Friday, December 28, 2012

Top 12 books I read in 2012

Hey y'all! So I decided to put together my top reads of 2012. Like always I use the year to determine how many bests I get. Last year was the top 11, so this year of course is the top 12.
My rules are it must be a YA book, it can't be a re-read, must be reviewed on my site and only one book per author. The top spot this year is a 3 way tie. I know right? Awesome! I know we still have a few days left, but I don't think any of the books I am reading will be finished and have a review in time to qualify. So, without any more waiting here is my list:


12) The White Glove War  by Katie Crouch and Grady Hendrix.
My review.






 11) Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame
My Review.














10) If I Lie by Corrine Jackson
My Review.

9) Body and Soul by Stacey Kade
My Review.

8) Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
 My Review.


7) Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins
My Review.

6) The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg
My Review.

5) Something Like Normal by Trish Dollar
My Review.

4) The Elite by Kiera Cass
My Review.



And now, the 3 books tied for first place are by author last name:

Personal Effects by E.M. Kokie
My Review.

Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry
My Review.

If I Should Die by Amy Plum
My Review.

      



So say we all!

Saturday, December 15, 2012

Dust and Decay










  • Paperback: 544 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition (September 11, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 1442402369
  • Author: Jonathan Maberry
  • Cover art: Love the black and white look.
  • Over all rating: ***** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal book shelf.







Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Six months have passed since the terrifying battle with Charlie Pink-eye and the Motor City Hammer in the zombie-infested mountains of the Rot & Ruin. It’s also six months since Benny Imura and Nix Riley saw something in the air that changed their lives. Now, after months of rigorous training with Benny’s zombie-hunter brother Tom, Benny and Nix are ready to leave their home forever and search for a better future. Lilah the Lost Girl and Benny’s best friend Lou Chong are going with them. Sounds easy. Sounds wonderful. Except that everything that can go wrong does. Before they can even leave there is a shocking zombie attack in town. But as soon as they step into the Rot & Ruin they are pursued by the living dead, wild animals, insane murderers and the horrors of Gameland –where teenagers are forced to fight for their lives in the zombie pits. Worst of all…could the evil Charlie Pink-eye still be alive?

In the great Rot & Ruin everything wants to kill you. Everything…and not everyone in Benny’s small band of travelers will make it out alive. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


While reading this book, I went through a deep personal loss. Reading this I really understood some of the losses that the characters were going through. Through talking about this book before I finished it with a fellow blogger, I learned about the events of the last chapter. After finding out what was going to happen and my personal loss, I set the book down for a few weeks refusing to open it, knowing what was in store for the characters I have come to love. Especially Tom. Holy cow I LOVE Tom!

Once I picked the book back up, I was glad I did, even though I knew what was going to happen, I wasn't looking forward to it, but I so wanted to know the how and why of the ending. So, I read the last chapter, I cried along with Nix and the others. It made me think of my own loss and how books epically ones like this really touch people. 

It's not often that books come into a person's life that they really identify with. This is one of those books/ series. Yes, it deals with zombies, but that is such a small part of the story. The story deals with so much more and has so much more depth to it. Yes, it's great fun to read and yes the characters are amazing. 

Benny grows so much in this book and he and Nix grow together in many ways. Tom is still as bad ass as ever in this one. I really loved J-Dog and Dr. Skillz! They were hilarious! I do hope we get to see more of them in the next book. Sally was pretty neat too, but I liked J-Dog more. Tom is still my favorite by far, gotta love Tom!

The dialoug of this book was presented very well, the Lost Girl, opens up a bit more, but she never lost that wall that she has. She still protects herself, but not in a way that makes you dislike her character, which is really hard to do. Maberry is a fantastic author!

If you haven't read it yet, please pick up this story and read it, you will not regret it. I can't wait to open up book three to see if the why of the ending of this book is answered. I love this series!


So say we all!





Friday, December 7, 2012

The Elite early review







  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (April 23, 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 0062059963
  • Author: Kiera Cass
  • Cover art: Love it!
  • Overall rating: *****(5) out of 5 stars
  •  Obtained: From the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you.





The Elite by Kiera Cass
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I loved the first installment of Cass' The Selection series.  I was eagerly waiting to read book two, and let me just say WOW! This one was even better then the first. It picks up after the first one leaves off with only the six remaining girls the Elite. America, Natalie, Elise, Marlee, Kriss and Celeste are the lucky six chosen by Maxon to stay in the palace.
The girls face new challenges and more eliminations in this book. We get to see Maxon and America grow as characters in this book while learning some new things about some of the other girls. I really like the friendship between America and Marliee. 
We get to see a new side to both Maxon and Aspen which was terrific! There were a few plot twists in this one, that I anticipated happening and some new ones that I never would have guessed.
Cass is a talented writer and tells such a fabulous tale. I had to force myself to stop reading the book to make it last longer. It's one of those books where you sit down to read a chapter and 30 chapters later you realize you need to be doing other things, but the story is too good to put down!
The descriptions of the rooms and the parties were just amazing, Cass has a talent for making the reader feel like you are right there with her characters in the same room and can see, taste and smell the surroundings! I have a few thoughts on what may happen in book three and I am thoroughly excited to see what happens in the last book!
If you have yet to pick up this series I highly encourage you to! The Elite is due out April 23, 2013, so if you pick up The Selection now, you can be all caught up for book 2. Believe me, you don't want to miss this series!

So say we all!

Saturday, December 1, 2012

Important Update

Due to the loss of a very important relationship and close friend, my internet will be spotty for a short time while I gather my emotions. Reviews will resume soon. Thank you for your understanding during this very difficult time. I will be picking a blogger to send a RAK to in a week or so when I get paid so I am looking forward to that to be able to send someone joy.

Saturday, November 17, 2012

If I Should Die Early Review











  • Publisher: HarperTeen (May 7, 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 0062004034
  • Author: Amy Plum
  • Cover Art: Beautiful, I wish you could get posters of the covers for this series!
  • Overall rating: *****+ out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: From the author Thank you!








If I should die by Amy Plum
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

I will not lose another person I love. I will not let history repeat itself.

Vincent waited lifetimes to find me, but in an instant our future together was shattered. He was betrayed by someone we both called a friend, and I lost him. Now our enemy is determined to rule over France’s immortals, and willing to wage a war to get what they want.

It shouldn’t be possible, none of it should be, but this is my reality. I know Vincent is somewhere out there, I know he’s not completely gone, and I will do anything to save him.

After what we’ve already fought to achieve, a life without Vincent is unimaginable. He once swore to avoid dying—to go against his nature and forsake sacrificing himself for others—so that we could be together. How can I not risk everything to bring my love back to me? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


Wow. Just wow! That was such a great book! The series as a whole is my favorite! Going into this one, I had a few theories and I was right. Which is awesome, I am so glad my theories were right I was hoping they would be.

This one picks literally right where the last book left off. Pretty much it's the same scene! Which is fantastic! Like all of Amy Plum's books If I should die is packed with action. We get too see more sword fights and more bloody characters.

We also get to meet new characters and get to see another city which was a neat twist. I really loved the additional lore that we learned in this one and we saw a different side to Papy which was really sweet.

I really enjoyed how Georgia's character developed over the course of the three books, she was her usual funny self in this one as well as part bad-ass. Not as much as Kate but still bad-ass! 

If I had to pick my favorite part of this book, I don't think I could do it. It was that amazing! My only complaint is that ended. I had to force myself to do normal things like eat, sleep and go to work. I wanted to read it all in one sitting. I am glad I didn't though I was able to enjoy it that much longer.

Plum is by far one of my favorite authors right up there with Stephen King I will read anything she writes before I know what it's about. She is defendantly an author to be watching if you aren't already. one If you haven't read Die for me,  or Until I die you have to! Get to a book store now and read them, you'll be all caught up when If I should die is released in May.

This was such a brilliant ride but sadly it must come to an end. I am glad though all my favorites  got what they deserved and the characters all got a great wrap up to their story. I think that most all readers will be pleased by this book and by the ending that Kate and company got. 


So say we all!

Monday, November 12, 2012

Been away

I've been away I know. There has been a lot going on. Been very busy and haven't had enough time to read and get thoughtful reviews written. Things will be settling down soon hopefully.
Thanks for understanding.

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

RAK Thank You!

I got a RAK today, but there was no packing slip so I have no idea who sent it. It was a copy of DREAMLESS by Josephine Angelini and a copy of THE EVOLUTION OF MARA DYER by Michelle Hodkin. I screamed like a lot and with the crappy week I've had, it was extra special. So whoever it was THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Rot & Ruin






  • Hardcover: 464 pages (Review of an ARC copy)
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition (September 14, 2010)
  • ISBN-10:1442402326 
  • Author: Jonathan Maberry
  • Cover art: It creeps me out.
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars.
  • Obtained: Won an ARC from Bewitched Bookworms Thanks Ladies!






Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

In the zombie-infested, post-apocalyptic America where Benny Imura lives, every teenager must find a job by the time they turn fifteen or get their rations cut in half. Benny doesn't want to apprentice as a zombie hunter with his boring older brother Tom, but he has no choice. He expects a tedious job whacking zoms for cash, but what he gets is a vocation that will teach him what it means to be human. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

I've never really liked the idea of  "traditional" zombie books. I started to watch the t.v. show The walking dead and realized something. Zombies are AWESOME! I went over to my vast TBR pile and picked up this book, I've had it for nearly two years just sitting waiting to be picked up and read. I was about twenty pages in when I was asking myself, "Why, oh why did I wait so long to read this?"
  I was fifty pages in when I rushed out to buy book two. That hasn't happened since I was in 6th grade and started reading Harry Potter!

I loved this book! Maberry is an amazing author! He made me want a fake katana, after all if it's good enough for Tom (my favorite character in the book!) why shouldn't I want one? This book has characters from different cultures, Benny is Japanese and  Irish, while Nix (Love her!) is Irish. Tom is Benny's half brother and he is Japanese.

For me, this was the type of book where you know you need to sleep but it's so good and you just have to know what happens next, that you don't want to stop reading!

Maberry will have you laughing on one page then the next page he has you freaking out over the safety of the characters. The first line of the book has an amazing hook as well: "Benny Imura couldn't hold a job so he took to killing." Um, how great is that? It makes the reader go wait, what? And you just have to know more don't you?

If you are a zombie lover or even if you're a skeptic, you should pick this one up and give it a try, I've already ordered the first book in another series by Maberry as well. I loved this book as much as I loved Die for Me by Amy Plum, and if you follow my reviews, you know much I love her books!

What are you waiting for go read Rot & Ruin!


So say we all!

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Life after Death by Damien Echols











  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Blue Rider Press; First Edition edition (September 18, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0399160205
  • Author: Damien Echols
  • Cover art: I like the color contrast and how the tattoos sand out.
  •  Over all rating: *****
  • Obtained: My personal book shelf.







Life after death by Damien Echols
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

In 1993, teenagers Damien Echols, Jason Baldwin, and Jessie Misskelley, Jr.—who have come to be known as the West Memphis Three—were arrested for the murders of three eight-year-old boys in Arkansas. The ensuing trial was marked by tampered evidence, false testimony, and public hysteria. Baldwin and Misskelley were sentenced to life in prison; while eighteen-year-old Echols, deemed the “ringleader,” was sentenced to death. Over the next two decades, the WM3 became known worldwide as a symbol of wrongful conviction and imprisonment, with thousands of supporters and many notable celebrities who called for a new trial. In a shocking turn of events, all three men were released in August 2011.
Now Echols shares his story in full—from abuse by prison guards and wardens, to portraits of fellow inmates and deplorable living conditions, to the incredible reserves of patience, spirituality, and perseverance that kept him alive and sane while incarcerated for nearly two decades.

In these pages, Echols reveals himself a brilliant writer, infusing his narrative with tragedy and irony in equal measure: he describes the terrors he experienced every day and his outrage toward the American justice system, and offers a firsthand account of living on Death Row in heartbreaking, agonizing detail. Life After Death is destined to be a riveting, explosive classic of prison literature.(Synopsis taken from goodreads)


Where to start? First off memoirs are very difficult to review as you are reviewing a persons life in a way and it can feel as if you are passing judgment on someone else life and experiences.  
Over all, I did enjoy reading this, and that in of it's self sounds morbid. It should be stated that I have always been a supporter of Damien, Jason and Jessie ever since I first found out about the case. If you have read Echols' first book Almost Home then you will be very familiar with some of the stories in this first part of this book. Which isn't a big deal and is to be expected since the only outside life he had was up until the age of eighteen.

There was a lot in this book that was hard to read, some of the stories he shares from his time on Death Row are too horrible to imagine. I read a lot of fiction and have never come across anything so sickening and I read a lot of horror. It just goes to show how real life can be worse then fiction. 

I do wish that there was more of an explanation on the Alford plea, but Echols explains how much of a shock it was, so it's understandable why there wasn't a lot of explanation on  it.
The one thing that did bother me a little was how there were a few times when he would repeat a story or a small part of it in different chapters, but at the same time, it flowed so I guess that was why it was in there twice or he needed to drive a point home.

I did learn a lot more in this one then in his first book though, the documentaries and other books on the case do leave a lot of information about how the WMPD treated Echols long before the case and how he was always harassed by them.

The best parts of the book are the parts where he talks about his wife Lorri. Just reading it you can tell just how much he loves her and how deep that love is. It truly is the only beautiful thing in a very sad and depressing book. If you are thinking about reading this book or if you are a supporter of Damien, Jason and Jessie or even if you're just curious about Death Row in Arkansas then I would highly recommend this book. 


So say we all!

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Gilding Lily







  • Paperback: 300 pages
  • Publisher: Avon; 1 edition (September 9, 2008)
  • ISBN-10: 0061451010
  • Author: Tatiana Boncompagni
  • Cover art: I like the dress.
  • Overall rating: **1/2 out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf






Gilding Lily by Tatiana Boncompagni
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

In this delicious new novel, Tatiana Boncompagni creates a heroine everyone will love...and no one will ever forget.

As Lily Bartholomew navigates kiddie birthday parties starring chart-topping entertainment, society dinner-dances where any woman larger than a size 2 can barely stand to show her Botoxed face, and vacations to exclusive hideaways with the mother-in-law from hell, she constantly wonders, "On what planet have I landed?"

After all, she's just a down-to-earth gal from suburbia who felt as if she'd landed in the middle of a fairy tale when she married Robert. He's handsome, rich, and--best of all--able to make her laugh, and she happily jumped headfirst into his world. But now Robert's lost his job, Lily hasn't lost her pregnancy weight, and their once-golden existence seems suddenly tarnished.

Desperate to regain her self-esteem, Lily begins writing essays about life among the rich and snobbish, which tosses her into the spotlight and in the path of social disaster. But as Lily navigates her way through the shark-infested waters of Manhattan society, she starts to rediscover her own place in the world--and how to regain what truly matters. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I'm not entirely sure what made me read this book or what made me buy the book. I liked the name, and the dress and the fact that is was only $4.00 was good as well. Over all the book was just okay. It wasn't great but it wasn't horrible either. 
I liked the main character, but that was all I liked. Her mother-in-law is a bitch, her husband is a chauvinist.  
The "issues" that Lily is faced with seemed to be the same over and over and she complains about them all the time. She does take charge of her life and does her best to fix the mess that she made and the mess that others made for  her.
My biggest issue was the ending. The ending knocked it down from 3 stars to 2 and a half for me. It felt way to rushed and it felt too neat. I was really upset with how she just accepted everything. Her husband had been a massive dick to her and she just ignored it basically. 
I wouldn't recommend this one really. If you do want to read it, by all means do, but maybe get it from the library.
So say we all!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Cover reveal If I Should Die by Amy Plum







Today I logged onto facebook and found a cover. A cover I have been waiting over a year to see so I am sharing it with you all the cover of Amy Plum's IF I SHOULD DIE!
This is the UK cover and Amy has said Harper is making some changes for the us cover. 





It's as beautiful as the first two, though UNTIL I DIE is my favorite cover. The shadow gives me hope that our beloved Vincent will be back! What do you all think of the cover? I can't wait to get my hands on this one!

So say we all!

Monday, September 17, 2012

If I Lie






  • Hardcover: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse (August 28, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 144245413X
  • Author: Corrine Jackson
  • Cover Art: I like the edges.
  • Over all rating: ****1/2 out of 5
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf. 









If I Lie by Corrine Jackson
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

A powerful debut novel about the gray space between truth and perception.

Quinn’s done the unthinkable: she kissed a guy who is not Carey, her boyfriend. And she got caught. Being branded a cheater would be bad enough, but Quinn is deemed a traitor, and shunned by all of her friends. Because Carey’s not just any guy—he’s serving in Afghanistan and revered by everyone in their small, military town.

Quinn could clear her name, but that would mean revealing secrets that she’s vowed to keep—secrets that aren’t hers to share. And when Carey goes MIA, Quinn must decide how far she’ll go to protect her boyfriend…and her promise. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I read this book in a few short days. I really enjoyed it. I loved Quinn and thought the author did a wonderful job in letting the readers connect with her and her struggles. We find out fairly fast what it is that Quinn's deciding to lie about. 

Dealing with her lie is stressful and it's one that each person can think about and ask themselves What Would I Do if I were in her shoes? Myself, I guessed her lie just from the synopsis, not sure why, but I just did. 

Quinn's father is a bit of a jackass, but I understand why he is the way he is. I also get why the other characters in this book act the way they do towards Quinn.

George I love George! He was my favorite character in this book, I loved how much of George we get to see and I wish we got to know more of his story. 

I highly recommend this book if you like stand alone novels and want a contemporary book based on the war. 


So say we all!

Monday, September 3, 2012

The White Glove War





  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Poppy; 1 edition (July 3, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 031618750X
  • Author: Katie Crouch and Grady Hendrix
  • Cover Art: Beautiful!
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars









The White Glove War by Katie Crouch and Grady Hendrix
Review by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Every society has its secrets.

The members of Savannah's Magnolia League have it all: money, beauty, power, and love. Some may call them lucky, but we know better. Spells, potions, and conjures are a girl's best friends, and thanks to the Buzzards -- a legendary hoodoo family -- the Magnolias never run out of friends.

Golden girl Hayes Anderson would never dream of leaving the League or Savannah, where there's no problem that can't be fixed with a cup of Swamp Brew tea -- served in a bone china cup, of course -- and no boy who can't be won over with a Conjure Up a New Love spell.

But when danger lurks and family secrets are unearthed, Hayes discovers that her life may not be charmed after all.

Don't miss the second novel in Katie Crouch's enchanting and mysterious Magnolia League series. (Synopsis provided by Goodreads)


After reading the first book, I was eagerly awaiting the next installment of Alex's story. I really liked book 2.  I loved all the new spells and the new obsticals the MG's were faced with. I still want to know more about the Buzzards and to see more of them in the stories. 
We got to see more of one of them and we got to see a new side of the Buzzards. I didn't see the ending coming at all. It was such a twist!
I enjoyed getting more information on Hayes and her family. (I still can't stand her Grandmother though.) 
I read this book in a day, I was really sick and instead of sleeping, I read this book! It was a short book but worth the price and worth the hours I spent reading it. After this one I really want book 3! I have many theories about what might now in the ML! If you haven't read this series yet, you should, it's lots of fun and set in the south you can almost smell the humidity and scent of magnolia flowers coming off the pages!

 
So say we all!

Thursday, August 23, 2012

Ma semaine dans les livres 10 (My week in books 10)


This week I got one book, It was my pre-order of If I Lie by Corriene Jackson
 

I can't wait to dive in and read it leave me a note and let me know what you got! 

 

So say we all!

Just for Fins







  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (July 3, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0062192159
  • Author: Tera Lynn Childs
  • Cover Art: Love it!
  • Over all rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: Local Library, then bought my own copy.








Just for fins by Tera Lynn Childs
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

When Lily Sanderson decided to remain Crown Princess Waterlily of the mermaid kingdom Thalassinia, she knew she couldn’t just coast along in the current. But since she’s spent the last couple of years on land—with gorgeous human Quince by her side—Lily’s not sure she has the fins to lead a kingdom. Even her maddeningly pretentious cousin Dosinia seems to know more about ruling than she does.

But Lily has to dive in deep to keep her promise to Tellin, her mer bond in name only, whose kingdom is suffering in the changing ocean climate. Lily knows this is a seven seas–sized problem: from sea animals dying to oil spills and threats to humans. They’ll need to create some serious waves to make the mer community aware and get it to join together to make things right. Even if that means facing one of the iciest queens in the mer kingdoms.

Just when Lily thinks her double life on land and sea can’t get any more complicated, an ancient mer law might separate Lily and Quince after all. It feels as if the pair is up against a solid tsunami wave!

In this third installment in the series that began with Forgive My Fins and Fins Are Forever, Lily will have to find a way to balance safety and justice for the mer people as well as for the humans she loves. (Synopsis provided by Goodreads)


I really enjoyed this installment of the series. The end was done in a way that closes the story, but we also have it open enough so if Childs does carry the series on there is still enough there that the readers will appreciate.  

This one had to do with the environmental concers that the mer-people have. Using real life issues that the oceans are facing. However, Childs dealt with it in a way that it never felt heavy handed. You really feel like you are there in the oceans with the mermaids.

I really liked the turn that Doe's character takes and how she develops further. Lily was fabulous as well the scene in the beginning with the squid ink still has me laughing! I really loved the book and am sad to think that we may not get to swim with Lily anymore.

If you haven't picked up this series, you should they are super fun super fast reads and very cute! 


So say we all!

Saturday, August 18, 2012

News

Just finished reading Just for fins last night, be on the look out for my review this week! I've read a few other books that are not going to be reviewed as they don't fit into the blog and what the blog is about and the reviews I have.
BUT You should all read these 3 books by Liz Curtis Higgs:

Bad girls of the Bible
Really bad girls of the Bible
And
Embrace Grace

They are all fabulous reads! Anyone can read them male or female, they are devotional books, BUT can be read as a non-devotional if you so choose.


So say we all!

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Ma Semaine dans les livres 9 (My week in books)








I got one book this week to share it is a copy of While he was away by Karen Schreck. I bought this book.






That was what I got, what did you get?



So say we all!