Monday, May 30, 2011

Win an Arc of Wither and Fever

Hey lovely people, Lauren is giving away an Arc of both Wither and Fever on her blog, it ends tonight at midnight, so  hop on over and enter to win Her fantabulous giveaway!

Saturday, May 28, 2011

Negative reviews

I'd like to take a moment and start a dialog. Negative reviews. Now, I think that most people are tactful when they have a negative review, they politely state what they didn't like and why they didn't like it followed by what they liked or links to positive reviews.
Recently, I have stumbled across a few bloggers that always have negative reviews. Which is fine, but instead of being tactful, they personally attack the authors, personally, I don't think that is ever appropriate. For example I saw a review where they suggested bodily harm to the author instead of allowing the author to ever write again.
Now, I understand there are going to be books that bloggers will not like, I've read some myself, but you don't have to be rude and personally attack anyone. Now, when people have negative reviews that are rude, I have found that a sad truth seems to be that they get high praise for it. People seem to thrive off of the negativity it's terrible. Why is it that today people seem to feed off of negativity? It all feels very juvenile. Why can't people be polite and tactful when saying why they didn't like a certain book? It also baffles me on why someone will read 4 and 5 books by the same author and have negative reviews for all of them. I mean, if you read 2 books by an author and didn't like either of them, wouldn't you stop reading that author? Why be rude? Just to make yourself feel better? It's the age old thing, tearing others down to make yourself feel better. By being rude, you're giving all bloggers a bad name.

What do you all think?

The Strange Case of Finley Jayne.



Finley Jayne knows she's not 'normal'. Normal girls don't lose time, or have something inside them that makes them capable of remarkably violent things. Her behavior has already cost her one job, so when she's offered the lofty position of companion to Phoebe, a debutante recently engaged to Lord Vincent, she accepts, despite having no experience. Lord Vincent is a man of science with his automatons and inventions, but Finley is suspicious of his motives where Phoebe is concerned. She will do anything to protect her new friend, but what she discovers is even more monstrous than anything she could have imagined…(Synopsis provided by goodreads)

*Only available as an e-book. This is a novella and about 78 pages. 

The Strange Case of Finley Jayne by Kady Cross
Reviewed by Moirae the Fates Book reviews

This is a hard one to review with out giving away anything, so it will be a short one. This is a novella and the prequel to The Girl in the Steel Corset. I really enjoyed this story! Cross has a very fertile imagination and she makes you want to know more about Finely. She paints a vivid picture of Victorian era London.
The story flows right into Girl in the Steel Corset. Cross leaves her readers on the edge of their seat wanting to know what happens next. The chemistry with the characters felt very real and never forced. The dialog was great and each characters voice was very strong. Cross isn't afraid of allowing her characters to have flaws. She grips her readers and makes them want more of the story. I would recommend this story to readers of Steampunk and fans of Scott Westerfeld and Cassandra Clare.

Overall rating: ***** 5 out of five stars
Cover art: I like it very simple.
Obtained: My personal library

In my Mailbox 25

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.



I got four books this week I bought three and received one for review.


The first book I bought is supernatural one year gone by Rebecca Dessertine.














The second book I bought is A Delusion of Satan by Frances Hill.














The third book I bought is a finished copy of Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross.














For review I received a copy of  I shall not hate by Izzeldin Abuelaish.



Thank you Michelle!










That's what was in my mailbox leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox!

Lily xx

Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Sunday, May 22, 2011

In my Mailbox 24

In my mailbox is hosted weekly by The Story Siren.

This is a fast one, I got 4 books this week, 2 for review and I bought 2.

For review I got a copy of The Twisted Thread (ARC) by Charlotte Bacon. From the publisher Via Shelf awareness.



From Netgalley I received an e-copy ARC of Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross (This will be released on Tuesday!


I got a copy of The Strange Case of Finley Jane by Kady Cross (E-book Novella FREE on Amazon and Harlequin teen.
I also bought a copy of City of Glass by Cassandra Clare.



That's what was in my mailbox, leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

I ALSO GOT A JOB THIS WEEK!!!!!

Lily x

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Abandon

Abandon by Meg Cabot
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews



New from #1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot, a dark, fantastical story about this world . . . and the underworld.

Though she tries returning to the life she knew before the accident, Pierce can't help but feel at once a part of this world, and apart from it. Yet she's never alone . . . because someone is always watching her. Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.

But now she's moved to a new town. Maybe at her new school, she can start fresh. Maybe she can stop feeling so afraid.

Only she can't. Because even here, he finds her. That's how desperately he wants her back. She knows he's no guardian angel, and his dark world isn't exactly heaven, yet she can't stay away . . . especially since he always appears when she least expects it, but exactly when she needs him most.

But if she lets herself fall any further, she may just find herself back in the one place she most fears: the Underworld.(Synopsis provided by goodreads)

First off I wanted to like this book more then I did, for me it was just okay. I felt like there was just too much back story and it could have been condensed into about 50 pages. The flash backs were hard to follow, I had a hard time figuring out where one ended and where another one started.
I found the middle and the last chapter the best part. The last chapter does give me hope for the second book.
However, I think I may wait for the paperback of book two. I felt like I was missing something in this book, like there was a chapter or 3 missing from my copy.
I think part of my opinion stems from the fact that I LOVE Greek myths and the Persephone myth is my favorite of them all. (Well a tie with Achilles.)
The writing itself was good, the dialog was great, I do wish we had more chemistry between Pierce and John.
I'll keeping watching Cabots books and I will read book two.

Overall rating *** 3 out of 5 stars
Cover art: Simply gorgeous can I get a poster?
Obtained: My personal bookshelf.

Hope this works

Okay so I have created a twitter account, I'm attempting to link y'all to me. Not sure if it will work. 'Tis a little confusing. I hope this works.
Over there it's under moiraethefates. PLEASE let me know if the link works or not.

Monday, May 16, 2011

Once Upon a read a thon

Over at Reading Angel there is a read a thon coming up! I signed up for it, it sounds wikid! You should head on over and sign up too! Wikid cool read a thon.

Sunday, May 15, 2011

Siege of Darkness





Tragedy strikes Zithel, and the city of monks goes up in flames. The Earth-Wizard Mazarian has disappeared, and the army of Asgoth has taken back the Wizard Crystals of the Elements, ready to deliver them into the hands of their master: the Demon Lord Abaddon, where they will be corrupted and used against the very elements they were created to protect, deforming the world to a blackened void. As Darshun Luthais—the chosen Guardian of earth—emerges from the mystical Shajin Island, having completed his training, ready to combat the forces of evil, he not only finds himself in the center of this chaos, but is also torn in different directions. Part of him longs to obey the wisdom of the Elders by relocating the crystals and fleeing Asgoth, while his Nasharin nature thirsts for battle, eager to take on the many trials that stand in his way, keeping him from what he desires most, challenging Abaddon, the ultimate terror. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I was very excited to receive a copy of this book. I just had to find out what happened to all of the characters, especially my favorite Darshun. This book picked up right where the first one left off! We get to see more of our old friends from the first book and we meet new characters. 
I really enjoyed seeing the growth and development in Darshun. He still has his demeanor from the first book showing through, but he's also growing as a character. 
All of the action in this book was very well done and the dialog was great. I found again that the author got to the point of what he wanted the reader to know with out giving us too much information. 
The whole book flowed seamlessly and I never felt that it was slow. All of the relationships between the characters, felt true and never forced. I can't wait till book three! I have to know what happens next!


Overall rating ***** 5 out of 5 stars
Cover art I found the cover art to be very mysterious looking, I think it fit the book very well.
Obtained I received a copy for review from the author thank you!

Saturday, May 14, 2011

In My Mailbox 23

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.







I got 2 books this week

I won a copy of The Witches of East End by Melissa De Le Cruz from LibraryThing Early reviewers Thank you!














I bought a copy of  Tithe (Signed! *SQUEE*) by Holly Black.

Imaginary Girls Early Review




Chloe's older sister, Ruby, is the girl everyone looks to and longs for, who can't be captured or caged. When a night with Ruby's friends goes horribly wrong and Chloe discovers the dead body of her classmate London Hayes left floating in the reservoir, Chloe is sent away from town and away from Ruby.But Ruby will do anything to get her sister back, and when Chloe returns to town two years later, deadly surprises await. As Chloe flirts with the truth that Ruby has hidden deeply away, the fragile line between life and death is redrawn by the complex bonds of sisterhood.
With palpable drama and delicious craft, Nova Ren Suma bursts onto the YA scene with the story that everyone will be talking about. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

This is possibly one of the most beautiful books I have read this spring. The imagery that Suma weaves is beautiful. The story is captivating and the reader can really connect with the characters. The characters in this book are have a lot of depth, and the relationships between them are all very real.
Part of the beauty of the book is that is it has dark undertones. Because of the dark undertones, I don't think it's a book for everyone, but I really enjoyed it.
The book does have it's slow moments. Readers who enjoy ghost stories would would like this book.
This book is due out June 14 2011

Overall review **** 4 out of 5 stars
Cover art One of the best this year
Obtained I won an ARC from Librarything thank you.


Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Swag Giveaway Update

The winner has been contacted and has 24 hours send me her information, if I don't hear from her a new winner will be chosen.

Monday, May 9, 2011

Swag Giveaway reminder.

The giveaway for swag ends tonight at midnight! To see what you can win and to enter see the original post here.

Saturday, May 7, 2011

In my Mailbox 22

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.







This week I got 3 books, one for review, I won one and I got one from the library!

I won a copy of Sliver Zombie by Carole Nelson Douglas. Thanks Vicki!!












I got a copy of Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz from the library.










I was sent a copy of  Siege of Darkness by J.W. Baccaro. Thank you Mr. Baccaro!

That is what was in my mailbox, leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox.
Lily

Queen of the Dead Early Review

After being sent back from the light, Alona Dare - former homecoming queen, current Queen of the Dead - finds herself doing something she never expected: working. Instead of spending days perfecting her tan by the pool (her typical summer routine when she was, you know, alive), Alona must now cater to the needs of other lost spirits. By her side for all of this - ugh - “helping of others” is Will Killian: social outcast, seer of the dead, and someone Alona cares about more than she’d like.
Before Alona can make a final ruling on Will’s “friend” or “more” status, though, she discovers trouble at home. Her mom is tossing out Alona’s most valuable possessions, and her dad is expecting a new daughter with his wicked wife. Is it possible her family is already moving on? Hello! She’s only been dead for two months! Thankfully, Alona knows just the guy who can put a stop to this mess.
Unfortunately for Alona, Will has other stuff on his mind, and Mina, a young (and beautiful) seer, is at the top of the list. She’s the first ghost-talker Will’s ever met—aside from his father—and she may hold answers to Will’s troubled past. But can she be trusted? Alona immediately puts a check mark in the “clearly not” column. But Will is - ahem - willing to find out, even if it means leaving a hurt and angry Alona to her own devices, which is never a good idea.
Packed with romance, lovable characters, and a killer cliffhanger, Queen of the Dead is the out-of-this-world sequel to The Ghost and the Goth. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)



I LOVED this book! It picks up right were book one ended and like book one, it leaves the reader wanting to know what happens right away. This has an even bigger cliff hanger then the first!
Alona and Will are back and better then ever in the sequal! We get to learn more about Will's family and more about Alona's past. 
Queen of the Dead is packed with new friends and a spot light is shown on an old one. So much happens in this one that it's hard to put down. 
Kade makes us laugh again in this one and we get to see how Alona and Will's characters develop further in the sequel, the dialog never misses, Kade has done it again!


Overall rating ***** 5 out of 5 stars
Cover art I just love how cute the cover art is for this book!
Obtained From the publisher via Netgalley Thank you!

Holocaust Remembrance Week Wrap-Up





I just wanted to take a moment to wrap up the week. I featured books and movies about the Shoah. 
One thing I want people to take away from this is that we have to remember what happened, we have to tell the stories of the survivors and the stories of those that were murdered in cold blood. The survivours are getting older and starting to die off, soon there will be no one left that was there to tell their story, so it's up to us to tell it, to keep it from happening again.
6 million Jews were killed, 6 million lives were lost, 6 million chances for great things, who knows we could have had a cure for cancer, a cure to Alzheimer's. How many great artists did we loose? How many great inventors? How many comedians? This never should have happened and should never happen again.
I want to dedicate my participation in this to the 6 million who are not here to tell their story.

Schindler's List Film







Liam Neeson stars as Oskar Schindler, a greedy German factory owner made rich by exploiting cheap Jewish labor. But as World War II unfolds, he becomes an unlikely humanitarian, spending his entire fortune to help save 1,100 Jews from Auschwitz. Co-starring Ralph Fiennes, Steven Spielberg's holocaust epic won seven Academy Awards (including Best Picture) and is an unforgettable testament to the possibility of human goodness. (Synopsis provided by netflix)


This is probably the most famous of movies based on the Holocaust. It's very long and very sad, done in black and white, it's also the most powerful and possibly the most graphic film on the holocaust.
It's such a good movie and it really shows how one person can make a difference and how in the darkest time of the last century, there was some good. 
Everyone should watch this movie at least once.

Life is Beautiful film


In this poignant tragicomedy, a clever Jewish Italian waiter named Guido (Roberto Benigni, who also directs and won an Oscar for his role) is sent to a Nazi concentration camp during World War II, along with his wife (Nicoletta Braschi) and their young son (Giorgio Cantarini). Refusing to give up hope, Guido tries to protect his son's innocence by pretending that their imprisonment is an elaborate game, with the grand prize being a tank. (Synopsis provided by Netflix)


This is such an amazing movie. The father is strong and will do anything to protect his son and keep the boy from being afraid.
Everyday, the father keeps up his story telling his son how many points they have and how close they are to winning the tank. 
This is a very sad film, however there is a sliver lining at the end and the viewer is left with some hope.
I would recommend this film to anyone, it is in Italian with subtitles.

Wishing upon a star a tale of the holocaust and hope



This is a book that is written so younger children can read it ages 8 and up I would say. However, people of all ages should read it.
I was lucky enough to meet Eline Hoekstra. She shared her story in a history class I took. The sheer strength she has is amazing. Her story made me cry and after she was done,  I got to stay behind and speak with her a bit more.
She told me how when she was in a work camp, she made sure to laugh everyday. She said they would make fun of the Nazis and Hitler and laugh, it was a small victory for them.
She told the class how she had a baby and he was blond with blue eyes, she hid him with a Dutch woman down the road, after the war was over she got her son back.
The woman who hid her son has since passed away, but Eline was able to get her name on the list of the rightous in Israel. (A list of gentiles who helped Jews during the war.)
This is a fast but powerful read. Meeting a survivor and hearing her story is an experience that I am grateful I had.

Friday, May 6, 2011

Swag Giveaway!

 CONTEST CLOSED

I was going through my desk today and I found swag! So, I am doing a giveaway.

What you can win:
Night Betrayed cover flat.
Across the Universe sticker Signed
The Bleeding Dusk by Colleen Gleason bookmark
The envy chronicles by Joss Ware bookmark
Bad taste in boys bookmark Signed

How to enter, simply leave a comment below. I want to keep this simple so no extra entries, following is not required, but appreciated. 
Giveaway ends May 10. Open to US address only (Sorry, I can't afford international postage!)

*I am not responsable for lost or damaged prizes. I reserve the right to end the giveaway early or extend it and to disqualify anyone as I see fit. (example, if you're rude to others on the blog ect.)

Lily

Thursday, May 5, 2011

Girl in the Steel Corset Trailer



Hello loveies! So, Kady has just posted the trailer for Girl in the Steel Corset on her blog and OH.MY.GOSH! I want this book even more now! (If that were possible.) Go over to her site and watch the trailer!

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Devil's Arithmetic Film

Jewish-American teen Hannah Stern (Kirsten Dunst) isn't much interested in her family's religious tradition. But her blasé attitude changes radically when she's suddenly transported back to a 1941 Nazi concentration camp. There, Hannah learns firsthand the horrors of the holocaust and the price her family and other Jews paid because of their heritage. Brittany Murphy, Louise Fletcher and Mimi Rogers co-star in director Donna Deitch's film. (Synopsis provided by Netflix)


The idea for this film (Based a novel by Jane Yolen.) is an interesting one. I enjoyed this film and the power that it holds. Today, there are many young people that don't care about the Holocaust or Shoah. But, by not caring, the tragedy is that they will forget, by forgetting, it is an opening for history to repeat itself. Which is something that the world can never let happen again. 
The film shows Hannah, what her relatives when through and it teaches her to appreciate passover and and the freedom she has to celebrate it. A truly moving film.

Surviving the Angel of Death




Eva Mozes Kor was 10 years old when she arrived in Auschwitz. While her parents and two older sisters were taken to the gas chambers, she and her twin, Miriam, were herded into the care of the man known as the Angel of Death, Dr. Josef Mengele. Mengele's twins were granted the privileges of keeping their own clothes and hair, but they were also subjected to sadistic medical experiments and forced to fight daily for their own survival, as most of the twins died as a result of the experiements or from the disease and hunger pervasive in the camp. In a narrative told with emotion and restraint, readers will learn of a child's endurance and survival in the face of truly extraordinary evil. The book also includes an epilogue on Eva's recovery from this experience and her remarkable decision to publicly forgive the Nazis. Through her museum and her lectures, she has dedicated her life to giving testimony on the Holocaust, providing a message of hope for people who have suffered, and working toward goals of forgiveness, peace, and the elimination of hatred and prejudice in the world. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


I read this book in a few hours. The story that Kor tells is heart breaking. Her mother was led to believe by a evil man that twins was a good thing in the camp. Kor was forced to undergo horrific medical experiments when she was just a small girl.
The picture on the cover is her and her twin when the camp was liberated. She now has a museum and there is a wonderful documentary she made called "Forgiving Dr. Mengele. The fact she is able to forgive the man that put her through that is simply amazing. I have so much respect for her.
I highly recommend this book and the documentary to anyone.

Monday, May 2, 2011

Night Elie Wiesel

The first review in honor of Holocaust Remembrance week.











Night A terrifying account of the Nazi death camp horror that turns a young Jewish boy into an agonized witness to the death of his family...the death of his innocence...and the death of his God. Penetrating and powerful, as personal as The Diary Of Anne Frank, Night awakens the shocking memory of evil at its absolute and carries with it the unforgettable message that this horror must never be allowed to happen again. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)






The first time I read this book, I was 16. I found it to be one of the most profound and moving books I had and have ever read.
Night is also probably the hardest book I have ever read. The raw emotion that Wiesel shows in his book is unlike anything I have ever found. His story is a sad one, sad, doesn't even convey just how sad it is. 
To see how Wiesel has now gone on a life long campaign for peace is simply amazing. He won the Nobel Prize for Peace in 1986. 
He lived through the camps, sadly 6 million others did not. 
I believe that everyone should read this book. Bear in mind it is very hard to read, but to see what he went through and to see how he has dedicated his life to peace, is a reminder of how one person can make a difference.
Wiesel is truly and inspiration.

Can't wait till Friday COVER! Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick!

Sunday, May 1, 2011

Random Acts of Kindness

Okay, so the ladies over at Book Soulmates have this awesome thing called Random Acts of Kindness. It's so bloggers can send each other a book as a R.A.K if they want. I think it sounds like an awesome idea. So I figure I'll give it a try. Here are the rules, I copied and pasted from their site.You can find their post here.






Rules:
• Sign up each month you'd like to participate in.

• Show off your participation! Grab one of the buttons available :)

• Create a wishlist and post it in the Google Doc located in each R.A.K post for the month.
{Post on your blog, Amazon, where ever as long as there's a link to it.}

• If you choose to do a R.A.K for someone, check out their wishlist and contact that blogger for their address. 

• At the end of the month, SHOW US YOUR R.A.K!
{Make a post saying 'Thank You' to whoever granted one of your wishes :)

OPEN TO EVERYONE!
Lets's keep our International bloggers in mind and in our hearts.
Remember, there's always the Book Depository and they offer FREE shipping!
Thank you Uniflame for pointing that out!! :P

FYI: One RAK will be chosen and showcased! Yayyy!
That's it!

Okay, so here is my wishlist.

This month Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross is out and I am DYING to read it!


My list.

Holocaust Remembrance Week







This week on The Introverted Reader, there will be a week of remembrance for the Holocaust. I have joined her and you can find a link to her original post in my sidebar. I have a few books to review that are not part of this and some that are. I have deadlines with some of the reviews and they need to be posted. All of the posts that are apart of  the remembrance, I'll post a picture with.

I myself and not Jewish, however I have a few friends who are and one of them had a family member that was in a work camp during that time.
I have done my best to educate myself on what went on during this time, I took a class that was specifically about the history of the Holocaust, in that class, I had the opportunity to meet a survivor and listen to her story. I have never met a stronger woman in my life. I will be reviewing her book later this week.
About a year ago, I wrote to Mr. Elie Wiesel, and to my surprise, he wrote back to me. One thing he said that made a lot of sense is that hate can begin with something as small as saying: "I don't like that person, they have a weird accent, or they dress bad, or they are from this state or this country." I think at one point in time everyone has a thought of "Wow people from this place are strange or wow that is an odd religion."
This is an important week. Many people are forgetting or simply not speaking about it. If we ignore it, history can repeat itself. The world cannot let that happen! Over 6 million people were murdered by an evil regime.
When I was in high school, I had a teacher who was a Holocaust denier. He taught history. I was stunned.
Throughout the week I will post reviews of books and movies that are about the Holocaust.
We must always remember the lives lost.

Lily