Sunday, July 31, 2011

Harry Potter read a long begins tomorrow

Hey y'all the Harry Potter read-a-long starts tomorrow!!!! Head on over to Pretty Deadly Reviews and sign up, she is giving away the Elder wand at the end as a prize!!

Also, don't forget to try to register early for Pottermore! I am all registered and get to help shape it along with a few friends who registered last night, I do advise to have BOOK 2 ready for the AUG 1 clue. The clue was up around MIDNIGHT PST on July 31 and the slots were filled by 2:30 am PST.

RAK July Wrap-up




Book Soulmates




RAK is a program hosted by Booksoulmates.

This month, was the first time I was sent a RAK. I got 2. From Grace, I got a copy of Evermore.


From Jen, I got a copy of Moon Called.




Thank you ladies!

Sign ups for August should be up tomorrow!


What did you get?


Lily x

Saturday, July 30, 2011

In My Mailbox 34

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.



This week, I got 2 books, one I won and one was a gift.

The book I won was The Burning by Jane Casey, Thank you Goodreads first reads.















The book I was given as part of the R.A.K program was Moon Called by Patricia Briggs. Thank you Jen from Romancing the Book.


















That's what I got in my mailbox, leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox, and I wil be sure to check it out.

Lily x

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Waiting on Wed.4 and Mara Dyer awesomeness

WOW is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the spine.





This week I am waiting for THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER! I pre-orderd this MONTHS ago but I am DYING to get it like yesterday!!






Mara Dyer doesn't think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can't remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn't believe that after everything she's been through, she can fall in love.

She's wrong.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer hits stores everywhere 9.27.11. Pre-order your copy here. Download the widget here. Enter to win an Advanced Reader’s Copy here.


Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Evermore



  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin; 1 edition (February 3, 2009)
  • Author: Alyson Noel
  • Overall rating: *** 3 out of 5 stars
  • Cover art: I like how the tulips are glossy and the rest of the cover isn't, very unique.
  • Obtained: A  RAK gift from Grace.








Evermore by Alyson Noel
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews
Since a horrible accident claimed the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever can see auras, hear people’s thoughts, and know a person’s life story by touch.   Going out of her way to shield herself from human contact to suppress her abilities has branded her as a freak at her new high school—but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste…
Ever sees Damen and feels an instant recognition.  He is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy, and he holds many secrets.  Damen is able to make things appear and disappear, he always seems to know what she’s thinking—and he’s the only one who can silence the noise and the random energy in her head.  She doesn’t know who he really is—or what he is.  Damen equals part light and part darkness, and he belongs to an enchanted new world where no one ever dies. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

I wanted to like this book much more then I did, for me this was not a great book, it was an okay book. I am not sure if I will read the rest of the series or not. There were many similarites to Twilight,(I really dislike Twilight).
The only thing that kept me reading and kept me from giving this book a lower rating was Noel's writing style. I really liked her writing style. She is a wonderful storyteller and I liked the addition of the  auras and I enjoyed Ever's sister.

LC's adventures in libraryland 500 followers giveaway



LC's 500 


Hey y'all, over at Lc's adventures in libraryland, she is hosting a fabulous giveaway, you can win up to 2 books from a great list of books that were released in 2010 or 201 (There are I believe 3 on the list published before 2010). The includes but is not limited to, FirelightWither, Anna and the Frech Kiss, Paranormalcy, The Goddess Test and several others, it's a great giveaway, head on over and enter!

Monday, July 25, 2011

Read Supernaturally online FREE!



Hey lovely people! So, the awesomness that is Harper Teen, has a copy of Supernaturally by Kiersten White, posted to read for free! It's totally legal, (I found the link in my Shelfawarness newsletter on the banner they made for it.)
I haven't gotten to the library yet to pick up Paranormalcy which is on hold, but I'm going to do that today, so I can read it and the second one! You can read Supernaturally here. 
I am not sure how long this opportunity will be available.  I hope long enough for me to read book one and book 2!

Saturday, July 23, 2011

In My Mailbox 33

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.



I am on a book buying ban for a while and for 2 weeks I've been good and not bought a book!
This week I got one book, it was one I won from Librarything. The book I won was:

The probability of miracles by Wendy Wunder.












That's what I got in my mailbox this week, leave me a note and let me know what you got. I will be sure to take a look.


Lily x

Friday, July 22, 2011

Mishap and Mayhem




  • Paperback: 294 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace (April 3, 2011)
  • Author: M.M. Shelley
  • Overall rating: ****1/2  4 1/2 out of 5 stars
  • Cover art: This is one of my favorites for the year beautiful cover art.
  • Obtained: e-copy sent for review and blog tour.






Mishap and Mayhem by M.M Shelley
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.
For centuries magical beings have hidden in the darkness, waiting. Some good, some evil. A battle is brewing, and only twins, Grasiella and Tatiana, have the power to stop it. It’s the summer of the year 2045, and sixteen year old Grasiella, along with her twin sister, Tatiana plan to visit their grandmother in Hawaii. They have no idea that when they arrive on the island of Kauai, they are about to be drawn into a secret, the secret, of their family’s dark origins and magical powers. On the first day of their arrival, their grandmother is accused of a horrible crime involving a faerie. Whispers have spread throughout the islands about the disappearance of a faerie named Sita Knook and her connection to a mysterious group known only as the Cinerians. Before long, Grasiella and Tatiana are doing battle with ancient races and magical beings. All the while trying to retrieve an ancient stone of power and impress a couple of local surfers, Kana’i and Kye, cousins who have some pretty exciting family secrets of their own. It’s pretty serious stuff for two girls who were planning to spend the summer at the beach getting tans, but then that’s the trouble with secrets, sometimes they just don't stay buried. (Synopsis provided by goodreads.)


From the moment I read the prologue, this book stuck with me. I loved it, it had a rare prologue that made me go "Holy cow what is going on?!" This book is set on the island of Kauai (Which sounds beautiful!) I loved each page of this book. 
My only "issue" with it is from time to time, I would get a little bit confused and have to look back. Aside from the few moments of confusion, I enjoyed the book greatly, the confusion is the only thing that knocked it down to 4.5 stars from 5. However, the ending seems to suggest a sequel, so perhaps my moments of confusion will be resolved in book 2. 
I found the twins to be believable and I loved the idea of humans making faeries use their magic for themselves. I've never seen that before in a book and I found it original and refreshing. 
The story was very fast paced and there were a few times, I laughed out loud. I highly recommend this book.
Don't forget to check out the guest post we have today with M.M Shelley herself.

Mishap and Mayhem blog tour and guest post.


Today I am pleased to be a part of the Blog Tour for M.M. Shelley's Mishap and Mayhem! We have M.M. Shelley as a special guest post today, and a little bit later today I will have my review of Mishap and Mayhem. Please join me in welcoming M.M Shelley to the blog!


Dragons

The myth of the dragon has been a long and fascinating one; it has played center stage in many stories of Fantasy. 
The definition of dragon is; a mythical monster generally represented as a huge, winged reptile with crested head and enormous claws and teeth, often spouting fire.  
However, not all mythical dragon have been described with having wings, some are said to have the same characteristic except they could fly without the use of wings.
What I find curious is that the dragon mythology has been hosted on every continent in one form or another.
In Peru, South America ancient pottery has been found with images of dragons. 
In North America many of the Native tribes have tales of trickster serpent creatures who would cause harm to lone travelers.
Africa has the folk lore of a Dragon of the lake, the tale of a princess who was saved from a dragon.
The Vikings feared sea monsters and they even placed the image of a dragon on the front of their ships to scare the sea monsters away.
China has a very well known history with dragons, their art and ancient stories have played with the imaginations for centuries. The lore of the dragon is celebrated in Parades, such as, 'The Golden Dragon Parade,' I have a special connection with this parade because my Kung Fu instructor, Sifu Jim Muse Furtado, has been part of the Los Angeles Golden Dragon Parade for many years.
In Art, Renaissance artist, Raphael was influenced by the dragon; he created a piece of art named, 'St. George and the Dragon.'
There are incredible pieces of jewelry that pays homage to the dragon, such as earrings, rings and pendants.
Although there has never been actual evidence that dragons roamed the earth, folk tales and imagery have brought them to life.

Thanks to Moirae for letting me share with you all today. You can find me over at my blog: mmshelley.blogspot.com

M.M. Shelley




Author Bio:      
M.M. Shelley is a storyteller, wordsmith and dreamer. MISHAP AND MAYHEM, a captivating story of faerie's and magic, is her debut novel. She has traveled the world extensively in search of the magic which is often overlooked in every day life. M.M. Shelley is a native of southern California, and a student of mythology from which she gets much inspiration.

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Harry Potter read a long

Hey everyone, just wanted to let you know that Pretty Deadly Reviews announced an AWESOME event. Starting on August 1, there is going to be a Harry Potter read a long. It's also a hop and for participating in it and the mini challenges, you can get entries to win THE ELDER WAND! I've already signed up for this event of awesemness and you should head on over to sign up for the Awesomness as well.

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday 3

Wow is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.

This week I am waiting for Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins.



  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Hyperion Book CH (March 13, 2012)













Hailed as “impossible to put down,” the Hex Hall series has both critics and teens cheering. With a winning combination of romance, action, magic and humor, this third volume will leave readers enchanted.
Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.
Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?


I am SO excited for this one, I loved the first two and can't wait to read this one!

Spell bound by Rachel Hawkins COVER!!!!!

So I was looking around at goodreads and Spell Bound has a cover,  a synopsis AND a publication date! Are you as excited as I am? The cover is BEAUTIFUL!


Hailed as “impossible to put down,” the Hex Hall series has both critics and teens cheering. With a winning combination of romance, action, magic and humor, this third volume will leave readers enchanted.
Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.
Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?

OH MY GOSH!!! I can't wait March 13 2012 can't be here fast enough!

Monday, July 18, 2011

Fins are forever



  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (June 28, 2011)
  • Author: Tera Lynn Childs
  • Overall rating: **** 4 out of 5 stars
  • Cover Art: I like the cover art on this one better then the first.
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.



Fins are forever by Tera Lynn Childs
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews
On Lily Sanderson’s eighteenth birthday she’ll become just a girl—still a mergirl, true, but signing the renunciation will ink Princess Waterlily of Thalassinia out of existence. That leaves plain old Lily living on land, dating the boy she loves, and trying to master this being-human thing once and for all.
Now that Lily and Quince are together, mer bond or not, she’s almost content to give up her place in the royal succession of Thalassinia. But just when she thinks she has everything figured out, the waves start to get rough. Lily’s father sends a certain whirlpool-stirring cousin to stay with her on land. What did Doe do to get herself exiled from Thalassinia and stuck in terraped form when everyone knows how much she hates humans? And why why why is she batting her eyelashes at Lily’s former crush, Brody?
The seafoam on the raging surf comes when a merboy from Lily’s past shows up—Tellin asks Lily for something that clouds her view of the horizon. There’s a future with Quince on land, her loyalty to the kingdom in the sea, and Lily tossing on the waves in the middle. Will she find a way to reconcile her love, her duty, and her own dreams?
Tera Lynn Childs’s sequel to Forgive My Fins offers another tail-flicking romance with plenty of fun, sun, and underwater adventure.(Synopsis provided by goodreads)

I had so much fin reading this great beach read book. It picks up where the first one left off and the book was very light hearted and fun.
I loved Lily more in this one then I did in the first and Quince was great as well. The characters developed more during this book which was a great thing to see. We got to see more of Doe in this one then in the first, I wish we could have seen more of Aunt Rachel, hopefully in the next one we get to see more of her.
I loved how this one ended and I loved that we got to see a different part so to speak of Thalassinia that was really fun to see.
I am looking forward to the next book. This is a hard book to review without giving anything away, but the book was very fast paced and very fun.

If I stay




  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Speak; Reprint edition (April 6, 2010)
  • Author: Gayle Forman
  • Overall rating: **** 4 out of 5 stars
  • Cover art: I like the icy factor of the cover art
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf








If I stay by Gayle Forman
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen-year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces - to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heart-wrenchingly beautiful, Mia's story will stay with you for a long, long time. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I kept hearing about this book through other book blogs and my interest was peaked. Set near my hometown, (which is rare) I found this book very hard to put down. I read this in nearly one sitting. The book is very hard to read and is very intense. Most of the book is Mia's memories of different people some dead some alive. 
The concept of the book was original and I loved every page of it. I wanted to read the sequel right after I finished this one. 
There was one scene that I found to be creepy and corny at the same time, but aside from that one scene, this book was very enjoyable.
I found Mia to be believable and she was easy to sympathize with. I would recommend this book to people who like "darker" reads.

Instructions for a broken heart




  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire (May 1, 2011)
  • Author: Kim Culbertson
  • Overall rating: *** 3 out of 5 stars
  • Cover art: I love the cover art.
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.








 Instructions for a broken heart by Kim Culbertson
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Three days before her drama club's trip to Italy, Jessa Gardner discovers her boyfriend in the costume barn with another girl. Jessa is left with a care package from her best friend titled "Top Twenty Reasons He's a Slimy Jerk Bastard," instructing her to do one un-Jessa-like thing each day of the trip. At turns hilarious and heartwrenching, Instructions for a Broken Heart paints a magical Italy in which Jessa learns she must figure out life-and romance-for herself. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I first heard about this book on another book blog, it sounded like a lot of fun. I found Jessa to be a very fun and very believable character. The different instructions that her friend had her do ranged from the simple to the outrageous. However they were all fun.
This book was a very fast light fun read a good beach read. The interactions between all of the characters felt real and the dialog was witty. 
I loved the conversation towards the end of the book that Jessa has with Natalie. The book had a wonderful ending and I enjoyed the whole thing.
I had an issue with an inappropriate interaction with Jessa and one of her teachers. But Culbertson never made it seem okay, she made it very clear that it was inappropriate, so that made me feel a little bit better about it.
The images of Italy were very vivid and made me want to visit. I'd read this one again.

But I love him



  • Paperback: 264 pages
  • Publisher: Flux (May 8, 2011)
  • Author: Amanda Grace
  • Overall rating: *** 3 out of 5 stars
  • Cover art: The cover art is okay not my favorite.
  • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.





But I love him by Amanda Grace
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.
Tonight was so much worse than anything before it. Tonight he didn't stop after the first slap. At the beginning of senior year, Ann was a smiling, straight-A student and track star with friends and a future. Then she met a haunted young man named Connor. Only she can heal his emotional scars; only he could make her feel so loved — and needed. Ann can't recall the pivotal moment it all changed, when she surrendered everything to be with him, but by graduation, her life has become a dangerous high wire act. Just one mistake could trigger Connor's rage, a senseless storm of cruel words and violence damaging everything — and everyone — in its path.
This evocative slideshow of flashbacks reveals a heartbreaking story of love gone terribly wrong.
(Synopsis provided by goodreads)

I wanted to love this book, but I just didn't. It felt like it was missing something crucial. The writing was good and the idea of the story being told backwards was very original.
My biggest issue with this book was Anne, she never felt real and I had a hard time sympathizing with her. I give kudos to Grace for the book and for tackling such a hard subject, but I do think there are better books out there.
Another issue I had was that I felt that Grace was almost trying to rationalize Connor's behavior saying that his father was abusive. That maybe true for some abusers, but not all.
I know a lot of people liked this story, but for me it fell flat.


Saturday, July 16, 2011

In My Mailbox 32

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.



I got several books this week, I got 2 for review, I won 1 and I ordered 4.

For review I got:



I won


I ordered






                                                              Falling Under by Gwen Hayes.
                                                    The Demon Trapper's Daughter by Jana Oliver.

That's what I got in my mailbox this week leave me a note and let me know what you got in your mailbox.

Lily

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Charmed Giveawy!!!

Okay y'all over at I <3 Reading, there is a Charmed Giveaway. Where you can enter win books based on the TV show Charmed. So head on over read her reviews and enter to win!

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Once Upon a Read a thon Update 3/Wrap up




Well I didn't get as much read as I wanted to, (I had to paint a room and I was terrified I'd get paint on my books,) so I left the books in a different room rather then read at the same time. I also went to an author signing last night.

I read

If I stay
Fins are Forever
and I am nearly done with Instructions for a broken heart.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Once Upon a Read a thon Update 2




I haven't been able to read as much as I want as I have a TON of stuff that has to get done, BUT I just finished If I stay, and after I eat dinner, I am going to an author signing for local author Suzanne Young!
I am going to start Instructions for a broken heart today as well, but I will break to watch Pretty Little Liars.

Once Upon a Readathon Update

I have finished Fins are Forever (review to come) and have put a healthy dent in If I stay! Still wide awake so going to read more!!

Monday, July 11, 2011

Once Upon and Read a thon Mini Challange #1

Once Upon a Read-a-Thon 
 
 
 
 
Okay Kids  Bailey over at IB Book Blog has posted the first mini challage! YAY!!! Her challange is 2 questions. 

1) What is your favorite type of mythology?
My Answer : Greek! (The Greeks are the best! No, I am not Greek.)
2) What is your favorite book dealing with mythology?
My Answer: Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

Once Upon and Read a thon kick off

Once Upon a Read-a-Thon



It has begun! I am off to start with my first title Fins are Forever by Tera Lynn Childs. I have a stack next to me to read. I'm still sick, so I have no idea how much I'll be able to read before I fall asleep again, but I am going to do my best I finished one book today and read another already (With MANY breaks in between)

There is still time to sign up, just click on the button and you'll be taken to Reading Angel's blog where you can sign up!

Tris and Izzie (Early Review)



  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: EgmontUSA (October 11, 2011)
  • Overall rating *** 3 out of 5 stars
  • Cover art I like the boat and the flowers
  • Obtained From the publisher for review via Netgalley









Tris and Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

A modern retelling of the German fairytale "Tristan and Isolde", Tris and Izzie is about a young witch named Izzie who is dating Mark King, the captain of the basketball team and thinks her life is going swimmingly well. Until -- she makes a love potion for her best friend Brangane and then ends up taking it herself accidentally, and falling in love with Tristan, the new guy at school. (Synopsis provided by good reads)

Where to begin, for me this book was just okay. I didn't love it, but I didn't hate it either. My biggest problem was with Izzie, to me she seemed a lot younger then I think she was meant to, I felt she was too whinny and at times, annoying. 
Tristan, was a little bit better, he seemed his age and his dialouge was strong, I felt at times that the relationship with him and Izzie was forced. (Even with the love potion.) 
What I did like was the writing, I thought that the writing was strong and all of the characters had their own personality. I liked Mark's character, I think he was the most enjoyable for me. 
Even though this book was not my favorite, the strength in the writing and the fact that all of the characters knew who they were and all had a strong sense of who they were, is why this book went from 2 1/2 stars to 3.
If you are a fan of the fairy tale or a fan or re-tellings in general, I would say go ahead and give this one a try, maybe check it out from the library or wait for the paperback version.

Sunday, July 10, 2011

The Magnolia League

  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Poppy (May 3, 2011)
  • Author Katie Crouch
  • Overall rating ***1/2  3 1/2 out of 5 stars
  • Cover art Stunning
  • Obtained My personal book shelf











 The Magnolia League by Katie Crouch
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

After the death of her free-spirited mother, sixteen-year-old Alex Lee must leave her home in northern California to live with her wealthy grandmother in Savannah, Georgia. By birth, Alex is a rightful, if unwilling, member of the Magnolia League, Savannah's long-standing debutante society. She quickly discovers that the Magnolias have made a pact with a legendary hoodoo family, the Buzzards. The Magnolias enjoy youth, beauty and power. But at what price?

As in her popular adult novels, Crouch's poignant and humorous voice shines in this seductively atmospheric story about girls growing up in a magical Southern city. (Synopsis provided by goodreads.)

When I first heard about this book, I was immediately interested in it. I finished it fairly fast. Over all, I liked the book, but my biggest issue with the book is the pacing. It wasn't until over half way through the book (Past page 200) that we learned how and why the Magnolia League was formed. We know from the synopsis that there is a pact, I just wish we would have learned about the pact earlier in the book then we did. After we learn about the pact, the book flies by. 

Once the dots start to be connected, I enjoyed the book more. I liked the transformation Alex undergoes in the book and the reason it happens.

I felt that the characters were real and their interactions with one another felt real, the dialogue was strong as well. 
With a sudden ending after a huge bombshell is dropped, I look forward to the next book.

Saturday, July 9, 2011

In my Mailbox 31

In my mailbox is hosted weekly by The Story Siren.

**I'm pretty sick this week, so no links, just the book and how I received it.**


For review, I got two books via Netgalley they were:











Through the RAK program I got one book it was Thank you Grace.

I won two books from Goodreads they were: (Hourglass ARC *Signed*) (Measure of Magic ARC)



I bought a few as well they were:















Sorry it was so disorganized this week, leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

Lily

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Guest Post with author Jocelynn Drake

Today I am pleased to host author Jocelynn Drake! She is the author of the best-selling Dark Days novels. You can visit her website here.




Can I Learn to Love Again?

While I’m a few years away from being a debut author, I still feel fresh and new to the business of writing books as I have just closed out my first series and I am starting a new one.  I never expected it to be so difficult to end a series.  Sure, there are the usual complications of tying up all the loose ends I had created over the previous five books and trying to give as many characters as possible a satisfying ending.  But I quickly learned that there is more to the business of ending a series than just worrying about whether the plot you’ve woven is believable and satisfying.

There’s the heartbreaking business of saying good-bye.

The Dark Days series started as little more than a lark.  An experiment in writing.  I had been reading a lot of vampire stories and had been playing with this fiery red-headed character for a few weeks.  But I wanted something different.   I wanted to tell a story about this vampire hunter, but I wanted it to be told from the point of view of the vampire he was hunting. 

Funny thing is… Mira didn’t want to talk too much about Danaus.  It seems that the vampire had an amazing story of her own to tell, which just happened to include the vampire hunter.  Mira was born with a larger-than-life personality.  As soon as she opened her mouth in what started out as nothing more than a short story, this whole world exploded around me.  It was rich and beautiful and very dangerous.   You couldn’t trust anyone and the people that you could trust were usually your enemies with their own agendas.  

I never thought I would love someone so much of my own creation.

I have spent close to seven years working with Mira and Danaus.  I have seen them in good times and bad.  They’ve lost family, friends, and children.  They’ve laughed, cried, loved, and hated in nearly equal amounts.  The Dark Days series has allowed me to research far off places I have never trod.  Mira has travelled to all the cities I’ve dreamed of, but I have walked the streets that she calls home.  On a research trip, I travelled down to Mira’s home in Savannah and I fell in love all over again.  I wandered through the parks that dot the city, thinking of what they must look like to Mira glowing in the moonlight.  I sat back in an outdoor bar on River Street, watching the ships go by, wondering where all the vampires are.

Now that the series is over and I find myself wondering about all the characters from the series.  I feel that Mira and Danaus are in a good place.  But what about the others?  Will Tristan ever forgive me for what I’ve done to him?  Will Knox be safe in Savannah?  Will Nicolai ever find a place to call home?  Are Barrett and the other member of the Savannah Pack safe?  Will Valerio ever get over his love for Mira or will it continue to haunt him?  Will Cynnia and the other naturi ever find their way?

In the end, I like to think they will all be fine.  I’ve spent several years with them and learned that they all have a pretty good head on their shoulders.  I’ve enjoyed spending time with them.  It was a rocky road, but it was an amazing ride.

But it’s not over just quite yet.  The Dark Days series has officially closed with the release of Burn the Night, but I found that I wasn’t quite able to pack Mira away.  A number of fans of the series wanted to see Mira’s past – particularly her relationship with Valerio.  So, I’ve written a novella that is a prequel to the series that takes a look at her time with the sexy vampire.  It will be out this fall.

In the meantime, I’ve started a new series with an entirely new feel and new cast of characters.  The new series focuses on a world that is dominated by warlocks and witches, while being filled with all manner of magical creature.  However, it’s the tattoo artists that have caught my attention.  They are the equalizers in this world.  With just the right amount of cash and a quick potion, the tattoo artists can give you a tattoo that could earn you love, good luck, or maybe even hex an old ex.

So, to answer my first question, yes, I can love again.  But Mira and the gang, they will always hold a special place in my heart.  They were my first love.


Thank you so much for stopping by Jocelynn! 
Be sure to pick up your copy of her newest book Burn the Night.







Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Wildefire (Early Review)


Wildefire by Karsten Knight
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Ashline Wilde is having a rough sophomore year. She’s struggling to find her place as the only Polynesian girl in school, her boyfriend just cheated on her, and now her runaway sister, Eve, has decided to barge back into her life. When Eve’s violent behavior escalates and she does the unthinkable, Ash transfers to a remote private school nestled in California’s redwoods, hoping to put the tragedy behind her. But her fresh start at Blackwood Academy doesn’t go as planned. Just as Ash is beginning to enjoy the perks of her new school—being captain of the tennis team, a steamy romance with a hot, local park ranger—Ash discovers that a group of gods and goddesses have mysteriously enrolled at Blackwood…and she’s one of them. To make matters worse, Eve has resurfaced to haunt Ash, and she’s got some strange abilities of her own. With a war between the gods looming over campus, Ash must master the new fire smoldering within before she clashes with her sister one more time… And when warm and cold fronts collide, there’s guaranteed to be a storm. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I enjoyed this book, for me there were a few times that it felt long winded, but by the end of the book, I felt that Knight would not have been able to tell his story with out every word he used. I first about this book on my travels through the blogasphere and when I received a copy I was very excited. 
I loved the fact that this was a book dealing with gods and goddesses, however, it's not about the Greek gods. I do love a good re-telling of Greek myths, but there are other cultures who's myths are almost as good or just as good. 
Wildefire is the story about a Polynesian goddess, a Polynesian volcano goddess. Awesome right? It was! I loved how Ash always had a snarky remark but it never felt rude. Her sister kinda bugged me at times but I am still glad her character was there. I felt that the flow of the book was good and the voice was strong.
Ash's interactions with all the others felt real and never forced. The dialog was strong and I simply loved this book. Knight is an author to watch.


Overall rating ***** 5 out of 5 stars
Cover art Love it!
Obtained: Sent by the publisher for review. 


**This book is on sale July 26 2011**