Friday, October 29, 2010

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

As an avid fan of books that center around fallen angels, I was eager to read this book, and lets be honest, the cover is amazing! I have now read this book twice.
I found the story engaging, but at the same time, there were things that didn’t quite make sense. I am hoping that some questions will be cleared up when I am able to read the sequel.
Hush,Hush centers around Nora and her best friend Vee. The pair of them meet Jules and Elliot in a café before going to school. The boys were from a privet school in Portland Maine and one was on his way to the public high school with Nora and Vee.
When they get to biology class, this is when Nora meets the mysterious Patch. Patch is the mysterious guy who freaks Nora out, thus prompting Nora, the intelligent ivy league bound girl to snoop through is student files, trying to find out what is different about him.
Nora soon finds out that there was a death at the privet school Elliot and Jules attended. This coupled with the mysterious break ins and attacks that seem to be following Nora around, prompt her to investigate the boys and the school.
She gets into some trouble in Portland but Patch is there to help her. However, Patch has secrets of his own that he keeping from her and its not until the end that Nora figures it all out.
I found the writing style to my liking, but the constant use of the word ‘and’ being used to begin a sentence really bothered me. The over all story line was good, I would have liked to see more character development in Vee, however, I think we will be able to see more in the sequel.
I did like the authors use of imagery in the story, She took the fallen angel story line and really made it her own. Her story was original and enjoyable.
I am excited to read the next book and hopefully I will get some of the answers I am looking for.

What Parents Need To Know
: The book does talk about sex, but in a non-graphic way, there is kissing and a scene in which 2 of the characters are in their underwear and in a cheap motel, there is some sensuality in this scene but nothing graphic.

Cover Art
: I loved the cover art on this book! It was what really drew me to the book in the first place.

Overall rating:

*** 3 out of 5 stars.

Obtained from my local library.

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Can't wait till Friday COVER!!!!

Okay so one of the  first books I ever reviewed was Hex Hall. Rachel Hawkins has posted the cover to the sequel Demonglass. It is SO beautiful I have to share it with you all! I just love that they kept the mirror image thing and the kitty! If you have not read Hex Hall as it is Halloween I would highly suggest reading it, you can find my review Here.

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Awesome giveaway!

Hey guys over at candaces book blog she is hosting a really great giveaway. Not saying anything more, you should check it out yourself click away!!

My Wishlist

Here is the book I am dying to read!

I just HAVE to read this one!

Monday, October 18, 2010

Update

So I have been very busy and I was unable to finish the Dave Mustaine book, before it was due at the library. I will not review a book unless I finished it, so until I can get the book again and finish it, sadly there will not be a review of it, so I have a different review for this week.

Lily

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Thursday, October 14, 2010

Torment by Lauren Kate Review



Torment by Lauren Kate review by Moireaethefatesbooktreviews.
I was so excited to read the sequel to the best seller Fallen. I was not disappointed! Kate has done it again! Torment picks up where Fallen left off. We get to follow Luce to California and to new school; Daniel and Cam are working together against a mutual foe.
While Luce is at her new school, her family and friends in Georgia think she is still at Sword&Cross. Daniel, has given her strict instructions to stay at her new school for her own protection, Luce doesn’t listen and gets into some tough spots.
We learned in Fallen that Luce has been reincarnated; in Torment we get a glimpse into her past lives. We also learn more about the strange shadows that have been following Luce her whole life.
We do not see Daniel as much in this book as we did in book one. But we do get to meet some new characters that are just as strong as Kate’s other characters.
We meet a new breed of angels that are born of a mortal and a fallen angel. This group was very interesting and I simply loved what they brought to the story.
This story was jam packed with much wanted info and is action packed from cover to cover!
We get more of an insight into Luce and Daniel’s relationship, which was refreshing.
Kate has given her fans a fast-paced well-written plot. As always her character development is flawless! Her writing is amazing it never felt like she was trying to force a plot that wasn’t there. The plot was always there and it flows beautifully.
I have heard the books compared to Twilight, but in my opinion the two are nothing alike. They are two separate books by two separate authors. I can’t say how much I loved this book! Ms. Kate is one of the best authors of the YA adult genera. I simply devour her books!
She has said that her upcoming book Passion which is set to be released in Summer 2011, will be a prequel to Fallen and we get to see a bit from Daniel’s point of view as well. Which I am looking forward to, I keep looking to see if the book is available for pre-order!

Cover art
***** 5 out of 5 stars
What parents need to know:
There is some language but not much in this book, the only “sexual content” is kissing.

Over all rating:
***** 5 out of 5

Cover Friday

Ripple by Mandy Hubbard, will be available on 21, July, 2011 from Razorbill/Penguin.

Sunday, October 10, 2010

In my mailbox 2

In my mailbox is a weekly post started by The story Siren

This week I only have one book to share.

I got Hush Hush from my local library.

Saturday, October 9, 2010

My Wishlist

My wish list was started by Book Chick City.

So, I only post one book a week and it's usually the one I am dying to read! So on my wishlist this week is Once a witch by Carolyn MacCullough


Friday, October 8, 2010

COVER Friday

There is now a cover for the up coming Naamah's Blessing by Jacqueline Carey!

Wintergirls


Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson is the most powerful YA (young adult) book I have ever read. The tag line is I swear to be the skinniest girl in school, skinnier then you. The tag line its self is haunting. The book as all of Anderson’s works is well researched and beautifully written.
Lia the main character struggles with anorexia, a topic that is not talked about in most societies. Lia comes from a dysfunctional family and is dealing with the loss of her best friend. Her friend was also a sufferer of anorexia, but she was also a cutter. (A person who cuts themselves.) The friend was found dead in a hotel room.
This book really opens up the closed secret world of eating disorders, Lia is consumed with counting calories and staying thin. She takes food and puts it on a plate before throwing it out, she then puts the dirty plate out so her family will think she is eating, she has been to rehab before and has to be weighed each day to ensure that she is not loosing weight again, however Lia has taken to sewing quarters into the pockets of her ratty bathrobe to add a little extra weight without her Step-Mother knowing that she has the coins.
This book can be very difficult to read if you or someone you know suffers or has suffered from an eating disorder like anorexia before. Throughout the book, the readers can see into Lia’s head and can see what she is thinking and how anorexia is consuming her life and how counting her calories has become as natural as breathing.
People around Lia know she is ill, but the illness is not one that can be fixed over night.
It’s a beautiful and haunting story that should be required reading for every student in the country as well as their parents. I recommend this book to every girl young and old alike as well as anyone who is curious about the illness.
I would say that if you have struggled with an eating disorder in the past then please be in a safe place before you read this book, as it could be triggering for some. I personally know someone who suffers from anorexia and said she had to put the book down until she was in a safe place.

What parents need to know:
Wintergirls is a very serious book and I would recommend that parents read it before their teen.

The cover art:
I found the cover art very haunting, it fit the title, but it didn’t give off a vibe of being about anorexia.

My overall rating:
My over all rating for Wintergirls is ***** 5 out of 5 stars.

Obtained:
My personal bookshelf.

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

CRESCENDO!

Hey guys, as many of you know Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick will be out on October 19! It is the follow up book to her best selling Hush, Hush. 

 

Sunday, October 3, 2010

In my mailbox

I am trying something new this week, in my mailbox. This is a weekly post that is hosted every Sunday by The Story Siren I liked the idea so much I wanted to try it out here.

So this week I acquired some new titles to read.
First up is the amazing Torment by Lauren Kate




I purchased this book for my personal bookshelf, I also had the honor of meeting Lauren Kate on her tour and I must say if you ever have the chance to meet her, you should, she is a very kind, sweet lady and very funny.


I went to my local library and picked up two books to read, the first is Mustaine: A Heavy Metal Memoir. By Dave Mustaine with Joe Layden



I also picked up a copy of The Witches of Eastwick by John Updike



I also won a book this week! I won Love Bites by Adrienne Barbeau
Thank you Amanda!

Saturday, October 2, 2010

Forgive my fins by Tera Lynn Childs

Forgive my Fins

Forgive my fins by Tera Lynn Childs was a very enjoyable read for me. The book is narrated in the present tense by Lily .
The book centers around Lily Sanderson a mermaid princess. She is on land living with her Aunt Rachel. She has one main reason to be there and one reason only to find her mermate.
Lily has it all planned out she knows who she wants to be her mermate, but when the bonding goes wrong she is sent on a long wild run trying to set it right. She takes her bonded mate back to her mercity with her to get the bond severed.
The relationship between Lily and her mate is believable; it never felt like Childs was forcing something that just wasn’t there. It was a true and natural flow.
The only thing I didn’t find believable was the reaction of one of the characters when Lily tells them she is a mermaid. As one would expect there would be disbelief, but the character accepts it blindly. Childs does address this, but it still seemed a little too perfect for me.
Some may think that Lily is self absorbed and hung up on Brody; however, I didn’t see it that way, I think Childs did a wonderful job in reinitiating through Lily that Lily is in love (or perhaps thinks she is) with Brody.
One thing I found really refreshing about Lily is that she is not Mary-Sue in any way. She is not queen bee nor is she top of the class. She is less then popular and she is towards the bottom of her class.
The imagery that Childs dreams up when Lily is home with her merfolk is amazing! I simply loved every word of it. The creativity in the seaslang is really fun. This is a great book and a great read on a hot summer day. After all what else is more fun to read on a warm sunny beach then a mermaid story?

The cover art
I thought the contrast of the blues, greens and purples was a great touch. The cover is simply gorgeous. I loved it.

What parents need to know
This was a very PG safe book. The only ‘Sexual content’ was kissing, if you can even call it sexual content.

Over all rating of Forgive my fins
***=3 out of 5 stars

Obtained
MY personal bookshelf