Friday, September 30, 2011

Why I love October

I love October, it's one of my favorite months of the year. Why? Well, the leaves tumbling down the streets, the wind blowing in the trees and the wind chimes.

The crispness of the air. The fun and spookyness of Halloween.
                                                                                                              A lot of people think I'm nuts, but I swear even the air changes and on Halloween the air is different then on any other night of the year.




In the blogging world, I love October because so many bloggers post reviews of spooky books and hold month long events with horror and interviews and I always find a new book or author to check out!

So, what do you love about October? Leave me a comment and let me know!

Contest craze mini challenge collections

Princess bookie is holding her contest craze, and today's mini challenge is hosted by her! This one is simple, make a post about what you collect and why.

I collect signed books. (Shocking no?) The reason is simple I LOVE books and signed books are even better!
I also collect paintings the renaissance style paints my favorite is one that is hanging up here:

It's called Le Printemps by Pierre Auguste Cot. Painted in 1873.

So yeah signed books and ren style paintings! I love them! I also have a few fairies sprinkled around as well.

Blockade Billy

  • Hardcover: 132 pages
  • Publisher: Scribner (May 25, 2010)
  • ISBN-10: 1451608217
  • Author: Stephen King
  • Overall rating **** out of 5 stars
  • Cover art: I like the old timeness of it.
  • Obtained: From my local library.











Even the most die-hard baseball fans don't know the true story of William “Blockade Billy” Blakely. He may have been the greatest player the game has ever seen, but today no one remembers his name. He was the first--and only--player to have his existence completely removed from the record books. Even his team is long forgotten, barely a footnote in the game's history.

Every effort was made to erase any evidence that William Blakely played professional baseball, and with good reason. Blockade Billy had a secret darker than any pill or injection that might cause a scandal in sports today. His secret was much, much worse... and only Stephen King, the most gifted storyteller of our age, can reveal the truth to the world, once and for all. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



Blockade Billy is a novella, so it's a fairly quick read. When I was reading this, it read like a cometary of sorts. While it's not one of my favorites by King, it is definitely still a good read. It took a while for the King twist to come about, but when it did it was one I wasn't expecting.


I think one thing I liked the most about it is King wrote it like the narrator was telling him the story. There are many times in which the narrator addresses him as Mr. King. I haven't seen this style before and I enjoyed it.


From my understanding it only took Mr. King two weeks to write it which is amazing! It was enjoyable and if you are looking to read a book by King and haven't read one before, I'd say start here or with a short story, it's not very long and it gives readers a taste of his work. It's not as scary as his older work but still a wonderful afternoon read.

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Forgotten

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; 1 edition (June 7, 2011)
  • Author: Cat Patrick
  • Cover art: I prefer the UK cover.
  • Overall rating *** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: One from my personal bookshelf. Signed copy won Thanks Doreen.










Each night when 16 year-old London Lane goes to sleep, her whole world disappears. In the morning, all that's left is a note telling her about a day she can't remember. The whole scenario doesn't exactly make high school or dating that hot guy whose name she can't seem to recall any easier. But when London starts experiencing disturbing visions she can't make sense of, she realizes it's time to learn a little more about the past she keeps forgetting-before it destroys her future.

Part psychological drama, part romance, and part mystery, this thought-provoking novel will inspire readers to consider the what-if's in their own lives and recognize the power they have to control their destinies. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



I saw so many great reviews of this book that I wanted to love it. I liked it, but I didn't love it. I think I built it up too much. 


I did really like the premise of the book and I enjoyed London's character, her mother kinda bothered me a bit. I liked the relationship London and Luke had, it felt different to me then in other YA novels. It wasn't the same standard story.


Ther book picked up for me in the last 100 pages when we get a little more back story on the Lane family. Questions are raised and not completely solved, we are left with a massive cliff hanger that makes the reader want book 2. 


I will be picking up book 2 when it's released, I would recommend this book to others.

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Magic Lamp Sunday 2

Over at Reading Lark  they have Magic Lamp Sunday. It is inspired by Magic Lamp Friday which is hosted by YA Aholic. It's simple you just post the 3 things you'd wish for if you had a magic lamp.


















If I had a magic lamp I'd wish for:

1) The world to stop being so petty and mean.
2) Eric Kripke to come back and run Supernatural it's just not the same without him.
3) For french fries to be a weight-loss food.
What would you wish for?

Saturday, September 24, 2011

In my mailbox 41

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.




This week, I got one book. It was a R.A.K (Random act of kindness for more information click the button on my sidebar.)
The book I received was Bunheads by Sophie Flack. I am really excited for this one! The author danced with the NYC Ballet for 10 years! As a former ballet dancer myself, I love books about ballerinas and this one is sure to be great since the author is a former professional it should give a great look into the life of the professional ballet dancers!
A huge thank you to Ashley for the RAK!



That's what was in my mailbox leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

500 follower giveaway over at Laine's fiction books corner

Hey guys over at Laines's Fiction book's corner, she is hosting her 500 followers giveaway! Head on over and see what you could win!


ficbookreviews

Friday, September 23, 2011

Giveaway on another blog

Hey guys there is a GREAT giveaway Over at Unabridged Andralyn there is only 1 day left hurry over and enter!

Scaredy book read a thon

Hey guys I signed up for another read a thon! This one is hosted by Smitten with books. It runs from October 7-9! So that means 2 read a thons for me next week! AWESOME! Head on over and sign up too, great prizes and great mini challenges!


Contest craze mini challenge who should be a couple.

Okay so one of today's mini challenges is hosted by Princess Bookie, who hosts the contest craze.

Her mini challenge is to pick 2 people from a book, movie or tv show (It can be different books, movies or tv shows) who are not a couple and say why you think they should be.

Mine is Dean and Jo from Supernatural (Season 7 starts tonight!!)

Wanting them to be a couple is not a new idea, I know loads of people wanted them together. They would have been perfect! They both hunt, they both had Dad's who hunt, both of them have at least one dead parent. It would have been so cool! Jo likes similar music as Dean and like Dean she was willing to die for others.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer Trailer!!!!!

It's here! It's finally here!!! On the Mara facebook page today there was link when I clicked it, it went to a page with this little gem on it!




If for some reason you are having trouble viewing it here you can watch it here.

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Contest craze mini challenge timeless

Princess Bookie's contest craze continues today with the mini challenge hosted by Black Fingernailed Reviews. In this mini challegne we are to tell what time period in history we would go to and why.

For me, it's a dead tie between the ancient world and the Renaissance. Really different I know!
I would love to visit the ancient world, how awesome would it be to hear the great thinkers like Aristotle? The Greek culture has influenced so much of what we have now.
I took a history class a few years ago that focused mainly on ancient Greece and Rome. The people back then had amazing technology.
The Romans had some of the most ingenuous techniques for the baths. Both cultures had amazing battle techniques the Spartans for one.  After reading a book about them I became convinced that they were the last group you wanted to be fighting.
With the Romans, you didn't want to upset them or you may have found yourself in the Colosseum.

The Renaissance, the time of the great painters in history, Michelangelo,  Raphael, I mean who wouldn't want to go see the paintings and sculptures when they had just been finished and to be able to walk the streets with these great painters can you say awesome?!  I have always wanted to see these great painting the buildings from the ancient world that are still there today.

The dresses the women wore during the Renaissance were beautiful! Sure you bathed once a year so the smell must have been unimaginable and you'd probably die if you caught a cold. But who cares! It would have been awesome to see it all!

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Today is a very special day!

.....Why? It's Stephen King's birthday!!!!


Happy Birthday to the Ink Slinger! The Sai King! 





 To celebrate his birthday, leave me a comment telling me which of his books is your favorite or which was the first one you read!


My favorite is a tie between The Shining and ' Salem's Lot. The first one I read was 'Salem's Lot. Scared the shit out of me and I slept with the lights on for a week!

 

Fury

  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse (August 30, 2011)
  • Author: Elizabeth Miles
  • Cover art: I really like the dress and the hair!
  • Overall rating: *** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.












It’s winter break in Ascension, Maine. The snow is falling and everything looks pristine and peaceful. But not all is as it seems...
Between cozy traditions and parties with her friends, Emily loves the holidays. And this year’s even better--the guy she’s been into for months is finally noticing her. But Em knows if she starts things with him, there’s no turning back. Because his girlfriend is Em’s best friend.
On the other side of town, Chase is having problems of his own. The stress of his home life is starting to take its toll, and his social life is unraveling. But that’s nothing compared to what’s really haunting him. Chase has done something cruel...something the perfect guy he pretends to be would never do. And it’s only a matter of time before he’s exposed.
In Ascension, mistakes can be deadly. And three girls—three beautiful, mysterious girls—are here to choose who will pay.
Em and Chase have been chosen. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

For me, this book was just okay. When I finished I still had a lot of "Why" questions.  Like why Em and not Zach? Why Chase and not the rest of the team? At the start I didn't find Em to be very likable, but her likability increased a bit towards the end of the book.

I would have liked to have seen more of Gabby in the story. The dialogue was good some of the interactions with the characters didn't seem completely real, but it also didn't take away from the story.

The ending was great, it had  a cliff hanger, which makes me excited to read the next book when it comes out. (I believe next year).

I really liked the premise of the story and the atmosphere, Miles did a wonderful job with the setting and describing the snow and the town. It makes me want to see Maine even more then before.
Over all, I will read the next book, but I didn't enjoy this as much as I was hoping to, but it was still an okay read.

Winners of the one year blogaversary giveaway.

Well kids it's all over! Once again I want to thank Steph for donating the 2 books. As always I put the data into random.org pushed the handy dandy button and it spit out the winners, so without further ado the moment you have been waiting for!!!!!!!!!!!




The winner of Passion by Lauren Kate is:




DIANA!!!!









 The winner of The unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin is:





OLGITSA!!!!







Congratulations winners! Both of you have been e-mailed! Please respond within 48 hours to claim your prize or I will have to select a new winner. Hope you both enjoy your prize!



Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Contest craze mini challenge scariest word

Hey it's time for another mini challenge. Over at Princess Bookie her contest craze is in full swing! Today's mini challenge is hosted by Benji over at The non relcutant reader. Here are the rules copied and pasted from Benji's site:

  • Grab a book you're currently reading (and hopefully loving)
  • Go to the 13th Chapter (if the book doesn't have 13 chapters, go to the closest to it)
  • Scan the chapter for the scariest word
  • Using Google/Yahoo images randomly pick on picture that comes up when you search the word
  • Write a blog post that has the book's cover, title, your word and your image
  • Link below
My contest craze will start today (the 20th of September) and runs to the 2nd of October.
Now... here's the fun part! Once you link up you're automatically entered in a giveaway for a 10 dollar gift card to The Book Depository, which has the best prices of books around. This contest is open to anyone where the book depository ships to you!

Sounds fun huh? Here is my entry for Benji's challenge:

I am currently reading:







My word is FUNERAL (spookah!)

My picture is:






Head on over to Benji's site and enter!


*******DON'T FORGET TO ENTER MY First Blogaversary Giveaway ENDS IN 5 AND A HALF HOURS!******


Monday, September 19, 2011

Frightful Fall Reviewers Challenge



Hey y'all the awesome Michelle over at Castle Macabre has started a new challenge along with Kai from Fiction State Of Mind and Orchid from The Haunted Orchid Forsythia . It's the Frightful Fall Reviewers Challenge!
Here are the rules copied and pasted from Michelle's site:

The Challenge Runs October 1st - October 31st

HOW IT WORKS
1) Create a post stating your intent to join the Challenge and add it to the linky. You MUST be registered to to be eligible for Prizes
2) READ! The theme is Frightful Fall so any book that has thrills and chills, vamps and were's, Mystery and Suspense qualifies.
3) Starting October 1st through the 31st, link up your reviews. They must be full reviews not just a few lines.
4) That's It!

There will also be prizes which are as follows copied and pasted from Michelle's site:


PRIZES
3 WINNERS WILL BE CHOSEN on November 1st.  First, second, and third place.  First place winner will get first choice of two books, second place chooses the next two books, and so on.  Open to US only.

Three books handpicked by me:
The Box: Uncanny Stories by Richard Matheson--he is one of my favorite horror authors
Bag of Bones by Stephen King--one of my favorite Stephen King books
The Raven and Other Poems and Tales by Edgar Allan Poe--the master of the macabre!

Three books kindly donated by Kai (thanks, Kai!):
Bespelling Jane Austen by various authors
Night's Cold Kiss by Tracey O'Hara
Pandemonium by Daryl Gregory

(Please note: books are previously owned with the exception of The Box)

How fun does that sound?! I know I am really excited for this challenge I love the spookiness of October! With the Frightful Fall Read-a-thon and the R.I.P Challenge, October is going to be a fun month! Can't wait for it to start!

Contest craze mini challenge One true pairing.

Princess Bookie's  contest craze continues today with a mini challenge hosted by Jennie.

The challenge is to pick your favorite YA couple that you think is a One True Pair and say why. My pick was easy, Daniel and Luce from Lauren Kate's Fallen series.
This pair is different in the fact that they have had so many lives and no matter what they always find one another, Daniel and Luce always CHOOSE one another in every life. How sweet is that?! My pick for who I think would portray them is as follows, I know Lucy Hale got the role of Luce, but my pick is different. For Luce I have always pictured Selena Gomez and for Daniel Jamie Campbell Bower who will play Jace Wayland in TMI film!


Sunday, September 18, 2011

Contest craze mini challenge lucky number 7

Princessbookie's contest craze continues! Today's mini challenge is hosted by Jessie.
Her challenge is to go to the current book you are reading, turn to the 7th page, go to the the 7th word and then google that word. After you have googled the word, you select a picture that you like most to represent your word.
The book I am reading is:






Fury by Elizabeth Miles.

The 7th word on the 7th page was ROOM. Here is my picture:






How awesome would that be to have a room like that?!

Magic Lamp Sunday 1

I saw this on Reading Lark . I thought it was fun so I decided to participate it is inspired by Magic Lamp fridays at YA Aholic.



If I had a magic lamp I would wish for:

1) A trip to Greece with my bff!

2) Bookshelves!

3) A Kitten!

What would you wish for?

The coming of the light


  • Format: Paper back 348 pages
  • Publisher: Whiskey Creek Press LLC (July 31, 2011)
  • Author: J.W. Baccaro
  • Cover art: My favorite so far, stunning! 
  • Overall rating ***** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: I was sent a copy by the author in exchange for an honest review.








The Wizard Crystals of the Elements have fallen into the hands of Abaddon, forever corrupted and transformed to evil. Abaddon now patiently waits in his northern kingdom for the coming of Saruinkai—the evening when the spirits of Darkness rule the night, and when he will unleash the Crystals' horrific powers against their own elements and sweep destruction across the earth.
The Light's hope now lies in the young Nasharin warrior Darshun Luthais—the chosen Guardian, for he alone carries the power to stop Abaddon's black sorcery and end the war once and for all. But to do so he must cross over into Abaddon’s kingdom, and that means destroying the one who guards the border, a Fallen Angelic Throne, the secret to Asgoth's three hundred year Rule and invincibility.
Led by the elvish lord Caelestias, Darshun and his companions must seek out and destroy the Throne, encounter a Witch, and a horde of other vile creatures, only to stir up the entirety of Asgoth, coming face to face with them, a battle that will determine the fate of the world. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

This is one of those books that has me up till 5 in the morning reading. Once again Baccaro draws his readers into his world and captivates them. This book has it all suspense, mystery, magic, action and blood everything that makes a good story a great story! 
 
This is the best one yet of the series, I found this book to be a non stop thrill ride! Baccaro's characters continue to show depth and growth, which is great. we even get to learn more about some of them, which I always love! This series has the ability to get the reader emotionally invested in it and on the edge of their seat wanting to know will my favorite character make it?
 
What I really enjoy is how each of these books up right where the last one left off, so the reader doesn't feel like they missed something all of the time is accounted for. The author has a true gift for leading the reader down a path and when you think you have it all figured out, surprise! You don't! I really enjoy that! 
This is a series that I find myself telling my friends about over and over to get them to read the book. I am looking forward book 4 even more now what is going to happen next?! The suspense is too much! 

I highly encourage everyone to read this series, it is amazing and so much fun to read.




Silver and Stone The Bloodlines Series by J.D. Thompson

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 203 KB
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services 
  • Author: J.D. Thompson 
  • Cover art: Georgeous it adds a sense of mystery who doesn't love a little mystery?
  • Over all rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: I was sent a PDF copy of the book for review by the author. Thank you.








Welcome to high school high society hell, where last season’s slingbacks can warrant a lunch table demotion, the wrong date will knock you off the it-list and behind every pair of oversized Chanel sunglasses lies a secret people are dying to keep.

As if senior year at Weatherford Preparatory School wasn’t hard enough, sixteen year old Alexis Bardolph had to add school outcast to the curriculum.

A new found notoriety following a family scandal, her lacrosse star boy-friend dumping her for a former BFF and a string of perpetually bad hair days were among the many things going wrong in her already turbulent teenage life.

But when the haunting nightmares that have plagued her since childhood begin to take an eerily tangible form and several Holler Creek residents are reported missing, Alexis can’t help but wonder if there isn’t more to her hellish dreams than meets the eye.

The unexpected arrival of a mysterious and dangerously handsome new student ultimately leads Alexis to troubling truths that not even her wildest imagination could have conjured (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



Wow, reading this book was so much fun! Besides the setting of the book, I loved the characters. This book had me scrolling like a mad woman to find out what happens next, and Theo I loved Theo! During the story I just wanted to give him a big hug! 


The story isn't very long, short enough to read in an afternoon even if you are a slower reader. Thompson had my attention from the first page and when the book ended I found myself regretting the fact that I read it so fast instead of reading it more slowly to prolong the enjoyment. 


Filled with great well rounded characters Silver and Stone is a must read for anyone who loves paranormal stories. All of the characters worked perfectly for the story and they all fed off of one another wonderfully. 

After reading this story, I am very eager to read the next one to find out what happens next!
I do hope that this book will be in print form soon as I would add it to my personal book shelf in a flash! I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes paranormal or anyone thinking of reading their first paranormal book and at 99 cents  on amazon it's a bargain!

Win a jacket of Fever by Lauren De stefano

Hey just wanted to let y'all know that today is the LAST day to enter to win a SIGNED book jacket of FEVER by Lauren De stefano!! She will sign, hug and write a sentence from FEVER on the covers there will be 12 winners! Go! run! enter to win here.


*Don't forget to enter my 1 year blogaversary giveaway only 2 days left! Click the link on the side bar.*


Contest craze mini challenge my top 5 of 2012

Princess Bookie has begun her contest craze and the first mini challenge is the top 5 books of 2012 you are most looking forward to here are my top 5 in no particular order:

1) Rapture by Lauren Kate.  We still don't have a synopsis or cover art for it *sad*

2) Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins.












3) Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare.












4) Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard.












5) Loss by Jackie Morse Kessler.

Saturday, September 17, 2011

R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril VI challenge or the R.I.P VI challenge

Hey y'all I have decided to join (late but better late then never right?) the R.I.P challenge. Hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings.





It sounds like fun here is the copied and pasted info from the hosts site:

Every September 1st through October 31st for the last 5 years I have hosted the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril Challenge, affectionately known as the R.I.P. Challenge. I began this reader event, I blinked, and now I am hosting this for the 6th time. Wow, that is so hard to believe.
The purpose of the R.I.P. Challenge is to enjoy books that could be classified as:
Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

The emphasis is never on the word challenge, instead it is about coming together as a community and embracing the autumnal mood, whether the weather is cooperative where you live or not.

There are two simple goals for the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril VI Challenge:
1. Have fun reading.
2. Share that fun with others.
As I do each and every year, there are multiple levels of participation (Perils) that allow you to be a part of R.I.P. VI without adding the burden of another commitment to your already busy lives. There is even a one book only option for those who feel that this sort of reading is not their cup of tea (or who have many other commitments) but want to participate all the same.
R.I.P. VI officially runs from September 1st through October 31st. But lets go ahead and break the rules. Lets start today!!!
Multiple perils await you. You can participate in just one, or participate in them all.
Peril the First:
Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (my very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be Stephen King or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Ian Fleming or Edgar Allan Poe…or anyone in between.
Peril the Second:
Read two books of any length that you believe fit within the challenge categories.

Peril the Third:
We all want you to participate. This Peril involves reading one book that fits within the R.I.P. definition.
 Peril of the Short Story:
I am a big fan of short stories and my desire for them is perhaps no greater than in autumn. I see Poe and Lovecraft in my future for sure. You can read short stories any time during the challenge. When I can, I like to read short stories over the weekend and post about them around that time. Feel free to do this however you want, but if you review short stories on your site, please link to those reviews on the Book Review site.
Peril on the Screen:
This Peril was added last year and proved to be popular, and so it returns. This is for those of us that like to watch suitably scary, eerie, mysterious gothic fare during this time of year. It may be something on the small screen or large. It might be a television show, like Dark Shadows, or your favorite film. If you are so inclined, please post links to any R.I.P.-related viewing you do on to the book review site as well.
Peril of the Group Read:
This Peril is new for this year. I’ve recently discovered the joys of group reading and I posted about three group reads that I am hosting during this year’s R.I.P. Challenge. If you feel so inclined please join us in one (or more) of the planned group reads, information is located here.
In addition to, or instead of, these group read options you may want to host your own. That would be welcome too and if you choose to do so please let me know so that I can advertise them for you.
Again, you may participate in one or all of the various Perils. My one demand: enjoy yourself!
The R.I.P. VI Challenge does not require you to read from a pre-selected list of books, but like many of you I love to get ideas from what others are thinking of reading. If you want to include a pool of potential reads when you sign up, either in the comments or on your own sign up post on your blog (not required for participation), please do!
I will most likely post a reading pool of my own in the next couple of days, including a list of previously read books that I would recommend reading for the challenge.
This challenge is always a joy because of one thing: you! You sharing your passion for books, reading, films, television, etc. helps bring us together and ensures that we all have a great time. Thank each and every one of you who choose to participate on any level. I am honored that you would choose to do so.
Remember that we would love to read any reviews of the books you read or things you watch. Simply visit the R.I.P. VI Review Site (link is conveniently located by clicking the banner in my side bar) and leave a link to your post. These challenges are a great way to make new friends by tempting them to come to your site to read your reviews.

Sounds awesome! Since I have other books to read for review and I am joining half way through, I decided to do the:




I would encourage y'all to join as well!!

New changes!!

Hey y'all so you may have noticed there is now a content warning on my blog. I may or may not keep it. The reason  I did this is because soon I will be reviewing more of Karen Marie Moning's books, she writes adult romance books. I will also be reviewing Laurell K Hamilton's Anita Blake series which have a lot of adult scenes.
So I ask you my readers a question, should I keep the content warning, or should I get rid of it and just add a waring to the title of the post?

In my mailbox 40 and contest reminder.

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.






This week I got 2 books, both were books I won. First up I won a signed copy of Forgotten by Cat Patrick.  A huge thank you to Dorine for the prize!



I also was lucky enough to win a finished copy of Wildefire by Karsten Knight.
A big thank you to Simon and Schuster for the giveaway and a big thank you to Michelle for hosting the giveaway!



Also, don't forget to enter my 1 year blogaversary contest for your chance to win a copy of Passion by Lauren Kate or a copy of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. The contest is open to all if the book depository ships to you! To enter see my post here! 
That's what I got in my mailbox leave me a note and let me know what you got in your mailbox!

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

First blogaversary GIVEAWAY!

***This giveaway is now closed, winners will be announced within the hour!***
 


Good news y'all, Steph from Papercut reviews has generously donated 2 books for a giveaway to celebrate my one year! There will be 2 winners! The giveaway is open to ANYONE as long as the book depository ships to you to find out if they ship to you check their list.

Want to know what you can win?

One winner will win a copy of Passion by Lauren Kate.
I loved this book and want to share it with others!
















One other winner will win a Pre-Order copy of The unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. I am very excited to read this book, I pre-ordered it months ago!

















To enter simply leave a comment with an e-mail address telling me which book you'd like to be entered to win,  you can enter for both if you want.

For 1 extra entry follow me via GFC (Leave your GFC name in a separate comment)

For 1 extra entry follow Steph at Papercut Reviews  via GFC (Leave me your GFC name in a separate comment)

(A total of 3 possible entries)

Winners will be chosen via Random.org

This giveaway is open until Midnight PST Sep 21 2011.  The winners will be drawn and notified via e-mail sometime on the 21rst. They will have 48 hours to respond with their mailing address or a new winner will be picked.

Good luck!

* I  would appreciate it if you spread the word if you want so more people can join in on the fun.

Monday, September 12, 2011

One year blogaversary!

I just realized that that the 13 (Today) is my one year blogaversary!






I know people normally do a giveaway, but I don't have the funds to do that. *SAD*


The blog in a year:

266 posts
160 followers
95 reviews (less then I thought)

Thank you to all my followers new and old and thanks to those who were here since the beginning and had faith in my little blog, I never thought I'd get one follower let alone 160!
My followers and blogging friends are the best!

**Beyond the highland mist by Karen Marie Moning 18 and over.**



  • Mass Market Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Dell; Reissue edition (March 9, 1999)
  • Author: Karen Marie Moning
  • Cover art: I like the blue...
  • Overall rating *** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf. (Recommended by a friend)









An alluring laird
He was known throughout the kingdom as Hawk, legendary predator of the battlefield and the boudoir. No woman could refuse his touch, but no woman ever stirred his heart - until a vengeful fairy tumbled Adrienne de Simone out of modern-day Seattle and into medieval Scotland. Captive in a century not her own, entirely too bold, too outspoken, she was an irresistible challenge to the sixteenth-century rogue. Coerced into a marriage with Hawk, Adrienne vowed to keep him at arm's length - but his sweet seduction played havoc with her resolve.
A prisoner in time
She had a perfect "no" on her perfect lips for the notorious laird, but Hawk swore she would whisper his name with desire, begging for the passion he longed to ignite within her. Not even the barriers of time and space would keep him from winning her love. Despite her uncertainty about following the promptings of her own passionate heart, Adrienne's reservations were no match for Hawk's determination to keep her by his side....(Synopsis provided by goodreads)

It needs to be said that I am not a fan of romance books. I was pleasantly surprised that I didn't have the same reaction to this as I have to other romance novels. I liked this one, Moning created such a beautiful world and Adrienne, was a strong woman who was very self sufficient.

The relationship was built of time, I didn't feel like it was soul mates at first sight type of story for the characters. The dialog was wonderful, yes there were a few lines that were cheesy, but it's a romance novel, so that is to be expected.

If you like romance novels, or even if you don't I would say give Moning's books a chance, take it from someone who isn't a fan of romance novels  I really enjoy Moning's books.

This was a re read and I plan to re read all of her books so I can review them better.

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Blessed

  • Hardcover: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Candlewick; 1 edition (January 25, 2011)
  • Author: Cynthia Leitich Smith
  • Cover Art: Best yet!
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: From the publisher for an honest review.











Quincie P. Morris, teen restaurateuse and neophyte vampire, is in the fight of her life -- or undeath. Even as she adjusts to her new appetites, she must clear her best friend and true love, the hybrid werewolf Kieren, of murder charges; thwart the apocalyptic ambitions of Bradley Sanguini, the seductive vampire-chef who "blessed" her; and keep her dead parents’ restaurant up and running. She hires a more homespun chef and adds the preternaturally beautiful Zachary to her wait staff. But with hundreds of new vampires on the rise and Bradley off assuming the powers of Dracula Prime, Zachary soon reveals his true nature -- and a flaming sword -- and they hit the road to staunch the bloodshed before it’s too late. Even if they save the world, will there be time left to salvage Quincie’s soul? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


 *This is the third book and picks up where book 2 left off.


I have to say that I simply love the premise of this series. I love Quincie's character and we get to see her character develop throughout the book. Smith paints a vivid picture in her word building and her the way she shapes her characters.


All of the relationships felt believable and I never felt like they were forced. The dialog is strong and Smith isn't afraid to show that her characters have flaws, which is really refreshing as there are a lot of books where I feel you have to search for the characters flaws.


I am very excited to see what comes next! I would recommend this book and this series to anyone who likes paranormal books!


Saturday, September 10, 2011

In My Mailbox 39


 ************UPDATED***************

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The story siren.




I got 3 books this week it was The Fox inheritance by Mary E. Pearson. (ARC)
I was sent this book by the publisher via a Shelfawarness giveaway/request Thank you!





*I also got an ARC of Hades (I got a finished copy last week) so I now have 2 copies. I'll probably end up giving ARC to a friend.

** I just checked the mail and got a copy of The coming of the light guardian of the seventh realm part 3 by J.W. Baccaro. Thank you to Jason for the review copy!



That's what was in my mailbox this week, leave me a note and tell me what was in yours!

Lily x

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Cover art: LOSS

Hey Y'all the cover of Loss by Jackie Morse Kessler has been released! If you haven't read her first two books Hunger and Rage you should, they are wonderful!


If you are interested, you can find my review of Hunger  here.
You can find my review of Rage   here.

Loss will be released March 20 2012! I can't wait!