Friday, April 11, 2014

Falling Behind on Friday 7


 


Falling behind on Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Moirae the Fates book reviews. In this one we all pick one book that has been in our to be read pile for a long time (One month or longer) that we just haven't gotten to yet. Or a book that is on our to buy list that we haven't gotten a chance to pick up yet.  I know most all of us have massive TBR piles and we can all find one book to post about and share with others. I think it will be a great way to learn about already published books that a lot of us may not know about or may have forgotten about.
To be clear these books MUST already be published!
So, to participate simply grab the Falling Behind on Friday picture above and post the cover art of the book, and leave a link to the books goodreads page and let us all know what book you've "fallen behind on." And in your post don't forget to let others know how to participate! Sounds like fun right?
So to kick things off here is the book I have fallen behind on:

Pretty Little Liars.    



  Three years ago, Alison disappeared after a slumber party, not to be seen since. Her friends at the elite Pennsylvania school mourned her, but they also breathed secret sighs of relief. Each of them guarded a secret that only Alison had known. Now they have other dirty little secrets, secrets that could sink them in their gossip-hungry world. When each of them begins receiving anonymous emails and text messages, panic sets in. Are they being betrayed by some one in their circle? Worse yet: Is Alison back? A strong launch for a suspenseful series.


That's what I've fallen behind on what have you fallen behind on?





So say we all!

















Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Ask Me blog tour





I am so pleased to be apart of the blog tour for Kimberly Pauley's book ASK ME! A huge thank you to Soho Press for inviting me to be apart of it!

My stop is a review of the book, so without further ado here is my review!










  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Soho Teen (April 8, 2014)
  • ISBN-10: 1616953837
  • Author: Kimberly Pauley
  • Cover art: I love it!
  • Obtained: Via the publisher in exchange for an honest review for the tour.
  • Overall rating: **** out of 5 stars













  • Ask Me by Kimberly Pauley
    Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews

    Ask Aria Morse anything, and she must answer with the truth. Yet she rarely understands the cryptic words she‘s compelled to utter. Blessed—or cursed—with the power of an Oracle who cannot decipher her own predictions, she does her best to avoid anyone and everyone.

    But Aria can no longer hide when Jade, one of the few girls at school who ever showed her any kindness, disappears. Any time Aria overhears a question about Jade, she inadvertently reveals something new, a clue or hint as to why Jade vanished. But like stray pieces from different puzzles, her words never present a clear picture.

    Then there’s Alex, damaged and dangerous, but the first person other than Jade to stand up for her. And Will, who offers a bond that seems impossible for a girl who’s always been alone. Both were involved with Jade. Aria may be the only one who can find out what happened, but the closer she gets to solving the crime, the more she becomes a target. Not everyone wants the truth to come out.(Synopsis provided by goodreads.)


    When I was first asked to be apart of this tour, I had no idea what the book was about. After reading the synopsis I knew I had to be apart of the tour and that I would love the book.
    I was right.

    This was the first book I have read by Pauley and I really enjoyed it! Aria had me hooked from page one. 

    It's no secret that I love Greek Mythology. The fact that Aria is an Oracle is just awesome to me. I have never heard of or read another book with an Oracle. The way Aria is forced to answer any question she hears even if it is not directed at her is super cool.

    The murder mystery aspect of it was a nice touch. Like most readers, I figured out who the murderer was pretty quickly. However, for me, it didn't take away from my enjoyment of the book. Which is saying a lot. I think what I like the most about Aria's gift as it is called is how she answers. The answers come out in a very cryptic fashion not a black and white fashion.

    One other part of the book that I liked was how at the top of each chapter there was a line from a song, which I kinda took as Aria listening to and I would listen to it as well. After all Aria constantly has her music playing so she doesn't hear all the questions around her thus saving her from answering and being a target for comments and mockery.

    The one thing that I wasn't a huge fan of with this book was the love triangle. It had it's reasons for being in the story of course but, I wish it would have been a little different.
    Even with that, I loved Aria, she wasn't a Mary-Sue but she also wasn't a character who always whines about everything is weak. She wasn't and I loved that.

    If you like Greek mythology, I highly recommend this book!


    You can find Kimberly on Twitter.
    On her web site.
    You can find Ask Me on Goodreads.





    So say we all!

    Monday, March 24, 2014

    Royally Lost








    • Paperback: 336 pages
    • Publisher: HarperTeen (May 6, 2014)
    • Language: English
    • Author: Angie Stanton
    • Cover art: Love it! However, the girl's legs are darker then her hand and that looked weird to me. 
    • Overall rating: ***** out of 5 stars
    •  Obtained: Sent to me from HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review.






    Royally Lost by Angie Stanton
    Reviewed by Moirae the Fates book reviews.

    Dragged on a family trip to Europe’s ancient cities, Becca wants nothing more than to go home. Trapped with her emotionally distant father, over-eager stepmother, and a brother who only wants to hook up with European hotties, Becca is miserable. That is until she meets Nikolai, a guy as mysterious as he is handsome. And she unknowingly finds herself with a runaway prince.

    Nikolai has everything a guy could ask for-he's crown prince, heir to the throne, and girls adore him. But the one thing he doesn't have...is freedom. Staging a coup, he flees his kingdom and goes undercover on his own European tour.

    When Nikolai and Becca meet, it’s their differences that draw them together. Sparks fly as they share a whirlwind of adventures, all the while dodging his royal guard. But Becca's family vacation ends in a matter of days. Will Nikolai and Becca be forced to say goodbye forever, will his destiny catch up to him, or will they change history forever? (Synopsis provided by goodreads)


    I loved this book. I had so much fun reading it. I felt like I was on the streets of Europe with Becca and Nikolai. I loved the humor that Stanton provided in this novel. Nikolai is funny and the type of guy that I would love to tour Europe with.

    I really liked how we get to see Becca grow and the different dynamics in her relationship with her stepmother. I know Becca doesn't want the reader to like her stepmother, but I couldn't help but like her. I felt sorry for her at times and I could really sympathize with her.

    Becca's brother was one that I liked at times and other times he really bugged me. But in the end I think that actually added to his character. 

    Becca was far from a Mary-sue. She has her faults but nothing that makes me dislike her. 

    One thing we didn't get in the book that I wished we had was more information on Nikolai's sister. She was a lot of fun and I would love to see more of her. It would be cool if we got another book and could see more of her, or even a spin off book with her as the main character.

    The descriptions of the cities they visit are very rich and they make you feel as if you are there. I could feel the warm breeze and smell the food. 

    This book is perfect for summer and would be a lot of fun on the beach or at the river.  May 6th you should go out and pick up your copy!



    So say we all!

    Friday, March 21, 2014

    Falling Behind on Friday 6








    Falling behind on Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Moirae the Fates book reviews. In this one we all pick one book that has been in our to be read pile for a long time (One month or longer) that we just haven't gotten to yet. Or a book that is on our to buy list that we haven't gotten a chance to pick up yet.  I know most all of us have massive TBR piles and we can all find one book to post about and share with others. I think it will be a great way to learn about already published books that a lot of us may not know about or may have forgotten about.
    To be clear these books MUST already be published!
    So, to participate simply grab the Falling Behind on Friday picture above and post the cover art of the book, and leave a link to the books goodreads page and let us all know what book you've "fallen behind on." And in your post don't forget to let others know how to participate! Sounds like fun right?
    So to kick things off here is the book I have fallen behind on:











    Dash and Lily's book of dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan






    “I’ve left some clues for you.
    If you want them, turn the page.
    If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

    So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

    Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.



    What are  have you fallen behind on?


     
    So say we all!

    Friday, March 14, 2014

    Falling Behind on Friday 5







    Falling behind on Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Moirae the Fates book reviews. In this one we all pick one book that has been in our to be read pile for a long time (One month or longer) that we just haven't gotten to yet. Or a book that is on our to buy list that we haven't gotten a chance to pick up yet.  I know most all of us have massive TBR piles and we can all find one book to post about and share with others. I think it will be a great way to learn about already published books that a lot of us may not know about or may have forgotten about.
    To be clear these books MUST already be published!
    So, to participate simply grab the Falling Behind on Friday picture above and post the cover art of the book, and leave a link to the books goodreads page and let us all know what book you've "fallen behind on." And in your post don't forget to let others know how to participate! Sounds like fun right?
    So to kick things off here is the book I have fallen behind on:


    Two way street by Lauren Barnholdt.














    There are two sides to every breakup.

    This is Jordan and Courtney, totally in love. Sure, they were an unlikely high school couple. But they clicked; it worked. They're even going to the same college, and driving cross-country together for orientation. Then Jordan dumps Courtney -- for a girl he met on the Internet.
    It's too late to change plans, so the road trip is on. Courtney's heartbroken, but figures she can tough it out for a few days. La la la -- this is Courtney pretending not to care.
    But in a strange twist, Jordan cares. A lot.
    Turns out, he's got a secret or two that he's not telling Courtney. And it has everything to do with why they broke up, why they can't get back together, and how, in spite of it all, this couple is destined for each other.



    What book are you falling behind on?


     
    So say we all!

    Wednesday, March 12, 2014

    Waiting on Wednesday



    Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.


    This week I am waiting on What I thought was true by Huntley Fitzpatrick.





    From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

    Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.


    What I thought was true is due out April 15 2014.


    That is what I am waiting on what are you waiting for? 


    So say we all!

    Tuesday, March 11, 2014

    Teaser Tuesday





    Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should be reading.

     (The Rules are copied and pasted from her site)
    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!



    This week my teasers come from  Royally Lost:

     

     "Dylan wondered off wearing a faded T-shirt, cargo pants and flip-flops."

    Page 13



    "Back on board, she locked herself in the bathroom in case Dylan showed up."

    Page 85



    What is your teaser? 

    So say we all!

    Monday, March 10, 2014

    Manor of Secrets







    • Hardcover: 320 pages
    • Publisher: Point (January 28, 2014)
    • ISBN-10: 0545567580
    • Author: Katherine Longshore
    • Cover art: LOVE IT!
    • Overall rating: ** out of 5 stars
    • Obtained: My personal bookshelf.









    Manor of Secrets by Katherine Longshore
    Reviewed by Moirae the fates book reviews.


    The year is 1911. And at The Manor, nothing is as it seems . . .

    Lady Charlotte Edmonds: Beautiful, wealthy, and sheltered, Charlotte feels suffocated by the strictures of upper-crust society. She longs to see the world beyond The Manor, to seek out high adventure. And most of all, romance.

    Janie Seward: Fiery, hardworking, and clever, Janie knows she can be more than just a kitchen maid. But she isn't sure she possesses the courage -- or the means -- to break free and follow her passions.

    Both Charlotte and Janie are ready for change. As their paths overlap in the gilded hallways and dark corridors of The Manor, rules are broken and secrets are revealed. Secrets that will alter the course of their lives. . . forever.
    (Synopsis provided by goodreads)

    When this arrived in the mail, I was super excited. I had pre-ordered this back in December after having finished Cinders and Sapphires which I really enjoyed. I also read WentworthHall when it came out and really liked that. This sounded like a similar book so I was eager to read it. 

    I was bored. I admit I read all but the last 90 pages and I didn't like it. I never connected to the characters, they felt like paper dolls to me. I dreaded reading it. I only read a chapter a night and with each turn of the page I was hoping I would love it, hoping it would suddenly grab me, it never did. 

    I know I am in the minority of this one, most people have really liked it, maybe it was my mood? I don't know, but this one just didn't work for me, it was like watching paint dry, nothing really happened. The only interesting this about Charlotte was that she wrote.

    I may give this another try later on. 

    If you are interested in reading this one, maybe get it from the library first or borrow from a friend. 

     
    So say we all!

    Friday, March 7, 2014

    Ma Semaine dans les livres




    Ma Semaine dans les livres My week in  books is inspired by Stacking the Shelves hosted weekly by Tynga of Tynga's reviews.


    This week I got 7 books. 5 I bought, 1 I won and 1 was sent for review.

    Lets start with the 5 I bought. This week I bought a copy of:





    Sacred Games by Gary Corby.


    It is the Olympics of 460 BC. Nico's best friend, Timodemus, is a competitor in the pankration, the deadly martial art of ancient Greece. Timo is hot favorite to win. His only serious rival is Arakos from Sparta. When Arakos is found beaten to death, it is obvious Timodemus must be the killer. Who else could have killed the second-best fighter in all Hellas but the very best? The Judges of the Games sentence Timodemus to be executed in four days' time, as soon as the Sacred Games have finished.

    Complicating everything is the fact that Athens and Sparta are already at each other's throats, in the opening stages of a power struggle for control of Hellas. If an Athenian is found to have cheated at the Games by murdering a Spartan, it will be everything the hawks in Sparta need to declare open war the moment the Sacred Truce is over. And that's a war Athens cannot hope to win.

    Nico and his partner in sleuthing, the annoyingly clever priestess Diotima, have four days to save their friend and avert a war that would tear their world apart.


    A copy of Casino Royale by Ian Flemming. 



    In the first of Ian Fleming's James Bond novels, 007 declares war on Le Chiffre, French communist and paymaster of the Soviet murder organization SMERSH.

    The battle begins with a fifty-million-franc game of baccarat, gains momentum during Bond's fiery love affair with a sensuous lady spy, and reaches a chilling climax with fiendish torture at the hands of a master sadist. For incredible suspense, unexpected thrills, and extraordinary danger, nothing can beat James Bond in his inaugural adventure.








    A copy of The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine. 



    Wren Caswell is average. Ranked in the middle of her class at Sacred Heart, she’s not popular, but not a social misfit. Wren is the quiet, “good” girl who's always done what she's supposed to—only now in her junior year, this passive strategy is backfiring. She wants to change, but doesn’t know how.

    Grayson Barrett was the king of St. Gabe’s. Star of the lacrosse team, top of his class, on a fast track to a brilliant future—until he was expelled for being a “term paper pimp.” Now Gray is in a downward spiral and needs to change, but doesn’t know how.

    One fateful night their paths cross when Wren, working at her family’s Arthurian-themed catering hall, performs the Heimlich on Gray as he chokes on a cocktail weenie, saving his life literally and figuratively. What follows is the complicated, awkward, hilarious, and tender tale of two teens shedding their pasts, figuring out who they are—and falling in love.




    A copy of Faking Normal by Courtney C Stevens.


     

    Alexi Littrell hasn't told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she hides in her closet and compulsively scratches the back of her neck, trying to make the outside hurt more than the inside does.

    When Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend in "the Kool-Aid Kid," who has secrets of his own. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally face the truth.

    A searing, poignant book, Faking Normal is the extraordinary debut novel from an exciting new author-Courtney C. Stevens.





    A copy of Half Bad by Sally Green. 



    In modern-day England, witches live alongside humans: White witches, who are good; Black witches, who are evil; and fifteen-year-old Nathan, who is both. Nathan’s father is the world’s most powerful and cruel Black witch, and his mother is dead. He is hunted from all sides. Trapped in a cage, beaten and handcuffed, Nathan must escape before his sixteenth birthday, at which point he will receive three gifts from his father and come into his own as a witch—or else he will die. But how can Nathan find his father when his every action is tracked, when there is no one safe to trust—not even family, not even the girl he loves?

    In the tradition of Patrick Ness and Markus Zusak, Half Bad is a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive, a story that will grab hold of you and not let go until the very last page.




    The book I won was from Goodreads first reads, it was a copy of The Joshua Effect by P.S. Meronek. Thank you Goodreads!


    The rooftop reception on the skyscraper in lower Manhattan is an elegant affair right up until the moment the murders occur. With the lives of sixty-three of his friends and business associates snuffed out in one horrifying blink of an eye, the wealthy and enigmatic Jonathan Strickland boards a dangerous roller coaster ride of a lifetime in this clever, nail biting who-done-it.
    Following the nebulous clues left behind at the scene of the crime, Strickland finds himself kidnapped and taken to a clandestine meeting in the middle of the Syrian dessert beneath the ancient ruins of one of the oldest civilizations known to man. The lines between good and evil blur as the suspect list narrows. Strickland races against time to find the invisible killers who have even more carnage in mind; they call their sinister plan the Joshua Effect.
    Strickland also struggles with the essence of a life thrown into question by the gnawing epiphany that he is losing the one thing which actually gives his existence meaning. All of his fantastic achievements pale when compared with the desire to possess the love of the one woman who can understand him - but who can never be with the man he is.
    As the clock ticks relentlessly forward to a catastrophe of truly Biblical proportions, the hunt for those responsible nears its climax. From a brazen gun battle among the rich and famous in the exotic streets of glamorous Miami Beach to the discovery of the secretive Catskills hideaway of a reclusive scientist in upstate New York, the thrilling ride never lets up.
    All the while the personal war inside Strickland rages on. Who is he? More importantly, who will he end up becoming? For a man who thought he had everything, why does he suddenly find his life so empty?
    For Jonathan, the revelation that a life with nothing in it worth dying for isn't much worth living shakes the very core of his being. Then why does it feel so right? The Joshua Effect is a taut, suspense filled page turner with a stunner around every corner.



    The book I got for review was sent to me from the publisher Harper Teen in exchange for an honest review. I was very excited to get this one. A HUGE thank you to the folks at Harper Teen for a copy of Royally Lost by Angie Stanton.


     Dragged on a family trip to Europe’s ancient cities, Becca wants nothing more than to go home. Trapped with her emotionally distant father, over-eager stepmother, and a brother who only wants to hook up with European hotties, Becca is miserable. That is until she meets Nikolai, a guy as mysterious as he is handsome. And she unknowingly finds herself with a runaway prince.

    Nikolai has everything a guy could ask for-he's crown prince, heir to the throne, and girls adore him. But the one thing he doesn't have...is freedom. Staging a coup, he flees his kingdom and goes undercover on his own European tour.

    When Nikolai and Becca meet, it’s their differences that draw them together. Sparks fly as they share a whirlwind of adventures, all the while dodging his royal guard. But Becca's family vacation ends in a matter of days. Will Nikolai and Becca be forced to say goodbye forever, will his destiny catch up to him, or will they change history forever?




     That's what is new for me this week, leave me a note and let me know what is new for you!


    So say we all!