Monday, January 31, 2011

The Losers club



The Losers club by Richard Perez
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Set in downtown New York City, THE LOSERS' CLUB tells the story of Martin Sierra, an unlucky writer addicted to the personals. His journey brings us into the East Village, pre-9/11--and in contact with Nikki, his dream woman, who remains unattainable romantically yet becomes his friend and confidant during his illuminating misadventures. A romantic comedy and coming-of-age story.
(Synopsis provided by good reads)

This is the only book by this author I have read. It truly is a coming of age story. I like reading those types of books. While I enjoyed this book, I did find myself feeling like it was missing something, but I can’t quite put my finger on what that is.

The book was not overly descriptive and it had witty dialogue. What I liked most about this book is how it feels like a roller coaster of emotions, there are parts where you will laugh and parts that will make you want to cry.

The book looks like a dark tale, but really, I didn’t find that. It is a quick and easy read which is a great thing, if that is what you are looking for, however, if you like heavier books, then you might want to skip this one.

Overall rating:
*** 3 out of 5 stars
Cover art:
The cover art is nice, but I think it could have been better.
Obtained:
I won a copy from the author on library thing thanks!

Saturday, January 29, 2011

Hunger by Jackie Morse Kessler


Hunger by Jackie Morse Kessler

reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

"Thou art the Black Rider. Go thee out unto the world."

Lisabeth Lewis has a black steed, a set of scales, and a new job: she's been appointed Famine. How will an anorexic seventeen-year-old girl from the suburbs fare as one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse?

Traveling the world on her steed gives Lisa freedom from her troubles at home: her constant battle with hunger, and her struggle to hide it from the people who care about her. But being Famine forces her to go places where hunger is a painful part of everyday life, and to face the horrifying effects of her phenomenal power. Can Lisa find a way to harness that power -- and the courage to battle her own inner demons?

(Synopsis provided by goodreads.com)


I first heard about this book from The Story Siren. The premise sounded really interesting to me, I have always loved fantasy and paranormal type books. In this book, Kessler's heroin Lisa is a 17 year old suffering from anorexia. The author has first hand knowledge of eating disorders and she discloses this at the end of the book. This is a very good book, I liked how it explores what what going on inside of Lisa's mind. We get to see what Kessler calls "The Thin voice" talking to Lisa throughout the book telling her of her failings and to watch her weight.

I really liked how Kessler doesn't gloss over the horrors of anorexia, she also never glamorizes it. She shows just how destructive it can be to a person. Lisa is a very interesting character, throughout the book we see her struggles and we get to see her grow. The character development is amazing. I loved every page of this book. There were a few things that I didn't see coming mainly how the book ends.

I particularly enjoyed the character of Death. He was pretty witty and had some unique abilities that are Kessler's own creations. This character was very complex and the reader is never able to fully figure him out.

The dialog in this book was really good, again the parts with Lisa talking with "The Thin Voice" are some of the most powerful in the book.
I really loved this book, I only wish it was longer, and I wish we got to know more about what happened to Lisa after the book ended. I can't say much on that without a spoiler.

Overall rating:
***** 5 out of 5 stars

Cover art:
I like the simplicity of the cover art.

What parents need to know:

There is some talk about sex, but not a lot, the book deals with some heavy issues and I would recommend ages 16 and up.

Obtained:
My personal library.

Friday, January 28, 2011

Rage Early review

>



Rage by Jackie Morse Kessler
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Missy didn’t mean to cut so deep. But after the party where she was humiliated in front of practically everyone in school, who could blame her for wanting some comfort? Sure, most people don’t find comfort in the touch of a razor blade, but Missy always was . . . different.
That’s why she was chosen to become one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse: War. Now Missy wields a new kind of blade—a big, brutal sword that can cut down anyone and anything in her path. But it’s with this weapon in her hand that Missy learns something that could help her triumph over her own pain: control.
A unique approach to the topic of self-mutilation, Rage is the story of a young woman who discovers her own power and refuses to be defeated by the world. (Synopsis by good reads)
Rage, the second book in the new series by Kessler is very good. This book deals with Missy Miller a 16-year-old girl who cuts herself. Missy is constantly teased and has to put of up with a lot of garbage from her school mates and her own sister.
When Missy becomes War, she unleashes a terror that she didn’t know she had. I enjoyed the inner struggle she had with herself and the conversations she had with War. I think it added to the story. Kessler did an amazing job at showing why Missy cut herself and how she deals with her self-injuring.
The book takes reads all over the world and we get to see what war has done all over the world, but not just in a war zone like one might think. There were some scenes that were hard to read. The reader feels like they are right there with Missy and that they are being tormented just as she was.
I would say that if you have cut yourself in the past or if you are a cutter, that you need to be in a safe place before reading this book.
Over all rating:
***** 5 out of 5 stats
Cover Art:
I think the cover art is just as good as the previous book.
Obtained:
I received an ARC for review from the publisher via net galley. Thank you.

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Loads more reviews

I have about a few more reviews to write and post, but I think I am going to make it one or 2 a day. So stay tuned for reviews of:
Hunger
Rage
Where the streets had a name
Losers Club
Cats eye
666 Park Avenue
And a few more that I am too tired to think of the names of.

Lily xx

Flirt Club




Flirt Club by Cathleen Daly.
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

When two self-professed middle school drama geeks––Isabelle and Annie (a.k.a. Cisco and The Bean)––fail at their attemps in romance, they start Flirt Club, an after school support group for similarly afflicted friends who decide to take decisive and strategic action with hilarious and touching results.
(Synopsis provided by good reads)

This book is very fanciful and full of the sweet pie in the sky attitude that a lot of young girls have towards love. The premise of this book was really cute and fun.

I enjoyed myself when I read this book and even though I am in my 20's I think women of any age can enjoy this book. I like how it was told through journal entries and notes the girls wrote to one another, I think that gave it a little something extra!

I found all of the girls to be fun and likeable, I do wish I could have seen a little more development in some of the situations and one of the girls. But aside from that, I still found the book thoroughly enjoyable. This book may not be everyone's cup of tea, but if you want to remember what it was like to be in middle school and wanting to find your HEA, then I think you would enjoy this book.

Over all rating:
**** 4 out of 5 stars

Cover art:
The cover art on my copy is different then on the copy shown on most sites, but I think they are both cute.

Obtained:
I won a copy from goodreads early reviewers thank you.

The Kensei





The Kensei by Jon F. Merz
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Meet Lawson. A cynical, wise-cracking vampire charged with protecting the Balance between vampires and humans, he is part cop, part spy, and part commando — James Bond with fangs. Lawson mixes shrewd cunning with unmatched lethality to get his job done. He tries his best to dismantle conspiracies, dispatch bad guys, and live long enough to get home. In The Kensei, a battle-weary Lawson heads to Japan for a little rest and some advanced ninja training. But he no sooner steps off the plane than lands in the midst of a Yakuza turf war orchestrated by a shadowy figure known as the Kensei. With the help of Talya, a former KGB-assassin, Lawson must put a stop to the Kensei’s organ trafficking networks, prevent the creation of an army of vampire-human hybrids, and save his own skin in the process.
(Synopsis provided by goodreads.com)

 This is the first book by Merz that I have read. Even though it is the fifth book in his series, I never felt lost. I felt like I already knew Lawson. I wanted to read the book when I heard it described as James Bond meets True Blood meets Kill Bill. Who ever came up with that description is a pure genius! After reading the book, I can attest that that is exactly what this book is and then some!


This book is full of colorful characters and witty dialog, the way Merz describes Japan is amazing. It's such a beautifully written story and not at all flowery. Which is great! This is one of those edge-of-your-seat types of tales, one with twists and turns and an outcome that is sure to please even the most picky readers. This is easily the type of book you will want to read in one sitting, it's short enough for some people to be able to do so as well.


The Kensei is by far one of the best vampire novels I have read. I used to love reading vampire novels, the genre got too big and there were too many out there that I disliked, but this is not the case. I am in the minority, but I like this as much as I did the first 6 or so Anita Blake books, alough they are different in more ways then one.


The character development is good, there are some characters I would have liked to see more of. This is a book that is a must read and I need to go back and read the rest of the series now.


Overall rating:
**** 4 out of 5 stars


Cover art:
The cover art is unique and looks better in person.


Obtained:
I won this book from the publisher via library thing's early reviewers program. Thank you!

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Another Faust

 
Another Faust by Daniel Nayeri and Dina Nayeri

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

One night, in cities all across Europe, five children vanish - only to appear, years later, at an exclusive New York party with a strange and elegant governess. Rumor and mystery follow the Faust teenagers to the city’s most prestigious high school, where they soar to suspicious heights with the help of their benefactor’s extraordinary “gifts.”

But as the students claw their way up - reading minds, erasing scenes, stopping time, stealing power, seducing with artificial beauty - the side-effects of their own addictions. And as they make further deals with the devil, they uncover secrets more shocking than their most
unforgivable sins.

At once chilling and wickedly satirical, this contemporary re-imaging of the Faustian bargain is a compelling tale of ambition, consequences, and ultimate redemption (Synopsis provided by goodreads.com)

This is a debut novel, however Daniel Nayeri has another book that is out (Another Pan).Which I would love to read Another Pan later this year.

I have always enjoyed books written by a team of authors, I think it adds something to the story. This is a brother sister team. I really enjoyed this book. I has so much fun while I was reading, it is however a very dark book. The teens in this book will do anything to get ahead and to be the best. Along with being a dark book, this is also a suspenseful edge-of-your-seat read.

All of the teens in this book are struggling with the repercussions you could say of their wish. Vileroy, (The governess that grants the wishes) does all she can to make the teens want more and more. Throughout the book we see what the power does to them, some want more and more and will do whatever it takes to get more, others however begin to rethink things.

There are some parts of this book that I wish had been expanded on, however the character development and the dialogue are spot on. This is a very entertaining read.

Over all rating
**** 4 out of 5 stars

Cover art:
I like the cover art, it has a dark vibe.

Obtained:
Thank you to Heather from Candlewick press for the copy for review.

Stork





Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Family secrets. Lost memories. And the arrival of an ancient magical ability that will reveal everything.  Sixteen-year-old Katla LeBlanc has just moved from Los Angeles to Minnesota. As if it weren’t enough that her trendy fashion sense draws stares, Katla soon finds out that she’s a Stork, a member of a mysterious order of women tasked with a very unique duty. But Katla’s biggest challenge may be finding her flock at a new school. Between being ignored by Wade, the arrogant jock she stupidly fooled around with, and constantly arguing with gorgeous farm boy and editor-in-chief Jack, Katla is relieved when her assignment as the school paper’s fashion columnist brings with it some much-needed friendship. But as Homecoming approaches, Katla uncovers a shocking secret about her past — a secret that binds her fate to Jack’s in a way neither could have ever anticipated. With a nod to Hans Christian Andersen and inspired by Norse lore, Wendy Delsol’s debut novel introduces a hip and witty heroine who finds herself tail-feathers deep in small-town life
(Synopsis provided by goodreads.com)

Stork is a debut novel. I really loved the idea of this novel with Katla being a Stork. No, not the bird, but close. She is in charge of picking a vessel (parent) for babies, so in other words she picks who gets pregnant.
I really liked how Delsol shows Katla growing as a person during the whole novel. I can’t help but feel like her duties as a Stork has a lot to do with how she develops as a character.
The other characters in this small town are just as loveable as she is. It should be said that this is most likely one of those books that falls in the love it or hate it pile. I happened to love it!
Delsol, shows real promise as an author and I really enjoyed seeing how she wove Norse tales into her story, but at the same time she made it all her own. The dialogue was great! All of the situations felt real to me and nothing felt forced or like Delsol was “grasping”. I loved this book and wished it was longer. Needless to say Delsol is an author I will be watching!

Overall rating:
***** 5 out of 5 stars!

Cover art:
I love the cover art it’s beautiful and makes me think “Snow Queen”

Obtained:
Thank you to Heather from Candlewick press for sending me a copy for review.

Sunday, January 23, 2011

Cry Wolf






Cry Wolf by Tami Hoag

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

The scream heard by no one is the deadliest.

In the rural parishes of Louisiana's French Triangle, young women are disappearing one by one, only to turn up on the banks of the bayou, strangled and cast aside where they are sure to be found. But there is one trophy the killer prizes above all others, one woman who must be silenced forever....

Attorney Laurel Chandler did not come back to Bayou Breaux to seek justice. That once-burning obsession had destroyed her credibility, her career, her marriage--and nearly her sanity. But when a ruthless predator strikes too close to home, she's lured into a perverse game from which there may be no escape. Once before, Laurel's cries against a monstrous evil went unanswered. Who will listen now?

(Synopsis provided by Goodreads.com)

Cry Wolf is the first book by Hoag I have read. For me, the book started out slow, very slow.  It seemed to me to be more of a romance then a mystery. It needs to be said, that I am not very big on romance novels. A lot of people love them, but they just are not my cup of tea.  So I am looking past that and am going to focus on the mystery element of this book.

The book follows Laurel who is a lawyer is the one that ultimately is looking for the killer(s). I found the writing to be good, but at times, it felt a bit too flowery and I think the book could have used a bit more editing.

For the most part the dialog was good, there were a few parts that were unbearably cheesy, but those were more of the romantic scenes and again, I'm not a fan of romance books.  Hoag did a good job on leaving small clues leading to the answer of who is the killer(s).  I had an idea of who it was, but I wasn't sure.  Ultimately, I was wrong and the answer came as a small surprise for me, I had thought about this person(s) but I didn't think they were the answer.

Hoag is a talented author and I would try another of her books as I have heard from other readers that she other books that are more mystery.

Over all rating:
*** this is a solid 3 1/2 out of five stars for me. The romance which took up more of the book then the mystery knocked it down for me.

Cover Art
The cover art is okay, I don't love it, but I don't dislike it either.

Obtained:
My personal book shelf

*This is an adult book.

Saturday, January 22, 2011

In my mailbox 15

In my mailbox was started by The story siren





This week I got one book I won and I bought 2 books.
The books I bought were:

The mage in black by Jaye Wells


AND


Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning


The book I won, I won from Librarything! 

666 Park Avenue by Gabriella Pierce. Thank you Library thing. This is a 2011 debut novel!

So that is what I got this week, leave a comment and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

Lily

Friday, January 21, 2011

The Red Tree







The Red Tree by Caitlin R. Kiernan reviewed by Moirae the Fates book reviews.

Sarah Crowe left Atlanta, and the remnants of a tumultuous relationship, to live alone in an old house in rural Rhode Island. Within its walls she discovers an unfinished manuscript written by the house’s former tenant—a parapsychologist obsessed with the ancient oak growing on a desolate corner of the property. And as the gnarled tree takes root in her imagination, Sarah risks her health and her sanity to unearth a revelation planted centuries ago…(Synopsis provided by goodreads.com)

This was the first book by this author I have read, I found it at my local book store and after reading the synopsis I had to get a copy.

It needs to be said this book is not for everyone, if you don't like books that have lesbian relationships then this book is not for you. Or if you are easily offended by cursing.

Over all, I liked the book. I did get a bit irritated with the author constantly telling the reader that Sarah is a lesbian. I think it only needed to be said once, not in every chapter. Aside from that, It was a really interesting book. I was intrigued by the premise of the novel and I think that Kiernan did an amazing job in her execution of this novel.

The book a had a few things that I found to be predictable, however, the end, I never saw coming. It was a huge twist! I really enjoy books that have a huge twist at the end that the reader never sees coming.
I found Sarah's character to be a bit rough, but I liked her. She is very head strong and doesn't take crap from anyone, which I liked.

The dialogue was good and I thought it really allowed you to see how each of the characters thought and who they really were.

Over all rating:
**** 4 out of 5 stars

Cover art:
I really like the cover art, very haunting.

Obtained:
My personal book shelf.

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

In my mailbox 14






Okay so I've been uber busy, but here is my IMM.

This week I got some books for review, some I won and one  I bought.

Let's start with the ones I won.














Cat's Eyes by Karen Lee Field thank you goodreads first reads.













The Kensei by JOn F Merz thank you Library Thing.

The books I got for review:














Rage by Jakie Mores Kessler sent by publisher via net galley thank you!














Stork by Wendy Delsol, *2010 debut sent by the publisher, thank you candlewick press.
















Another Faust by Daniel and Dina Nayeri *this is a 2010 debut! Thank you Candlewick press.


Finally the book I bought














Hunger by Jackie Morse Kessler.

Sunday, January 9, 2011

In my mailbox 13

In my mailbox is hosted weekly by The Story Siren.







This week I won one book and the rest I bought. Let's start with the book I won.

I won a copy of Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry thank you bewitched bookworms!















Next for the books I bought.

I bought myself a copy of Red Headed Step Child by Jaye Wells. I had checked it out from the library and was unable to finish it before it was due, so I got my own copy.















I also got Shakesperes Land Lord the first of the Lily Bard mysteries by Charlaine Harris.














Lastly I bought myself a copy of Full Dark No Stars by Stephen King
















That's what I got leave me a note and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

Lily xx

Friday, January 7, 2011

Update

Hey Y'all!

As I have been very busy lately and I keep getting colds on and off I haven't had a lot of time to read new books. So in an effort to give the people what they want (reviews) I have decided that soon I will be posting reviews for books I've read in the past, but remember enough of to review properly.
Happy Reading lovely people!


LilyXX

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Holly Black Giveaway at YA Booklover



Hey y'all there is a giveaway for a copy of White Cat by Holly Black! It is hosted by Chloe and it's her very first giveaway! Head on over to Chloe's blog YA Booklover and enter for your chance to win this book!

New Cover for Passion by Lauren Kate!

I found this cover reveal on Barnes and Noble today! I have to say, I like this cover much better then the original cover for it!
But! That is not all there is a relaease date as well! It's June 14th 2011!!

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

The Shadowed Mind by Julie Cave






The Shadowed Mind by Julie Cave
Reviewed by Moirae the fates books reviews.
Against this backdrop, Dinah must come to terms with her own past, as those associated with the deepening mystery face their own personal demons, and struggle with the concept of God's inexhaustible grace and forgiveness.
Old secrets are revealed, tragedies unearthed, and the devastating legacy of science without compassion is finally brought to light.
(Synopsis provided by good reads )
This is the first book by Cave I have read. This is also the second book in the series. I enjoy reading mysteries and was excited to read this one. It is a Christian novel and I haven’t found many good Christian mystery novels. But I enjoyed this one. I never found the book to be preachy which is important for some readers.
My one complaint about the book is the lack of clues for the reader to string together to come up with the conclusion. If you are the type that wants to solve the crime before the book ends, I would suggest you read Agatha Christi or Stephen King or authors who have mystery that one can solve while reading.
The characters are believable and the dialogue is decent. The character development was really good and the writing style was amazing.
I would read more books by this author as well as recommend this author to other readers of mystery.

Over all rating:
*** 3 out of 5 stars

Cover art:
I thought the cover art was a little odd.

Obtained
I won this book from Goodreads first reads.

Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick





Crescendo by Becca Fitzptrick

Crescendo review by Moirae the fates book reviews.
Nora Grey's life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn't pleasant, but atleast she got a guardian angel out of it: a mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But, despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He's more elusive than ever and even worse, he's started spending time with Nora's arch-enemy, Marcie Millar.

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Path hadnt been acting so distant. Even with Scott's totally infuriating attitude Nora finds herself drawn to him - despite her lingering feeling that he's hiding something.

Haunted by images of her murdered father, and questioning whether her nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death, Nora puts herself increasingly in dangerous situations as she desperatly searches for answers. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything - and everyone - she trusts.
(Synopsis provided by goodreads)

This book picks up after book one, I have to say I didn’t like this one. I found myself skimming it more then anything. I thought Nora took a huge step back in this one. It felt like she wasn’t an empowered woman, which really bothered me.
There was good though, I did like how Vee’s character developed. I liked some of the new characters we got to meet.
There was a big dramatic ending that I didn’t see coming which is always good. But, I still felt like this book really lacked. I do hope that the third book will be better. I felt like there was a lot of this book that could have been edited and I think there was a lot that wasn’t there that could have been.
We got to learn more about Nora’s father and his death, which was interesting, but for me it wasn’t enough to make me really like it. I am in the minority though on this one, a lot of people loved the book. I might give it another try later on.

Overall rating:
**1/2 2 ½ out of 5

Cover art
I like the cover art for this one better then the first.

Obtained
My personal book shelf.

Saturday, January 1, 2011

In My Mailbox 12

In my mailbox is hosted weekly by The story siren.




Okay this weeks is huge. The only reason is because it was Christmas and all I asked for was gift cards to the book store!
I won 2 books this week they were:


Flirt Club by Cathleen Daly thank you Good reads first reads!
The Losers Club by Richard Perez thank you Library thing and Richard Perez.












Now on to the books I bought! I bought a lot so strap in!













 The girl who loved Tom Gordon by Stephen King













 There's no place like here by Cecelia Ahern














Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins














Cleopatra a life by Stacy Schiff














Gerald's Game by Stephen King














Hexbound by Chloe Neill














The Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine *contains books 1&2














Purge by Sarah  Littman




 Last night at Chateau Marmont by Lauren Weisberger




Rosebush by Michele Jeffe



Supernatural War of the Sons by Rebecca Dessertine














Thanks for the memories by Cecelia Ahern














Valiant by Holly Black

Whew! That was a long post took forever! Leave me a message and let me know what you got in your mailbox.

Lily

Night Betrayed by Joss Ware early review


Night Betrayed by Joss Ware Envy Chronicles book 4.

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

First of all I want to say that this is an adult book, I’d recommend it for 18 and over, if you have not read the first 3 books in the series it’s important you do so, or you could be very confused in my opinion.

I have loved everything that Joss Ware/Colleen Gleason has written, I am a huge fan, so when I had the opportunity to read an ARC of this book, I was very excited.

This is Theo’s book. Due to the “Change” of the world that happened 50 years ago, Theo has suffered an effect in which he doesn’t age. Even though he is 78, he looks like he’s much younger. Selena has secrets of her own, she can se death in the form of a cloud around people before they die just as she can see those that come over to help the dying cross-over essentially. She is a miracle baby born during the change.

Selena and Theo are the main characters in this installment. I really enjoyed their story, it felt real with the worries that Selena had with their romance, the whole thing felt very believable. Ware’s romances have something for everyone I think while staying very true to her characters and making it feel as if it could really happen. This series is full of mystery and intrigue that is very hard to put down. Ware is a master at character development and dialogue two things that can be very hard to come by.

In Night Betrayed, we get a lot of answers that we asked in books 1-3, but true to her style Ware makes twists and turns that leave us asking more questions and waiting for the next installment.

Full of mystery and hot romance, Night Betrayed lived up to my hopes, it is the best yet in this series and I can’t wait for the next book! I highly recommend this book; I love the post-apocalypse idea and world that Ware created in this series. Truly amazing.

Over all rating
My over all rating for this book is ****4 out 5 stars.

What Parents need to know
18 and over this is NOT a YA book.

Cover art.
I really like the cover art to this one, out of all the others this is my favorite cover for the series.

Obtained:
I received this book from the publisher via netgalley. Thank you!