Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick











  • Reading level: Ages 12 and up
  • Hardcover: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children; 1 edition (October 25, 2011)
  • ISBN-10: 0547577389
  • Author: Joe Schreiber
  • Cover Art: I like it
  • Over all rating: ***** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: Won an ARC from WatchYAreading. Thank you









Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick by Joe Schreiber
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Ferris Bueller meets La Femme Nikita in this funny, action-packed young adult novel.

It’s prom night—and Perry just wants to stick to his own plan and finally play a muchanticipated
gig with his band in the Big Apple. But when his mother makes him take Gobija Zaksauskas—their quiet, geeky Lithuanian exchange student—to the prom, he never expects that his ordinary high school guy life will soon turn on its head. Perry finds that Gobi is on a mission, and Perry has no other choice but to go along for a reckless ride through Manhattan’s concrete grid with a trained assassin in Dad’s red Jag.
Infused with capers, car chases, heists, hits, henchmen, and even a bear fight, this story mixes romance, comedy, and tragedy in a true teen coming-of-age adventure—and it’s not over until it’s “au revoir.”(Synopsis provided by goodreads)



This is such a fun book! Each chapter begins with an essay question or statement for the main characters college applications. Very creative! I loved this book, it was non stop action packed! It starts out at a good pace with Perry setting the stage for what is to come, once Perry and Gobi leave his house it's packed with gun fights, high speed driving and professional assassination hits. 


Gobi is hilarious! Within the first 20 pages readers fall in love with her humor. This is a title that people of all ages would enjoy it's also a title that would adapt well on the big screen.


Perry and Gobi are very believable characters as well as Perry's parents. The dialogue was good and the flow of this novel was wonderful, I just wish it was a little longer! 


I would highly recommend this novel! 




Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday 5




Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.

This week I am waiting for The Princesses Of Iowa by Molly M. Beackes.
Here is the cover art and synopsis provided by goodreads:


What does it mean to do wrong, when no one punishes you? A smart and unflinching look at friendship, the nature of entitlement, and growing up in the heartland.

Paige Sheridan has the perfect life. She's pretty, rich, and popular, and her spot on the homecoming court is practically guaranteed. But when a night of partying ends in an it-could-have-been-so-much worse crash , everything changes. Her best friends start ignoring her, her boyfriend grows cold and distant, and her once-adoring younger sister now views her with contempt. The only bright spot is her creative writing class, led by a charismatic new teacher who encourages students to be true to themselves. But who is Paige, if not the homecoming princess everyone expects her to be? In this arresting and witty debut, a girl who was once high-school royalty must face a truth that money and status can't fix, and choose between living the privileged life of a princess, or owning up to her mistakes and giving up everything she once held dear.



This is a debut novel that will release on May 8th 2012 from Candlewick.

How awesome does this one sound? I can't wait to read it! What are you waiting for?


*** Please click on the "Vote for Luce" button and leave a comment there to let me know why you think Luce should win the YA Sisterhood's tournament of heroines. ***





Monday, November 28, 2011

Just for Fins by Tera Lynn Childs






Hey guys as a member of the Splash Team I get to be one of the lucky people who gets to show off the cover for Tera's new book! Here is the cover art and synopsis for Just for Fins.


When Lily Sanderson decided to remain Crown Princess Waterlily of the mermaid kingdom Thalassinia, she knew she couldn’t just coast along in the current. But since she’s spent the last couple of years on land—with gorgeous human Quince by her side—Lily’s not sure she has the fins to lead a kingdom. Even her maddeningly pretentious cousin Dosinia seems to know more about ruling than she does. But Lily has to dive in deep to keep her promise to Tellin, her mer bond in name only, whose kingdom is suffering in the changing ocean climate. Lily knows this is a seven seas–sized problem: from sea animals dying to oil spills and threats to humans. They’ll need to create some serious waves to make the mer community aware and get it to join together to make things right. Even if that means facing one of the iciest queens in the mer kingdoms. Just when Lily thinks her double life on land and sea can’t get any more complicated, an ancient mer law might separate Lily and Quince after all. It feels as if the pair is up against a solid tsunami wave! In this third installment in the series that began with Forgive My Fins and Fins Are Forever, Lily will have to find a way to balance safety and justice for the mer people as well as for the humans she loves.


This book is due out on July 3rd, 2012





Cover reveal FADE OUT by Nova Ren Suma







Hey guys Nova revealed the cover to her book Fade Out  which is a reissue and renamed version of her very first novel Dani Noir. The re-issue will be released on June 5th 2012. Here is the cover art and cover synopsis provided by goodreads.



If this were a movie, you'd open to the first page of this book and be transported to a whole other world. Everything would be in black and white, except maybe for the girl in pink polka-dot tights, and this really great music would start to swell in the background. All of a sudden, you wouldn't be able to help it--you'd be a part of the story, you'd be totally sucked in. You'd be in this place, filled with big lies, mysterious secrets, and a tween girl turned sleuth....

Zoom in on thirteen-year-old Dani Callanzano. It's the summer before eighth grade, and Dani is stuck in her nothing-ever-happens town with only her favorite noir mysteries at the Little Art movie theater to keep her company.

But one day, a real-life mystery begins to unravel--at the Little Art! And it all has something to do with a girl in polka-dot tights.... Armed with a vivid imagination, a flair for the dramatic, and her knowledge of all things Rita Hayworth, Dani sets out to solve the mystery, and she learns more about herself than she ever thought she could.

What my Mother doesn't know











  • Paperback: 259 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (February 1, 2003)
  • ISBN-10: 0689855532
  • Author: Sonya Sones
  • Cover art: I like it
  • Overall rating: *** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal book shelf











What my Mother doesn't know by Sonya Sones
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.
My name is Sophie.
This book is about me.
It tells
the heart-stoppingly riveting story
of my first love.
And also of my second.
And, okay, my third love too.

It's not that I'm boy crazy.
It's just that even though
I'm almost fifteen
it's like
my mind
and my body
and my heart
just don't seem to be able to agree
on anything. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

For me this book was simply okay.  After learning it was on the banned/challenge book list like many people my interest was peaked. The reasoning for the ban is all due to one line in the book. That's it.

Books told in verse are quick reads and if you have to like or at least not mind it to read this one.
I don't mind if a book is told in verse or not. I liked this one enough I just wish we knew a little more about who Sophie is not who her latest boyfriend was.

It was a fast read and the book was cute enough. My favorite part was the dance, that the most fun to read. I'd say give this one a try.




Sunday, November 27, 2011

Saving Juliet










  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Walker Childrens; Reprint edition (March 31, 2009)
  • ISBN-10: 0802798314
  • Author: Suzanne Selfors
  • Cover art: I love the mix of modern and 16th century.
  • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars.
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelves. 











Saving Juliet by Suzanne Selfors
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Manhattan meets Verona in this time-bending twist on Shakespeare.

When Mimi is magically thrust into the middle of Shakespeare’s Verona, she must find a way to help Juliet fight for her future happiness. Will she be able to give this classic tragedy a happy ending? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



This was such a cute, fresh, fun and fast read. I loved every page of it. Mimi was hilarious and Troy was annoying in a funny way. I really liked Selfors' Romeo and Juliet. She brought a new life and a new twist to them. 


I have never read a re-telling that had this twist on it, so that was great. It was a very original idea and Selfors did a fantastic job in telling her version. The descriptions of 16th century Verona were so vivid you could almost smell the decay in the streets. 


All of the characters were believable and Selfors explains why the characters speak in English and not in Shakespearean English. All of the questions of why, she explained which is great. 


If you like re-tellings or Shakespeare in general, I would highly recommend this book.





Saturday, November 26, 2011

The YA Sisterhood's tournament of Heroines.









Magical Urban Fantasy Reviews



Okay everyone I have found out that I am the official advocate for Luce from Lauren Kate's Fallen series. That means that I am representing her for Lauren and the fans. I am currently working on my defense for her. However, if any of you have any points you'd like me to include for Luce's face offs please post them in the comments below, I am going to contact Lauren as well to let her know what's going on and see if she has anything to add. This is going to be a hard tournament, Kate (whom I also LOVE) from Amy Plum's Die for me is also in the tournament as well as Clary from Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments and Sophie from Rachel Hawkins' Hex Hall series. There are so many strong deserving heroines in this one, Luce is going to have to really shine so I am asking for your help as well to bring out everything we can to show why she should win! If I read the chart right our first face off is on December 13 and we go against Tessa from Cassandra Clare's Infernal Devices series. With the next book in that series releasing on the 6th of December she will be fresh in everyone's minds, so Luce needs ALL of you! We need to get the word out and advocate long and hard for her to win! Tessa has a lot of fans as well so we need to pull together! So any points you want made leave them in the comments so I can include all the fans in the defense. Please do not insult Tessa or Clare in your comments as that is unkind and uncalled for. To see a list of all the wonderful heroines and the wonderful advocates you can see them all here.

           


 




   <----- It's a button grab it!



In my Mailbox 50






In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

Okay lovelies, this is a MASSIVE one so grab a snack, a coffee and settle in.  This week I got 12 books. 3 I bought, 8 I won and 2 for review. I'll leave links at the end to the bloggers whom I won books from. Here we go this week I got:



Destined by Jessie Harrell.











Saving Juliet by Suzanne Selfors.











What My Mother Doesn't Know by Sonya Sones.












Variant by Robison Wells.










My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent.













Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma.










Virals by Kathy Reichs.











Seizure by Kathy Reichs.











The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff.











The Space Between by Brenna Yovanoff.











Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood.











The Darlings by Cristina Alger.








I'd like to thank:
Library Thing.
Eli from Eli to the nth.
Nova Ren Suma.
Bewitched Bookkworms.

That's what was in my mailbox what did you get in your mailbox?





Friday, November 25, 2011

GFC ending

As most of you probably already know, in 2012 Google is ending GFC.  From what I have understood, Blogger will not be effected. If you have a blogger account you will still recieve notices of new posts, if not, then you will not.

Anyway, I THINK the e-mail notification will still work, but I'm not sure, if anyone knows please let me know I'm not very savvy on that.

If you don't have blogger and still want to follow, I'll do much better at updating my twitter when I have a new post and you can follow me through Twitter. @moiraethefates.


Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Daring you to read 3

Daring you to read is the new weekly meme hosted by Tynga at Tynga's reviews. Where bloggers pick a book released at least 6 months ago and we share it with the world and dare you to read it. Since I spaced last week and missed it, I decided to share 2 books with you this week.
This week I am daring you all to read:

Among Thieves by Douglas Hulick.

  • Publisher: Roc; paperback / softcover edition (April 5, 2011)

















Drothe has been a member of the Kin for years, rubbing elbows with thieves and murderers in the employ of a crime lord while smuggling relics on the side. But when an ancient book falls into his hands, Drothe finds himself in possession of a relic capable of bringing down emperors-a relic everyone in the underworld would kill to obtain.

This book was awesome! Not going to lie, I originally entered a contest for an ARC because the cover model is HOT!  I am SO glad I won I love this book! This is an adult title and it reminds me a little of the Prince of Persia movie.




And the second book is:


Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins.





  • Publisher: Hyperion Book CH (March 2, 2010) 

















Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father--an elusive European warlock--only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it's her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters. By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.
As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.


This book is FUN!  I'm really sad that in March it all ends! But I LOVED this book! It's a little like Harry Potter but different at the same time.

Go pick up both of these books you will love them! SO I dare you to read Among Thieves and Hex Hall.



Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Recommendations help please!

Hey y'all I need some recommendations for novels that are re-tellings of Shakespeare. Here are some I know of already:

Falling for Hamlet (Read and own)
Saving Juliet (Reading and own)
Ophelia (Own)
Lady Macbeth's daughter (just ordered before this post.)
The third witch
Enter three witches

Those are the only ones I know about, can any of you lovelies recommend any others? I would great appreciate it!




Waiting on Wednesday 5




WoW is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine. This week I am waiting for Sworn In Steel by Douglas Hulick. It's the sequel to his 2011 debut Among Thieves.

Here is the cover art provided by goodreads:


 This book is due for release on June 5 2012. We don't have a synopsis yet.


Wanderlove









  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers (March 13, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0385739370
  • Author: Kirsten Hubbard
  • Cover art: I like it.
  • Overall rating: **1/2 out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: From the publisher via Netgalley thank you.













Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

It all begins with a stupid question:

Are you a Global Vagabond?

No, but 18-year-old Bria Sandoval wants to be. In a quest for independence, her neglected art, and no-strings-attached hookups, she signs up for a guided tour of Central America—the wrong one. Middle-aged tourists with fanny packs are hardly the key to self-rediscovery. When Bria meets Rowan, devoted backpacker and dive instructor, and his outspokenly humanitarian sister Starling, she seizes the chance to ditch her group and join them off the beaten path.

Bria's a good girl trying to go bad. Rowan's a bad boy trying to stay good. As they travel across a panorama of Mayan villages, remote Belizean islands, and hostels plagued with jungle beasties, they discover what they've got in common: both seek to leave behind the old versions of themselves. And the secret to escaping the past, Rowan’s found, is to keep moving forward.

But Bria comes to realize she can't run forever, no matter what Rowan says. If she ever wants the courage to fall for someone worthwhile, she has to start looking back.

Kirsten Hubbard lends her artistry into this ultimate backpacker novel, weaving her drawings into the text. Her career as a travel writer and her experiences as a real-life vagabond backpacking Central America are deeply seeded in this inspiring story. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



I wanted to love this book, I really did. After Hubbard's debut Like Mandarin in March, (which I loved) I was excited to see this title on Netgalley. Sadly, for me Wanderlove fell flat. I found myself skimming the book more then reading it. I didn't like Bria's character very much so I really didn't care what happened to her. I found her to be kind of whinny and annoying.
It could be because I didn't find the places she was traveling to be interesting. Maybe I would have enjoyed it more, if she would have traveled someplace else, I can't really say.

For me the neatest part of this novel and the thing I enjoyed the most was the illustrations, Hubbard did all of the illustrations herself and they added a lot to the novel and bumped it up to 2 1/2 stars from 1 1/2 for me.

By not liking this title very much at all I am in the minority. Most other reviewers really enjoyed it. It is very different form Like Mandarin. But please don't let my opinion be the reason you decide not to read this one, read some more favorable reviews and if your interested pick it up it might just be what you are looking for, it just wasn't my cup of tea.