Monday, February 28, 2011

I am guest posting at Not-Really-Southern Vamp Chick

Hey, just wanted to let everyone know I am a guest post at Not-Really-Southern Vamp Chick today.
Amanda has been hosting this Meet a Blogger Monday Meme for 4 weeks now and I love getting to read about new bloggers and find new blogs to read! So you should head on over and check it out.
She has awesome reviews on her site as well!

Saturday, February 26, 2011

COVER!!!! Girl in the Steel Corset

Okay y'all, I have seen this cover before and it is SO pretty!!!! I love it!


Here is  what Goodreads has to say:

She thought there was something wrong with her. She was right.
Finley Jayne has known for quite some time that she isn’t ‘normal,’ but when she beats up the son of her employer and is forced to flee, she stumbles into a world where there are bigger freaks than her. They take her in, treat her like family and demand her trust. How can Finley trust them when she can’t trust herself? And why is she drawn to the powerful Griffin as well as the dangerous Jack? She has to get herself under control before she gets into trouble she can’t get out of.

Griffin King is one of the most powerful men in Britain but he couldn’t save his best friend from almost dying. He is determined to save Finley and help her become the person he knows she can be, but there’s evil afoot in London. Machines have attacked humans under the orders of a nefarious criminal called The Machinist. He has sworn to protect his country against such a threat, but he’s never faced any foe like this. However, when he discovers The Machinist’s connection to his past, Griffin vows to end the villain once and for all — but he’ll need the help of all his friends, including the beautiful Finley Jayne – the girl in the steel corset.


I really  want to read this one!! It comes out May 24 from Harlequin Teen  so until then, you can should go over to Kady's site and get all the latest information!
Are you as excited for this one as I am??

Friday, February 25, 2011

Dirty Little Angels



Dirty Little Angels by Chris Tusa
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Set in the slums of New Orleans, among clusters of crack houses and abandoned buildings, Dirty Little Angels is the story of sixteen year old Hailey Trosclair. When the Trosclair family suffers a string of financial hardships and a miscarriage, Hailey finds herself looking to God to save her family. When her prayers go unanswered, Hailey puts her faith in Moses Watkins, a failed preacher and ex-con. Fascinated by Moses' lopsided view of religion, Hailey, and her brother Cyrus, begin spending time down at an abandoned bank that Moses plans to convert into a drive-through church. Gradually, though, Moses' twisted religious beliefs become increasingly more violent, and Hailey and Cyrus soon find themselves trapped in a world of danger and fear from which there may be no escape. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

I don't normally read books as dark as this one. (The darkest I get is usually horror, even then I have to be in the mood). While reading this book, I never thought it would have a happily ever after ending.
There was a lot of violence in this book, for me the animal violence was hardest to read as I am a huge animal person. Aside from that, I liked the book. It's not for everyone by any means. The writing is good and the characters always felt real to me. Tusa isn't afraid of having flawed characters. I like it when a reader can easily find the flaws in a character it makes them more real. Tusa, doesn't have any Mary-sue characters which is a welcome relief!
As dark as this book was, I found myself unable to stop reading. The descriptions are very vivid and realistic.
Tusa is a promising new author and if you enjoy dark gritty stories you'll like this one, if a lot of violence, sex, and non-happy endings bother you, I would suggest you skip this one.

Overall rating:
***1/2 3 ½ out of 5 stars

Cover art:
I found the cover art interesting it reflected the story well.

Obtained:
I won an e-copy of the book from the author via librarything. Thank you!

The Vespertine




The Vespertine by Saundra Mitchell

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

It’s the summer of 1889, and Amelia van den Broek is new to Baltimore and eager to take in all the pleasures the city has to offer. But her gaiety is interrupted by disturbing, dreamlike visions she has only at sunset—visions that offer glimpses of the future. Soon, friends and strangers alike call on Amelia to hear her prophecies. However, a forbidden romance with Nathaniel, an artist, threatens the new life Amelia is building in Baltimore. This enigmatic young man is keeping secrets of his own—still, Amelia finds herself irrepressibly drawn to him. When one of her darkest visions comes to pass, Amelia’s world is thrown into chaos. And those around her begin to wonder if she’s not the seer of dark portents, but the cause.(Synopsis provided by goodreads)
I really wanted to like this book. The writing was good the dialog was good the concept was good. Normally I enjoy historical settings in novels, but for me, I found myself bored with this book.  The descriptions were vivid and the story was imaginative. The characters were strong, I really enjoyed Amelia and Nathaniel. Lizzy bothered me, she just seemed not to care as much about Amelia as she should have at least for me, she came across like she was faking being kind to Amelia. This is probably just me and the way I read it as so far in all the reviews I read before getting the book myself, I haven’t seen anyone else with the opinion. I really wish I could have enjoyed it more.
I’m not sure, what it was about it that was dull for me, but it was. I have seen many positive reviews for this book and I would encourage everyone to read those before making up their mind as to weather or not they read the book.
I do plan to read this book again in the future, in hopes that I will grow to like it. There have been titles in the past that this has happened to me with and I do hope to like this book. Again, I encourage you to read other reviews and to give the book a chance, I am in the minority of not loving the book.
Overall rating:
**1/2 2 ½ stars out of 5 (I want to give it more I do!)
Cover art:
This has got to be the one of the best covers I have seen I love it!
Obtained:
I got a copy from the publisher via Netgalley Thank you.

**THIS BOOK WILL BE AVAILABLE MARCH 7 2011**

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Demonglass early review




Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins Early Review

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

**WARNING DEMONGLASS HAS HEX HALL SPOILERS IF YOU DON’T WANT ANY HEX HALL SPOILERS WAIT TO READ THIS BOOK!**

Sophie Mercer thought she was a witch.
That was the whole reason she was sent to Hex Hall, a reform school for delinquent Prodigium (aka witches, shapeshifters, and fairies). But that was before she discovered the family secret, and that her hot crush, Archer Cross, is an agent for The Eye, a group bent on wiping Prodigium off the face of the earth.
Turns out, Sophie’s a demon, one of only two in the world—the other being her father. What’s worse, she has powers that threaten the lives of everyone she loves. Which is precisely why Sophie decides she must go to London for the Removal, a dangerous procedure that will destroy her powers.
But once Sophie arrives she makes a shocking discovery. Her new friends? They’re demons too. Meaning someone is raising them in secret with creepy plans to use their powers, and probably not for good. Meanwhile, The Eye is set on hunting Sophie down, and they’re using Archer to do it. But it’s not like she has feelings for him anymore. Does she? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

WOW! This book was so much more then I was expecting and I was expecting a lot! The second installment in Hawkin’s  Hex Hall series is FABULOUS! I enjoyed every second of this book, from the start Hawkins has readers on the edge of their seat waiting to see what will happen to Sophie and company.
This book picks up where Hex Hall leaves off. Like Hex Hall, Demonglass is chock full of fun, adventure, humor and magic.
I really enjoyed where Sophie’s character went in this story, we get to see more of Jenna Sophie’s vampires roommate and best friend. We get to see more of Cal, which I really liked and we get to meet a bunch of new characters!
There were so many twists and turns in this one, some I started to figure out while reading, others came as a complete shock to me. The twists start in the first few chapters. This is a non-stop thrill ride book.
Like Hex Hall, Demonglass ends with a cliffhanger, but it’s a huge one and I can’t wait to get my hands on book three I have to know what happens to everyone next!
With this second book, Hawkins has once again proved that she can deliver amazingly funny and touching stories with the best of them! I did like this book better then the first.
Hawkins did a wonderful job with the dialog and character development and this book truly left me wanting more!
I highly recommend this book and the series! Can we please have book 3 now?!

Overall rating:
***** 5 out of 5 stars
Cover art: I love the art on this just as much as book one!
Obtained: I won an ARC from Jana thank you!

Monday, February 21, 2011

Minding Ben




Minding Ben by Victoria Brown
Reviewed by Moirae the Fates book reviews

The Nanny Diaries meets The Help in a riveting debut novel that follows an idealistic young woman as she leaves Trinidad for a new life in New York City---as a nanny.

Minding Ben invites readers into the private world of one of the anonymous West Indian babysitters who have peopled the lives of so many young urban families for decades. Grace left Trinidad for New York with hopes for a better life and education. As she struggles to adjust to her new life—and to determine just what shape her American Dream will take—Grace finds work as a nanny for the unconscionable Bruckners, a job that pays meager wages for its demanding and humiliating responsibilities.

At the mercy of her employers, and unprepared for the playground politics within the West Indian babysitting community, Grace nevertheless carries the day as she navigates the complicated world of America with strength and perseverance. Minding Ben offers a rarely seen account of the immigrant experience in this strong, compassionate, and insightful narrative. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

The premise of this book interested me, however, for me it fell flat. I’m not sure what it is that is missing, but for me, something was missing. I found the characters to be on the shallow side, in some books it works, but for me, it didn’t work as well as it could have in this book.

I also felt that there were little tidbits of other characters that should have been developed further, it may have helped the book.

The book is written from Grace’s point of view, so that needs to be taken into account. So, maybe that is why the characters came across as see-through and selfish? But for me, what allowed me to finish the book was that while I didn’t enjoy it, the book was well written.
Please don’t just take my opinion, if you are interested in the book, please read it or seek other reviews that are more favorable.

Overall rating
** ½   2 ½ out of 5 stars

Cover art:
I like the cover art, very cute.

Obtained:
I was sent a copy for review by the publisher.

Sunday, February 20, 2011

Angelfire




Angelfire by Allison Moulton

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

This debut, the first novel in a trilogy, is achingly romantic, terrifying, and filled with blistering action.

When seventeen-year-old Ellie starts seeing reapers - monstrous creatures who devour humans and send their souls to Hell - she finds herself on the front lines of a supernatural war between archangels and the Fallen and faced with the possible destruction of her soul.

A mysterious boy named Will reveals she is the reincarnation of an ancient warrior, the only one capable of wielding swords of angelfire to fight the reapers, and he is an immortal sworn to protect her in battle. Now that Ellie's powers have been awakened, a powerful reaper called Bastian has come forward to challenge her. He has employed a fierce assassin to eliminate her - an assassin who has already killed her once.

While balancing her dwindling social life and reaper-hunting duties, she and Will discover Bastian is searching for a dormant creature believed to be a true soul reaper. Bastian plans to use this weapon to ignite the End of Days and to destroy Ellie's soul, ending her rebirth cycle forever. Now, she must face an army of Bastian's most frightening reapers, prevent the soul reaper from consuming her soul, and uncover the secrets of her past lives - including truths that may be too frightening to remember.
(Synopsis provided by goodreads)

This is a 2011 debut!

I think what I liked most about this book is Ellie is a typical teenager. She’s not Mary-sure, she doesn’t have a sortdid past and this isn’t a typical paranormal book, Ellie is not your typical character in one of those books either.

She is a very strong character and she develops really well in this book. I liked the dynamic person she is. I never felt that the love part of this book was cheesy or over done, which is great, a lot times a romance in books can come across as horribly cheesy.

I found this book to be wonderfully imaginative and it left me wanting to read the next installment. While being action packed, this book also had me laughing, well Ellie had me laughing.

I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend it to anyone who likes angel books.

Overall rating
**** 4 out of 5 stars

Cover art:
I really like it.

Obtained:
I won an ARC from good reads first reads thank you!

Saturday, February 19, 2011

The Survivor Early Review.


The Survivor by Sean Slater
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Columbine. Dunblane. Virginia Tech. Winnenden. But Saint Patrick's High?


In his first hour back from a six-month leave of absence, Detective Jacob Striker's day quickly turns into a nightmare. He is barely on scene five minutes at his daughter's high school when he encounters an Active Shooter situation. Three men wearing hockey masks - Black, White, and Red - have stormed the school with firearms and are killing indiscriminately.


Striker takes immediate action. Within minutes, two of the gunmen are dead and Striker is close to ending the violence.


But the last gunman, Red Mask, does something unexpected. He runs up to his fallen comrade, racks the shotgun, and unloads five rounds into the man, obliterating his face and hands. Before Striker can react, Red Mask flees - and escapes.


Against the clock, Striker investigates the killings for which there is no known motive and no known suspect. Soon his investigation takes him to darker places, and he realizes that everything at Saint Patrick's High is not as it appears. The closer he gets to the truth, the more dangerous his world becomes. Until Striker himself is in the line of fire.


And the violence follows him home. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


This is one of those books that had me hooked in the first chapter. I have never read a book by this author before and I would read another. I liked this book. Slater has a knack for grabbing the reader’s attention and making them want to keep turning the pages!
I personally stayed up until I finished this book.

I found the characters to be strong, strong willed, strong opinioned ect. I do enjoy reading mysteries, especially ones where you can’t do anything until you have all the answers the who the why ect.

The character development was very strong in this book as was the dialog, this was a book in which I found Detective Striker to be a very believable and a very likeable character. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes suspense books and mysteries.

Overall rating
**** 4 out of 5 stars

Cover art:
The cover art kinda freaks me out.

Obtained:
I was sent an ARC by the publisher for review as part of the Mystery Suspense challenge hosted by Book Chick City. Thank you!

***THIS BOOK WILL BE OUT MARCH 2011***


In my mailbox 17

In  my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren

This week I only got one book, a book I won.

I won an ARC of Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins! Thank you Jana!!

13 reasons why




13 reasons why by Jay Asher
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Jay Asher's brilliant first novel is a moving, highly original story that focuses on a set of audiotapes made by a girl before she committed suicide, and which explain to 13 people the reasons why she decided to end her life. Told in a highly effective duel narrative -- alternating between the girl s voice and the thoughts of a boy who is listening -- this honest, poignant story reveals how other people's actions shape, and by extension can ruin, an individual's faith in people. Intensely powerful and painfully real, Thirteen Reasons Why reveals how brutal high school can be, the consequences of spreading rumors, and the lasting effects of suicide on those left behind. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

This is a very serious book with a very serious topic. It’s a book that should be read by people of all ages. I think it is a very powerful book, it’s now the second time I have read it.
I have seen some people that say they hate the book and think it absolves Hannah of any wrong doing and places the blame solely on the 13 people. I think this is all a matter of perception. In the book, Clay doesn’t think Hannah is trying to absolve herself, nor does Hannah.
She was merely saying that the peoples action helped her make the decision. I didn’t think that the author was condoning suicide at all.
This is a very well written book and one of the best young adult novels I have ever found. I would strongly encourage everyone to read it and take the message to heart, what we say and do to one another can have a profound effect on another person’s life.

Overall rating
***** 5 out of 5 stars
Cover art:
I liked it with Hannah staring into the distance.
Obtained
My local library

Friday, February 18, 2011

The Duff




The Duff by Kody Keplinger
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.
But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.
Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

This is a 2010 debut. I thought the premise of this book was interesting. However, I am not sure what I think about Bianca. I know it sounds strange. It was a very well written book. The characters seemed very real and believable. Bianca has a lot of problems at home and the way Kepler brings it across makes the reader feel bad for Bianca as well as for Wesley.
This book is a very fast read and it does have a good message I think at the heart of it. The dialogue is strong and the interaction between the characters is good.  I enjoyed Bianca’s wit and her give-the-world-the-finger attitude on most things.
I have noticed that this seems to be a love it or hate it book for most people. I didn’t love or hate it personally. I liked it, but I wish I could have loved it. For me, there was something almost lacking, not sure I can’t quite put my finger on it. I would read another book by Keplinger and I would encourage others to give this book a shot.

Over all rating
*** 3 out of 5 stars
Cover art
I didn’t like the cover art very much, I didn’t think it went along with the book somehow.
What parents need to know
There is a lot of sex in this book, though it is not graphic.

Monday, February 14, 2011

Textual Healing




Textual Healing by Eric Smith

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Few people have to deal with a haiku-speaking flower-shop-owning ninja every day on their way to work. Unfortunately for Andrew Connor, he is one of those people.
And poor Andrew, his week has been a rough one. His former bestseller, Chasing Fireflies, is on clearance at Barnes & Noble for $1.37, his girlfriend left him for a corporate America action figure, and he's been tricked into joining Textual Healing, a support group for writers who can't seem to write anymore.
Dealing with his employees at his failing used bookshop, a strange new love interest from the Midwest, and a pet sugar-glider that has somehow managed to destroy his entire apartment... when will he ever find the time to put pen to paper again?
A quirky comedy set in present day New York and New Jersey, Textual Healing follows the story of Andrew, a self-deprecating, once famous author, his small bookstore in Hoboken, and the colorful characters that surround him. (Synopsis provided by goodreads)
Wow, where to start! I really liked this book! It was full of witty characters and the situations they find themselves in always had humor to them. The internal dialogue that Ace has during the book is some of the funniest I have read.
I simply loved Hannah’s character; she was full of life and charm. The dialogue was great, witty and fun. I enjoyed how Smith wrote some of the corny romantic bits, and his characters knew they were corny and made jokes about it.  Smith has a gift and a great sense of humor.
The whole book is great, I can’t pick decide on a favorite scene. The scenes with Ace’s pet are hysterical. I really hope this book gets picked up for a movie, it would make a great film!
If you have not had a chance to read this book, you should it’s the best I’ve read this year, my only complaint is that I wish it was longer. Smith is an author I will be watching!
Overall rating: ***** 5 out of 5 stars.
Cover art: I like the simplicity of it, it made me want to know more.
Obtained: I received this book from Eric Smith for an honest review. Thank you.

Saturday, February 12, 2011

13 reasons why MOVIE!



So I found out that they are going to make "13 reasons why" into a movie! I loved this book! You can find out more on Mr. Ashers blog here.

Shadowfever


Shadowfever

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews


MacKayla Lane was just a child when she and her sister, Alina, were given up for adoption and banished from Ireland forever.
Twenty years later, Alina is dead and Mac has returned to the country that expelled them to hunt her sister’s murderer. But after discovering that she descends from a bloodline both gifted and cursed, Mac is plunged into a secret history: an ancient conflict between humans and immortals who have lived concealed among us for thousands of years.
What follows is a shocking chain of events with devastating consequences, and now Mac struggles to cope with grief while continuing her mission to acquire and control the Sinsar Dubh—a book of dark, forbidden magic scribed by the mythical Unseelie King, containing the power to create and destroy worlds.
In an epic battle between humans and Fae, the hunter becomes the hunted when the Sinsar Dubh turns on Mac and begins mowing a deadly path through those she loves.
Who can she turn to? Who can she trust? Who is the woman haunting her dreams? More important, who is Mac herself and what is the destiny she glimpses in the black and crimson designs of an ancient tarot card?

From the luxury of the Lord Master’s penthouse to the sordid depths of an Unseelie nightclub, from the erotic bed of her lover to the terrifying bed of the Unseelie King, Mac’s journey will force her to face the truth of her exile, and to make a choice that will either save the world . . . or destroy it.
(Synopsis provided by goodreads)


Where to start, first off, this is the last book in the series as well as the longest. In a way, I felt like it was too long. The book being told through different points of view from some of the different characters, was hard to get use to.
The book was good, but in a lot of ways, I felt really let down. After waiting five years that’s it? There were still some unanswered questions, the author has said that she is going to write another series with the same world. I am unsure if the same chapters will be in it or not.

**SMALLISH SPOILER**
We do get some answers, like we find out who killed Alina. I was glad to finally have the answer, however I was shocked when I read it. That was the one thing, that I never saw coming, the rest of the book, in a way I found to be a bit predictable.

All in all, it was okay, it did feel like Moning was rushing to end the series, but at the same time, I felt like she was dragging it out. There seemed to be a lot of unnecessary descriptions in the book.

Dani has been my favorite since we first met her in Bloodfever, I did like the twists and turns we get with her character in this book.

I do wish that there was more dialog in this book, there seemed to be more internal dialog to me then character to character dialog, which was a little bit of a let down.

Overall rating:
***1/2 3 1/2 out of 5 stars

Cover art:
I really like the cover art! It’s the best in the series, the dual art work is simply amazing.

Obtained:
My personal book shelf.

Friday, February 11, 2011

One Lovely Blog Award




I was given the OLBA by Reader between the covers. Thank you for thinking of me!

 Now, Here is what to do when receiving this award:


1. Accept the award, post it on your blog together with the name of the person who has granted the award and his or her blog link.
2. Pass the award to 15 other blogs that you've newly discovered.
3. Remember to contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award.
15 Lucky Bloggers in no order.

Here they are:

Sunday, February 6, 2011

In my mailbox 16

I forgot to do one last week, so this covers the last 2 weeks.
In my mailbox was started by The Story Siren.



The past 2 weeks I have gotten 1 book from the library, I won 1 and I got 4 for review.

Lets start with the library.

I went to the library and picked up a copy of The Espressologist by Kristina Springer.














I won a copy of Angelfire by Allison Moulton Thank you goodreads!














I was sent a copy of Textual Healing by Eric Smith for review. Thanks Eric!














I was also sent a copy of In the Storm  by Karen Metcalf for review. Thanks Karen! Karen will be a guest on the blog on March 8th and she will have a copy of her book to giveaway as well. So look out for that!














I was also sent by the publisher via netgalley a copy of The Vespertine  by Saundra Mitchell. Thank you Netgalley!














That is what I got in my mailbox, leave me a comment and let me know what you got in your mailbox happy reading!

Lily

Thursday, February 3, 2011

Shadowspell




Shadowspell by Jenna Black
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

On top of spending most of her time in a bunkerlike safe house and having her dates hijacked by a formidable Fae bodyguard, Faeriewalker Dana Hathaway is in for some more bad news: the Erlking and his pack of murderous minions known as the Wild Hunt have descended upon Avalon. With his homicidal appetite and immortal powers, the Erlking has long been the nightmare of the Fae realm. A fragile treaty with the Faerie Queen, sealed with a mysterious spell, is the one thing that keeps him from hunting unchecked in Avalon, the only place on Earth where humans and Fae live together. Which means Dana’s in trouble, since it’s common knowledge that the Faerie Queen wants her – and her rare Faeriewalker powers – dead. The smoldering, sexy Erlking’s got his sights set on Dana, but does he only seek to kill her, or does he have something much darker in mind? (Synopsis provided by good reads)

This is the only book by this author I have read. I really books with the Fae in them, so I was eager to read this one. The first thing that I noticed, was that Dana is a very strong character. She keeps it together and can stand her ground, which is great, it’s important for the YA world to have strong female characters when too often the genre is packed with Mary-sue and clingy whiny characters. Dana is a breath of fresh air!

This book has it dark parts, but Dana deals with it all wonderfully, I don’t know of many adult characters from other books that could deal with things half as good as she does. There is one scene of an attempted rape which can be hard for some people to read so that needs to be known so people can make a decision to read or not if they can’t read scenes like that.

This is such an intriguing book and I think the author does a great job in her writing, the dialogue was amazing and the character development was really good as well. This is not a typical YA novel, it’s a lot more dark and similar to books you’d find in the adult fantasy section of your local bookstore.

I would recommend this book to anyone! It’s such a great read and it reads fast, because you want to know what happens next. I am looking forward to more books by this author.

Over all rating
***** 5 out of 5 stars

Cover art:
I love the cover art!

Obtained:
I won this book in a giveaway thank you so much Abigail!

666 Park Avenue




666 Park avenue by Gabriella Pierce
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.
What if your mother-in-law turned out to be an evil, cold-blooded witch . . . literally?
Ever since fabulously wealthy Malcolm Doran walked into her life and swept her off her feet, fledgling architect Jane Boyle has been living a fairy tale. When he proposes with a stunning diamond to seal the deal, Jane can't believe her incredible luck and decides to leave her Paris-based job to make a new start with Malcolm in New York.
But when Malcolm introduces Jane to the esteemed Doran clan, one of Manhattan's most feared and revered families, Jane's fairy tale takes a darker turn. Soon everything she thought she knew about the world—and herself—is upended. Now Jane must struggle with newfound magical abilities and the threat of those who will stop at nothing to get them.
This is a 2011 debut novel! When reading this book, I was not sure just where to put in genre wise. It’s not really a paranormal romance, but it’s not chick lit either. It’s more in the middle of the two, and somehow Pierce made it work!

This book was fast paced and a fun read! I have always enjoyed books with witches and Pierce put her own spin so to speak on them. 

I do wish we learned more about Jane, but I liked how she handled everything and her new powers. The ending seemed a bit odd to me, and I really hope that this will become a series of books so we can learn more about Jane.

Overall rating:
****4 out of 5 stars

Cover art:
I like the whimsical and spooky feel.

Obtained:
I won a copy from library thing early reviewers thank you!

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Like Mandarin



Okay this is a 2011 debut novel and everytime I read the synopsis I want to read it more and more! It is due out March 8th over a month! To read more, visit the authors blog.
Who else thinks this sounds awesome?!

*I just now realized that it's not in my side bar as a book I am waiting for! This must be fixed!

Cat's Eyes quick review




THIS IS A QUICK REVIEW BECAUSE I CAN"T SAY TOO MUCH WITHOUT SPOILING ANYTHING.

Cat’s eyes by Karen Lee Field
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

This is going to be a very quick review.

Twelve year old Kate Dawson is unhappy at home. Her widowed mother has remarried and Kate has a stepfather and a six year old half-sister, Emma, who is nothing but a pest. She knows the resentment she feels towards Emma and her stepfather is making her mum unhappy, but Kate is confused by the deep feelings of guilt and jealousy that plague her.

One morning, Emma disappears down a mystical looking well. Irritated but worried, Kate follows and the two girls are thrust into the tunnels of Miu, an unknown place built within the lava tunnels of an extinct volcano. They meet a young Miuan princess and her guard, who are on the run, and the girls are instantly swept into a danger that will test their skills, their friendship and their love. (Synopsis by good reads)

This is a very easy read and more for middle grade I would say then anyone else. It was still an enjoyable story and very light hearted. I did enjoy the adventures that Kate had in this book.

Like other reviewers, I wish that we got to learn more about the Miuan people as a whole, but it didn’t take away too much from the story. This is a good book for a rainy day. I would recommend it for younger kids that want something light but that also has a fun adventure in it.

Over all rating:
*** 3 out of 5 stars
Cover art:
I like the cover art really lets you know what the story is about.
Obtained:
I won a copy from good reads first reads. Thank you.

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Where the Streets had a name quick review




Where the streets had a name by Randa Abdel-Fattah
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Thirteen-year-old Hayaat is on a mission. She believes a handful of soil from her grandmother's ancestral home in Jerusalem will save her beloved Sitti Zeynab's life. The only problem is the impenetrable wall that divides the West Bank, as well as the checkpoints, the curfews, and Hayaat's best friend Samy, who is always a troublemaker. But luck is on their side. Hayaat and Samy have a curfew-free day to travel to Jerusalem. However, while their journey is only a few kilometers long, it may take a lifetime to complete. (Synopsis provided good reads)

This is a middle-grade book that should appeal to tweens wanting to learn about the conflict in Israel. This book does a wonderful job in showing what life is like over there, but it never felt preachy. I never felt like the Author was saying that all Israelis or all Palestinians are bad. Which is good, with conflicts such as this one, a lot times people can be preachy and bias, but I never felt like this was the case.

The book does a good job in making it age appropriate while also allowing children to ask their parents questions about life in the middle east. The book shows how no matter what country people are from they can still care about each other and still want to make a difference.

Over all rating.
*** 3 out of 5 stars
Cover art:
I like hoe it has a drawing for the cover art.
Obtained:
I won a copy from the publisher via good reads. Thank you