Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Sad Demonglass news



Okay, so I just saw a post Rachel made about 10 days ago, it looks like Demonglass has been pushed back to it's original March 1 release date. Which bites the big one. *Shakes fist in the direction of the book world*
I want to read it NOW! This is really sad.

Lily

Monday, December 27, 2010

In My Mailbox 11

In my mailbox was started by The Story Siren.




I got a few books this week. I won one, bought two and got one at the library.

Lets start with what I won.













I won a signed ARC of 5 flavors of dumb by Antony John. Thank you Kelsy!

From my local Library I got :













Journals by Kurt Cobain. This is a compilation of his personal journals, after his death, they were sold and published.

I bought two books this week:













Separation of power by Vince Flynn













Matched by Ally Condie.

That was what I got this week, leave a comment and let me know what you got in your mailbox.
Don't forget to enter my 123 follower giveaway located on the side bar.
Hope you had a good Christmas.

Lily

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Moirae the fates nominated for best new blog

 **Edit, I have decided that if I win, I will hold a Joss Ware/Colleen Gleason swag giveaway for anyone who votes in the contest below. If you vote just drop a note here and tell me you voted.

So I found out today, that the blog has been nominated for best new blog at mindful musings. I am honored its amazing!

You can see all the other blogs and there are great ones that are up for the award too and you can vote as well go here to learn more.


Lily xx

Saturday, December 18, 2010

IMM 10

In my mailbox is hosted weekly by The story Siren.

This is going to be short and sweet, as I got one book this week. It's one I won.


The Shadowed Mind by Julie Cave











Please leave me a comment and let me know what you got in your mailbox.

Friday, December 17, 2010

Follow my book blog Friday



This is a weekly meme hosted by parajunkee .
Todays featured blogger is rabid-reads . Stop by her site and follow her.

Lost Voices by Sarah Porter early review




The Lost Voices by Sarah Porter
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

This is a debut novel about mermaids. I love all things mermaids! The main character Luce becomes a mermaid after falling into the cold icy ocean in Alaska. Luce is sent to live with her uncle who is a drunk after her father is lost at sea.

All of the mermaid’s in this book became mermaids after they were betrayed by a man in their lives, in Luce’s case, it was her uncle.
However, there is a twist with the mermaids in this book, they act more like sirens then mermaids. Their main lot in life is to murder sailors with their songs.

Luce is a strong character with a heart breaking story. Her raw emotion is shown through out the book. The author has created a very strong voice with this character. I felt that Luce’s feelings were real and the way they came across was amazingly well done.

The other mermaids in this book are very rude, which reflects how a lot of teen girls are. I felt that all of the characters were very strong and all of the relationships were believable.

That being said, there were times when I felt like there was something missing, like a chapter was missing from the book or something similar.

Over all, I would say this is a very dark book. But hauntingly beautiful. I wish I could give it more stars, I do. But when I was left feeling like something was missing, it knocked it down from a four star to a three star.
I would read this again and I do want to buy a copy when it is available. If you like mermaid books, with a twist and dark tales, I would say give it a try.

Overall rating:
*** 3 out of 5 stars.

Cover art:

The cover art is simply beautiful. Can I get a poster?

Obtained:

I was given a copy by the publisher via netgalley Thank you!

*This title will be released on July 4 2011

The Athena Project by Brad Thor


The Athena Project by Brad Thor
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

The forces of counterterrorism never rest in this new full-throttle Brad Thor thriller. The Athena Project engraved in the title is the code name for the training of an elite team of multi-skilled female warriors recruited from world champion athletes. Once deployed, these superlatively conditioned operatives will pursue missions even more dangerous than impossible. Covert action; military intrigue; reader excitement.
(Synopsis provided by goodreads.com)

When I heard about a book that stars an elite all female delta force team I was very excited. I love reading books about strong women that can kick some ass and hold their own. It’s a thing I think we need more of in the literary world.
This is the first book by Brad Thor that I have read, and I must say, I am now hooked! I will be looking for more of his titles on my next trip to the book store.

This was such an intriguing and thrilling ride! Full of action, mystery, suspense and wit. The women are all very strong and not someone I would want to cross! This is a difficult book to review without any spoilers.

TAP (The Athena Project) is the code named given to the women.

The book begins in a “flash back” to 1944 in Europe. When it flashes forward to the present day, the TAP members end up traveling to South America, where they uncover secrets from World War two.

I loved Thor’s writing style and how all his characters are connected. He has excellent dialog and the character development is flawless. Each of his TAP members are very different in their personalities, I never felt as if they were carbon copies of one another.

The way gives the reader just a little bit of information here and there is like a bread trail all the way to the end of the book. I was always on the edge of my seat with this book waiting to see what was going to happen next. This is one of the best books I have read this year. I highly recommend it!

Over all rating
***** 5 out 5 stars

Cover Art:
I really liked the cover art, it gives off a very mysterious vibe.

Obtained:
I was send a copy for review by the publisher thank you!

*This book is available now!

Blog Hop

Book Blogger Hop

Blog hop is hosted by Crazy for books .

This is the first time I have participated in this meme.

Please visit Crazy for books to learn more.

Today's question is
 "What do you consider the most important in a story: the plot or the characters?"

 This is a complicated question. The plot is the essence of the book. It's the story it's self.  You can have great characters but a bad plot. I have read books by seasoned authors that fell prey to this mishap.
On the other hand, you can have an awesome plot and bad characters, I've seen this as well.  It's tough to say which I think is more important as I believe they are equally important, they go hand in hand. 
 In a book with a good plot and bad characters, I find myself more intersted in the story and not giving a glying fig about the characters. However, in a book with great characters and plot that lacks, I find myself wanting the characters to jump into a new story. I route for them to succeed just so I can stop reading the book.
If I had to choose, I'd say plot as that is the essence of the book.  

123 followers giveaway Update

I have updated the last bit of the giveaway.

See how to get extra entries.

*NOTE YOU MUST POST IN THE ORIGINAL GIVEAWAY POST TO BE ENTERED IN THE GIVEAWAY!

The best laid plans by Lynn Schnurnberger Early Review

 

The best laid plans by Lynn Schnurnberger
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

This book is a chick-lit book. A genre that is not my favorite, I normally read fantasy, sci-fi, and paranormal YA and Adult fiction, as well as historical accounts and memoirs.

The main character in this book, Tru is a woman who lives on the top. But she soon finds out that when her husband looses his job and she is unaware for several months, her perfect world is about to collapse strapped with credit-card debt, and a family to look after, she has to do something.

When her best friend also becomes un-employed, they decided to start an escort service, with middle-aged women only. I felt like the women who worked in the escort service were portrayed and their job was portrayed in a more light-hearted fashion. To me it never felt “bad” or anything like that.

The characters in this book were very likable. I enjoyed the humor that these women had and all the relationships in the book. There were times when I felt like it was another “The devil wears Prada” style of book. Which is great, I loved that book!

Tru is a strong woman who I think we only got to see part of. I think that there is a lot more to her then we learned about. She seemed to have a much deeper personality then she let people see. I could be wrong, but that was what I got from her.

I liked this book and would recommend it to anyone who likes chick-lit or a book that is great to read with a glass of wine. (If you are of age of course).

Over all rating:
***3 out of 5 stars.

Cover art:

I like the cover art its very chick-lity.

Obtained:
I obtained a copy from goodreads first reads. Thank you!

This title will be available on January 11 2011

Thursday, December 16, 2010

Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky Early Review


Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Maddie lives in a world where everything is done on the computer. Whether it’s to go to school or on a date, people don’t venture out of their home. There’s really no need. For the most part, Maddie’s okay with the solitary, digital life—until she meets Justin. Justin likes being with people. He enjoys the physical closeness of face-to-face interactions. People aren’t meant to be alone, he tells her.
Suddenly, Maddie feels something awakening inside her—a feeling that maybe there is a different, better way to live. But with society and her parents telling her otherwise, Maddie is going to have to learn to stand up for herself if she wants to change the path her life is taking.
In this not-so-brave new world, two young people struggle to carve out their own space.                                     (Synopsis provided by goodread.com)
I want to fist begin by saying that this is a debut novel. I enjoy reading debut novels. This book is very “Big Brother”. I like the idea of dystopian novels, the YA market is flooded with these types of novels right now and I think that is great.
The writing was great. Kacvinsky wove a beautiful story with elegant wording. There were moments when this book sounded preachy to me. Mainly with the main characters love interest Justin. I had a hard time rooting for him and wanting him to succeed. I didn’t want Maddie to like him. I didn’t think that the relationship felt real. It almost felt forced. That could be my own bias against Justin coming out, I don’t know. I felt that we were told repeatedly about Justin’s views on computers to the point of over-kill.
Aside from my complaints about Justin, the book was good. I enjoyed reading it and I enjoyed the story line. I would like to see what happens next in this book and this is an author I will be looking for more titles from in the future.
Over all rating:
***3 out of 5 stars
Cover Art:
The cover art is simple and I really liked it.
Obtained:
I obtained an ARC from the publisher via Netgalley. Thank you!

This book will be released May 23 2011

Reviews, Reviews, Reviews so many Reviews!

I have been very busy as of late and have not had a chance to sit down and write up the reviews on some of the books I have finished in the past few weeks. So, I have decided to write up 2 reviews a day for a few days (Since I have the time now) and I will be posting them the day I write them. Some days may only get one review depending on my schedule.

The Longed Tales by Mohamed AR





The Longed Tales by Mohamed AR

Reviwed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

A shape-shifting witch... a dethroned king... a storytelling dwarf... and a young man with too much imagination for his own good!

Steven Risd is your everyday college kid-likes to have fun... doesn't enjoy school that much... likes hanging with friends... doesn't trust authority figures, including his parents. But Steven is different in his own way, too...

Young Steven absolutely loves stories of fantasy, magic, and adventure-but even crazier, he soon finds himself in the middle of a tale that blows even his imaginative mind. Waking up in a strange land, he quickly discovers that he's sharing a room at an inn with a stalwart dwarf named Grimdin, whose love of epic tales may rival even Steven's.

To find his way back home, Steven will have to join forces with Grimdin to free a dethroned king from his chains-all the while fighting against a crafty witch who has been blinded by her own desires. Along the way, Steven and Grimdin will have to look deep within to find the courage, love, and even fear that will be the keys to their successful quest-and to finding out who they really are!

Fall headlong into excitement, adventure, intrigue, and action in The Chained King and the Castle of Mystery, the first volume of The Longed Tales!
(Synopsis provided by goodreads.com)

The synopsis of this book intrigued me. I have always enjoyed books about other worlds, magic and all sorts of magical creatures that are found in those worlds.
For me however, this book seemed very ‘choppy’. I am not sure if maybe it’s a translation issue or not as I am unaware if the book was originally written in English or another language. I also found it to be a little bit on the slow side.

Aside from the choppiness, and the slowness, I really enjoyed the story itself. I found it to be wonderfully imaginative and very descriptive, possibly too descriptive in some parts. This is a first novel, so I can’t be too upset. I do believe that the author has promise and this is an author that I will be looking for a second novel from.

AR does paint a beautiful picture for the reader with his description of the world that Steven enters into. I would recommend this book to others.

My Overall rating:
***3 out of 5 stars

Cover art:
The cover art is beautiful!

Obtained:
I obtained my copy from the author himself on librarything. Thank you!

The Wraith by Goodloe Byron


The Wraith by Goodloe Byron
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Itching for freedom, Linus leaves home and moves into a trailer park with some of his friends. There they are free to live as carefree wastrels. But it is not what Linus expects. His best friend Rex abruptly vanishes, his roommate John begins to surround himself with criminals and his job at the local gas station becomes increasingly unstable. At the same time Linus is haunted by his neighbor Clyde, an elderly security guard who seems to appear at any place and anytime, often spending all evening at the window watching them and peering into their lives.
(Synopsis provided by goodreads.com)

I want to first start by saying that this is the first book by Byron I have read and it is defiantly not a book for everyone. It is off-beat and there are some adult themes and situations in the book.

This was the first book I have read that is of this particular writing style. (No quotation marks) that drove me nuts. However, even with that, I found myself pulled into Linus’ world. His, story was intriguing and odd. As a fan on the odd, I found this book hard to put down. The oddness of the story reminded me of something that Edger Allen Poe or Stephen King would write. Because I am such a fan of their works, I am really harsh on reading books about the strange or odd.

What I loved about this book was the way that it is written gives the reader a more in-depth idea and picture of Linus, which can be a difficult thing to achieve. I felt that the main character was walking around in a haze if you will. Which, also added to the “cloudy” feeling the book had. But it worked! Byron wove such an great story in this tale.

I didn’t feel that the story was over though, I was left wanting more, there were so many unanswered questions at the end of this book I was left feeling cheated almost. Over all, I would recommend this book to others.

Over all rating:

****4 out of 5 stars.

Cover art:
I thought the torn hole look was pretty neat I had never seen that before, the leaves gives it a creepy other-worldly feel.

Obtained:
I received a copy from goodreads first reads. Thank you!

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa Early Review


The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa early review.
Reviwed by Moirae the fates book reviews.


My name is Meaghan Chase.
I thought it was over.That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stay by my side. Drag me into the core of a conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it.

This time, there will be no turning back.

(Synopsis provided by goodreads.com)

This book is the third in it’s series and it picks up after book 2.
Julie Kagawa is such an amazing writer. Her ability to create such prolific and profound characters never ceases to amaze me.
The writing is so beautiful, I never wanted it to end. Her dialogue flows as smoothly as it always has and her characters get to grow so much more in this book the in the other two. That is not to say they didn’t grow in the other two, because they did.

I love the story and the world she has created in this series, and the fact that she has Puck. Well lets just say I love “A Midsummer Nights Dream”. When I first came across the name Puck in this series I smiled.

Kagawa is an amazing story teller and I loved the romance in this book. I am another one of those readers that isn’t big on the whole love at first sight thing, but somehow, Kagawa made it work.
Her characters and the situations they find themselves in always felt real. Nothing felt like a cop-out or like she was grasping at straws. Which is a great thing.

Once I was done with this book I thought. Great, now I have to wait for book four! I am very excited about this one and what will happen next!

Over all raiting
***** 5 out of 5 stars.

Cover art:
The cover art on this book was as beautiful as the other two. I really liked the shade of pink they found.

Obtained:
I obtained an ARC through the publisher via Netgalley. Thank you!

*This book is due out January 25th 2011

Mystify by Artist Arthur Early Review.




Mystify by Artist Arthur Early Review.
Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Sometimes being an outsider is the best way to fit in…
Sasha Carrington has grown up feeling like an outsider, and her parents are too concerned with scaling the Lincoln, Connecticut, social ladder to even notice her. They’d be really horrified to know about the supernatural abilities Sasha and her friends Krystal and Jake possess. But as part of the Mystyx, Sasha has found her place.

Now her parents have suddenly taken an interest in everything she does, and their timing couldn’t be worse. Sasha’s father wants her to become BFFs with snooty Alyssa Turner, who hates Krystal for stealing her boyfriend. Then there’s Antoine Watson, the boy Sasha has liked forever, the boy her parents would never approve of. But with the dark side getting more dangerous by the day, and the Mystyx’s own powers growing in unexpected ways, Sasha is facing choices that could affect her friends, her love life—and even her destiny…

(Book synopsis provided by goodreads.com)

In the second Mystyx book, we get to know a bit more about our friends. I wasn’t a huge fan of the first book, but I gave this one a try. I found it to be much better. The narrator voice seemed much stronger in this one.
One thing I really liked was how much growth we can see in the world from one book to the next. The author’s voice is growing and it seemed to me to be much stronger then in the first one. Which is always a great thing to see. I love seeing an author’s voice get stronger from one book to the next. It shows me as a reader that their world and characters have a lot more to offer that we have not seen yet.

Sasha’s relationships with her fellow Mystyx seemed more real in this one then the Mystyx relationships in the previous book. I enjoyed the story line of her love interest and it was a believable one. It reminded me of a friend’s relationship in high school.

I do wish that there had more to the story. I felt it was a bit on the short side and I felt that I was left with more questions then I had answers, which is a letdown for me. I found myself frustrated with the ending, because it was short. But I know that no book will ever answer all the questions fans have. I would recommend reading this book, even if you didn’t like the first one, this was miles better.

Over all rating:
***3 out of 5 stars. Go out and get a copy (in a legal way of course) and read it!

Cover art:
I found the cover art to be like the book a fun airy feel.

Obtained: I obtained an ARC through the publisher via Netgalley. Thank you!

*This book will be available January 18 2011

Monday, December 13, 2010

Barnes and Noble gift card and Starbucks gift basket giveaway!

Nicole over at The betrayed writer is host a giveaway. A $25 B&N gift card and a Starbucks gift basket. Coffee and books AWESOME! Head on over and enter!

Chloe Neill swag giveaway WINNER!






With the help of Random.org, I have a winner for the pack of swag offered by Chloe Neill. The winner is...


                              SHAWN!
 Congratulations Shawn!!! Since you forgot to leave your email please email me at moiraethefates(AT)gmail(DOT)com within 48 hours with your mailing address so I can send it along to Chloe and she can send you your prize! Thank you to all who entered! 
Didn't win this time? I have another giveaway going as well the 123 follower giveaway.

Lily  

Sunday, December 12, 2010

123 followers giveaway!




I am hosting a giveaway! It's my 123 follower giveaway. Why 123? Because it's a random number and it has order, I like order and I like to be different. So I bet y'all want to know what you can win right?
Well, I have not decided 100% what book to giveaway, but it will be a YA or Adult Fantasy/Paranormal book.
To enter this giveaway, you must be a follower since it is a follower giveaway. Simply leave a comment on this post with your e-mail address. Once I hit 123 followers I will draw a winner and announce it here on my blog. Contest open to USA ONLY. Sorry to my international followers, I will have an international contest later.


*I reserve the right to end this contest early with out notice and to disqualify entries at my own discretion as I see fit. I am not responsible for prizes lost in the mail or damaged in the mail. The prize will be shipped the cheapest way possible.


**Post about this on your blog with a link and get +1 Please leave the link in a separate comment.

GIVEAWAY ENDED.

Lily

Saturday, December 11, 2010

In my mailbox 9

In my mailbox was started by The Story Siren.




I got four books this week and a dvd set.
Let's start with the book I won.













I won The Best Laid Plans by Lynn Schnurberger. Thank You Goodreads first reads! *My copy doesn't have this spiffy cover, but this is what the finished title will have.

Now for the books I bought. I went nuts and bought 3 books. My TBR pile has over 10,000 pages in it now. I think I have a problem LOL.














I saw this on another blog and it looked so interesting, I ran out to the bookstore and got it. It's called 13 little blue envelopes by Maureen Johnson.














I also got this, it sounds like a fun read and I have seen it desribed as light hearted. I like light hearted books. So I got myself a copy of The secret society of the pink crystal ball by Risa Green.














I got this from the library a few months ago, got distracted and never finished before it was due back. So I found it on a great sale had a coupon and could not resist buying a copy so I can finish it. So I bought myself a copy of Halo by Alexandra Adoretto.













Last but not least, for my birthday, my Mum and Dad got me the only thing I asked for which was Season 5 of Supernatural. Since the show started I have asked for a season for my birthday, got to keep up with tradition right?

Don't forget there is one more day to enter the giveaway of swag from author Chloe Neill.


If you celebrate Hanukkah, I hope you had a great one, I celebrated this year and had a blast. That's what I got in my mailbox this week, leave me a comment and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

Lily xx

Enchanted Ivy Review




Enchanted Ivy by Sarah Beth Durst


Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.

Enchanted Ivy, is a fun fast paced magical story. We meet Lily Carter on her way to Princeton University with her mother and Grandfather for reunions weekend. Lily wants to attend Princeton just like her Father and her Grandfather.
To get automatic acceptance into the school, Lily must pass a test. She is sent on a quest to find the Ivy Key.
This book has a much deeper plot then Lily’s quest to find the Ivy Key. The Ivy Key she must find, opens a magical gate between the human Princeton and the magical one. (Not a spoiler, the dust jacket tells us this.)
As Lily is on her quest, she runs into all types of magical creatures, shifters, elves, unicorns, dragons, talking gargoyles and much more.
I found this book, to be very fast paced and very fun. I really enjoyed it. The imagery that Durst describes is so vivid I felt like I was walking through both Princeton’s with Lily.
The dialogue was good and the characters had good development.
Lily’s Mom has memory problems, which they call brain hiccups. Lily feels responsible for taking care of her mother. Through this, we see how Lily grows as a character and how she matures. (Although she is a very mature character from the start.)
There were a few things in this book that I thought were kind of predictable, but there were far more things that I was surprised with when they were revealed. I found myself making assumptions about clues that were dropped in the book; sometimes my assumptions were right, but more often they were wrong.
The way this book ended, leaves it open for a sequel, I have no idea if there will be a sequel, I hope there will be, I’d love to see what adventures the characters have after Enchanted Ivy.

Over all rating:
I really liked this book and would recommend it to fans of Harry Potter and Hex Hall.
**** 4 out of 5 stars

What parents need to know:

The only “Sexual content” in this book is kissing.

Cover art:

I like the cover art so much; I wish I could get a poster of it.

Obtained:
I won this book from a blog contest, thanks Angela and Sarah!

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Debut novel cover.

Okay, so my all time favorite play is Hamlet. On July 5 2011, a novel is coming out called Falling for Hamlet.

It's a retelling in which Ophelia is not crazy but an empowered woman. AWESOME!  Its by Michelle Ray. I.CAN'T.WAIT!

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Queen of the Dead Cover!

It's here! The cover for Queen of the Dead by Stacey Kade! I am SO excited!

This book has a June 7 2011 release date.

Sunday, December 5, 2010

Holiday Readathon hosted by Whorublog.com

Okay folks, so I am scatter brained and thought I signed up for this days ago, but I didn't. So I did that today! It's a super cool idea and you can read more about it here.
Yes, I want you all to visit the site and learn more rather then me telling you. Mean? Maybe. LOL.
I wasn't able to find the code for the button so please bear with me.  Its a cute one with a snowman.

Lily

Saturday, December 4, 2010

In my mailbox 8






In my mailbox was started by The Story Siren.
Here is what I got in my mailbox this week:

Bought:

I bought four books this week!















Insomnia by Stephen King.














Under the Dome by Stephen King.













Dead witch walking by Kim Harrison.














A great and terrible beauty by Libba Bray

Now for the books I won!













Academy 7 (Signed ARC)  by Anne Osterlund Thank you Mary!















Enchanted Ivy by Sarah Beth Durst. Thank you Angela and Sarah!













The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (Signed) Thank you Heather!













The Longed Tales by Mohamed AR. Thank you Library thing and Mohamed!













The Wraith by Goodlow Byron. Thank you Goodreads first Reads and Goodloe.

For review:














The Athena Project by Brad Thor. Thank you Simon and Schuster.

So that is what I got in my mailbox please leave a comment and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

Lily

PS Don't forget to stop by on Monday when Author Chloe Neill stops by to talk about her new book Hexbound and a giveaway.

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Giveaways at Sparkling Reviews.

I found a giveaway and I wanted to let y'all know she has 2 awesome ones going right now. One for a FULL set of the Vampire Academy books, which I have not read yet and a nook color! Please be aware that the blog has an 18 and over warning.

You can find her blog here.

Annexed by Sharon Dogar






Annexed by Sharon Dogar

Review by Moirae the fates book reviews.


I picked this book up because I love the Diary of Anne Frank. It’s always a difficult subject to read.
Writing a fictional book based on a real person in a situation like this must be difficult. My biggest fear with this book was that it would somehow change who the people in the secret annex were. Or at least change how people thought of them.
I think the author did a good job in be sensitive to the memory of the people she was writing about and being sensitive to the survivors of the Holocaust and the people who were persecuted.
It’s hard to talk about character development in this, but you could see how her Peter was growing and how he was dealing with the situation they were in. She did a good job in bringing it all to light and making the reader feel like they were with Peter and seeing everything he was seeing.
One thing to remember is that after they were taken away from the annex, there is little we know about what really happened. We have records telling who went where, but knowing what they thought and felt, of course we have no idea, we can only guess.
I think that over all this was well written and would be good to read along with The Diary of Anne Frank. Knowing this is a fictional version of course.
I do think this was a very powerful book and it was a very hard one to read mostly when it gets to part two when Peter is in the camps after being found in the annex.
I did like how at the end the author put a blurb about each person in the annex and what happened to them after they were taken.

Over all:
I would give this book *** 3 out of five stars.

What parents need to know:
I would say more then anything a parent needs to read this book before letting a younger child read it. The subject matter is very heavy and it is a very sad book.

Cover Art:
I liked the cover art, I liked how they have the arm band with the Star of David right there so one can’t miss it.

Obtained:
I got this book from the publisher.

Horror and Urband Fanstasy 2011 challenge.

Book Chick City is hosting another challenge for 2011! YAY! It's a horror and Urban fantasy one! Since I have a plan to do a Stephen King month, I can count his books towards the challenge which is cool! Head on over to her site and check it out!


Monday, November 29, 2010

Mystery and Suspense reading challenge hosted by Book Chick City.

Hey Y'all! I have joined Book Chick City in a reading challenge she is hosting for 2011. Like she said, it has something for everyone, head on over and check it out! I am very excited to start this challenge. You can also find the badge on the side bar of my blog.


Sunday, November 28, 2010

Stephen King Month.

Hey, y'all, so I am thinking of having January or February a month of only Stephen King reviews. However, is this something y'all would be interested in? If not I'll stick to the type of books I have been reviewing. Please let me know what you think.

Lily xx

In my mailbox 7

I only got one book for review this week. The others I bought. I will start with the book I got for review.

The Lost Voices by Sarah Porter. Thank you Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.













Okay, now for the books I bought. I have read reviews of The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff, I got myself a copy!












I also got myself a copy of Crescendo by Becca Fizpatrick!














Please leave me a comment and tell me what you got in your mailbox.

Lily xx

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Terry Goodkind rules and has a new book!

Okay lovelies! Terry Goodkind (Who is as awesome as Stephen King yes I did just say that LOVE those two men!) has a new book coming out early 2011. Called The Omen Machine.

How cool is that??

Friday, November 26, 2010

Swag Giveaway.

Hi y'all!

So over at My Over stuffed book shelf, there is a giveaway for a package full of swag! You can find out more about it by clicking on the badge. (I hop if works LOL) If not, you can find her blog on my blog roll on the side bar.