Saturday, March 19, 2011

Going on hiatus




I am going on a hiatus for about 8 weeks, I will not have internet access for the duration. I will be back as soon as I get internet access. So stay tuned for more reviews, author interviews and giveaways!
My 123 follower giveaway is on hold since I don't have internet, but it WILL resume when I return. Sorry for any inconvenience, but this is for work. 

Lily x

In my mailbox 20

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.








This will be fast, I got 2 books this week and I won both of them.

First is a copy of Marked by PC Cast. Thank you June!














Second I won a copy of American Heiress by Dasiy Goodwin thank you St. Martin's Press via Shelf awareness.













That's what I got in my mailbox leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

Lily

Like Mandarin


Like Mandarin by Kirsten Hubbard
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

It's hard finding beauty in the badlands of Washokey, Wyoming, but 14-year-old Grace Carpenter knows it's not her mother's pageant obsessions, or the cowboy dances adored by her small-town classmates. True beauty is wild-girl Mandarin Ramey: 17, shameless and utterly carefree. Grace would give anything to be like Mandarin. When they're united for a project, they form an unlikely, explosive friendship, packed with nights spent skinny-dipping in the canal, liberating the town's animal-head trophies, and searching for someplace magic. Grace plays along when Mandarin suggests they run away together. Blame it on the crazy-making wildwinds plaguing their Badlands town. Because all too soon, Grace discovers Mandarin's unique beauty hides a girl who's troubled, broken, and even dangerous. And no matter how hard Grace fights to keep the magic, no friendship can withstand betrayal. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

This is a debut novel! I really enjoyed this book. I found it to be a fast read but also a read that makes you think. I saw a vlog with Kirsten Hubbard who described her book as dealing with heavy topics but also being light-hearted. I think that is probably the best way to describe it.

The book does deal with heavy topics and Hubbard does allude to some difficult things such as rape (At least that is how I interpreted a scene towards the start of the book)
I really liked the character of Mandarin and how she is care-free one moment, but can get really angry the next.

I was a teenage girl at one point and I think Hubbard did an awesome job in capturing the intensity and the frailness of friendships between females, and teen females to be more precise.

I found Grace’s mother to be self-centered and to blame Grace for a lot. Her little sister I found to be adorable.

The book had a lot of parts that will make you smile and parts that make you stop and think. There were also some parts that will make your heart ache for the characters. I loved the book and I look forward to Hubbard’s future works.

Overall rating ***** 5 out of 5 stars

Cover art: I like the simplicity of it.

Obtained: Personal book shelf.

Prophecy of the Guardian


Prophecy of the guardian by J.W Baccaro
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

The Second Great War between the Light and the Dark has begun, and Abaddon the Demon Lord is searching for the four ancient Wizard Crystals of the Elements.
Once the Crystals are in his hands, and corrupted to evil, he will destroy the forces of Light upon the earth, and transform the world into eternal darkness.

But Darshun Luthais, one of the last Nasharin warriors, along with a few companions, sets out on a quest to find the Crystals first. Along the journey they encounter giant six-legged serpents, the ruthless Cullach, and other entities of darkness; yet the most challenging obstacle is Darshun's constant struggle against temptations of evil, and his vow to hold to the faith of all who are calling him the Guardian—the prophesied warrior who will bring down the Demon Lord. (Synopsis provided by Whiskey Creek press.com)

This book started off running and it never stopped! I loved it! I found the book to highly original and a book where you sit down to read one chapter and 100 pages later, you’re still reading. It was one of the hardest books to put down, I have read this year.

Like many others, I also loved the Nasharin race, the background of the wizards was also a very original concept.
I think what I liked most about the book is the fact that I found all the situations and all the characters to be very believable. Baccaro has very strong dialog and I found the descriptions to be very well written. I really liked the character of Darshun don’t want to say too much there, or I’ll give the whole thing away!
My only complaint is that I felt the book just ended. I understand that the author was asked to split the book up into installments and I don’t have an issue with that, I just hate having to wait to find out what happens next to my favorite characters.

I think that fans of Terry Goodkind would find this to be enjoyable.

Overall rating ***** 5 out of 5 stars
Coverart: I really liked the cover art very creative and I think it draws the reader in.
Obtained: I was sent an copy for review by Mr. Baccaro Thank you!
You can find a sample chapter at Whiskey Creek Press (The publisher)  
You can also go to The author's site to find out more about the world and when the next books will be released.

Friday, March 18, 2011

'Salme's Lot




'Salem's Lot by Stephen King
reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Something strange is going on in Jerusalem's Lot ... but no one dares to talk about it. By day, 'Salem's Lot is a typical modest, New England town; but when the sun goes down, evil roams the earth. The devilishly sweet insistent laughter of a child can be heard echoing through the fields, and the presence of silent looming spirits can be felt lurking right outside your window. Stephen King brings his gruesome imagination to life in this tale of spine tingling horror.

This is the first book by the Sai King I have read though it is the second book he wrote. By now, it is well known that the book deals with vampires (the cover for the mass market shown above is also a dead giveaway.) 
I knew going into it, that it was a vampire novel. It takes a lot for a book to scare me and I have to say after reading this, I slept with the light on for 3 days. It. freaked. me. the. crap. out! I love how King has the ability to scare the living the tar out of his fans!




There were parts of this book as in a lot of his novels that are a bit slow, however, it was all important to the plot in it's own right.  
As usual, the book has strong characters and strong dialog. There are many twists and turns and scenes that will freak you out. Because it was the first of his books I read, I think it will always be one of my favorites. 
If you like scary vampire tales that don't sparkle read this one!




Obtained: My personal book shelf.
Overall rating: **** 4 out of 5 stars
Cover art: I really like the gray and white of the MMP.

New Stephen King book!

So, I've been a bit behind and the Sai King has a new novel coming out on November 8 2011! It's called
11/22/63.

Here is the link to the Ink Slinger's  site that has a little snippit about it and here is one to the publisher site S&S with a cool Video.


Lily

Saturday, March 12, 2011

The goddess test



The Goddess Test by Amiee Carter
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews



Every girl who has taken the test has died.
Now it's Kate's turn.
It's always been just Kate and her mom--and now her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate's going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear her mother won't live past the fall.
Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld--and if she accepts his bargain, he'll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.
Kate is sure he's crazy--until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she'll become Henry's future bride, and a goddess.  (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

I wanted to like this book more then I did. I love the Greek Myths, but I felt that this was way too far from the original myths. I have seen other people call it "PC" and I have to agree with it. I didn't find the characters believable. I felt that the myths have been ripped apart which was a huge disappointment to me. The Greek gods were a far cry from how they were portrayed in this novel. The Greek gods are not who they are in the original mythology. They were moral in this book now, there is nothing wrong with morals, but when you change the Greek gods, I have a problem with that.

What I did like was I thought the writing style itself was strong. Carter is a good story teller, I just didn't like this book very much. Kate is a great original character and I did like the fact that it wasn't a love at first sight book.  I would read another novel by Carter, just not one like this one.

Overall rating: ** 2 out of 5 stars

Coverart: I LOVE the Greek keys!

Obtained: I got a copy via Netgalley thank you.

In my mailbox 19

In my mailbox is hosted weekly by The Story Siren.






This week I got 4 books. 2 for review,  and I bought 2.



For review I received a copy of Prophecy of the guardian by J.W Baccaro.  Thank you J.W Baccaro! (This title is available now!)











I also received a copy of Night Road by Kristin Hannah. Thank you St. Martins press! (This title     will be out March 29 2011)













I bought a copy of Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare.













I also bought a copy of White Cat  by Holly Black.
















That is what was in my mailbox this week, what did you guys get in your mailbox?


Lily

In the Storm winners




The winners for In the Storm are

VIVIEN 

and

Nicki J Markus!!

Congrats!!! I have e-mailed you both with the code for the book!

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Red Glove coming soon





Who else is excited for Holly Blacks Red Glove???? Here is what goodreads has to say:
After rescuing his brothers from Zacharov's retribution and finding out that Lila, the girl he has loved his whole life, will never, ever be his now that his mother has worked her, Cassel is trying to reestablish some kind of normalcy in his life. That was never going to be easy for someone from a worker family tied to one of the big crime families and a mother whose cons get more reckless by the day. But Cassel is also coming to terms with what it means to be a transformation worker and figuring out how to have friends.

But normal doesn't last very long--soon Cassel is being courted by both sides of the law and is forced to confront his past. A past he remembers only in scattered fragments and one that could destroy his family and his future. Cassel will have to decide whose side he wants to be on because neutrality is not an option. And then he will have to pull off his biggest con ever to survive.

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Guest post and giveaway with Karen Metcalf

I had the pleasure of being apart of Karen's blog tour to introduce her novella In the Storm! Karen is here today with a guest post stay tuned for a giveaway! My review can be found in the post below this one.


No one ever asks about Mitchell.
As I started setting up guest posts and interviews for this blog tour, I realized that I never received any questions about Mitchell. I understand he is a smaller character, and doesn’t have many lines, but I think he is very crucial to IN THE STORM.
In fact, Mitchell was written before Carly. He was the very first person I pictured when I began to put ideas on paper. He was modeled after my younger brother.  My brother was a quiet kid, though it didn’t last long.  I always remember him seeming to be in deep thought to be so young. I wanted to do something similar with Mitchell. I think this helped me to get inside Carly’s head. I pictured me and my brother in that scenario, and I considered what I would have gone through to protect him.
I don’t think there are enough books about siblings. My most cherished relationships are with my siblings.  There is something about living at least 10 years, with 4 other siblings in the same house. There are things we know about each other that no one else does. There are also the unspoken conversations that can be shared with just a look.  There are so many experiences you share together.  Jane Austen is the only person that comes to mind who truly explored the relationships between siblings. However, she focused much more on sisters.  I am probably closer to my sisters, but I wanted to focus on brother-sister, instead.
I know for sure that I would never be who I am today without all the things we went through together.  I don’t think Carly would, either. 

Giveaway:
Karen has offered 2 copies of her e-book IN THE STORM for 2 lucky readers, to enter, simply leave a comment about Karen's post in this this thread with your e-mail, so if you win, I can e-mail you the code for the download.  The giveaway ends on Friday March 11 at midnight PST. Good luck! Winners will be selected by Random.org This is international anyone can enter!

Thank you Karen for stopping by!! 

In the Storm Review




In the storm by Karen Metcalf
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Abandoned by the world around her, Carly believes she is fated to a life of torment at the hands of her stepfather and is desperate for an escape. When she can bear the abuse no longer and gives in to a thunderous rage, she suddenly finds herself in an unfamiliar, yet beautiful, storm world. This limbo between dimensions appears to be her private sanctuary, but it may just be her purgatory.
No one escapes fate without sacrifice, but is the price more than Carly is willing to pay? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

When I first started this story, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Metcalf had me hooked after the first chapter. I thought the story was well-written. In the Storm is a novella, but it isn’t what I was expecting. I’m not sure what I was expecting to be honest.
I really enjoyed reading Carly’s story and her other world she goes to.
Carly has a lot to learn and during the course of the story she learns more and more. Her character development is very strong. Carly is the main character and most of the story is in her mind we always see what she is thinking, more so I think then in other books where the main character is the narrator.
The dialog was strong, even if there wasn’t a lot of it. I will be watching Metcalf in the future for more stories, she is a wonderful new story teller.

Overall rating:
**** 4 out of 5 stars
Cover art: I like the artwork, it really shows the world Carly goes to.
Obtained:
I was sent a copy by Karen Metcalf for review.

Saturday, March 5, 2011

In my mailbox 18

In my mailbox is a weekly meme host by The Story Siren.






I got 5 books this week I won one, got one for review and bought the others.













The book I won is Among Thieves by Douglas Hulick. Thank you Good reads first reads.













I got a  copy of The goddess test by Aimee Carter via Netgalley Thank you!


Now the books I bought.












The first one is City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.


The second is a finished copy of Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins.
























The third and final book is Mermaid by Carolyn Turgeon.


So that is what I got in my mailbox, leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

Lily

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Halo

 
 
Halo by Alexandria Adornetto

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Three angels- Gabriel, the warrior; Ivy, the healer; and Bethany, the youngest and most human- are sent by Heaven to bring good to a world falling under the influence of darkness. They must work hard to conceal their luminous glow, superhuman powers, and, most dangerous of all, their wings, all the while avoiding all human attachments.
Then Bethany meets Xavier Woods, and neither of them is able to resist the attraction between them. Gabriel and Ivy do everything in their power to intervene, but the bond between Xavier and Bethany seems too strong.
The angel’s mission is urgent, and dark forces are threatening. Will love ruin Bethany or save her? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

This one has been sitting in my TBR pile for a few months. I finally got the chance to read it. I had heard mixed reviews from a variety of bloggers ranging from “Best book of the year” to “Worst book ever.”
Personally, I fall in the middle. It wasn’t the best book I have read, but it’s also not the worse. I did enjoy it, and while there were some very saccharine and sophomoric moments, I attributed it to the author’s age. It’s impressive that she has more then one book published at the age of 18. Halo marked her US debut.
I really like the idea of angels on earth no matter if is a novel with fallen angels or angels sent to earth to help. I do think that Adornetto has promise as an author and I do look forward to reading her other books in this series, I hope that her books that are only published in Australia her home country will be released in the US.
I found Gabriel and Ivy to be my favorite characters. I do wish we got to see more of them. Bethany, seemed very young, but it was done well and I didn’t dislike her. I found this to be a very fast read, it did have it’s slow moments, and parts seemed to me to be longwinded or unnecessary.
Molly made me laugh; I really liked her personality and how she bounced from one topic to another in the same breath. She reminded me of some of my friends I went to high school with.
The ending was a little cheesey and I was expecting more, but because of something one of the characters told Bethany, it made sense. I do hope that books 2 and 3 will have a more climatic ending. Book 2 will be called Hades and is due out August 28 2011 book 3 will be called Heavenly and is due out in 2012.

Overall rating:
***1/2 3 ½ out of 5 stars
Cover art:
Beautiful! One of the best covers of 2010
Obtained:
My personal bookshelves.

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

Matched Quick Review



Matched by Ally Condie

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)
I was so excited to read this novel, the beautiful cover the buzz it got before publication, for me, the book was just okay. It should be said that I am not the biggest fan of dystopian novels mainly due to the fact that I haven't read many.
The writing was good, the character development and the dialog was good, but for me Cassia the main girl, I found to be frustrating. I found her to be  kind of selfish.  I did like Xander I found him to be very interesting and I really wish there would have been more of him.
I do hope the second book in this series is better, I do plan on reading it, maybe it will change my mind.
I really wish we knew more about the Society. We don’t know much about them, we have no idea who they are or possibly what they are. I wanted to know more about them and more about the Officials. I think if I had more information about them,  I could have enjoyed the novel more.
Overall rating
**1/2 2 ½ out of 5 stars
Cover art: It’s beautiful!
Obtained:
My personal library.

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Demonglass is out today!



Hey everyone, I just wanted to say that today is the release day of Rachel Hawkins' book DEMONGLASS the second in the Hex Hall series! I have read it and it is awesome! My review is located here.