Wednesday, August 31, 2011

It's September first!

You know what that means, the Hogwarts express leaves at 11! Don't be late!



Monday, August 29, 2011

Sweet Venom 2 title hunt!






Today I am helping Tera Lynn Childs along with other bloggers on the title hunt for Sweet Venom 2!
There will be prizes! 5 signed copies of Sweet Venom! A grand prize of a $50 bookstore gift card! Full details and  full list of stops on the title hunt can be found at Tera's site.
The letter you need to collect for this stop is:


                                       D




Have lots of fun and thanks for stopping by!

Saturday, August 27, 2011

In My Mailbox 37

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.



This week I got 7 books. 4 I won, 2 for review and 1 was a gift. First up is the gift, my Mum bought me a copy of Always a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough.

Next I received 2 books for review from the publisher Candlewick press. They were:

Frost by Wendy Delsol.


Also from Candlewick I was sent a copy of Blessed by Cynthia Leitich Smith.
Thank you Candlewick press!

Next, I won an Arc of Envy by Gregg Olsen. Thank you to Bibliopunkk!
And lastly, I won 3 books from June at The JP Files.  A big thanks to June! They were:

Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs.

 




                                    Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs.




That's what I got in my mailbox leave me a note and let me know what you got in your mailbox.


Lily

Saturday, August 20, 2011

In My Mailbox 36

In my Mailbox is a weekly meme host by Kristi at The Story Siren.



This week I got 3 books, all were won. First up I got a copy of

The Familiars 2 Secrets of the Crown by Adam Jay Epstien and Andrew Jacobson.

Thank you Melina from Reading Vacation.

Next is a copy of Beatrice Munson by Lorena Bathey. *Signed* Thank you goodreads first reads!
Lastly, and the one I think I am most excited to read is Everblue by Brenda Pandos. *Signed* It's a MERMAID story!!! I love mermaid stories!! Thank you to Goodreads first reads!



That's what was in my mailbox, leave me a note and let me know what you got in your mailbox I will be sure to have a look!

Lily x

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Guest review After Eden Fallen Angels book 1

Today I am very pleased to have June from The JP Files here to do a guest review of After Eden by Katherine Pine.


AFTER EDEN (FALLEN ANGELS)
BOOK #1 REVIEW
Book Description:
Devi knows she shouldn't trust the new employee at her favorite used bookstore. Sure, he's funny, smart and hands down the sexiest guy she's ever met, but something dark lurks behind his unassuming smile and sinful green eyes.

Still, a girl can't always afford to be picky. When an angel abducts your twin brother it should come as no surprise that the one person who can help you get him back is a demon--and only if you're willing to pay his price.

(Young adult paranormal romance, 87,000 words or approx. 348 pages)
(Amazon.com)

Review:
Hi Everyone!!
My name is June from The JP Files and I am very happy to be a guest reviewer at Moirae (the fates) Book Reviews!
The book titled above, After Eden, is book one of the Fallen Angel series by Katherine Pine. This is a series that is available sadly on Kindle only but if the rest of the series is as good as the first book then I believe it will be available soon in print.
While doing one of my new favorite hobbies, cruising the Kindle book store, I came across this book which not only had a pretty interesting description but was also only 99 cents!
The story focuses on Devi, a 17 year old girl who hasn’t been the same since her twin brother was kidnapped by none other than an angel. When Devi meets Oz she’s instantly drawn to him and despite what he is she can use his help in finding out why her brother was taken (which I found to be very different when I found out) and where he is.
I found this book to be great!! I loved the idea of the story; I thought it was a great twist with the angel being the “bad guy” and her looking to the demon for help. I love the characters Devi and Oz, I find them both to have depth and at the same time very funny.
I love the way the story draws you in and keeps you intrigued throughout, there was never a moment where I wanted to skim ( I admit I do that a lot) LOL. I am a believer in having a strong beginning and a strong ending and believe me, this story has it! I am very excited to find out what happens next in the story of Devi and Oz!
If you own a Kindle I strongly suggest ordering this eBook, it will be worth your 99 cents!!
Happy Reading


Thank you June!!!

Catalyst



  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 537 KB
  • Publisher: Longshot Publishing (March 19, 2011)
  • Author: Marc Johnson
  • Cover art: Love the fire!
  • Overall rating **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: I received a PDF from the author in exchange for a review.






Catalyst by Marc Johnson
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews
For centuries, the kingdom of Alexandria has protected Northern Shala from the monstrous creatures lurking in the Wastelands. Now, a dark force threatens that fragile peace.

Far from home, Alexandria's princess is abducted. When a young villager named Hellsfire stumbles upon her and her captors, he rushes in to rescue her, alone and unarmed. His fear and fury unleash an uncontrollable magical force that grants him the power to save the princess-and change the world.

Hellsfire has never craved nor dreamed of power. But such magic as he now possesses has not been seen in Northern Shala for a thousand years, since the devastation of the War of the Wizards and the creation of the Wastelands.

Now Hellsfire must leave all he's ever known, and make a dangerous journey to learn to master this wild, ferocious power-power he knows he is not ready to wield. More difficult still, he needs to master his emotions. If he can't, the power will consume him, Alexandria will fall, and darkness will eclipse the land, destroying everyone he loves.

In the dead of cold, the spark shall burn (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

I enjoyed this book a lot. Like a lot of stories, it started off a little slow, but it did pick up.  It was a very quick read and I think it's aimed towards younger teens. (However adults would enjoy it as well!) I really enjoyed the characters and felt that they seemed believable. 

The story was very enjoyable and one that I would have wished was a bit longer so I could have enjoyed it longer. My only "complaint" is how at times the conversations seemed "professional" which isn't a bad thing, but at times I wanted the characters to cut to it and get on with the adventure.  Again, it's not a bad thing really.

I do look forward to more titles by Johnson and would recommend this book to others.

Monday, August 15, 2011

The Cambridge List

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 424 KB
  • Publisher: Robert Clear (March 19, 2011)
  • Author: Robert Clear
  • Overall rating ***** out of 5 stars
  • Cover art: I liked the simplicity of it.
  • Obtained: I received a PDF from the author for review.










The Cambridge List by Robert Clear
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

James Connor thinks that murdering his former professors in cold blood is rather a bad idea. Unfortunately his head has been commandeered by a bloodthirsty family of Greek gods, so he doesn’t have a say in the matter. With Hera and Aphrodite at each other’s throats and Dionysos failing to keep order, James’s brain has become a cosmic conflict zone, and he’s worried they’ll leave it in ruins. There’s only one way out: he has to go from socially inept young man to slick sociopath fast. If only he wasn’t so squeamish about mass slaughter.

Follow the world’s least menacing serial killer on his awkwardly murderous journey through the little town of Cambridge, where ancient rituals, scheming academics and divine politics collide. And where murder has consequences unforeseen even by the gods themselves… (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



This book is awesome! It has it all! It's very fast paced and once I started reading, I didn't want to stop. The book had humor, however, it was a darker humor and not the type of humor for everyone, I enjoy a bit of dark humor, so this book was right up my ally. 
I didn't want this story to end, it was such an enjoyable read! All of the characters were believable and the voice was very strong. 
I absolutely loved the writing style it was also very strong. The story itself I found to be very original. I would recommend it to everyone I know that likes dark humor.  Clear is an author to watch!

Sunday, August 14, 2011

The Beast Call



  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 224 KB
  • Publisher: PREMIER DIGITAL PUBLISHING LLC (May 4, 2011)
  • Author: Anne Tibbets
  • Overall rating ***** out of 5 stars
  • Cover art: Beautiful!
  • Obtained: I received a PDF copy from the author.








The Beast Call by Anne Tibbets
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.
Seventeen year old Dray is no ordinary human. But possessing a magical capability to talk to animals in a land where magic is feared, is dangerous. When Dray's adventure hungry brother leaves the family farm to join a rebel militia, Dray follows him, but as Dray discovers her natural warrior capabilities, and word of her magical talents are discovered by the rebel General, Dray becomes an intricate part of the revolution, and the evil King Nuro would like nothing more than to see her destroyed. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I read this book in one sitting, it's very short, but very good. I enjoyed every page of it. I found it to be very fast paced and the characters were very believable.  I loved Dray from the start, at first I loved Lurin as well, but then he dissapointed me and he wasn't as cool as he began, he became very jealous of his sister and jealousy is never pretty.
I think that Tibbets is a very promising author and I highly recommend this book. It goes by very quickly and is a very enjoyable way to spend part of an afternoon. Can't wait to see what Tibbets cooks up next!!

Saturday, August 13, 2011

The Hijab Boutique

  • Paperback: 56 pages
  • Publisher: The Islamic Foundation (August 23, 2011)
  • Author: Michelle Khan
  • Cover Art: I liked the simplicity of it.
  • Over all rating **** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: Librarything Early reviewers












The Hijab Boutique by Michelle Khan
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Farah enjoyed her private girls' school and fun with her friends. Then an assignment meant she had to talk about her mother for "International Woman's Day" in front of the whole class. Compared to her friends' glamorous actress, make-up artist, and tap-dancing mothers, what can her modest mother possibly have that is worth sharing with her classmates? To Farah's surprise, her mother was quite the business woman before putting her career on hold to care for her daughter. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)
This is a middle grade book.


I enjoyed reading this book, the author describes different types of Hijabs that are worn in different areas of the world. (I had no idea there were so many different kinds!) The author does a wonderful job in explaining why Muslim women wear the Hijab, it's explained in a way that people who are unfamiliar with it, or only hear what the media tells them, can get a different perspective. 

The book is very short only 56 pages, has wonderful illustrations and the whole point is about informing people of the real reason for the Hijab and not to make judgments on it based on the media and historical events.  The main message children and adults alike can take from this story is acceptance, accepting those around us who are different. Very cute, fun, informative and enjoyable read.

Supernatural One year gone





  • Mass Market Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Titan Books (May 24, 2011)
  • Author: Rebecca Dessertine
  • Cover art: I like the edition of the hanging tree
  • Rating *** out of 5 stars
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf







Supernatural one year gone by Rebecca Dessertine
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Dean believes that Sam is in Hell so he is trying to keep his promise to his brother and live a normal live with Lisa and Ben. When he realizes that a spell in the Necronomicon could raise Lucifer and therefore Sam, he convinces his new family to travel with him on vacation to Salem.
Meanwhile Sam is not as far away as Dean thinks and is determined to protect his brother from the Salem witches...
A Supernatural novel that reveals the untold events of the missing year between seasons 5 and 6!
(Synopsis provided by goodreads)

The Winchester boys, the Salem witch trials what's not to love? Well, for me I didn't love this book. I thought it was okay. The premise was great, but it fell a bit flat for me. I am a huge fan of the show. I love me some Dean! In this book, I thought Dean was a little out of character. Lisa, drove me nuts she was a bit to whiny in this for me, which is odd, I love her character in the show.
The author is the personal assistant to the Kripe who is the creator of the show, so I thought this book would be nothing less then amazing. But alas, it was.
Besides Dean being ooc, my biggest problem with the book was the fact that it jumped around too much. We get thrown back in time at various points in the book, but we are never told we are being thrown back, we are just meant to figure it out by the characters in that chapter.For me this was very confusing.
Aside from all that I felt the writing was strong and I liked the ending. I felt it wrapped up nicely.


In My Mailbox 35

IMM is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.



This week I got 2 physical books and 3 e-books, I won them all.

From goodreads I won and adult title Shadow Kin by M.J Scott














From Librarything I won a middle grade story The Hijab Boutique by Michelle Khan:














From the author I won an e-copy of Spartan Heart part 1 by Kristine Cheney:














From the author I won an e-copy of Between the Land and the Sea by Derrolyn Anderson :














Also from Derrolyn Anderson I won an e-copy of The Moon and the Tide:














That's what was in my mailbox this week, leave me a note and let me know what you got in your mailbox.

Lily x

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Jace needs your votes!

Jace needs your votes! Go  to http://ya-sisterhood.blogspot.com/2011/08/grande-finale-jace-vs-zachary-match-24.html to vote for him, then go to Cassies livejournal page where she is holding a contest for an ARC of Clockwork Prince!! GO VOTE!! I did!!

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

A new additon

I love history, there is a lot one can learn and by learning we can prevent horrible things from repeating. Since I love history and I love to read, I have decided to add a new thing to the blog, everyday (Or almost everyday) I will post a list of events that took place on that day. Fun huh? To kick it off here is the first day, August 10!

70 AD "2nd Temple" of Jews is set aflame (approx)
645 Pope Eugene I elected to succeed Martinus I
843 Treaty of Verdun: Brothers Lotharius I, Louis the German and Charles the Bare divide France.
955 Battle at Lech: German king Otto I beats Hungarians  
1497 John Cabot tells King Henry VII of his trip to "Asia"
1519 Magellan's 5 ship set sail to circumnavigate Earth
1787 Turkey declares war on Russia
1821 Missouri admitted as 24th U.S. state
1943 Hitler watches lynching of allied pilots
1944 U.S. recaptures Guam from Japanese
1979 Ecuador adopts its constitution
2010 More than 5,000 people lose their homes and crops when the Niger River bursts its banks

Monday, August 8, 2011

Author Michael Grants begins a new interactive experience.


 Hello lovely readers,


I was recently asked to help spread the word about author Michael Grant's (Author of the GONE series) new book and interactive reading experience GO BZRK. Of course, I said "Absolutely!" This new experience is available now, the book will be published this winter, but you can join in on the fun now! I already joined and am having a blast looking around and finding all sorts of things!
I am still looking around and finding things out, so I don't know a whole lot....yet. Here is a Q&A with Mr. Grant that I was given to post to share with you all:



A Q&A with author Michael Grant.

What is “Go BZRK”? Is this a book or some kind of interactive story?


Both. The book comes out this winter, but the interactive part starts now.  One leads up to the other, but they're part of a complete package
.

Why “transmedia”?

There are different approaches to transmedia.  Most people take a single story and reproduce it on various platforms.  My philosophy has been to make each element - ARG, app, web, book - a thing unto itself, each revealing some aspect of the world of BZRK.  I've been fascinated with this is as a new way to tell stories.  The book remains central, but now I can reach beyond the book and create a much more complete world.  I can tell stories that enhance the book, and stories that parallel the book, and stories that are offshoots of backstory.  I guess the answer to "why" is "because it's fun."

Is this the future of publishing?


I began a few years ago reaching out to publishers and saying we collectively needed to understand that the old models were dead or dying.  I want publishing to survive, and of course I'd like my own career to thrive.  So Egmont Publishing and my partners and I certainly hope this is a part of the future of publishing. 


How long is this running? Is this part of a larger picture?

We'll be running this in several chunks between now and the book release this winter. Because these things have a hard start/stop point, August is a ramp-up phase. There'll be a lot of content coming out, but the experience really gets underway at the end of the month… just in time to distract the kids from their schoolwork.

What if someone wants to follow the story but doesn’t want to participate?


You don't have to do anything.  You can do one thing and not another.  But the deeper you plunge the wetter you get.  I think every part of this is fun, I think people will enjoy the ARG, the app, the site and the books. 


App? You've mentioned that a couple times now.


Just wait and see.


What can you tell us about the story? What is “BZRK”?


It's a battle for the soul and freedom of the human race carried out simultaneously in the world we know, and in a world that you're not going to expect. It's a world where if you make a false move, you're going to lose your mind.

Insanity… is this something you have a personal familiarity with?


The line between writer and crazy person is very thin.  Both go around holding long, involved conversations with people who aren't there.


What’s this other world thing all about?


Do you really want spoilers? I'll tell you this. We'll be going "down in the meat." It's going to be vast, bloody, and beautiful.


Wait… isn’t this supposed to be for kids?


Adults like to flatter themselves that kids won't get, won't understand, won't be able to handle, more intense, more complex stories. That's nonsense.  It's the adults who are easy to creep out or scare.  Say the word "biopsy" in a room full of adults. Or "audit."  See?  Easy to scare.  Kids are a tougher audience because kids think they're immortal.



This has been described as a "Strange and compelling experience." and I must say, I agree! Interested? I thought so, head on over to societytwins.com and over to nexushaumanus.com and sign up!


Thursday, August 4, 2011

Should books have "ratings?"

So, lately I have been thinking about books and if they should have "ratings" or not. Now, I'm not talking about book banning or requiring a person to be a certain age to read a book, so please don't go all "That's censorship!" on me and just stay with me for a moment.

When I say ratings, I am meaning I wish there was a small thing on the spine or the back of the cover or even on the first page informing the reader of content in the book.
For example if the book is a M/F story a F/F story or a M/M story. Also, use a movie type rating informing people of to what extent swearing, violence and sexuality is contained in the book. I say this only because I was speaking with a friend recently who was telling me how she picked up a book that had content to which she was very uncomfortable reading, when I read the cover blurb, I too was misled and never would have thought that the book contained this "issue."
There are some people who only wish to read books that have certain content and having a rating on books would help them find what they are looking for, it could also help parents decide what is appropriate for their children and their family.
I have a nephew and my sister will only allow him to have certain books due to his age, as of now, she doesn't want him to have anything more then Dr. Suess type books. However, he grabs my Stephen King books at any chance he gets and he plays with them, which I think is awesome!
I digress, what do you all think about this? Should books come with "A warning label" essentially? Telling us more of the content of the book?
Example:
Harry Potter and the Sorcerers' stone:
Language: None
Sexuality:None
Violence: Minimal
Rating:PG
Or something similar, anyway what are y'alls thoughts on this?

Lilyx

Monday, August 1, 2011

Harry Potter read a long mini challenge one

So the first mini challenge was to take a sorting quiz and post the results for the first time ever on a quiz I got :



  Normally, I end up in Slytherin, one time I got Ravenclaw. Anywho, the other part of the challenge was to write a post about the house you got sorted into.

Well Gryffindorks, I mean Gryffindors (Sorry I guess I may have some Slytherin tendencies.) 
are brave, we all know this since the Sorting hat told us so. All of the Weasley's were in Gryffindor, James and Lily were Gryffindors. 
Sirius was a Gryffindor, and I believe that most of the Order were also Gryffindors, though we are never told which house Frank and Alice were in. Now that I think about it, I think I remember Nevill saying something about him parents being in Gryffindor.The common room is behind the painting of the Fat Lady.
When you need help at Hogwarts, it will be given to you if you ask and if you are a true Gryffindor you might just pull Godric Gryffindor's sword out of the Sorting Hat.

Head on over  to Pretty Deadly reviews to join in on the fun!