Saturday, May 31, 2014

SGT Bergdahl

Wonderful news y'all!!!! SGT Bowe Bergdahl has been released!!! He is safe and will soon be with his family!!! This is truly a wonderful day!

Friday, May 23, 2014

Update

Hey everyone it's been a while! Loads going on with the family I have a few things I'm working on so I hope to posting more soon!

Friday, April 11, 2014

Falling Behind on Friday 7


 


Falling behind on Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Moirae the Fates book reviews. In this one we all pick one book that has been in our to be read pile for a long time (One month or longer) that we just haven't gotten to yet. Or a book that is on our to buy list that we haven't gotten a chance to pick up yet.  I know most all of us have massive TBR piles and we can all find one book to post about and share with others. I think it will be a great way to learn about already published books that a lot of us may not know about or may have forgotten about.
To be clear these books MUST already be published!
So, to participate simply grab the Falling Behind on Friday picture above and post the cover art of the book, and leave a link to the books goodreads page and let us all know what book you've "fallen behind on." And in your post don't forget to let others know how to participate! Sounds like fun right?
So to kick things off here is the book I have fallen behind on:

Pretty Little Liars.    



  Three years ago, Alison disappeared after a slumber party, not to be seen since. Her friends at the elite Pennsylvania school mourned her, but they also breathed secret sighs of relief. Each of them guarded a secret that only Alison had known. Now they have other dirty little secrets, secrets that could sink them in their gossip-hungry world. When each of them begins receiving anonymous emails and text messages, panic sets in. Are they being betrayed by some one in their circle? Worse yet: Is Alison back? A strong launch for a suspenseful series.


That's what I've fallen behind on what have you fallen behind on?





So say we all!

















Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Ask Me blog tour





I am so pleased to be apart of the blog tour for Kimberly Pauley's book ASK ME! A huge thank you to Soho Press for inviting me to be apart of it!

My stop is a review of the book, so without further ado here is my review!










  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Soho Teen (April 8, 2014)
  • ISBN-10: 1616953837
  • Author: Kimberly Pauley
  • Cover art: I love it!
  • Obtained: Via the publisher in exchange for an honest review for the tour.
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars













  • Ask Me by Kimberly Pauley
    Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

    Ask Aria Morse anything, and she must answer with the truth. Yet she rarely understands the cryptic words she‘s compelled to utter. Blessed—or cursed—with the power of an Oracle who cannot decipher her own predictions, she does her best to avoid anyone and everyone.

    But Aria can no longer hide when Jade, one of the few girls at school who ever showed her any kindness, disappears. Any time Aria overhears a question about Jade, she inadvertently reveals something new, a clue or hint as to why Jade vanished. But like stray pieces from different puzzles, her words never present a clear picture.

    Then there’s Alex, damaged and dangerous, but the first person other than Jade to stand up for her. And Will, who offers a bond that seems impossible for a girl who’s always been alone. Both were involved with Jade. Aria may be the only one who can find out what happened, but the closer she gets to solving the crime, the more she becomes a target. Not everyone wants the truth to come out.(Synopsis provided by goodreads.)


    When I was first asked to be apart of this tour, I had no idea what the book was about. After reading the synopsis I knew I had to be apart of the tour and that I would love the book.
    I was right.

    This was the first book I have read by Pauley and I really enjoyed it! Aria had me hooked from page one. 

    It's no secret that I love Greek Mythology. The fact that Aria is an Oracle is just awesome to me. I have never heard of or read another book with an Oracle. The way Aria is forced to answer any question she hears even if it is not directed at her is super cool.

    The murder mystery aspect of it was a nice touch. Like most readers, I figured out who the murderer was pretty quickly. However, for me, it didn't take away from my enjoyment of the book. Which is saying a lot. I think what I like the most about Aria's gift as it is called is how she answers. The answers come out in a very cryptic fashion not a black and white fashion.

    One other part of the book that I liked was how at the top of each chapter there was a line from a song, which I kinda took as Aria listening to and I would listen to it as well. After all Aria constantly has her music playing so she doesn't hear all the questions around her thus saving her from answering and being a target for comments and mockery.

    The one thing that I wasn't a huge fan of with this book was the love triangle. It had it's reasons for being in the story of course but, I wish it would have been a little different.
    Even with that, I loved Aria, she wasn't a Mary-Sue but she also wasn't a character who always whines about everything is weak. She wasn't and I loved that.

    If you like Greek mythology, I highly recommend this book!


    You can find Kimberly on Twitter.
    On her web site.
    You can find Ask Me on Goodreads.





    So say we all!

    Monday, March 24, 2014

    Royally Lost








    • Paperback: 336 pages
    • Publisher: HarperTeen (May 6, 2014)
    • Language: English
    • Author: Angie Stanton
    • Cover art: Love it! However, the girl's legs are darker then her hand and that looked weird to me. 
    • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars
    •  Obtained: Sent to me from HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review.






    Royally Lost by Angie Stanton
    Reviewed by Moirae the Fates book reviews.

    Dragged on a family trip to Europe’s ancient cities, Becca wants nothing more than to go home. Trapped with her emotionally distant father, over-eager stepmother, and a brother who only wants to hook up with European hotties, Becca is miserable. That is until she meets Nikolai, a guy as mysterious as he is handsome. And she unknowingly finds herself with a runaway prince.

    Nikolai has everything a guy could ask for-he's crown prince, heir to the throne, and girls adore him. But the one thing he doesn't have...is freedom. Staging a coup, he flees his kingdom and goes undercover on his own European tour.

    When Nikolai and Becca meet, it’s their differences that draw them together. Sparks fly as they share a whirlwind of adventures, all the while dodging his royal guard. But Becca's family vacation ends in a matter of days. Will Nikolai and Becca be forced to say goodbye forever, will his destiny catch up to him, or will they change history forever? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


    I loved this book. I had so much fun reading it. I felt like I was on the streets of Europe with Becca and Nikolai. I loved the humor that Stanton provided in this novel. Nikolai is funny and the type of guy that I would love to tour Europe with.

    I really liked how we get to see Becca grow and the different dynamics in her relationship with her stepmother. I know Becca doesn't want the reader to like her stepmother, but I couldn't help but like her. I felt sorry for her at times and I could really sympathize with her.

    Becca's brother was one that I liked at times and other times he really bugged me. But in the end I think that actually added to his character. 

    Becca was far from a Mary-sue. She has her faults but nothing that makes me dislike her. 

    One thing we didn't get in the book that I wished we had was more information on Nikolai's sister. She was a lot of fun and I would love to see more of her. It would be cool if we got another book and could see more of her, or even a spin off book with her as the main character.

    The descriptions of the cities they visit are very rich and they make you feel as if you are there. I could feel the warm breeze and smell the food. 

    This book is perfect for summer and would be a lot of fun on the beach or at the river.  May 6th you should go out and pick up your copy!



    So say we all!

    Friday, March 21, 2014

    Falling Behind on Friday 6








    Falling behind on Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Moirae the Fates book reviews. In this one we all pick one book that has been in our to be read pile for a long time (One month or longer) that we just haven't gotten to yet. Or a book that is on our to buy list that we haven't gotten a chance to pick up yet.  I know most all of us have massive TBR piles and we can all find one book to post about and share with others. I think it will be a great way to learn about already published books that a lot of us may not know about or may have forgotten about.
    To be clear these books MUST already be published!
    So, to participate simply grab the Falling Behind on Friday picture above and post the cover art of the book, and leave a link to the books goodreads page and let us all know what book you've "fallen behind on." And in your post don't forget to let others know how to participate! Sounds like fun right?
    So to kick things off here is the book I have fallen behind on:











    Dash and Lily's book of dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan






    “I’ve left some clues for you.
    If you want them, turn the page.
    If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

    So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

    Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.



    What are  have you fallen behind on?


     
    So say we all!

    Friday, March 14, 2014

    Falling Behind on Friday 5







    Falling behind on Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Moirae the Fates book reviews. In this one we all pick one book that has been in our to be read pile for a long time (One month or longer) that we just haven't gotten to yet. Or a book that is on our to buy list that we haven't gotten a chance to pick up yet.  I know most all of us have massive TBR piles and we can all find one book to post about and share with others. I think it will be a great way to learn about already published books that a lot of us may not know about or may have forgotten about.
    To be clear these books MUST already be published!
    So, to participate simply grab the Falling Behind on Friday picture above and post the cover art of the book, and leave a link to the books goodreads page and let us all know what book you've "fallen behind on." And in your post don't forget to let others know how to participate! Sounds like fun right?
    So to kick things off here is the book I have fallen behind on:


    Two way street by Lauren Barnholdt.














    There are two sides to every breakup.

    This is Jordan and Courtney, totally in love. Sure, they were an unlikely high school couple. But they clicked; it worked. They're even going to the same college, and driving cross-country together for orientation. Then Jordan dumps Courtney -- for a girl he met on the Internet.
    It's too late to change plans, so the road trip is on. Courtney's heartbroken, but figures she can tough it out for a few days. La la la -- this is Courtney pretending not to care.
    But in a strange twist, Jordan cares. A lot.
    Turns out, he's got a secret or two that he's not telling Courtney. And it has everything to do with why they broke up, why they can't get back together, and how, in spite of it all, this couple is destined for each other.



    What book are you falling behind on?


     
    So say we all!

    Wednesday, March 12, 2014

    Waiting on Wednesday



    Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.


    This week I am waiting on What I thought was true by Huntley Fitzpatrick.





    From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

    Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.


    What I thought was true is due out April 15 2014.


    That is what I am waiting on what are you waiting for? 


    So say we all!

    Tuesday, March 11, 2014

    Teaser Tuesday





    Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should be reading.

     (The Rules are copied and pasted from her site)
    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!



    This week my teasers come from  Royally Lost:

     

     "Dylan wondered off wearing a faded T-shirt, cargo pants and flip-flops."

    Page 13



    "Back on board, she locked herself in the bathroom in case Dylan showed up."

    Page 85



    What is your teaser? 

    So say we all!