions about prejudice, trust, lies, and love.


Fall from Grace by Charles Benoit 
Published by HarperTeen May 8 2012
 
Grace always has a plan. There’s her plan to get famous, her plan to get rich, and—above all—her plan to have fun.

Sawyer has plenty of plans too. Plans made for him by his mother, his father, his girlfriend. Maybe they aren’t his plans, but they are plans.

When Sawyer meets Grace, he wonders if he should come up with a few plans himself. Plans about what he actually wants to be, plans to speak his own mind for a change, plans to maybe help Grace with a little art theft.

Wait a minute—plans to what?




 So say we all!

 

Monday, May 7, 2012

Okay y'all I need your help

This is not book related at all. A family friend is in a contest to win a day at the spa and YOU can help her win. It's a contest for cute babies, her baby is in second place right now and she really deserves day at the spa. She works full time and is a full time Mommy on top of that, I know a lot of you are mommies and can relate to the need of a spa day and a date out with your husband, boyfriend of who ever.
PLEASE vote for her!! Her baby's picture is SWEET DREAMS. http://www.facebook.com/WomensHealthcareAssociatesLLC/app_244041225639079
Just click the link, you have to like the page to vote but can quickly unlike it after casting your vote for Sweet Dreams.
If you would do this I would be grateful. No, the mom didn't ask me to do this and has no idea I'm doing this, I just really want her to win. I'm not a mom, but I see how hard this mommy works and how hard my sister whos a mommy works. So I know mommies work hard.
Lets get enough votes for Sweet Dreams so my friend can win a day at the spa. Please spread the word too!!!!! Thanks!




So say we all!

The Physick book of Deliverance Dane


                                                         


  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Voice (June 9, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1401340903
  • Author: Katherine Howe
  • Cover art: I like the old timey feel.
  • Over all rating: *** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: Borrowed from a friend



The Physick book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Harvard graduate student Connie Goodwin needs to spend her summer doing research for her doctoral dissertation. But when her mother asks her to handle the sale of Connie’s grandmother’s abandoned home near Salem, she can’t refuse. As she is drawn deeper into the mysteries of the family house, Connie discovers an ancient key within a seventeenth-century Bible. The key contains a yellowing fragment of parchment with a name written upon it: Deliverance Dane. This discovery launches Connie on a quest—to find out who this woman was and to unearth a rare artifact of singular power: a physick book, its pages a secret repository for lost knowledge.

As the pieces of Deliverance’s harrowing story begin to fall into place, Connie is haunted by visions of the long-ago witch trials, and she begins to fear that she is more tied to Salem’s dark past than she could have ever imagined.(Synopsis provided by goodreads)



After reading the synopsis of this book I wanted to read it. The story line it's self was good, but for me the writing style fell flat. There were times when it was incredibly slow.  I found Liz to be obnoxious. I  thought that Grace was the most  interesting character in the book. Connie bugged me at times, like really bugged me. I had a lot of issues with this one. Mainly in the writing style and in Connie herself. However, I liked the story itself. 


The whole premise and idea was original. I like anything having to do with the Salem Witch Trials. Howe's description of the house was really good. I felt like I was there. I just wish the book was about 100 pages shorter then it was and Connie was more mature and Liz wasn't even in the book.



So say we all!

Sunday, May 6, 2012

Catching Fire

 




  • Hardcover: 391 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Press; 1st edition (September 1, 2009)
  • ISBN-10: 0439023491
  • Author: Suzanne Collins
  • Cover Art: I like it. 
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars. 
  • Obtained: Personal book shelf.









Catching fire by Suzanne Collins
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Sparks are igniting, flames are spreading and the Capitol wants revenge.

Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol-- a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.

Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she's afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she's not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol's cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can't prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.

In Catching Fire, the second novel of the Hunger Games trilogy, Suzanne Collins continues the story of Katniss Everdeen, testing her more than ever before... and surprising readers at every turn. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



I really liked book 2. I liked getting to meet new characters and seeing the new arena. I absolutely loved Finnick, I found him to be hilarious and such a treat to the book.
Sadly, I had a large part of this book spoiled for me so I knew what was going to happen before it did, so I can't say what I would have thought or if it would have been a surprise.


I can't wait to read book 3, even though again I had parts of it spoiled for me. Even with book 2 being spoiled, I stilled liked it more then book one. I think this has a lot to do with Finnick, Johanna and Beetee, all of them were awesome! I hope to see more of them in book 3.


It's really neat how in book 2 we really go to get into the heart and underlined message that the books present. I highly recommend this series.




So say we all!

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Author Signing.

So I went to an author signing last night. It was so much fun! The authors in attendance were:

 Tahereh Mafi


Veronica Rossi


Cynthia Hand

Anna Carey


These ladies are so much fun, I haven't laughed that much in a long time! If you have the chance to see them you have to!

So say we all!