Sunday, April 29, 2012

Spring into horror read a thon wrap up



Well, I didn't do as well as I wanted, but I finished Catching Fire and I read 50 pages of Deliverance Dane.
I can't wait to finish DD and I loved CF! (Finnick *Squee*)

How did you do???


So say we all!

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Ma semaine dans les livres (My week in books) 1




Due to recent drama in the book blogging world, I am re-doing my IMM post. It will now be called Ma semaine dans les livres (My week in books) and will be posted on Fridays.


This week I didn't get any new books, but I did get another Hunger Games nail polish by China Glaze. YAY! The one I got was Lux and Lush. This is the color for district one.






Well that's what I got leave me a comment and let me know what new bookish things you got this week.



So say we all!

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Author Interview with Alethea Kontis





Hello everyone I am SO excited to be a part of this blog tour! I get the pleasure of welcoming author Alethea Kontis to the blog! YAY!!!! Alethea is the author of several books, but we are looking at her newest book Enchanted today. 
I've read and reviewed this one and I really liked it. You can find my review here.

Without further ado please welcome Alethea to the blog!!


1) What made you want to re-tell the Frog Prince story?

The idea for ENCHANTED began as a contest challenge in my writers group (Codex Writers). Our stories had to be inspired by at least one of four "seeds": "Fundevogel," "The Princess and the Pea," the Irish legend of Cú Chulainn, and the nursery rhyme "There Was an Old Woman Who Lived in a Shoe." I couldn't choose between them, so I chose them all...as well as all every other fairy tale and nursery rhyme that was suggested.

2) When you were a child what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be an actress or--if that fell through--a writer. As I already was both an actress and a writer by the time I was eight, this felt like a very practical and attainable goal, complete with back-up plan. (I was a very cerebral child.) My parents were not initially supportive of my childhood career path. Silly parents. Amusingly enough, I never had any desire to be a princess. I thought all that stuff was stupid. Because of that, I did not claim my princesshood until right around the age of thirty.

3) Could you tell us something about Sunday that we don't know yet?
Sunday is the youngest child in an extraordinary family, so she's very hard on herself. She likes pretty things, and wishes she could afford to be selfish. She's a writer, and therefore an introvert. She loves her family, but sometimes she just feels overwhelmed. As the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter, she has a magical gift where the things she writes come true. As it turns out, she's actually much more powerful than that...she just doesn't know it yet.

4) What was your favorite story as a child?
I read so many books as a child, it's tough to choose a favorite. I was drawn to stories and poetry and impossible things before breakfast, so I loved the Goops books by Gelett Burgess. I also wore out my copy of The Man Who Took the Indoors Out, by Arnold Lobel (which for some terrible reason is now very hard to find). I loved "The Little Match Girl" and "The Little Mermaid," but my favorite fairy tale has always been "The Goose Girl."    

5) What was Sunday's most embarrassing moment?
 One time, Sunday tried to get out of going to market, so she wrote "I won't have to go to market tomorrow" in her journal, because she knew it would come true. That night, she got so sick with a fever that she almost died. After that, she stopped trying to make things happen, and limited herself to writing only stories about her family that she knew had already happened.

6) Does Sunday have any more stories that we might get to hear in the future?
 Of course! The Woodcutter family is CHOCK FULL of stories. I would be a sad girl indeed if I didn't get to tell them all.

7) Is there anything else you'd like to share with us?
 Of course! I should mention all the other books I have coming out this summer--2012 is a very big year for me! The most special to me (after Enchanted, of course) is THE WONDERLAND ALPHABET. Janet K. Lee and I collaborated on an Alice in Wonderland alphabet project a long time ago, for an art show to which Janet was asked to submit.  Right after Janet won the Eisner Award last year (w/Jim McCann, for Return of the Dapper Men), the opportunity opened up for us to turn Alice into a picture book, so we jumped on it. Janet and I will be making lots of appearances together in the later half of the year--I'm so excited to have a professional excuse to be signing books right next to one of my very best friends!
Janet's art is AMAZING. You can check out her website: http://www.j-k-lee.com, but if you follow her on Twitter (@Janet_K_Lee), then you get to see all the commission work people ask her to do at conventions--like regency superheroines, or a TARDIS filled with cats.
Also coming this summer is the paperback release of ALPHAOOPS: THE DAY Z WENT FIRST and a collection of my previously published short stories that will be released as an e-book (with the help of my friend Steven Saus at Alliteration Ink). Right now we're calling it THE DARK AND DREAMING WORLDS OF ALETHEA KONTIS. 

Awesome! I hope we get to read Sunday's other stories! I'll be sure to pick up ALPHAOOPS: THE DAY Z WENT FIRST for my nephews sounds like a fun one for them! Thank you so much for stopping by the blog!
If you want to know more about Alethea you can find her website  here. And her goodreads author page here. 
You can pre-order a copy of Enchanted from Amazon, Barens and Noble or your favorite bookseller. Enchanted will be released May 8th 2012!

So say we all!

Monday, April 23, 2012

Spring Into Horror read a thon







The read a thon has begun and I am late....again. During this one I plan to read:

 Catching Fire (My Dad got me this the other week ago!)


 

The Physick book of Deliverance Dane (I'm borrowing this one from a friend and so far I love it!)

 So say we all!

Cover reaveal The Evolution of Mara Dyer!





Hey y'all here is the cover and synopsis for The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin taken from Goodreads! This was just released like less then an hour ago!!
 







Two days after Mara walks into a police station in Miami at the close of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, she is committed for psychiatric treatment for what her parents believe is a mental breakdown. But what seems like a hallucination to everyone else is a chilling reality for Mara. Someone from her past has discovered her strange, disturbing secret and that someone wants her to pay. But she's about to discover that the price is more than she can bear.

Dark and thrilling, suspenseful and passionate, The Evolution of Mara Dyer will have readers breathlessly turning pages to find out what will become of Mara Dyer next.



I am SO glad that they used a picture from the same photo shoot as the first book! I love it what do you think??



 So say we all!

Saturday, April 21, 2012

Socialpunk Blog Tour




I am so excited to be participating in the Socialpunk Blog Tour! Today I have an excerpt to share with y'all! It's the Prolouge!

Enjoy!

Prologue

After playing God for six years with the world he created, he couldn’t control any of his subjects, none at all. Over the years, he had watched them evolve and become the sum of their own choices rather than the sum of his; and for that, he regretted ever giving them life.
A small, blinking red light from just inside his eyelid reminded him of the news they sent him earlier that morning. The company had cancelled his funding and would shut down his project within three months. According to them, the project cost too much and took up too much space, and the inconclusive results couldn’t be published reputably, now or in the future.
Six years of his work, tens of thousands of lives at stake—and he could do nothing to save any of it. He bowed his head, letting his chin rest on the rim of his breakfast smoothie. The smoothie reeked of powder—crushed pills—but he supposed he had better get used to it. He wouldn’t be able to afford the luxury of real food after they canned him.
He closed his eyes and called up the camera view of one of his favorites, number 3281. She fascinated him; he couldn’t deny it. When he had designed her, her pre-teen rebelliousness lit fire in her eyes. A survivor, he’d thought. He’d meant for her to have it all—to grow up, to get married to the love of her life, and to have a beautiful family of her own someday.
But he had only given her sadness so far. Instead of creating a strict father, he had given her an abusive one. Instead of creating a loving boyfriend, he had given her a friend who could never love her. And instead of creating a strong, proud mother, he had given her a meek one, who watched the whole thing unfold and did nothing about it.
He looked at his last and final creation sitting in the chair across from him—his own son, not awakened yet. The law forbade him to have any children of his own, so this boy would substitute.
But he had done the unthinkable with this creation—he had bestowed on it his own thoughts, emotions, and decision-making processes. He’d given the boy his own mind, his own physical characteristics, his own wants and desires.
He had never done so with any of the others because of the dangers of investing too heavily in any one of his subjects. But who could he kid? He had not stayed objective thus far, watching some of his subjects more closely than others, wishing for the happiness of some at the expense of others. He had become an abomination, a monster of his own doing, who had created subjects only to watch them suffer.
He couldn’t forgive himself; not now, not ever. His eyes lingered on the vial that sat next to his breakfast smoothie, that he’d stowed away for the day when they destroyed all his work, his entire world. He would save it, tuck it away for now, for as long as he could protect them. When things spun out of his control, he would drink it and end himself the way he had ended them.
In the ancient stories, gods frequently gave their sons as gifts. Now, he would give his son as a gift to her, number 3281. So she could be happy in her last months on earth, before they destroyed her with the rest of them.


If you enjoyed the excerpt of Monica Leonelle's Socialpunk, you can purchase a copy from amazon. To see the other stops on the tour stop by Monica's tour page.



So say we all!

Friday, April 20, 2012

In my Mailbox 71



In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren.

This week I got 3 books. I won 2 and I borrowed 1 from a friend. The two I won were:

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Thank you Laci!

The other book I won was a copy of Illuminate by Amiee Agresti.

                                                      
Thank You Heather!

The book I borrowed was a copy of The Physick Book Of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe. I borrowed this from my friend Sarah. Thank you!


I also got 2 bookish related things they were:

A Hunger Games tote bag. (I found this at Barnes and Noble.)





And I picked up a bottle of China Glaze's Hunger Games Collection nail polish Smoke and Ashes (District 12's color) The color looks black with glitter in some light, but in others it looks like a deep blue with glitter and yet in others it looks like a dark forest green with glitter. I love it!



Well, that was what was in my mailbox this week leave me a note and let me know what you got in your mailbox, have a great week and happy reading!



So say we all!

Thursday, April 19, 2012

The Selection







  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (April 24, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0062059939
  • Author:Kiera Cass
  • Cover art: I love it I want the dress!
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: I won an ARC copy from Laci. Thank you!








The Selection by Kiera Cass
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself- and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



Wow! I absolutely loved this book! It's such a fun and light hearted read. I must say though that the only similarity it has to The Hunger Games is the lottery aspect. Aside from that, the two are completely different beasts.

I really liked America's character, she was out spoken and very assertive.  I was glad to see another novel with such a strong female lead. Maxon (the Prince) was also a wonderful new-comer to the book world. I really liked his cheeky side and how candidly he spoke with America.


Aspen on the other hand, I have a love hate thing going on with him, that's all I'm going to say to avoid spoilers. I really like the premise of this book and the writing style was fun. 


I had a feeling how the book would end when I was reading it, but the cliff hanger ending still had me saying "That's it? What happens next?"


If you like the show "The Bachelor" and are looking for a fun, easy, light read. Then pick this one up and give it a try! 




So say we all!

The Hunger Games



  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Press; Reprint edition (July 3, 2010)
  • ISBN-10: 0439023521
  • Author: Suzanne Collins
  • Cover art: It's okay.
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: This was a RAK gift thank you!










The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I know I'm late to the game on this one. (Pun intended) I moved this up on my TBR pile after seeing the movie, normally I read the book first but hey I didn't this time. I really liked this book. The author did a fantastic job in world building and how desperate Panem really is.


Katniss is a fantastic character, she really holds her own and is one of the top kick ass characters I have read. I don't like Peeta very much, he really bugged me, I can't quite figure out why though. (I know a lot of people will hate me for saying that.)


This book is good, but when you think about it, the concept of the Games is seriously screwed up. I do like though that Collins told us why the Games are held and she shows why the Capitol loves the Games and the differences between the Capitol and most of the Districts. 


There was very little dialog in the book it's self mostly it's Katniss in her own head and how she as the narrator is feeling, but I think that is what made the book so good and so powerful.  I can't wait to read the next two.

I do think it is a book that parents need to read themselves if they have a younger child to decide if it's okay for their kid as it is intense. 


As for book to movie, I think they did a fantastic job and the complaints are really just people being nitpicky. 




So say we all!

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Darkfever


  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press; First Edition edition (October 31, 2006)
  • ISBN-10: 0385339151
  • Author: Karen Marie Moning
  • Cover art: I don't like the original art, it's misleading. 
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf










Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

MacKayla Lane’s life is good. She has great friends, a decent job, and a car that breaks down only every other week or so. In other words, she’s your perfectly ordinary twenty-first-century woman. Or so she thinks…until something extraordinary happens.

When her sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her death–a cryptic message on Mac’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in search of answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a shadowy realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she had no idea she possessed–a gift that allows her to see beyond the world of man, into the dangerous realm of the Fae….

As Mac delves deeper into the mystery of her sister’s death, her every move is shadowed by the dark, mysterious Jericho, a man with no past and only mockery for a future. As she begins to close in on the truth, the ruthless Vlane–an alpha Fae who makes sex an addiction for human women–closes in on her. And as the boundary between worlds begins to crumble, Mac’s true mission becomes clear: find the elusive Sinsar Dubh before someone else claims the all-powerful Dark Book–because whoever gets to it first holds nothing less than complete control of the very fabric of both worlds in their hands…(Synopsis provided by goodreads)



I love this series, I like it a lot more then the Highlander series that Moning wrote first. I found Mac to be very likable and when I was reading I kept hearing a Georgian accent in my head.
Moning brings her new world to live with vivid descriptions and awesome dialog.


Mac has incredible journey in this book and the series as a whole. My favorite thing is that it is set in Ireland, I haven't found many books set there so it's a wonderful change from the normal settings I find myself reading.


This series is very different from the Highlander series, while there is some romance in this one, at it's heart it is not a romance, it's a paranormal thriller with a dash of mystery for good measure.


Jericho isn't really my favorite, I don't hate him, but I don't think he's very likable. (I am in the minority on this one, after reading the whole series I still don't like him. Most women love him I just never did.)


Aside from my not liking him, he is still a very well rounded character and he is the way he is for reasons we find out in future books. Re-reading this book was a treat I forgot how much I like Mac and the fever world. Can't wait for ICED this fall!


If you want a good paranormal book with mystery and romance for adults give this series a shot. (It really is an adult book future books have a lot of sex in them so parents may want to give them a read to decide if their son or daughter is old enough for them.)



 So say we all!

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Rise of the Guardian







  • File Size: 487 KB
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Whiskey Creek Press LLC (March 1, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
  • ASIN: B007G396MW
  • Cover art: I like it, but up close the eyes freak me out.
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars
  • Author: J.W. Baccaro
  • Obtained: Paper copy sent by the author for review, thank you!





**Please note the information above is for the Kindle version**

Rise of the Guardian by J.W. Baccaro
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

While the Demon Lord Abaddon prepares to cast the Spell of Destruction and wipe out the glories of the earth for his own void of evil, Darshun Luthais, after a long oppressive journey, attempts to eradicate the source of his dark magic, the sacrificial Unholy Altar. But when the Dragon Gods unleash their barricade of fire the Delibious—a mystic realm of darkness, flames and witchery, Darshun must find a way through without burning his soul out of existence, and save the earth from the coming annihilation. (Synopsis provided by Amazon)

This is the fifth book in a 7 part series. As these books progress the review process gets more and more difficult, in a good way. It gets harder to write a review without giving away anything from the current or previous books.

Like the others, this book is packed with everything a reader can ask for, magic, action, adrenaline. Paranormal creatures, suspense. In short, it's awesome, like Hunger Games awesome. The more I read about Darshun, the more and more I love him. (I even tried to get my sister to name her son Darshun..she said no.)

What I find so neat is how Baccaro is able to keep the story flowing through out so many books and how he keeps your attention even between books. I always want to know more, what's next for Darshun and company? Will he survive? Will he fail? What. Is. Going. To. Happen?!

This one picks up after book four and we get to see Darshun face new challenges and obstacles. The ending surprised me and had me flipping over and over again hoping it would magically change and there would more to it. It was one of those WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?! Freak out endings. (Which I admit I secretly love especially reading them in public.)

This series is a fabulous adult series. I've said it before if you like Terry Goodkind, you really should give these books a try. You can find them at Amazon and on Whiskey Creek Press. What are you waiting for, start reading them today!



 So say we all!

Saturday, April 14, 2012

In my mailbox 70

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren.

This week I got four books, one for review, my Dad bought me one (because he's awesome and loves me.) and two were RAKS.

The one that was sent for review, I won via Librarything's early reviewers program. I won a copy of This is not a test by Courtney Summers.

The book my Dad got me was a copy of Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins.


A RAK I got from Lori was a copy of Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins


And the RAK I got from RJ of RJ does books was Eve by Anna Carey.



Thank you to Librarything, my Dad, Lori and RJ!

That's all for me leave me a note and let me know what you got, I'll be sure to stop by and check it out. Have a great week and happy reading.

So say we all!

Amy Plum announces new book!

Author Amy Plum has announced a new book! It's a 2 book deal with Harper. The books will be published summer 2014 and summer 2015.  You can find out more about the new book on the goodreads page. Juneau sounds like it will be awesome!

So say we all!

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Stephen King announces new book!

 
Stephen King has annoounced that he is working on a new novel! It's called Joyland. All we know about it is it's about a "Amusement park serial killers" (Direct quote from theEW article.) The article also says that we have to wait till 2013 for Dr. Sleep which is the sequel to The Shinning. I don't know about you but Joyland sounds awesome I hope King writes it fast and likes it well enough for the publishers to get it so we can all read it.

So say we all!

J.K. Rowling's new book title has been revealed!






The book is called THE CASUAL VACANCY! Here is the synopsis taken from goodreads. The book is due out Sept. 27 2012.
The Casual Vacancy

When Barry Fairweather dies unexpectedly in his early forties, the little town of Pagford is left in shock.

Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty façade is a town at war.

Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils...Pagford is not what it first seems.

And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity and unexpected revelations?


SO EXCITED!

So say we all!

Monday, April 9, 2012

Cover reveal


There is a cover for The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson! This book is due out January 2 2013.



I love this cover.

So say we all!