Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday. 1

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the spine.


This is my first time doing WoW.  I am dying to read many books but I want to spotlight one today:

The name of the star by Maureen Johnson!
This sounds SO good and I have always been interested in the Ripper crimes and why they were never solved.

What are you waiting for?

Lily x

Reborn


 Reborn by Ley Mesina
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Lily Westbrook discovers that being half witch and half vampire is more of a challenge than she thought. When her powers mature on her eighteenth birthday, she unlocks a mystery that many witches thought was a legend. After moving back to her birthplace in Cedar Creek, MA to attend Kensington University, Lily is instantly pulled deeper into the world she was kept from—the world of witches and vampires—uncovering the truth about her past and discovering who she is meant to be. (Synopsis provided by amazon)

I really enjoyed this novella. I loved how some of the chapters began with diary entries, I always find that fascinating since it's a look into a character that the reader would not otherwise see.
I liked the originality of Lily being half vampire half witch (Which is unique since in Mesina's world vampires and witches are enemies.)
I found Lily to be a strong character and I loved Roxy! My one complaint about this novella is how short it ends which makes the ending happen  several pages before I wanted it to. I think this story has a lot to offer and I look forward to the next installments.

Overall rating **** 4 out of 5 stars
Cover art I like it, I really like the necklace!
Obtained I received a copy from the author for review. Thank you.

Witches of East End

Witches of East End by Melissa de la cruz
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

The three Beauchamp women— Joanna and her daughters Freya and Ingrid— live in North Hampton, out on the tip of Long Island. Their beautiful, mist-shrouded town seems almost stuck in time, and all three women lead seemingly quiet, uneventful existences. But they are harboring a mighty secret— they are powerful witches banned from using their magic. Joanna can resurrect people from the dead and heal the most serious of injuries. Ingrid, her bookish daughter, has the ability to predict the future and weave knots that can solve anything from infertility to infidelity. And finally, there’ s Freya, the wild child, who has a charm or a potion that can cure most any heartache.
For centuries, all three women have been forced to suppress their abilities. But then Freya, who is about to get married to the wealthy and mysterious Bran Gardiner, finds that her increasingly complicated romantic life makes it more difficult than ever to hide her secret. Soon Ingrid and Joanna confront similar dilemmas, and the Beauchamp women realize they can no longer conceal their true selves. They unearth their wands from the attic, dust off their broomsticks, and begin casting spells on the townspeople. It all seems like a bit of good-natured, innocent magic, but then mysterious, violent attacks begin to plague the town. When a young girl disappears over the Fourth of July weekend, they realize it’ s time to uncover who and what dark forces are working against them. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)
This is the authors first adult novel.

When I got this book I was excited as I love stories with witches, I was also leery. I was afraid this would be a re0telling of Updikes' Witches of Eastwick, however I was pleased to see that that was not the case.
I found this to be a fun novel, while the first few chapters are slow, once the magic begins the novel never stops, I was able was unable to put it down! There are some aspects of the novel involving Freya that bothered me, however they are explained at the end of the novel and now that I know the reasons for the aspects I have no issues with them and I think in the end Freya's character was redeemed.

I really liked Ingrid's character, I found her to be the quiet but fun one, and Joanna's character I just felt sorry for. All three of the women were strong characters and though this is the first of De le cruz's works I have read I look forward to reading more of here books.

I found all the characters to be believeable and I loved the interactions they had with one another. I also enjpyed how it touched on the Salem witch trials.

This is a fun novel that is for adults and it is fast paced with a surprise ending I never saw coming. I would say this is a fun beach read.

Over all rating **** 4 out of 5 stars

Cover art I love the cover art especially the eye very cool!

Obtained I received a copy from the publisher via librarything.




Tuesday, June 28, 2011

The Apothecary


 The Apothecary by Maile Meloy
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

It's 1952 and the Scott family has just moved from Los Angeles to London. Here, fourteen-year-old Janie meets a mysterious apothecary and his son, Benjamin Burrows - a fascinating boy who's not afraid to stand up to authority and dreams of becoming a spy. When Benjamin's father is kidnapped, Janie and Benjamin must uncover the secrets of the apothecary's sacred book, the Pharmacopoeia, in order to find him, all while keeping it out of the hands of their enemies - Russian spies in possession of nuclear weapons. Discovering and testing potions they never believed could exist, Janie and Benjamin embark on a dangerous race to save the apothecary and prevent impending disaster. Together with Ian Schoenherr's breathtaking illustrations, this is a truly stunning package from cover to cover. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I really liked the fact that it was set in a time which I have not read many books  about that time. The historical fiction aspect was interesting and it could lead younger readers to do research on the Cold War era. Which is always a plus to get people doing research.)
I enjoy stories with a "Spy" aspect and the fact that this one had kids playing spy was such fun! (This is a hard one to review without giving away anything)
The characters seemed believable and I would love it if there are any more books about them in the future. 


Overall rating *** 3 out of 5 stars
Cover art I like it I really like the bottle But the birds freak me out.
Obtained I got a copy from the publisher via Librarything. Thank you.

Ruby Red



Ruby Red by Kerstin  Gier
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Gwyneth Shepherd's sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era! Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon, the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.(Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I was so very excited to receive a copy of this book for review. I finished it quickly and enjoyed every page. There were a few times when the main character seemed to by younger then her age which was 16. I do like the idea of time travel and the descriptions provided by Gier in this book were amazing. 
I found Gwen to be a very good and strong character I found her interactions with the other characters in the book to be believable and I found the dialog to be very strong.
The ending did disappoint me a little. 


At times I was reminded of the novel Once a witch. (Again with the time travel) 
After finishing it I am eager to read the next two books in the series. 


Overall rating ***1/2 3 1/2 out of 5 stars
Cover art Very pretty!
Obtained received for review from the publisher.

Monday, June 27, 2011

Giveaway at Bookish

Over at Bookish, Evie is having a giveaway! She will have 5 yes 5 winners. There is an array of books that are up for grabs so head on over and sign up for her giveaway.

Falling for Hamlet (Early Review)


Falling for Hamlet by Michelle Ray
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.


 THIS IS A 2011 DEBUT!!!

Meet Ophelia: a blonde, beautiful high-school senior and long-time girlfriend of Prince Hamlet of Denmark. Her life is dominated not only by her boyfriend's fame and his overbearing family, but also by the paparazzi who hound them wherever they go. As the devastatingly handsome Hamlet spirals into madness after the mysterious death of his father, the King, Ophelia rides out his crazy roller coaster life, and lives to tell about it. In live television interviews, of course.
Passion, romance, drama, humor, and tragedy intertwine in this compulsively readable debut novel, told by a strong-willed, modern-day Ophelia. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

First off let me say that Hamlet is my favorite work by Shakespeare.
I LOVED this re-telling. Ray's Ophelia is a fun witty coffee obsessed character.  I loved being able to see the story through her eyes and see how she delt with everything that was going on. I never saw Hamlet as a sympathetic character in the original play, but Ray portrays him as one. Seeing how her Hamlet deals with the murder of the king, the remarriage of his mother and his relationship with Ophelia was truly enjoyable.
The twist with having Ophelia on a talk show telling her version of the events was interesting I loved how Ray told the story and the way her version of the classic characters came to life on the page.  I would love to hang out with her characters all of them had a new fresh life about them.

I really liked how Ray incorporated some scenes and lines from the original play, I was particularly interested to see how she would incorporate Hamlets famous "To be or not be." I was so excited to see that also included Hamlet telling Ophelia to be a nun and Ophelia's speech when she goes crazy about flowers and the line 'Rosemary that's for remembrance'. It was a very cool way that they were included. I absolutely loved the whole story and I look forward to more of Ray's works, I really hope she writes more re-tellings of Shakespeare. 

This is one of my favorite reads this year!

Overall rating ***** 5 out of 5 stars 
Cover art Love the cover art the black and white contrasted by the gold and red of the throne is awesome. 
Obtained: My personal book shelf. (Received my pre-order a few weeks early)

Saturday, June 25, 2011

In my mailbox 29

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.



This week I got 6 books I bought all 6. (Maybe one week I  can stop)

The first book I got was The fallen Vol. 1 by Thomas Sniegoski.













I also got myself a copy of Miss Peregrine's home for peculiar children by Ransom Riggs.












I also got a copy of Forgotten by Cat Patrick I got the UK cover as I dislike the US cover.













I also got a copy of Siren by Tricia Rayburn.













I also got Heist Society by Ally Carter.












My pre-order came a few weeks early I got Falling for Hamlet by Michelle Ray.














That's what was in my mailbox this week leave me a note and let me know what you got and I will have a look.

Lily x

Sunday, June 19, 2011

Passion

Passion by Lauren Kate
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews
Luce would die for Daniel. And she has. Over and over again. Throughout time, Luce and Daniel have found each other, only to be painfully torn apart: Luce dead, Daniel left broken and alone. But perhaps it doesn’t need to be that way. . . .

Luce is certain that something—or someone—in a past life can help her in her present one. So she begins the most important journey of this lifetime . . . going back eternities to witness firsthand her romances with Daniel . . . and finally unlock the key to making their love last.

Cam and the legions of angels and Outcasts are desperate to catch Luce, but none are as frantic as Daniel. He chases Luce through their shared pasts, terrified of what might happen if she rewrites history.

Because their romance for the ages could go up in flames . . . forever. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



This is by far my favorite of the books. I loved exploring the past lives of Luce and Daniel. I wish we could have seen more of the live in Tahiti. That chapter was so sweet! One of my favorites had to be the live (and death) in France but I think the most beautiful was the one in Egypt. That whole scene in Egypt was gorgeous.  
The love that Daniel has for Luce is one that every woman dreams of. What I liked most about the book, is Kate actually shows not only Luce but her readers as well just how much Daniel loves her, we see that their love is in fact real and that they choose each other every time. In most love stories, the author just tells us that they love each other and we blindly accept it, but Kate takes the time to prove to us just how deep and pure their love for each other is.
The book had a huge (like Everest sized) twist at the end that I so did not see coming. 
At one point in the book we see Daniel in Paris and I think that scene was one that made me go damn, why can't all men be like that? 
This book was beyond beautiful and I want to read it again right now, and I want to read Rapture now. Such a beautiful love story.
Overall rating ***** 5 out of 5 stars
Cover art I think for me this is my least favorite of the cover art, I wish Luce wasn't facing the camera, it looks a little odd to me next to the others.
Obtained My personal library.

Saturday, June 18, 2011

In my Mailbox 28

In my Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at the The Story Siren.



Okay, so this week I went a little nuts and bought WAY too many books. I bought 9. I won 2 and received 2 for review. So, since it's a huge week, I'm not going to leave links, just the picture of the cover, besides, I am on chapter 17 of Passion and I have to know what happens next.....

So for review I got:

Reborn by Ley Mesina. Thank you Ley for the copy.

I also got a copy of Ruby Red by Kirstin Gier thank you to the publisher!

I won a copy of The Sweet Scent of Blood by Suzanne McLeod Thank youRabid Reader!
She also sent a copy of The Cold Kiss of death book 2 in the series!

Now for the books I bought.







13 reasons why by Jay Asher
Blood magic by Tessa Gratton
Carrot Cake Murder by Joanne Fluke
Flawless by Sara Shepard
Jenny Pox by JL Bryan
Passion by Lauren Kate (review now up!)
Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard (Yes, I got the TV Tie in covers as dolls scare the hell out of me and I was NOT going to buy the books with the doll covers.)
Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce
Sea by Heidi R. Kling.

Friday, June 17, 2011

HAX HALL 3 HAS A NAME!

Author Rachel Hawkins just announced the name of Hex Hall 3!! It will be called SPELL BOUND! She said the cover should be released soon and the book goes on sale March 13 2012!!

Sunday, June 12, 2011

I shall not hate

I shall not hate by Izzeldin Abuelaish
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

By turns inspiring and heart-breaking, hopeful and horrifying, I Shall Not Hate is Izzeldin Abuelaish's account of an extraordinary life. A Harvard-trained Palestinian doctor who was born and raised in the Jabalia refugee camp in the Gaza Strip and "who has devoted his life to medicine and reconciliation between Israelis and Palestinians" (New York Times), Abuelaish has been crossing the lines in the sand that divide Israelis and Palestinians for most of his life - as a physician who treats patients on both sides of the line, as a humanitarian who sees the need for improved health and education for women as the way forward in the Middle East. And, most recently, as the father whose daughters were killed by Israeli soldiers on January 16, 2009, during Israel's incursion into the Gaza Strip. His response to this tragedy made news and won him humanitarian awards around the world. Instead of seeking revenge or sinking into hatred, Abuelaish called for the people in the region to start talking to each other. His deepest hope is that his daughters will be "the last sacrifice on the road to peace between Palestinians and Israelis." (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I became interested in this book after I participated in the Holocaust remembrance week, a week that reflected on the tragic time and had an ending message of a much needed peace.
This book was written by a man who lost everything even with his daughters being killed in an attack, he vowed to himself not to hate. That says so much about him, to be able to go through that and not hate the person or persons that carried out the attack is amazing.
Abuelaish credits his Muslim faith with his ability to not hate, he is calling for an end to the violance and the hatred on both sides of the conflict.
His story is both sad and moving, there were many times in this book I cried. The description he paints of the attack is truly one of the saddest things I have ever read. Abuelaish writes in a way that reader feels like they are there with him in his memories seeing what he is describing. I highly recommend this book to everyone. This is a book that should be taught in schools all over the world. I shall not hate is truly one of the best books I have ever read.


Overall rating ***** 5 out of 5 stars
Cover art I liked the cover art.
Obtained I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review thank you Michelle.

Saturday, June 11, 2011

In My Mailbox 27

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.



Okay kids strap in this is a long one. So I went to the Dark Days of Supernatural tour this week it was so much fun, Aprilynne Pike, Veronica Roth, Amy Plum, Tara Hudson and Ellen Schreiber were there.
This week I won 3 books and bought 6.

I'll start with the 3 I won.  First book I won was The Sweetness of tears by Nafisa Haji. Thank you booktrib.
The second book I won was The Apothecary by Maile Meloy. Thank you Librarything.

Now for the book I bought. I didn't get a chance to read this one before it was due at the library so I bought a used copy for a few dollars. I bought myself a copy of Skinny by Diana Spechler.
I also got myself a copy of Ironside by Holly Black. 
I also bought myself a copy of Corsets and Clockwork
I also picked up a copy of The Magnolia League by Katie Crouch. 
Finally at the signing I picked up 2 books.
First I picked up a copy of Die for me by Amy Plum.
Lastly, I picked up a copy of Hereafter by Tara Hudson.
Well that's what I got in my mailbox, leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

Lily.

Friday, June 10, 2011

Clockwork Angel




Magic is dangerous--but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London's Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What's more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa's power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by--and torn between--two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm's length...everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world...and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)







         I must say that I enjoyed this book. I found Tessa to be an interesting character and the searching for her brother storyline was a fun one. I really liked Will and Jem, I found the pair of them to be fun. Jess kinda bugged me, but I think she's suppose to bug the reader. 
I had no idea the book was going to end the way it did, I was very surprised with the turn it took. I found the dialog to be good, a little long in some parts but very good over all. I loved the writing style and Clare's storytelling. I found all of the interactions between characters to be very believable and I found myself rooting for them. 
I am very excited to read the next book in the series due out Dec.6!

Overall rating **** 4 out of 5 stars
Cover art I liked the cover art very pretty.
Obtained My personal book shelf.

Monday, June 6, 2011

Wasn't going to post this but I can't help it. Casting of Jace.

Okay, for the past few days I have seen people whine and bitch about the actor who was cast to play Jace. As everyone knows by now he will be protrayed by Jamie Campbell Bower who has played in the Twilight movie New Moon & Breaking Dawn and he is going to be in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2. He also had a role next to Johnny Depp in Sweeney Todd. He is currently in the tv show Camelot.
 I really fail to understand the issue people have with him. Personally, I think he will do a wonderful job. Cassandra Clare has already given her stamp of approval. He tried out with Lily who is playing Clary and Cassandra Clare said she liked the pair of them.
It's pretty sad when the fans freak out and don't give the guy a chance. I mean come on, everyone deserves a chance right?
 He has done different roles and he has done a fantastic job with each of them. I don't think Clare would be okay with him playing her Jace if she didn't think he was perfect for the role. After all she created Jace and she knows his character better then anyone.

So people chill out and give the guy a chance. I am sure he will do a fantastic job in portraying Jace.

What do you all think?

Saturday, June 4, 2011

In My Mailbox 26

In my Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.



This week I got 6 books. I bought 4 of them won one and was sent one for review by the publisher.
Lets start with the 4 I bought.
First up is Rage. by Jackie Morse Kessler.  I have previously reviewed this book, but I bought myself a finished copy.

I also got myself a finished copy of Queen of the Dead byStacey Kade.
I also got myself a copy of Wither by Lauren DeStefano.
I also got myself a copy of Balefire by Cate Tiernan.

Well that is it for me this week leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox!

Lily