Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Enchanted




  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Harcourt Children's Books (May 8, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0547645708
  • Author:Alethea Kontis
  • Cover art: I really like the detail on the cover.
  • Over all rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: From the publisher Thank you!








Enchanted by Althea Kontis

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

It isn't easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past - and hers? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



I love fairy tale re-tellings, if they are good. This was adorable. I loved every page of this book. Sunday was such a fun character, I had a great time reading her story. I thought that the touch of being able to read Sunday's stories with in this book was fantastic!


This is a re-telling of the frog princess which is a story I hadn't thought about since I was knee high to a duck, but when I saw the cover and read the synopsis I knew I had to get my hands on this book as soon as I could.  


This re-telling was sweet, fun and funny. Rumbold and Sunday practically jumped off the pages of this book. They made me nostalgic for my childhood, I really wish there were more books out there that were like that, good fairy tale re-tellings, or fairy tale re-tellings in general.


One thing that really stood out was how other fairy tales from childhood make cameo appearances in this book. We see a little bit of Princess and the pea, Jack and the bean stalk and Rumplestiltskin. I've never read a re-telling that touches on so many other fairy tales.


If you like re-tellings I would highly recommend this book! Pre-Order your copy now.


So say we all!

The Lying Game










  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen; Reprint edition (December 6, 2011)
  • ISBN-10: 0061869716
  • Author:Sara Shepard
  • Cover art: I really liked the cover art.
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.







The Lying Game by Sara Shepard
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

I had a life anyone would kill for. Then someone did.

I may not remember much, but I know I led a charmed life. Even in death I’m getting something no one else does: an encore performance, thanks to Emma, the long-lost twin sister I never got to meet. Now, in order to figure out what happened to me, Emma needs to become me. But can she laugh at inside jokes with my best friends? Convince my boyfriend she’s the girl he fell in love with? Hug my parents good night like she’s their daughter? And can she keep up the charade even after she realizes my murderer is watching her every move?

Let the lying game begin. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



This was the first book I have read by this author. As a fan of the tv shows based on her work, I decided to pick up a copy of the first book in each series. I opted to read this one first.
It should be stated that the book is way different then the show. 


I was stunned when I read the first page and found out just how different the book is to the show. In the book from page one Sutton is dead. (Not a spoiler it's in the synopsis.) Like the show Emma has to get everyone to believe she is Sutton, and like the show she has very little information on the twin she has never met.


I really like Emma's character in the book. She feels very real and the reader can really relate to her. Mads and Char are pretty likable to, I really like how different "The Lying Game" is in the book verses what it is in the show.


Shepard is a fantastic author with a fertile imagination. I really liked the touch of Mads having stickers all over that say Swan Lake Mafia. That made me smile each time I saw it in the book. I'm really looking forward to reading the next book in the series and the next season of the show. I like them both separately.


Ethan is the only character whom I like better in the show then I do in the book, but with the ending of book one, I think I might like him more in book two then I do now as it seems like his character will get more face time in the next book.


I would recommend this book to fans of the show and to fans of the Pretty Little Liars series and show.


So say we all!

Saturday, March 24, 2012

In my mailbox 67





In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren.
This week I got one book. It's a book for review that was sent to me by the author. The book I was sent was a copy of The Rise of the Guardian by JW Baccaro Thank you!




That's what was hiding out in my mailbox, leave me a note and let me know what you got. I'll be sure to stop by and check it out. Until next week, happy reading.


So say we all!

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Cover reveal



Alexandra has just revealed the cover for Heaven on her facebook page! The cover is beautiful and fits in well with the other two books. Heaven is set for release on August 21 2012! Here is the synopsis and cover taken from goodreads.



Only sixteen when she started the series, Ally Adornetto knows how teen hearts beat, and this long-awaited conclusion is certain to be her most popular book yet.

Bethany, an angel sent to Earth, and her mortal boyfriend, Xavier, have been to Hell and back. But now their love will be put to its highest test yet, as they defy Heavenly law and marry. They don’t tell Beth’s archangel siblings, Gabriel and Ivy, but the angels know soon enough, and punishment comes in a terrifying form: the Sevens, who are rogue angels bent on keeping Beth and Xavier apart, destroying Gabriel and Ivy, and darkening angelic power in the heavens.

The only way Bethany and Xavier can elude the Sevens is to hide in the open, and blend in with other mortals their own age. Gabriel and Ivy set them up at college, where they can’t reveal their relationship, and where there is still danger around each corner. Will Bethany be called back to Heaven – forever – and face leaving the love of her life?


So say we all!

Monday, March 19, 2012

FairyTale Fortnight

You guys, YOU GUYS! It's almost upon us! It's nearly here the evil queens and witches are coming! Misty of The Book Rat has just posted the button for Fairy Tale Fortnight!






See isn't it amazing! I love it. I had so much fun reading all of her FairyTale Fortnight posts last year and I can't wait for it to start up again, it's being co-hosted by Ashely of Basically Amazing Books.

Head on over to Misty's blog for more information and if you want to participate you can fill out the form she has epically for that. Come on April 15!

So say we all!

Spell Bound








  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Hyperion Book CH (March 13, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 1423121325
  • Author: Rachel Hawkins
  • Cover art: I like it, glad they kept the theme of a reflection of Sophie in something. (Except Hex Hall that was someone else.)
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars.
  • Obtained: Personal book shelf.









 Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Hailed as “impossible to put down,” the Hex Hall series has both critics and teens cheering. With a winning combination of romance, action, magic and humor, this third volume will leave readers enchanted.

Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.

Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



Getting this book was a mixture of excitement and sadness. Excitement because it's another Rachel Hawkins, so you're in for a good time and lots of laughs. Sadness because it's the end of Sophie's story. I'm not ready to say goodbye to Sophie and her gang. 


The book was amazing. I loved every page of it. There were somethings in it I never saw coming and other things I guessed. I was sad to see one of my predictions come true. Jenna was Jenna in this one, I love her and Sophie was still the snarky smartass we all know and love.


We got to see a lot more of Sophie's mom in this one which after getting to know her Dad in Demonglass that was great. The Brannicks (an Irish family of women who hunt Sophie's kind.) were a great edition to the story. 


We got to meet a new character Izzy who I adore. She was awesome. She seemed like the sister Sophie never had to me. Spell Bound was full of answers to questions we had from the first two books, which is always great. We get to see a new part of Elodie and some cool things she can do even in her current ghostly form.


As with the previous two books this one is action packed. There are some sad moments but a lot more moments when you'll find yourself laughing so hard your stomach hurts. It really was a great end to a fantastic series.


Rachel Hawkins has said that she has another book coming out that is set in the same world as Hex Hall with some of the characters we meet in Spell Bound. And she has also said she has a new series starting in summer 2013. I can't wait to see what she has in store for us next!


If you haven't read this series yet, you should it's got it all, boarding schools, magic, witches, fairies, shape shifters, 2 vampires that are so not what you're used to reading.


So say we all!

Sunday, March 18, 2012

Revenants Week

I am participating in Revenants Week!  It's a week celebrating our favorite characters form Amy Plum's Die for Me series!


 Revenants week was created by The Revenants Central blog. A fan blog to all things Amy Plum! During Revenants week different blogs are participating in revealing a character's profile. These were all created by Amy herself and she has hand picked the photos of who she sees as the best fit for each character.
It's all Amy's genius we can't take any credit for it.

Before I reveal the profile for Ambrose, if you're not familiar with with Amy's series you can find my review of Die for me the first book in the series here.

Book 2 Until I Die is set for release on May 8th 2012, however I was lucky enough to be sent an ARC copy from a fellow blogger you can find my spoiler free review of book 2 here.

And if you want to know even more about the series you can find my interview with Amy here.

If you want to sign up for my Amy Plum Reading Challenge you can do so here.


And now on to Ambrose's character profile!!!!!


 Name: Ambrose Bates
Born: March 15, 1922 in Oxford, Mississippi
Died: you’ll find out in Book 3, but he is eternally 22
Hair: Black
Eyes: Brown
Other vitals: Very muscular, 6'5”, very low baritone voice                                    
Defining characteristics: Has nicknames for everyone: Kate “Katie-Lou”. Calls Jean-Baptiste “JB”. Calls Vincent “Vin”.
Hobbies: Plays trumpet, loves jazz, is a movie buff (had JB build the home cinema), bodybuilding.
Preferred weapon: Battle axe.
Back story: p. 222
Quote: “Kate, enchanted to meet you. I'm Ambrose,” he said in a baritone voice that was as thick as molasses. Then, switching into a perfectly American-accented English, he said, “Ambrose Bate from Oxford, Mississippi. It's nice to meet a fellow countryman in this land of crazy French people!” (DIE FOR ME)

 You can find Vincent's profile on Fiktshun's website. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed this clip of Ambrose. I also hope you sign up for the reading challenge and if you haven't yet, I hope you pick up Amy's books they really are wonderful! Die For Me was the best book I read last year.

 So say we all!



Saturday, March 17, 2012

In my mailbox 66

 In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren.

This week I got one book it was a pre-order I recieved a shiny new copy of Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins




That's what was in my mailbox, leave me a note and let me know what you got, I'll be sure to stop by and check it out. Until next time, Happy reading.


So say we all!

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Happy Book Birthday

Happy Book Birthday to Rachel Hawkins who released the last book in the Hex Hall series today Spell Bound! My copy is winging it's way to me now and I am stoked!



Hailed as “impossible to put down,” the Hex Hall series has both critics and teens cheering. With a winning combination of romance, action, magic and humor, this third volume will leave readers enchanted.

Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.

Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?




 
So say we all!

Sunday, March 11, 2012

In my mailbox 65






In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.

This week I got 1 book, it was one I bought, I got myself a copy of:

The Lying Game by Sarah Shepard.





That's what was in my mailbox, leave me a note and let me know what you got in your mailbox have a great week and happy reading!




So say we all!

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Cover reveal



Hey guys we finally have the US cover to The Serpent's kiss by Melissa de la Cruz! I loved book one and can't wait for book 2! Here is the cover art and the synopsis taken from goodreads.


The intriguing Beauchamp family, introduced in the New York Times bestselling Witches of East End, returns in Serpent’s Kiss, with dizzying plot twists and spellbinding magic.

Joanna and her daughters, bookish Ingrid and wild-child Freya, are just settling into the newfound peace that has been cast over their small, off-the map town of North Hampton. With the centuries-old restriction against practicing magic lifted, casting spells, mixing potions, and curing troubled souls has never felt so good for the three witches. That is, until everything gets turned upside down—from Joanna’s organized kitchen to Ingrid’s previously nonexistent love life to Freya’s once unshakeable faith in her sexy soul mate, Killian Gardiner.

When Freya’s twin brother, Freddie, suddenly returns, escaped from Limbo and professing innocence on a long-ago crime, Freya should be ecstatic. The golden boy can do no wrong. Or can he? Freddie blames no other than her fiancé Killian for his downfall, and enlists Freya’s help to prove it. Now Freya doesn’t know who to believe or trust.

And for the first time in—well, forever, really—Ingrid is also busy in love. Matt Noble, the handsome and charming police detective, has won her heart. But can romance work between a virgin witch and a mortal who doesn’t believe in magic? Things get even more complicated when it appears Ingrid is harboring the prime suspects in Matt’s police investigation.

To add to the chaos, a dead spirit is attempting to make contact with Joanna—but does it mean to bring harm or help? Joanna asks her sort-of ex-husband Norman to help figure it out, only to accidentally invite him to a Thanksgiving dinner with a dapper gentleman she’s recently begun dating.

As the witches pull together to discover the serpent within their midst and the culprit behind Freddie’s imprisonment, everything is thrown into peril. Will the discovery come too late to save those they love most?

Melissa de la Cruz weaves all this and more in a blockbuster sequel that is not to be missed by her fans, and one that is sure to enchant new readers of the series.



I can't wait! 



So say we all!

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

H20 Just Add water mini review

Welcome to the 7th and final day of Mermaid week, I hope you have enjoyed it!



H20 just add water is a super fun, super cute Australian tv show for tweens and teens. I found it on Netflix when I was sick last summer and thought it was really fun. It's a great family friendly show where 3 girls become mermaids and have to keep it a secret between the 3 of them and slowly a few close friends find out what they really are.
The girls search out the reason as to why they became mermaids and how ect. I really liked the show, it only ran for 3 seasons and the 3rd season wasn't that great, but aside from that, I really liked the show.



So say we all!

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Aquamarine



Welcome to day 6 of Mermaid week. For the last 2 days I am going to be reviewing a movie and then a tv show.




It's the end of summer and Claire (Roberts) and Hailey (JoJo) have a major problem. In just five days, Hailey's family is moving halfway around the world! These girls need a major miracle, and they get one in the form of Aquamarine, a beautiful mermaid who washes ashore in a late summer storm. Sweet but clueless to the ways of romance, she offers to grant the girls one wish if they help her find the boy of her dreams. But when they attempt to reel in the cute local lifeguard, the result is something none of them expect and they discover that sometimes what you wish for isn't what you really want after all! (Synopsis provided by Amazon) 
When I first saw the cover for this movie I thought it was going to be hoaky, however, I was pleasantly surprised. It had it's corny moments, but for the most part it was just a fun cute girly movie.
It would be great for a sleep over or a beach trip film.
The movie isn't very long and the acting isn't the best, but it's better then others of course. I liked it and found myself wanting there to be a sequel to this film.

And today's Painting:
Sailor's Prayer
By Robert Wyat Smith


So say we all!


Monday, March 5, 2012

Lost Voices RE-POST






Welcome to day 5 of Mermaid week!

THIS IS A RE-POST OF MY PREVIOUS REVIEW.


The Lost Voices by Sarah Porter
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

This is a debut novel about mermaids. I love all things mermaids! The main character Luce becomes a mermaid after falling into the cold icy ocean in Alaska. Luce is sent to live with her uncle who is a drunk after her father is lost at sea.

All of the mermaid’s in this book became mermaids after they were betrayed by a man in their lives, in Luce’s case, it was her uncle.
However, there is a twist with the mermaids in this book, they act more like sirens then mermaids. Their main lot in life is to murder sailors with their songs.

Luce is a strong character with a heart breaking story. Her raw emotion is shown through out the book. The author has created a very strong voice with this character. I felt that Luce’s feelings were real and the way they came across was amazingly well done.

The other mermaids in this book are very rude, which reflects how a lot of teen girls are. I felt that all of the characters were very strong and all of the relationships were believable.

That being said, there were times when I felt like there was something missing, like a chapter was missing from the book or something similar.

Over all, I would say this is a very dark book. But hauntingly beautiful. I wish I could give it more stars, I do. But when I was left feeling like something was missing, it knocked it down from a four star to a three star.
I would read this again and I do want to buy a copy when it is available. If you like mermaid books, with a twist and dark tales, I would say give it a try.

Overall rating:
*** 3 out of 5 stars.

Cover art:

The cover art is simply beautiful. Can I get a poster?

Obtained:

I was given a copy by the publisher via netgalley Thank you! 


And today's painting:



The Siren 
By John William Waterhouse
 
So say we all!

Sunday, March 4, 2012

The Catastrophic History of You and Me







Hardcover: 400 pages
Publisher: Dial (February 21, 2012)
ISBN-10: 0803737203
Author: Jess Rothenberg
Cover art: I love it!
Overall rating:***** out of 5 stars.
Obtained: My personal book shelf




The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Dying of a broken heart is just the beginning.... Welcome to forever.

BRIE'S LIFE ENDS AT SIXTEEN: Her boyfriend tells her he doesn't love her, and the news breaks her heart—literally.

But now that she's D&G (dead and gone), Brie is about to discover that love is way more complicated than she ever imagined. Back in Half Moon Bay, her family has begun to unravel. Her best friend has been keeping a secret about Jacob, the boy she loved and lost—and the truth behind his shattering betrayal. And then there's Patrick, Brie's mysterious new guide and resident Lost Soul . . . who just might hold the key to her forever after.

With Patrick's help, Brie will have to pass through the five stages of grief before she's ready to move on. But how do you begin again, when your heart is still in pieces? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



I really liked this book. It was one of those books that made me cry several times while I was reading it. Getting to walk with Bree as she made her way through her grief was really interesting, there were times when I laughed there were times when I cried. This was an amazing book!
I loved it. It had a twist that I figured out fairly early on but that didn't diminish what I felt about the book. 


It's a wonderful story and even if you are someone who never has had their heart broken, you can still feel empathy for the characters. The edition of Hamloaf (Bree's dog) was fantastic! I highly recommend this book.


So say we all!

Mermaid






Welcome to day 4 of Mermaid week!






  • Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Broadway; Original edition (March 1, 2011)
  • ISBN-10: 0307589978
  • Author: Carolyn Turgeon
  • Cover Art: I really like the colors used.
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars.
  • Obtained: My personal book shelf.








Mermaid by Carolyn Turgeon
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

The story of two very different women, one mortal, one mermaid, and the clash between worlds best kept apart... It is a cold day at the end of the world when a young woman, a princess in hiding, looks out across a Northern sea and sees something she could not have seen. It looks...it can't be. It looks like a mermaid's tail. And, as she looks more closely, she sees that the mermaid is dragging a drowning sailor in her arms. Because, only hours before, another princess, the daughter of the sea queen, has decided to risk everything and take a look at the world above the sea: the world of mortals. And there she finds a storm, a shipwreck, a sailor, and sets in train events which will change both women's worlds forever. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I really liked this one, I've been searching for good mermaid books and this one delivered. It's been on my shelf for a while and was collecting dust, but now, it's moved to my books I've read shelf. I know a lot of people didn't like this re-telling, I'm not sure why, that it is the case, I thought it was really good. (Everyone is entitled to their opinion of course.)


I thought the twist and new spin on this title was a good one, I love finding new twits on old stories, especially if it's a good re-telling, I have run across many that aren't my cup of tea in the past.


I can't say too much about this one with out giving it all away. But if you like mermaids, you should give this one a try.


Today's painting: 






Ulysses and the Sirens
by Herbert James Draper