Wednesday, February 29, 2012

The Secret History of Mermaids






Welcome to the first day of Mermaid week! I hope you enjoy what I have planned and stick around all week for reviews and art!





  • Hardcover: 48 pages
  • Publisher: Candlewick; Gift edition (September 8, 2009)
  • ISBN-10: 076364515X
  • Author: Professor Ari Berk
  • Cover art: I like how it's embossed and the 'jewels' are sunken into the cover.
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: Sent to me from the publisher in exchange for a review.

The Secret history of Mermaids by Professor Ari Berk.
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

From the loremaster who brought us THE SECRET HISTORY OF GIANTS comes an intriguing new chronicle revealing the mysterious ways of merfolk.

Since ancient times, seafarers and coast-dwellers the world over have reported encounters with merpeople. Variously known as Finfolk, Dinny Mara, Nereids, Blue Men, and Merrymaids, merfolk have been the source of both gifts and disasters for humankind. Now a lavishly illustrated resource offers insight into the lives, origins, language, and magic of these elusive peoples. Like a siren’s song, this fascinating tome is sure to enthrall all who fall under its spell. Special features include:
— paper novelties — including sundry flaps, booklets, and gatefolds
— a lavish cover with foil, embossing, and glittery jewels
— an elegant tassel dangling from the spine

(Synopsis provided by goodreads)

I really liked this book. It's a very quick read, this book is a middle grade more then a YA book. But it's still good fun. It's full of fold out pages, flaps to open and discover more about the mermaids and other sea creatures.
Berk has a wonderful imagination! Even at 25, I still had a blast with this book reading it, opening the flaps, opening the fold out pages and admiring the art work. The art in this book is so detailed and vivid, there were a few pages I'd love to have in poster size and hang on the wall! 


The information in the book, is concise but Berk covered everything a child could want to know about mermaids. This makes a great gift or a great coffee table book for people of all ages, it's very whimsical and fun. Such a treat!


And here is one of my favorite artists rendition of a Mermaid:






                                                                                   A Mermaid 
  by John William Waterhouse

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Really great blog post I found

Hey y'all, I found a really great blog post, it was written by a friend of mine's sister. It's all about writing your blog and not really caring how many people read or how others see it and react to it, sometimes I think as book bloggers we get defeated by thinking our blog isn't good enough or say I only have X amount of followers but So-and-So's blog has X amount. After reading her post, it got me thinking, how sometimes it feels that bloggers are competing almost for followers, coming up with the best meme reviewing a book first ect. Most people in the world are competitive by nature. (I think at least.)

But at the same time, the book blogging community pulls together to help one of our own when they need help. Which is AWESOME! A lot of bloggers have formed personal relationships with authors and consider them friends again AWESOME! (For me an author is like a rock star or a celebrity. OMYGOSH how cool would it be to have an awards show like the Oscars for BOOKS?!) But I digress, the post was really good. I am trying to write a novel myself and I find myself saying some of the same things she did in her post and she's write they are defeatist thoughts.

If you have a few minutes you should read the post it's worth it.



Sunday, February 26, 2012

Project tell Taylor



Hey y'all there is a really neat event/giveaway that Michelle Madow author of of Remembrance is hosting, she has said that Taylor Swift's music video "Love Story" inspired her book. I love that video! If you want to know more check out Project Tell Taylor. You can enter to win an epic prize pack and help get the word out about Remembrance at the same time. Double Epic!





Saturday, February 25, 2012

In my mailbox 63






In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren.

This week I got 2 books, both were pre-orders they were:


The Catastrophic History Of You And Me by Jess Rothenberg. (I'm reading this one now and so far I love it!)




The Fine Art Of Truth Or Dare by Melissa Jensen.

That's what I got in my mailbox, leave me a note and let me know what you got in your mailbox. Until then, have a great week and enjoy your new reads!



Friday, February 24, 2012

77 Shadow Street






  • Hardcover: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Bantam (December 27, 2011)
  • ISBN-10: 0553807714
  • Author: Dean Koontz
  • Cover art: I really like the simplicity of it.
  • Obtained:My personal book shelf
  • Over all rating: ****1/2 out of 5








77 Shadow Street by Dean Koontz

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

I am the One, the all and the only. I live in the Pendleton as surely as I live everywhere. I am the Pendleton’s history and its destiny. The building is my place of conception, my monument, my killing ground. . . .

The Pendleton stands on the summit of Shadow Hill at the highest point of an old heartland city, a Gilded Age palace built in the late 1800s as a tycoon’s dream home. Almost from the beginning, its grandeur has been scarred by episodes of madness, suicide, mass murder, and whispers of things far worse. But since its rechristening in the 1970s as a luxury apartment building, the Pendleton has been at peace. For its fortunate residents—among them a successful songwriter and her young son, a disgraced ex-senator, a widowed attorney, and a driven money manager—the Pendleton’s magnificent quarters are a sanctuary, its dark past all but forgotten.

But now inexplicable shadows caper across walls, security cameras relay impossible images, phantom voices mutter in strange tongues, not-quite-human figures lurk in the basement, elevators plunge into unknown depths. With each passing hour, a terrifying certainty grows: Whatever drove the Pendleton’s past occupants to their unspeakable fates is at work again. Soon, all those within its boundaries will be engulfed by a dark tide from which few have escaped.

Dean Koontz transcends all expectations as he takes readers on a gripping journey to a place where nightmare visions become real—and where a group of singular individuals hold the key to humanity’s destiny. Welcome to 77 Shadow Street. (Synopsis provided by Goodreads)




I'm in the minority on this one, most fans didn't like it, I'm not sure why exactly. Yes, there was a lot of description, I mean a lot. (Which is the only thing knocking this to a 4 1/2 from a 5.) I read this mainly at night and got creeped out a lot.



I really enjoyed how we got to see multiple POV's in this, Koontz always lets the reader know who's POV we are seeing. I really enjoyed Sparkle and Winny's characters. Mickey was by far the most eccentric of the characters and he freaked me out (But I think that this is what Koontz was going for.)


Koontz really did an awesome job on this book, there is so much to it! (Can't say too much as it would be a spoiler.) I also really liked how we got to see the POV of The One.
All of our character's stories are interconnected but individual at the same time, which was a nice touch. There was not a whole lot of dialogue in this one, which was a bit of a disappointment for me, but the descriptions captured more of the creep factor then dialogue could have even though the descriptions as I've said were a bit much at times. 


The ending was a lot different then I thought it was going to be but it wasn't a let down at all for me. 
If you are a fan, I'd suggest reading this one, if you are new to Koontz, I'd suggest this as well as his previous book Your heart belongs to me.

Cover Reveal Odd Apocalypse by Dean Koontz.



Dean Koontz fans, there is now a cover for Odd Apocalypse! Taken goodreads:



Cool cover what do you think?



Thursday, February 23, 2012

Cover Reveal The Unfailing Light by Robin Bridges






We have a cover and synopsis for The Unfailing lihgt by Robin Bridges. This is the second book in the Katrina Trilogy. Book one, The Gathering Storm was released last month, book 2 is set for release on October 9 2012!

Here is the cover and synopsis taken from goodreads!


Having had no choice but to use her power has a necromancer to save Russia from dark forces, Katerina Alexandrovna, Duchess of Oldenburg, now wants to forget that she ever used her special powers. She's about to set off to pursue her lifelong dream of attending medical school when she discovers that Russia's arch nemesis--who she thought she'd destroyed--is still alive. So on imperial orders, Katerina remains at her old finishing school. She'll be safe there, because the empress has cast a potent spell to protect it against the vampires and revenants who are bent on toppling the tsar and using Katerina for their own gains. But to Katerina's horror, the spell unleashes a vengeful ghost within the school, a ghost more dangerous than any creature trying to get in.





 I like it, I wish it looked a little more like the cover of book one though. Adding this to my TBR list as well, and now I am even more excited to read book one which is sitting in a pile of books on my floor.

So what do you think? Leave a comment and let me know.


 

New book by JK Rowling



YAY!!!!! She announced she has a new book coming out! No word on a title or  what it's about yet all we know is it's an adult book and it is being published by Little Brown.You can read One of many articles here.

This is so cool! I know she had said in the past she was writing for adults but now it's official with press release and everything!




Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Happy Book Birthday!

YAY! It's February 21 and that means it's the book birthday of 2 very anticipated YA novels! It's the release day for the debut  The Catastrophic history of you and me by Jess Rothenberg! 



And the sophomore novel Fever by Lauren DeStefano!




YAY! This is an exciting day!



Monday, February 20, 2012

77 Shadow Street by Dean Koontz Update



 
Okay y'all so, I'm not sure why it's taking me so long to read this one. I've been reading it for the whole month. I like it, but I keep picking up other books at the same time, I will get this one done and reviewed by Saturday. I promise!
 The fact that it's taking me so long makes me feel like this:
But the book has a lot of scary stuff in it (which I love) and I like to read at night so when I am reading it I feel like this:


This is a fairly new feeling for me so it leaves me feeling like this:



I am also reading ENCHANTED which is super good as well, I am participating in the blog tour for that one on April 21! So stay tuned for that and for the review of 77 SHADOW STREET this week!




Saturday, February 18, 2012

IMM 62

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren.
This week I didn't get any books, but I did have my power cord break on me, there were a lot of blue sparks it was very scary, so I am borrowing a cord until I get paid next week and can buy myself a new one. FUN...Not really.

This week I did have Amy Plum on the blog she stopped by for an interview want to know what Vincent's most embarrassing moment was? Check out the interview the  answer answer and learn how you can enter to win Amy's giveaway (open until Monday) of an ARC of Until I Die.



Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Author Interview with Amy Plum









I am so excited to host Amy Plum for an interview on the blog, I am a huge fan of her books and I am constantly shoving them in my friends hands declaring they have to read it and saying they can call it a birthday present to me. Yes, I really do this. 


Without further ado ladies and gentlemen boys and girls revenants and numa I present Amy Plum!




What is Vincent's most embarrassing moment?

It was the late 1960s, and Vincent had just saved an elderly woman from being run over by a bus. As was the style of the day, his hair was long--half-way down his back. He left the shaken woman in the hands of a competent waiter at a nearby café, and as he left, he heard her say to the waiter, “Now wasn't that a nice young lady who helped me out?” He cut his hair the next day.

What item or items does Kate have that most remind her of her parents?

When Kate and Georgia moved to Paris, they left most of their belongings in storage in New York. But Kate brought some photos with her. It took her a while to pull them out from where she had hidden them--in the back of one of her mom's poetry books--and put them into frames. It's taken a while, but now she's able to look at them and let herself remember.
Also, Kate and Georgia brought their mom's jewelry to Paris with them, and Kate often wears one of her mom's rings. As for her dad, Kate just has to look at her grandfather to remember what he looks like.

 Can you share something about Vincent that we don't know yet?

He has watched every Tim Burton film at least twenty times.

 What is Kate's most embarrassing moment?

When Kate's high school class in Brooklyn took a practice PSAT, the teacher let everyone add up their own scores. Kate tallied up her marks, and then compared her total to the ratings chart on the whiteboard. Horrified, she saw that her score was way below average.
After class was over, she went up to the teacher, showed her the failing mark, and asked what she could do to get a higher score. The teacher took one look and started laughing. Kate had added up her score wrong and actually had the highest score in the class. Math, unfortunately, has never been Kate's forté.

 You've said before that you're a pantser, have you always known how Kate and Vincent's story will end?

I have always known what the absolute end of the trilogy will be, but as to how we get there, I have changed my mind several times.

When you write, what is the one thing you have to have with you?

Well, my Mac laptop, for one. But I think that goes without saying. J I usually have a drink within reach: coffee, tea, or San Pellegrino with a lemon-juice ice cube in it.

What is the one thing that Vincent most misses from this pre-revenant life?

Sleep. He was a big sleeper before--one of those people who is practically snoring the moment their head hits the pillow. So being dormant is actually a comfort to him.

Can you tell us a little more about Jules?

Oh, Jules. Well, you're going to hear more about his story in UNTIL I DIE, so I won't reveal that now. What can I tell you...well, whenever he needs cash, he waits until Ambrose is volant, and then talks him into going to the horse races. Seeing a few minutes into the future comes in handy when betting on horses.

 Thank you so much Amy for stopping by it was such a treat! Can't wait for If I should die
Read on to find out how you can enter to win an ARC of Until I die!

Amy Plum is the bestselling author of Die for me which debuted from Harper Teen last spring. Her next novel Until I die is set for release May 8th 2012.

For my review of Die for me click here. 

For my review of Until I die click here. 



You can order your own copy of Die for me at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and The Book Depository.



You can pre-order a copy of Until I die at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and The Book Depository. 


You can enter to win an ARC of Until I Die by entering her giveaway here!

You can find Amy on her Website, her Facebook page, her goodreads author page and her Twitter. 







Monday, February 13, 2012

I am now on Facebook

Yes you read that correctly, I am now on Facebook here is my page.



Cover Reveal Embers and Echos by Karsten Knight!




Hey Y'all I am SO excited that Karsten Knight has revealed the cover to Embers and Echos! Book two in the Wildefire trliogy!


Isn't it STUNNING?! But wait that is not all! More you say? Yes, mon ange there is MORE he also revealed the cover to the paperback version of Wildefire!

Just the font is different, but it's still way cool! Come on Aug 28th!



The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight










  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Poppy; 1 edition (January 2, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316122386
  • Author: Jennifer E. Smith
  • Cover Art: Cute, it's just what you'd expect it to be based on the synopsis.
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal book shelf.







The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. By Jennifer E. Smith
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan's life. She's stuck at JFK, late to her father's second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon to be step-mother that Hadley's never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport's cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he's British, and he's in seat 18C. Hadley's in 18A.

Twists of fate and quirks of timing play out in this thoughtful novel about family connections, second chances and first loves. Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver's story will make you believe that true love finds you when you're least expecting it. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



If I had to describe this book in one word it would be adorable. That is just what this book was adorable. I sat down on the steps with this book and a cup of coffee while the child I was baby sitting was taking a nap. I almost had the book finished before the child woke up and I couldn't help but think how much I wished the kid would have napped just a little longer so I could finish the book. 


Only 256 pages, but it works, Smith got to the point and she didn't use a lot of 'filler' in the book. Hadley and Oliver are a wonderful contemporary couple. I really enjoyed how well they worked together and how fluid the book was not to mention the dialogue. Everything just flowed naturally and unfolded beautifully before the reader.


What I really liked was how much Hadley grew in such a short book, we see her anger over her Father's second marriage and we see how she deals with it, we also get to see how someone like Hadley is jaded so to speak and gets over that feeling.


I loved  this book and I hope there will be a sequel so we can find out what happens after this book. 
I would recommend this book to someone who likes or even is thinking of picking up a YA contemporary novel. It's a quick read one could read it in a day or a few hours depending on how fast you read. Super fun and the perfect rainy day read.



Sunday, February 12, 2012

RSS now up and running.

Okay, so I sorta blindly set up an RSS feed for the blog I hope I did it right. I don't really understand RSS feeds, so I think I did it all correctly.
There are now 6 ways to find me online they are:
1) GFC
2)E-mail
3)Linky
4) RSS
5)Twitter
6) Goodreads  ( My goodreads profile)



New way to follow

Okay, I know some of my readers are on wordpress or another format, since in a few short weeks GFC will not be available for them, I have added Linky Followers to my blog. You can still use the e-mail sign up, and I am going to get better at using my Twitter. I'm thinking about doing a facebook page, but I'm not sure yet. I might do one, I might not it depends on what my readers think really.
Anyway, the Linky Followers is located in the side bar below the GFC followers so if you want to you can follow through that as well.