Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Giveaways at Sparkling Reviews.

I found a giveaway and I wanted to let y'all know she has 2 awesome ones going right now. One for a FULL set of the Vampire Academy books, which I have not read yet and a nook color! Please be aware that the blog has an 18 and over warning.

You can find her blog here.

Annexed by Sharon Dogar






Annexed by Sharon Dogar

Review by Moirae the fates book reviews.


I picked this book up because I love the Diary of Anne Frank. It’s always a difficult subject to read.
Writing a fictional book based on a real person in a situation like this must be difficult. My biggest fear with this book was that it would somehow change who the people in the secret annex were. Or at least change how people thought of them.
I think the author did a good job in be sensitive to the memory of the people she was writing about and being sensitive to the survivors of the Holocaust and the people who were persecuted.
It’s hard to talk about character development in this, but you could see how her Peter was growing and how he was dealing with the situation they were in. She did a good job in bringing it all to light and making the reader feel like they were with Peter and seeing everything he was seeing.
One thing to remember is that after they were taken away from the annex, there is little we know about what really happened. We have records telling who went where, but knowing what they thought and felt, of course we have no idea, we can only guess.
I think that over all this was well written and would be good to read along with The Diary of Anne Frank. Knowing this is a fictional version of course.
I do think this was a very powerful book and it was a very hard one to read mostly when it gets to part two when Peter is in the camps after being found in the annex.
I did like how at the end the author put a blurb about each person in the annex and what happened to them after they were taken.

Over all:
I would give this book *** 3 out of five stars.

What parents need to know:
I would say more then anything a parent needs to read this book before letting a younger child read it. The subject matter is very heavy and it is a very sad book.

Cover Art:
I liked the cover art, I liked how they have the arm band with the Star of David right there so one can’t miss it.

Obtained:
I got this book from the publisher.

Horror and Urband Fanstasy 2011 challenge.

Book Chick City is hosting another challenge for 2011! YAY! It's a horror and Urban fantasy one! Since I have a plan to do a Stephen King month, I can count his books towards the challenge which is cool! Head on over to her site and check it out!


Monday, November 29, 2010

Mystery and Suspense reading challenge hosted by Book Chick City.

Hey Y'all! I have joined Book Chick City in a reading challenge she is hosting for 2011. Like she said, it has something for everyone, head on over and check it out! I am very excited to start this challenge. You can also find the badge on the side bar of my blog.


Sunday, November 28, 2010

Stephen King Month.

Hey, y'all, so I am thinking of having January or February a month of only Stephen King reviews. However, is this something y'all would be interested in? If not I'll stick to the type of books I have been reviewing. Please let me know what you think.

Lily xx

In my mailbox 7

I only got one book for review this week. The others I bought. I will start with the book I got for review.

The Lost Voices by Sarah Porter. Thank you Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.













Okay, now for the books I bought. I have read reviews of The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff, I got myself a copy!












I also got myself a copy of Crescendo by Becca Fizpatrick!














Please leave me a comment and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

Lily xx

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Terry Goodkind rules and has a new book!

Okay lovelies! Terry Goodkind (Who is as awesome as Stephen King yes I did just say that LOVE those two men!) has a new book coming out early 2011. Called The Omen Machine.

How cool is that??

Friday, November 26, 2010

Swag Giveaway.

Hi y'all!

So over at My Over stuffed book shelf, there is a giveaway for a package full of swag! You can find out more about it by clicking on the badge. (I hop if works LOL) If not, you can find her blog on my blog roll on the side bar.

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Always a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough Early Review.




Always a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough Early Review
By Moirae the fates book reviews.


This is the sequel to Once a Witch. Always a Witch, picks up right where Once a Witch left off. In this book, we get all the answers that we wanted in book one. I must say, that I liked this book a lot more then the first. I found this one to be much faster paced and the book was a bit darker then the first.
Tam has to find a way to fix the problem that the Greene family was left with in book one. The Knight family remains their rivals in the story. What I really liked was how much Tam grows as a person and how her character develops into an even more independent and strong woman. Which is really important to have a strong female lead in a YA book.
Gabriel and Tams relationship blooms even more in this installment then it did in the first. We learned in book one that Traveling was not allowed, but we didn’t fully understand why. In Always a witch we learn more about Traveling and the repercussions that is can have.  We also get to see Tam grow more into her Talent and she learns how to use it and the full effect it can have.
The character development as a whole carried on more in this book I think then it did in the first one. Which is understandable. I found the dialog in this one witty. I really enjoyed it and it felt real. It didn’t feel like the author was grasping at straws which is great. I really enjoyed this book!

Overall rating:
**** 4 out of 5 stars highly recommended.

Cover art:

I really liked the cover art to this one. The dress is amazing and the use of blue is absolutely beautiful.

What parents need to know:

There is no sexual content in this book.

This book will be released on August 1 2011

Obtained from the publisher.

Bonus cover!

Okay, I just found this one and I am so excited!! The new Southern Vampire Mysteries cover! (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood) By Charlaine Harris. If you ever have the chance to meet her, you should, I got to and she is super fun.


Dead Reckoning is due out May 3 2011.

Can't wait till Friday COVER!!!!


The cover to JR Ward's Lover Unleashed!!!!!! This book is due out  March 29 2011

Sunday, November 21, 2010

In my mailbox 6

In My Mail Box is hosted weekly by The Story Siren.

This week I got four books and all of them are for review.

First up, I got Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky. This book is due out May 23 2011 so thank you Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.


                                               

The second one is Mystify by Artist Arthur. This book is due out January 25 2011 so thank you Harlequin Teen.



The third one I got is The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa. This book is due out January 25 2011 so thank you Harlequin Teen.



The last one I got is Night Betrayed by Joss Ware. This book is also due out on January 25 2011 so thank you Harper Collins.


So that is what I got this week, please leave a comment and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

Lily

Saturday, November 20, 2010

Quick review The Healer's Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson

Today is a quick review of The Healer's Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson.


I really enjoyed this book. I am a huge fan of historical fiction. I found the book to have strong characters, a strong dialog and be well-written.
The character development was done like so well, it reminded me of brush strokes that an artist would make with a paint brush.
I read this book, while I had a bad case of the flu and it was a fast read. I loved the fairy tale element, and while there were a few things I found predictable, there was a lot I didn't see coming.
I would highly recommend this book.

Over all rating:

**** 4 out of 5 stars

Cover art:

I simply love the cover art! I love all things from the middle ages and renaissance era.

Obtained by Goodreads First Reads contest.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

My Reviews

Here is a complete list of the reviews on my blog. They are organized by author.

A

Abuelaish, Izzeldin  I shall not hate*

Adornetto, Alexandria  Halo

Anderson, Laurie Halse  Wintergirls

AR, Mohamed   The Longed Tales*

Arthuer, Artist  Mystify

Asher, Jay  13 reasons why

The Future of Us

B 

Baccaro, J.W  Prophecy of the Guardian *,
Siege of darkness*
 The coming of light*
Sword of righteousness*
Rise Of The Guardian*

Backes, Molly, M.  The Princesses Of Iowa.

Berk, Ari Professor  The Secret History Of Mermaids 

Black, Jenna  Shadowspell

Blake, Kendare  Anna dressed in blood.

Brooks, Terry  Measure Of Magic*

Brown, Anne, Greenwood Lies Beneath

Brown, Victoria  Minding Ben*

Bryant, Simone  Famous

Byron, Goodloe  The Wraith*

C

Cabot, Meg  Abandon

Carter, Amiee  The goddess test

Cave, Julie The Shadowed mind

Childs, Tera Lynn  Forgive my Finns
Fins are forever

Clare, Cassandra  Clockwork Angel

Clear, Robert  The Cambridge List* 

Clement-Moore, Rosemary  The Splendor Falls
  
Condie, Ally  Matched

Cross, Kady,  The Strange Case of Finley Jayne
Girl in the Steel Corset.

Crouch, Katie  The Magnolia League

Culbertson, Kim  Instructions for broken heart 

D

Daly, Cathleen  Flirt Club~

de la Cruz, Melissa  Witches of East End*
Blue Bloods

Delsol, Wendy  Stork  
Frost

Dessertine, Rebecca  Supernatural one year gone* 

Dickerson, Melanie  The Healer's Apprentice

Dogar, Sharon  Annexed

Durst, Sarah Beth  Enchanted Ivy

E
F

Fattah-Abdel, Randa  Where Streets had a name~

Fiedler, Lisa  Romeo's ex

Field, Karen Lee  Cats Eyes~

Fisher, Catherine  The Dark City

Fitzpatrick, Becca Hush, Hush
Crescendo

Forman, Gayle  If I stay

G

Gier, Kerstin  Ruby Red

Goodwin, Daisy  The American Heiress*

Grace, Amanda  But I love him

Green, Kelly  Borrowing Abby Grace part one and two

Green, Risa  The Secret Society of the Pink Crystal Ball

H

Hannah, Kristin   Night Road

Harrison, Mette, Ivie  Tris and Izzie

Hautman, Pete  The Obsidian Blade 

Hawkins, Rachel  Hex Hall
Demonglass
Spell Bound

Hoag, Tami  Cry Wolf *

Hodkin, Michelle  The unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Hopcus, Anastasia  Shadow Hills

Hopkins, Ellen  Crank

Hubbard, Kirsten  Like Mandarin
Wanderlove

Hulick, Douglas  Among Thieves*

I

J


Johnson, Marc  Catalyst

Johnson, Maureen  The Name of the Star

K 

Kacvinsky, Katie  Awaken

Kade, Stacey  The Ghost and the Goth
Queen of the Dead

Kagawa, Julie The Iron Queen

Kate, Lauren  The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove,
Fallen,
Torment
Passion
Fallen in love

Keplinger, Kody  The Duff

Kessler, Jackie Morse Hunger,,

Rage

Khan, Michelle  The Hijab boutique~

King, Gary C.  The Murder of Meredith Kercher** 

King, Stephen  'Salme's Lot*
Blockade Billy*

Kirnan, Caitlin R. The Red Tree *

Knight, Karsten   Wildefire

Kontis, Althea Enchanted

Koontz, Dean  Breathless*
 77 Shadow Street*

L
M

MacCullough, Carolyn Once a witch,
Always a witch

Mafi, Tahereh  Shatter Me.

Medina, Meg  The girl who could silence the wind. 

Meloy, Maile  The Apothecary~
  
Merz, Jon F.  The Kensei

Mesina, Ley  Reborn

Miles, Elizabeth  Fury 

Mitchell, Saundra  The Vespertine

Moning, Karen Marie  Darkfever*
Shadowfever*
Beyond the Highland Mist *
To tame a highland warrior*
The Highlander's Touch*

Moulton, Allison  Angelfire

N 

Nayeri, Daniel & Dina  Another Faust

Noel, Alyson  Evermore

O
 

Paterson, John & Katherine  The Flint Heart~

Patrick, Cat  Forgotten.

Perez, Richard  The Losers Club*

Pierce, Gabriella  666 Park Avenue*

Plum, Amy  Die for me
Until I die


Porter, Sarah  Lost Voices

Q

R


Ray, Michelle  Falling for Hamlet

Rennison, Louise  On the bright side I'm now the girlfriend of a sex god

Knocked Out By My Nunga-Nungas.

Riggs, Ransom  Miss Peregrines home for peculiar children

Rothenberg, Jess  The Catastrophic History of You and Me


S

Schnurnberger, Lynn  The best laid plans*

Schreiber, Joe  Au Revoir Crazy European Chick

Selfors, Suzanne  Saving Juliet.

Shelley, M.M  Mishap and Mayhem

Shepard, Sara  The Lying Game

Slater, Sean  The Survivor*

Smith, Cynthia, Leitich  Blessed 

Smith, Eric  Textual Healing*

Smith, Jennifer E.  The Statistical Probability Of Love At First Sight.

Sones, Sonya  What My Mother Doesn't Know.

Suma, Ren, Nova  Imaginary Girls

T

Thompson, J. D.  Silver and stone bloodlines series 

Thor, Brad  The Athena Project*

Tibbets, Anne  Beast Call

Tregay, Sarah  Love and leftovers

Turgeon, Carolyn  Mermaid.

Tusa, Chris  Dirty Little Angels*

U
V
W 

Ware, Joss  Night Betrayed*

X
Y
Yovanoff, Brenna  The replacement


ANTHOLOGY
Dear Bully 

To create a bit more order reviews marked with * indicates it is an adult book (18+) most likely. Reviews marked with ~ are mostly middle grade, some could pass as YA, but I feel they are more middle grade and reviews marked with ** indicates that it is a true crime novel.

Monday, November 15, 2010

Famous by Simone Bryant Early review

Famous by Simone Bryant

Famous review by Moirae the fates book reviews. Early review.

I was excited to read Famous as I heard the series was similar to the television show Gossip Girl. I found the story line itself, enjoyable, but one of the characters, I found irritating. This girl seemed to feel entitled to everything she had, more so then Starr and Marisol. The chapters alternate between the three girls. At the start of each chapter it has a blog like element by telling the reader who the chapter is about, the time and the mood of the character. I liked this element. The book follows three girls at the prestigious Pace Academy. All three of these girls are the daughters of famous parents, athletes and entertainers. The girls want to be famous on their own not because of who their parents are. The story shows how the deal with being in the lime-light and being the popular girls in school.
The language bordered on being stereotypical. I found the over use of italics in the first part of the story to be irritating. The use of text language really bothered me and the constant use of the words ‘whatev’ and ‘whateves’. I really wish that the author would have used the correct spelling and wording. I understand she did this to convey what the girls were saying how they were speaking.
Aside from that, I did enjoy the story line. I liked the gossip girl type of blog in the book. I’ve always liked reading fiction about rich and famous. The descriptions of the homes the girls lived in were excellent. I really enjoyed reading it, the way the author uses description, really brought the scenery to life.
Ms. Bryant’s characters are strong and they have their weaknesses as well. She did a wonderful job of not having any Mary-sue characters. All of the girls had a strong voice, and each voice was very different from the others. It was never difficult to determine who’s chapter was who’s.
The story arc and character development were both good. This is always a very important thing for me when I am reading a book. Over all, I would give the series another try when book 3 comes out, but I think I would get it from my library to make sure I like it. I would encourage fans of Gossip Girl and the Gossip Girl book series to read this book as the story line is similar and it is rather enjoyable.

Over all rating:
Due to the ‘whateves’ and the one character, I would give this book 2 and a half out of five stars. But again, I do encourage Gossip Girl fans to read it.

Cover Art:
I really liked the over art, it really let the reader know what the book was about.

What parents need to know:
There is some talk about teen pregnancy in this book, but the author in no way glamorizes it, in fact, the characters are dead set against it.

Obtained:
I received this for review by the publisher Harlequin.

This book is available on December 28th 2010

Shadow Hills by Anastasia Hopcus review

Shadow Hills by Anastasia Hopcus

Shadow Hills review by Moiraethefates book reviews.

Shadow Hills is Ms. Hopcus’ debut novel. I found it a fresh new take on the paranormal. This book has more of a magical element, but magic is even the wrong word to use. I enjoyed the book very much and I really liked the mystery element of the story.
Phe goes to Shadow Hills after the death of her sister Athena. She enrolls at the same school her sister was in to find out what caused her sister’s death. Phe has been having the same dream at the same time of night, the dreams are unnerving, by going to Shadow Hills, she hopes to solve the mystery of the dreams as well.
She finds that in Shadow Hills, there was an epidemic in the 1700’s that plagued the town, oddly she can find little to no information about it.
I found the story to be fast-paced and interesting. Hopcus’ characters are believable as well as likeable. The story arc was well thought out and the writing style was very good.
I found the relationship between Zach and Phe to be complex but believable. The dialogue wasn’t clichĂ© and never seemed to be forced, which is wonderful; too often dialogue can seem forced.
I do hope that this book will have a sequel.

Over all rating:
**** 4 out of 5 stars
Cover art:
The cover art is simple, but lovely.

What parents need to know:
The sexual content of the book consists of kissing and one scene of sensuality. There is some language in the book, but not a lot.

Obtained:
My local library.

Saturday, November 13, 2010

In my mailbox 5

In my mailbox was started by The Story Siren.

Here is what was in my mailbox this week. I got 4 books for review.

The Healer's Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson. Thank you Good reads first reads.
Always a witch by Carolyn MacCullough. Thank you Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.
Annexed by Sharon Dogar. Thank you Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Famous by Simone Bryant thank you Harlequin Teen.

So that's what I got this, week leave a comment and tell me what you got in your mailbox this week.

Lily

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Up coming reviews.

Here is a list of my up coming reviews. Please note a few things, this is not in any order and I will be adding books to this list as I get them as well as deleting from this list when a review is up. Please look for these reviews soon!

Halo by Alexandra Adornetto











Nightshade by Andrea Cremer











Beyond the night by Joss Ware











Always a witch by Carolyn MacCullough











The Healer's apprentice by Melanie Dickerson











Annexed by Sharon Dogar

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Bonus cover!

Okay y'all we have a bonus cover that's right a bonus cover! The cover is by my favorite vampire author Ms. Colleen Gleason (who also writes as Joss Ware)

The book is not out until April of 2011, so we have a while to wait.

Friday, November 5, 2010

Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough



Once a witch by Carolyn MacCullough

Reviewed by Moiraethefates book blog.

After seeing numerous reviews for this book, I picked it up. I have always enjoyed books about witches especially during Halloween.
For me it took about 100 pages before the book really picked up. The start was a bit slow for me, but I understand that the author needed to set up the story.
The main character Tamsin, is from a family of powerful witches, when she was born, it was prophesized that she’d be the most powerful of all. However, Tamsin has no Talent. (Not a spoiler, it says this on the book jacket).
Tamsin is mistaken for Rowena, her powerful older sister and she agrees to help a professor from the local college locate a family heirloom.
The story line itself, I found original. I enjoyed the writing style and the intrigue that MacCullough created. Her characters are well developed and they all seemed very believable to me. I loved the fact that she created this truly unique story. I like that the witches don’t say they have magic they call it Talent. I haven’t found a book that replaces the word ‘magic’ with another word. I found it refreshing.
It was a fair quick read as well less then 300 pages. I do wish that there had been more descriptions about the ceremonies that appear in the story. I always like reading the ceremonies. I also wish it would have been longer, it seemed really short and I felt like I was missing something. I do hope that the next book in the series “Always a Witch” will be longer and that it will give the readers more answers to the questions we have from book one. Over all I liked the book and I am looking forward to book two.

Cover art: I was not overly impressed with the cover art to the hardcover edition of this book.

What parents need to know : There was no sexual content in this book aside from kissing.

Overall rating: *** 3 out of 5 stars

Obtained from my local library.

In My Mailbox 4

In My Mailbox was started by The Story Siren.

I had a wonderful week this week. So exciting, elections are always exciting, you can feel it in the air! Halloween is always fun, and I swear the air smells different on Halloween night. I simply love it! I found a candle that reminds me of the smell of Halloween night!
Anyway, here is what was in my mailbox this week:

I bought one book (Well, actually I helped my Father out and he bought me the book as a thank you. But I think it was more so I would stop talking about how cool the book sounds haha) The book I bought was Nightshade by Andrea Cremer. The UPS driver just dropped it off an hour ago. I have 4 other books to read first, but I can't wait to read this one!!



The other book I got this week was one that I won from the author. I loved her books when she wrote as Colleen Gleason, so I am very excited to read her series as Joss Ware. I got a copy of the first in her new series.  Beyond the Night. It was in my mailbox today so thank you Joss Ware!





Please leave a comment and tell me what you got in your mailbox this week!

Lily

Cover Friday

Today is the cover for Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer the author of Nightshade.

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Demon glass has a NEW release date!!!!!

So I just found out that Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins has a NEW RELEASE DATE!
FEBRUARY 15!!!!!! That is EARLIER then the last one of March 1! I can't wait! I am SO excited!! Also, if you go here and scroll down a little bit, you can enter to win an ARC of Demon glass! I have entered I was person 4 to enter! I hope I win I can't wait to read it! Once I get paid for dog sitting I am pre-ordering it regardless if I win or not! If you haven't read my review of Hex Hall book one, you can find it here.
Lily