Monday, January 30, 2012

RAK Wrap UP








This month, I sent one RAK and I received one. I just found out who sent me The Hunger Games, a big thank you to the busy bibliophile!












I sent a copy of The Ghost and the Goth to Jeanne . I hope she likes it as much as I did!














That's my RAK for the month of January, can't wait to send another one in February!


Saturday, January 28, 2012

The Highlander's Touch mini review





18 and over review





  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Dell (November 7, 2000)
  • ISBN-10: 0440236525
  • Author: Karen Marie Moning
  • Cover Art: It's okay
  • Over all rating:**** out of 5 stars
  •  Obtained: My personal book shelf







The Highlander's Touch by Karen Marie Moning
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

A Warrior Of Immortal Powers

He was a mighty Scottish warrior who lived in a world bound by ancient laws and timeless magic. But no immortal powers could prepare the laird of Castle Brodie for the lovely accursed lass who stood before him. A terrible trick of fate had sent her 700 years back in time and into his private chamber to tempt him with her beauty - and seduce him with a desire he could never fulfill. For this woman he burned to possess was also the woman he had foresworn to destroy.


A Woman Caught In The Mists Of Time

When Lisa felt the earth move under her feet, the fiercely independent 21st-century woman never dreamed she was falling...into another century. But the powerful, naked warrior who stood glaring down at her was only too real...and too dangerously arousing. Irresistibly handsome he might be, but Lisa had no intention of remaining in this savage land torn by treachery and war. How could she know that her seductive captor had other plans for her...plans that would save her from a tragic fate? Or that this man who had long ago forsaken love would defy time itself to claim her for his own... (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



This was one of the first books, by Moning that I read. I liked this book well enough, I felt this one read faster then the others. This one could be read as a stand alone, I really liked Lisa's character. She felt real and readers can more easily relate to her then some of the other heriones in Moning's books. 


The relationship progressed quickly (as it normally does in a romance novel.) Some of the dialog was cheesy which for me, detracted from the book a bit. All in all, if you like romance novels or like me don't like them a whole lot, and have nothing to read, pick this up you may like it.



Read a thon wrap up

Well, it's safe to say I failed miserably at this one. My week was unexpectedly busy, baby sitting, power outages, friends and family all had birthdays (4 birthdays.)
BUT I did finish my re-read of Die For Me. So that's something I guess.


In My Mailbox 59






In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

This week I got 3 books I bought them all. They were:

Paper Towns by John Green. I got the yellow cover, I was super excited about that part!


















Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.




















The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong.




















That's what was in my mailbox, leave me a note and let me know what you got in your mailbox.


Thursday, January 26, 2012

Help out a book blogger!

I copied and pasted this post from The Story Siren.

This was originally posted at Restock Yara’s Bookshelves:
I think by now most of you have probably heard that tragedy has touched one of our own. While away at the American Library Association Mid-Winter Meeting, Yara of Once Upon a Twilight lost her home in a fire.
The blaze began in the afternoon hours of Friday, January 20 and reignited in the wee morning hours Saturday. (You can read a full report in the Montgomery County Police Reporter and view more images here.) Sadly, it gutted the Santos family’s house and only the shell of it remains. This is what Yara returned to…


Thank goodness no one was injured, including the pets. That is the bright spot in all of this. As devastating and horrible as the events of the past weekend were, every member of the Santos family is physically okay. Things can be replaced and houses rebuilt, but all of that is secondary to the safety of the people. After all, possessions don’t make a home. People do. (Read Yara’s cousin Jenny’s post.)
To no one’s surprise, the book blogging community is rushing to the aid of Yara’s family. Twilight Moms is holding a donation drive to raise money and help the family in the interim and eventually get them back on their feet. Authors are pitching in to raise funds for the family. Lani Woodland and several other authors are hosting a contest for those who donate to the cause in an an effort to boost donations.
The three of us here had the same thought, knowing that while memories and so many of Yara and her family’s things cannot be replaced there are things that can be. Namely books. We’ve spent hours sifting through her blog, her Goodreads and her wishlists to compile a massive list of books she enjoyed or hoped to read. We’ve also posted one for her children in an effort not only to restock Yara’s bookshelves, but those of her kids.
Please take a look at the Yara’s Booklist and the Children’s List. We’re trying hard to avoid duplicates, and will be updating the list daily to cross out items that have already been donated.
Visit the Donation Page to donate a book for either Yara or her boys. New books and gently used copies are greatly appreciated. And if you don’t want to donate a book but want to contribute you can always donate a gift card.
Thanks in advance to everyone! We’ll keep you posted as all our efforts progress and update you on Yara’s situation whenever we can. Please keep the Santos family in your thoughts and prayers.]

Monday, January 23, 2012

Winter's Respite read a thon Mini Challenge 1


All right the read a thon is now going YAY!!!! So, this week I am going to finish my re-read of Die for Me by Amy Plum and I am going to pick up my copy of 77 Shadow Street by Dean Koontz. I hope to read more, but I am going to be Aunt again any day now and, I am going to be visiting my sister when she has her baby, and helping her with her 2 year old while her husband is at work. So I might not get as much reading done as I would like, a girl still has to sleep sometime LOL! If you haven't entered the read-a-thon, you're in luck! There is still time, just head on over to Michelle's blog and sign up! 










Saturday, January 21, 2012

In My Mailbox 58





In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren. 
This week I got 2 books, I bought them both they were:


And


That's what was in my mailbox, leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox, I'll be sure to check it out! Have a great weekend! 

ALSO: If anyone has an ARC copy of DIE FOR ME by Amy Plum, that you are willing to part with, please e-mail me and we can work out a book trade.



Thursday, January 19, 2012

ARC of Die For Me anyone?

Maybe one of you lovely readers can help me, I am trying to track down an ARC copy of DIE FOR ME by Amy Plum. I have a finished copy (I love it!) I also have an ARC of UNTIL I DIE. I want an ARC of DIE FOR ME so they match.

If ANYONE has one that they are willing to part with, please e-mail me and we can work out a book trade.

The Princesses of Iowa UPDATE



Hey, so I;m liking the book, but I'm having a hard time getting the energy up to pick it back up, I'll try to finish it again later and review it then.


Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Dreaming of books hop Winner!!




I have put the names in the randomizer and we have a winner!!!! The winner will receive a copy of Die for me by Amy Plum, I loved this book and can't wait till book 3 is out! Book 2 was amazing! I hope the winner loves it as much as I do.

Without further ado, the winner is......



EMILIE!!!!!!!!!

Congratulations Emilie! I have sent you an e-mail, you have 48 hours to respond with your address or a new winner will be chosen.




 

Winter's Respite read a thon


                                                      

Hey Michelle over at The True Book Addict is hosting a Read a thon I will be participating, it's really relaxed and at your own pace, I plan to re-read Die For Me by Amy Plum as part of it, and to finish my own Amy Plum reading challenge I am hosting. (Sign up y'all, it's just me and RJ so far.)

Anyway, head on over and sign up from Michelle's read a thon!




The girl who could silence the wind





  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Candlewick (March 13, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0763646024
  • Author: Meg Medina
  • Cover art: Love the cover art
  • Overall rating :*** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: Sent for review by the publisher. Thank you.









The Girl who could silence the wind by Meg Medina

Sonia's entire village believes she has a gift, but it's only in leaving home that she finds out who she truly is. A compelling tale from a rich new voice in young adult fiction.

Sixteen-year-old Sonia Ocampo was born on the night of the worst storm Tres Montes had ever seen. And when the winds mercifully stopped, an unshakable belief in the girl's protective powers began. All her life, Sonia has been asked to pray for sick mothers or missing sons, as worried parents and friends press silver milagros in her hands. Sonia knows she has no special powers, but how can she disappoint those who look to her for solace? Still, her conscience is heavy, so when she gets a chance to travel to the city and work in the home of a wealthy woman, she seizes it. At first, Sonia feels freedom in being treated like all the other girls. But when news arrives that her beloved brother has disappeared while looking for work, she learns to her sorrow that she can never truly leave the past or her family behind. With deeply realized characters, a keen sense of place, a hint of magical realism, and a flush of young romance, Meg Medina tells the tale of a strongwilled, warmhearted girl who dares to face life's harsh truths as she finds her real power. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



I'm not really sure what I was expecting when I read this book, but I know I didn't get it. This was a fairly short read that I finished in a day. I liked it, but I didn't love it. I thought that there would be more mysticism in it then there was. 
I was disappointed, the synopsis sounded amazing and I was eager to read this book when I heard about it. But, after reading it, I was let down, which was unfortunate. 


I really loved Sonia. First of all, it's a name I have yet to come across in books, I've seen names that are similar but I've never seen Sonia before, so that was refreshing. I also loved her character, she was strong, funny and she loved her friends, she was a great example of a kindred spirit. That seems to be getting harder and harder to find.


The writing style was good, not great but good. There was an element of sadness to the story that I wasn't really expecting. I don't like sad books very much, because they make me sad and I like to be happy. 


Aside from the sadness, it was a good story. I really hope we get to see more characters like Sonia.


I would recommend this book to people who are looking for something short, different and with a strong female protagonist. 



Monday, January 16, 2012

UK Readers!

Hey, so I found out that there is a new British author named Claire Merle her new book The Glimpse is out on June 7th, BUT if you live in the UK and are between the ages of 13-18 you can adution for the lead  role  in the book trailer.Please go to the FB page for further information.

Until I die early review







  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (May 8, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0062004042
  • Author: Amy Plum
  • Cover Art: Just as beautiful as the art for book one.
  • Overall rating: *****+ out of 5
  • Obtained: Gifted to me by Bibliopunkk THANK YOU!








Until I Die by Amy Plum


Kate and Vincent have overcome the odds and at last they are together in Paris, the city of lights and love.

As their romance deepens there’s one question they can’t ignore: How are they supposed to be together if Vincent can’t resist sacrificing himself to save others? Although Vincent promises that he’ll do whatever it takes to lead a normal life with Kate, will that mean letting innocent people die? When a new and surprising enemy reveals itself, Kate realizes that even more may be at stake—and that Vincent’s immortality is in jeopardy.

In Die for Me, Amy Plum created a captivating paranormal mythology with immortal revenants and a lush Paris setting. Until I Die is poised to thrill readers with more heart-pounding suspense, spellbinding romance, and a cliff-hanger ending that will leave them desperate for the third and final novel in the series. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

WOW! This book blew me away. After book one which I loved I was really excited to get my hands on this one. This book picks up just after the ending of book one, Plum glosses over the events in book one in about half a page scattered throughout book two. (I do recommend you read book one before picking up book 2.)

We meet our heros again and we learn more about the revenants and the numa in this one then we did before. Their history really comes alive in this one! We also get to learn a little more about Jules and his human life, which was awesome. Though I admit I am a Vincent fan girl all the way! We get to see him grow as a character and we learn some surprising and great information about him that we never knew before.

This book for me was an emotional roller-coaster,  there were twists and turns, some I guessed, some I didn't. I was literally laughing out loud, sighing, saying things like "Aw, that is so sweet!" and the very next page I was shouting "Holy Shit no way!"

By the end of this book I was crying thinking, no it did not just end like that, I keep picking it up hoping that magically there will be one more paragraph to let me know what happens to Kate and Vincent. I've never wanted the last book in a series this much.

 If you liked Die for me you will LOVE Until I die. Both are great books, but with this installment Plum has shown she is a literary force that will go far. The wait for book three will be a long one for fans after that massive cliff hanger ending.

Saturday, January 14, 2012

The Sword of Righteousness mini review







  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 466 KB
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Whiskey Creek Press LLC (December 1, 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
  • ASIN: B006H4UBRK
  • Author: J.W. Baccaro
  • Cover art: Love it, if there is a horse, it's always good!
  • Over all rating ***** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: Sent from the author.




*This is information of the kindle version, I have a paperback*

“Darshun Luthais—Nasharin warrior and chosen Guardian of earth, continues his journey across the arctic land of Syngothra, seeking to destroy Abaddon’s Unholy Altar of Power, and bring the Second Great War to an end. But when a new and deadly sorcerer working for Abaddon discovers his plan, he sets up a trap for Darshun and his five companions, a colossal army of darkness lying in wait among the frozen elements, ready to unleash its fury once the intruders are in sight.
Now it is up to King Loreus—ruler of Loreladia to unify the scattered races of Light, and charge into Syngothra before the trap is sprung. For Loreus wields the Golden Sword of Purity, a weapon forged long ago by the Five Holy Races, before darkness had separated them. With little time to spare, the Loreladian King must stop the Elves from another civil war, gain their trust and then encounter the Centaurs of Cestmir, a pious Matriarchy and self-righteous race, where if they do not remember the Sword, they may prove to be more of an enemy than Abaddon." (Synopsis provided by Amazon)

This is a hard one to review without giving away anything, as this series progresses it gets harder and harder to do a spoiler free review. 
If you haven't started reading this series, what are you waiting for? Seriously, it's one of the best adult series I have come across in years! It has everything, magic, suspense, war! Each of these books gets better and better! 
This book picks up where book three left off and right away we see action! Baccaro, doesn't make his readers wait for stuff to happen, it happens right away. We get see our favorite characters develop and face new challenges, this book did throw me through a loop there were some surprises I didn't see coming which was AWESOME! I loved this book and the whole series, can't wait to see what happens next!

In My Mailbox 57






In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

This week I got 7 books, 2 were gifts (1 was an RAK gift)  and 5 were bought.

The book I got as a RAK was The Hunger Games. Sadly there was no packing slip so I have no idea who sent this. If it was you please let me know so I can thank you properly. THANK YOU!



















The book I got as a gift was an ARC of Until I die by Amy Plum. THANK YOU to Krys from bibliopunkk.




















The books I bought were:

A touch Mortal by Leah Clifford




















Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moroe




















The Fault in Our Stars by John Green




















13 on Halloween by Laura A.H. Elliott.




















 Switched by Amnda Hocking.





















That's what was i my mailbox leave a note and let me know what you got in your mailbox. Also if you want a chance to win a copy of DIE FOR ME by Amy Plum scroll down to the next post and enter!


Friday, January 13, 2012

Dreaming of books hop


Thank you all for entering, the contest is now closed, the winner has been notified via e-mail.

                                                      



Welcome to my stop of the hop! This hop is hosted by Kathy at I'm a reader not a writer and Martha from Martha's bookshelf. There are a TON of blogs participating!

I'm going to keep this simple. For my giveaway, I'm giving away my favorite book of 2011! A copy of Die For Me by Amy Plum.

This giveaway is open to anyone that the book depository ships to.  Please check to see if they ship to you before entering. You can find the list here.
Please leave a comment with your name and a valid e-mail in the comments. This is the mandatory entry, you can get 2 extra entries as well.
+1 if you follow GFC Leave your GFC name in a SEPARATE comment.
+1 if you follow Twitter ( @moiraethefates) leave your twitter handle in a SEPARATE comment.

Please read my policy below:
Giveaway Policy.

* Must be 13 years old to enter.
* Must  live in a qualifying location (Some giveaway are US only some are INT)
* Must follow ALL rules, failure to do so will result in an automatic disqualification. 
* Be polite rudeness in your entry will result in your disqualification. (I say this because it happened once.)
* I am not responsible for items lost or damaged during shipping.
* Winners have 48 hours to respond to me with an address or a new winner will be chosen.
* I reserve the right to end a contest early or terminate the contest at anytime without any notice.